14 independent reviews for Finland Northern Lights holiday, Wilderness Auroras

Reviews for Finland Northern Lights holiday, Wilderness Auroras

SHOW
5
9
0
0
0

review 20 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The reindeer farm was a great day out. Then seeing the northern lights which lasted for hours and just got better and better.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it. It may seem a great expense but it is very much a once in a lifetime experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The local farmers and shops very much depend on us going there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Out of 10, 11!!

review 21 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having glimpsed the Northern Lights on our first night, although lessened somewhat by the presence of a full and powerfully bright moon, we were happy that we did not have to return without a story to tell. The next two nights though were overcast and there was no further sign of the Aurora. On our last day it snowed, so we were not expecting much from the skies. I was resigned to another dark night. At least we hadn't completely missed the Lights, and the rest of the trip was so enjoyable I was not disappointed with having come. However, around 8.00 pm the skies cleared and what followed was awe-inspiring! We experienced one of the most amazing displays of electrically charged particles the Aurora has to offer ... one of the top three of the season according to our guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take no more than two outfits to wear around the lodge (you can get by with just one if you prefer!), and take layers for wearing under the gear provided. Some good thermals and a couple of long sleeved t-shirts will suffice. No one dresses up for dinner, and you never go outside without your warm one-piece suit and boots. You only need to bring one coat to get to and from the airport.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Visiting with the reindeer herder and taking the husky safari were both highlights of the trip, and it was obvious that our presence was a financial bonus to them at a time when they would otherwise have had little work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a very special trip. Every day was well balanced, with plenty of activities but enough time to relax and do our own thing. Everyone involved was delightful. The hotel, while relatively basic, was clean and comfortable, and the food provided was superb. Our particular group consisted of four couples, and I feel we have made friends for life.

review 17 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The highlight for me was the Aurora. This was made even more special by our night drive on the snowmobiles across the frozen lake to get the best viewing. One of my best experiences ever!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light and only what you really need. All outdoor wear is provided so you only need base layers. Don't forget to protect any exposed skin, particularly your lips, against the cold.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Overall I would say yes to benefitting local people and is one of the reasons why I chose this particular trip over some others. I can't in all honesty say that the use of the snowmobile had no environmental impact and I did enjoy these myself. However, the reindeer herders also use them so I appreciate that they are a necessary transport for this environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A truely special and educational experience.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of the holiday was standing on the middle of a frozen lake watching the northern lights dancing in the sky, magical and breathtaking at the same time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect The Ritz, the hotel is clean and functional and fitting of its environment. Take plenty of thin layers to wear, it gets very cold although I'm sure you'll be expecting that in the Arctic!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The excursions we took, husky sledging and the reindeer herder were obviously genuine locals letting us into their lives rather than tourist attractions, if we help them to survive in difficult circumstances so much the better.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fantastic time, a great group of people there at the same time to share the experiences made it even more enjoyable.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Even if we hadn't been able to see a wonderful display of the Northern Lights on our last night the variety of the activities and the friendliness of all the people we met, the cold, the setting of the accommodation made this a memorable holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lots of thin layers rather than a smaller number of thicker ones as the outer garments provided were more than sufficient to keep us warm. A pair of silk gloves was also a useful investment. Any questions or concerns just ask a member of staff.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. It was good to meet people, such as the reindeer herder and the husky personnel, who were genuinely interested in the welfare of their animals. We were also impressed with the warm and friendly welcome from all the staff whose livelihood depends to a large extent on outside visitors such as ourselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant - it surpassed our expectations and was one of the best short breaks we have done.

review 10 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything because it was a new experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Let the company do it all for you. Trust your guide.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10.

review 7 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every minute I spent in Finland was truly memory making! To walk in snowy woods along paths through the trees, to hear nothing but the sound of my breath was so soul restoring. Every aspect of the trip was wonderful, the activities were tailored to individual needs, the guides and staff at the lodge were knowledgeable, helpful and good company in every way. All in all it was a truly wonderful winter break in every way. To sum up standing on a frozen lake gazing at a star filled sky at midnight then being blessed with the light show of ones dreams! That's one memorable night! Thank you all who were responsible for making it happen.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy every minute, take plenty of light warm layers and have lots of fun!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As Finland is suffering in this economic climate any thing to bring tourists is a good thing the country is vast and has huge tracks of wilderness so can take more tourist activity done in a sustainable way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 9 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved it all, from the shock of the cold when we landed, all of the activities, the people, the landscape, the food, the accommodation and the warm welcome and care of all the staff - truly fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just get base layers, all you need for the cold is provided.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all of this

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays we have ever had

review 2 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Catching the northern lights twice! This was just before Christmas night when the moon was shining bright and to be able to capture it all on digital camera despite the freezing -20c temperature on that night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You have to be fit to be able to enjoy the snowshoeing and crosscountry skiing. Skiing involves quite a bit of your thigh muscles ans so does snowshoeing. The environment was really amazing and serene. Just what l really wanted, a real break from every thing. My mind was so refreshed after this wonderful trip. Don't over pack. I brought way too much winter clothing and could not do much shopping. be prepared to walk.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it certainly did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is one my best holidays where l really got a fantstic break in a pristine environment that is so pure. I felt so rejunevated mentally. Even my friends say so. The locals are very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional.

review 23 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The morning with the reindeer herder.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

What it says in the brochure is what you get.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely all of the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 15 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The organisation and fun of the activities especially the dog sledding, snow mobiling and the reindeer farm trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to opt in for the activities as the search for the Northern Lights then becomes secondary. Don't rely on seeing them and don't spend hours in a car trying to find them - do the activities and hopefully see them whilst enjoying yourself!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Possibly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - one of the best we've ever been on. The scenery and experiences were so much different than I had ever expected

review 8 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern lights and trying out different activities such as cross country skiing, husky dog sledding and riding on on a snowmobile.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trip dossier gave lots of relevant information, so just relax and have fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did in respect of the environment and that local staff 95% are hired in the hotel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fabulous. Lovely resort, great food, friendly and welcoming staff, clean hotel and beautiful countryside. 10 out of 10!!

review 3 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sheer scale of Lapland and being able to get a feel of how the Sami live (reindeer farming, sledging with huskies, ice fishing). Wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

One good set of thermal underwear and woollen clothing is all that is needed. Excellent cold suit, heavy duty gloves and boots provided. Very relaxed atmosphere so no smart clothing needed. ie Don't spend a fortune on special clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly supported local economy - and culture and environment will only survive if visited and valued.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved it - first time this far north, and a wonderful way to see in the New Year and our 60th birthdays!

review 21 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire trip was a great experience! From the moment you land to the last day was very enjoyable. And the itinerary was very well planned even for single traveller like me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The package provided and dossier are very informative and has covered almost all the information.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies