17 independent reviews for Climbing Kilimanjaro, Machame Route 7 days

Reviews for Climbing Kilimanjaro, Machame Route 7 days

SHOW
6
10
1
0
0

review 24 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was wonderful. I was passionate about wanting to climb Mount Kilimanjaro and got 2 friends to agree and with the added incentive of raising money for a charity that friends of ours had set-up following the death of their baby girl (8months old). To challenge ourselves to get to the top of mt kili and we did it....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it! It is an experience and if you like trekking it is absolutely fantastic. I would do it again.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I am passionate about ethical issues and environmental responsibility. I was determined to organise the trip that benefited the local people and ensure that the guides and porters used are treated fairly and have adequate clothing, etc.... All this was in evidence when we trekked with our porters and guides. Seeing some of the other people trekking and their guides and porters you realised that their company was not as ethical!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our overall trip was great. I would like to give it 5 stars but having done the trip without the kids and my husband I feel I cannot as I would have loved them to have experienced the trip as well....next time! Nevertheless, it was fantastic and excellent memories and would love to do it again - a different route maybe!

review 21 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing Kili was the best past of the whole trip

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy a headtorch. It is probably the single most useful accessory you will use

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Tourism is a huge part of the local economy, without it there would be no jobs. Masaai wanderings have assisted with building a school for local children so broadening the availability of education from a young age

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Some of the best experiences I am ever likely to have.

review 8 Oct 2007

Great holiday - I was travelling alone and have not done much walking before so was a little worried - the guides, office and porters were really supportive. Route was stunning - really good - can't fault it. Thanks !!!

review 4 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely reaching the summit of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The view from the top was absolutely breathtaking!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare, prepare, prepare...You can never have to many warm layers for summit night! We were fortunate not to have high winds but after being exposed to cold temperatures for more the 6 hours; we were all feeling the cold!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I am pleased that by booking this holiday, we were able to ensure that a portion of the monies spent actually stayed in Tanzania and were able to benefit some of the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate this holiday as probably one, if not the best, trip that I have ever taken. I will never forget seeing the Kibo through the clouds for the first time, the brilliance of the sun reflecting off the glaciers in the early morning sunlight, or the magnificent sunrise I witness from the peak. This holiday truly challenged me physically, but was well worth the effort!

review 11 Mar 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Summit on Kilimanjaro. What a great mountain and the Machame is the best scenic route with good time to acclimatize.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Drink a lot of water, take it slow, wear down parka with hood on summit night and p bottle to keep from having to go out in the cold during the night.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Very good in both regards, directly and indirectly helping local people. The tour was very environmentally minded.

4. Any other comments?

Best holiday I have ever been on.

review 3 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take strong sun cream suitable for lips and nose. Take loads of cleansing wipes so that you can 'wash' every day. Take Biodegradeable toilet roll; Even in the official toilets, this gets left on the mountainside.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The operator supports the Asante Africa Foundation, and so I think there is an indirect benefit to the local community. It also employs local people, which results in a more direct local benefit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I was very impressed with this operator, and could heartily recommend them to others, both for their professionalism, and the level of care shown to staff and clients. I was impressed by Kilimanjaro, and overall found it to be a great holiday.

review 18 Mar 2007

I have already shared my views with Chris Morris in London regarding the whole trip and in fact they are rather very high, and I speak on bahalf of - if not the whole group of 6 - at least in name of the 3 Poles. We have travelled a lot before and been to Africa some times so we more or less knew what to expect and we were very positivly satisfied when we learned that both the service, the organization and the choice of itenerary, other activities in general was totally to our satisfaction. Actually - the most memorable part of the trip were the people from the tour operator that we met throughout the whole stay there, strarting with the guest house and ending up with the guides and porters. They were really great and helpful. Feel free to put my name on any of your referral lists and if there is anybody among your potential customers who would like to ask questions to myself, having just done it, I am only more than happy to co-operate. Indeed we do have a feeling that our stay there was mutually benefitial to us and the locals as well (especially after the "tip" day). The eco consciousness was at the high level which we actually expected. Please contact us for Marek's email address.

review 7 Jan 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The view from the summit. Just breathtaking and worth the effort.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring an air mattress. Allow plenty of travel time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 17 Sep 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro by far was the best part. Knowing all of my hard work had paid off. Indescribable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask about the guides - they are such an important part of the trip. Our guides where fabulous and they really primed us properly for the final assault on the summit (all 9 of us in my party made it). From what I heard from others on the journey this was not typical.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our team was very responsible in set up and clean up so I think the lasting impact would be minimal. The porters we had were generally lovely, local people with families to support. They did a great job, were always cheerful and supportive of us (even when having to carry me down the mountain on the last day as I tore ligaments in my ankle) and I don't think you can fake that day in day out for 7 days unless you are being treated well.

4. Any other comments?

That's easy - ***** I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on

review 20 Aug 2006

The holiday we have just returned from was the most exciting and memorable thing we have ever done. We did have a very special reason for wanting to climb Kilimanjaro - in 2003 our 24 year old son Neil was lost whilst climbing the second highest mountain in S. America (Mt.Pissis 23,000ft) He was half way to achieving his dream of climbing the three highest peaks on every continent. He had already climbed in Africa and in fact hadn't walked but had run up Kilimanjaro in just 12 hours securing the British speed ascent record for the mountain. After his death I set myself three challenges in order to raise money for the charity we set up in his name. Neil was a champion runner with an English rating, a long distance cyclist and a climber. My three challenges were to ...run for Neil.. I trained and completed the 2004 London Marathon in under 5 hours... to cycle for Neil....last August(2005) I cycled 1,041 miles from John O'Groats to Lands End in 15 days. The remaining challenge ... to climb for Neil....had to be to climb Kilimanjaro. I am absolutely delighted that I've actually been able to fulfil this challenge. The whole experience of being on the mountain will stay with me for ever. After the first day I ended up being the only climber left in my group (my husband injured his leg and had to go down) but my guide and the remaining 6 porters travelling with me treated me so well. They all spoke some English and were keen to have a joke with me or encourage me when the going got a bit tough! They were as delighted as I was when I actually reached the summit of Kilimanjaro and they gave me the nick-name of 'Strong Muma' which stayed with me for the rest of the holiday! We can thoroughly recommend the company that ran this trip. Their organisation of the Kilimanjaro climb and also the following exciting 'bush' safari was excellent. They treat their local staff very well and have excellent and very happy guides, porters, cooks and drivers. They also help local community projects in the area which we were able to see. The guest house which they own outside Arusha is first class and is in fact mentioned the 'The Lonely Planet Guide' as being a good place to eat - their staff couldn't do enough for us and we are left with such wonderful memories. Although our trip to Tanzania was born out of great sadness for us, we have certainly come back feeling ' on top of the world' ....and I have been!!!!!!

review 25 Jun 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable moment was watching a lioness make a kill. It was like being in the middle of a David Attenbrough programme. It was a thrilling sight and one we won't forget.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect western standards in anything. The food was good but plain - don't expect fancy dishes or to be able to order up anything you want. Be prepared to 'rough it' a bit, ie not many facilities for showering etc but remember where you are and that you are there to see things not worry about how you look.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we felt we had contributed something to local people and not just money. They were equally anxious to hear about our way of life as to show us theirs. If you can manage to take a few photos from home they love to see them. We were very happy to see how the crews on both the Kili trek and the safari were treated. Our trips round villages and to local projects were both enlightening and fun.

4. Any other comments?

We had a fantastic holiday with this operator. We will definitely use Responsible Travel for future trips.

review 1 Oct 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The night ascent and reaching the peak

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Talk with people that were in this trip before

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It helped the local people and yes we tried to keep it clean but I couldn't say the same about all the groups on the mountain...

4. Any other comments?

It was a once in a lifetime experience

review 25 Jun 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It would have to be reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro, because it was the hardest thing I've ever done, ever thought I would be capable of, or ever want to do again! But emotionally the most special part was the connections we made with fellow travellers and locals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Diamox is really helpful in climbing Kili, but take only 1/2 of a pill twice daily. If the showers aren't working at the Serengeti camp, take advantage of the "Tanzanian shower" (a bucket of warm water). Please be aware that tipping for the Kili trek needs to occur at camp on the last morning - don't leave your tip money back in Arusha (someone else had this problem, not us).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Without question the operator does good work for local communities, and it's very clear that they take better care of their employees than most companies. In addition to the projects they do for local villages (we saw a water tower they installed for a Masai village), their safari provides a great deal of interaction with locals in multiple villages. The staff even took the women in our group to a Tanzanian bridal shower! I felt like I got to see the real Tanzania, & it was clear when we moved to a "luxury lodge" for the last few days of our trip that most tourists don't get anywhere close. I think they showed more concern for the environment than most companies we saw. The entire country could benefit from better environmental standards & recycling, but they do better than most.

4. Any other comments?

Without 4.5 - the operator could improve VERY slightly on some of the logistics & equipment, but overall their service was top rate, their team incredible, & the entire experience fabulous.

review 19 Feb 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The effort required and the encouragement from Julius to get to the summit, made the success feel very very special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Glove your hands against sunburn all week and cover your nose from coldburn on summit night.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely yes to benefiting local people and minimising environment impact.

4. Any other comments?

The guides were great, the food impressive and the porters amazing.

review 8 Jan 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most exciting - should have been reaching the summit but I was too tired to care! Climbing Barranco Wall. Most memorable - the porters singing their Hakuna Matata and Kilimanjaro songs in the campsite on the last night and on the bus home....really made you feel part of the gang.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would recommend using this operator to others seeking to climb Kili. Don't penny-pinch with tips and think about taking one or two new or nearly new items of clothes to give as gifts. A little goes a long way.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Hopefully, Yes. Our team was great and I think a conscientious attitude prevailed overall.

4. Any other comments?

I have been lucky to do some very memorable travelling but this would be up there with the top ones.

review 2 Oct 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable time for me was the night-time ascent to Stella Point in the moonlight with our guides singing Tanzanian songs to keep us going. It was pretty magical and combined with the special bonds that formed between the group members made the trip genuinely special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As a single traveller, I think joining a scheduled group departure was a good idea and then being mentally prepared for a tough but highly enjoyable climb is easily as important as any fitness training or investment in kit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I didn't see particular evidence of the benefits to local people beyond the direct income for people working with the group or selling goods to tourists. I heard that the company had a good reputation with local people though and that this was because of the contributions that were made to local projects and because of the relatively good wages paid to local staff. On environmental impact, I'm not sure that there were any steps taken to minimise impacts beyond what all other companies were doing.

review 16 Oct 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything but the camping. But this is a personal issue rather than anything to do with the tour operator. Especially enjoyed Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti and Maasai cultural visit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for cold weather camping with no running water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies