31 independent reviews for Snowdonia Bed and Breakfast accommodation, Wales

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 17 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The amazing scenery, it was breathtaking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There is advice available on getting around with mobility problems.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All three.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 8 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The great walks and the hosts' hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take more clothes than you'd think in case you get caught in the rain one day. Comes very suddenly down the valleys!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The amount of work that the hosts have put into the house's energy sustainability is remarkable. You can take mining tours, canoeing trips etc which will benefit other locals besides the hosts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent for walks, great hosts, beautiful views and peacefulness.

review 21 Jun 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hospitality in the lodge was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Please visit Snowdonia as many times as you can.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Value for money.

review 26 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views from the accommodation. The owner also took us on a guided walk around the old slate mines which was an amazing experience. The hospitality was excellent and the owners could not do enough to help us. The food was far too good for my waist line!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for all weather conditions - it can certainly rain in Wales.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent most of our time walking and at the Bed and Breakfast and so our holiday probably did not benefit the local community that greatly. We will go back though.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. It was a fabtastic break for a bank holiday weekend. The location meant that we had very little problem with crowds unless you went into the tourist spots.

review 12 May 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was a fantastic location with so much to do bang on the doorstep – including rock climbing, mountain biking and hiking. Coed y Brenin mountain biking was the most exciting part – with a rock climbing the Moelwyn mountains a close second.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take at least three days if it's a weekend escape – it's really hard to cram all the adventures into just a weekend.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes – in answer to minimising impacts on the environment. Staying a turf-roofed outdoor bedroom with hot water provided by solar panels and coming into a huge breakfast of locally-sourced Welsh produce – all very green (except the kelloggs muesli).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really invigorating. However, I would suggest getting some new towels – they were really small and threadbare. Or ask guests to bring their own.

review 9 May 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to the top of Mount Snowdon!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for all weathers in April

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Defintely on both counts

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great experience - and it was brilliant to be able to bring our dog

review 2 Dec 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A warm welcome to the accommodation accompanied by tea and cake. A tour of Llandudno's Greta Orne followed by afternoon tea in Betws y Coed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be clear about directions for the last part of your journey (approaching the accommodation) if it is your first time. Take your own wine/beer to the B+B as they do not hold a license.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely - the accommodation uses many sustainable energy mechanisms. The wonderful food was all sourced locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic weekend break which we would thoroughly recommend for those seeking the simple pleasures in life. A warm welcome, friendly advice on the locality and very comfortable accommodation.

review 21 Aug 2007

My daughter and I have had a great time from our first ever 'mother, daughter' weekend. This accommodation was great and John and Celia, who had literally taken over the day before, did a fantastic job of making us welcome. The area is full of interesting scenery both mountainous and coast. This is a place where you think about things and how you could make a difference to the environment. We were both sorry that our holiday came to an end all too quickly, but I booked for a night in October as I would like to share the place with my husband. Thank you for your website where I found this accommodation.

Read the operator's response here:

Please note that the owners have changed very recently and Bob and Ann do not run this accommodation anymore

review 14 Apr 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful hot and dry weather which allowed us to experience North Wales in a fresh light. Shared evening meals with other guests - extremely good and good value food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I gather that the owners are about to sell the business; the new owners will continue as before but may not provide the same sort of evening meal.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 9 Apr 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part would have to be sitting in the sun after climbing to 990 meters to the top of the Glyders. Not a person in sight or a sound to be heard. Very peaceful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We would recommend to others visiting the B&B to stay in the Garden Room, a little cottage out back of the main house. Very cosy and quiet. In busy periods, the Glyders are a good alternative to climbing Snowdon, which can get quite busy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our holiday certainly benefited the local community as the B&B sources most of their food locally. Also, as an 'eco B&B' the impact on the environment is very minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, we would give our holiday 4 stars, **** and would certainly recommend it to others. However, the B&B is soon going to be changing owners, so it's difficult to know how much will change. For one, the new owners may not be providing evening meals, which would then require guests to drive into town for dinner.

review 19 Feb 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery, & fantastic food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Eat at the B&B!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely the latter, & probably the former as they source food locally where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4 stars, have already been recommending!

review 5 Feb 2007

Only two nights away and we're feeling refreshed. Somehow we managed to pick the sunniest days of any February in years, and walking around the Cwmorthin valley (which is easily walkable from the B&B) it felt like early summer. There's a lot to explore just in that one area, and we spent two very happy days scrambling, walking along lakesides, investigating disused buildings, skimming stones, and venturing into mines. Our accommodation was ideal in every way. It's a friendly place, but not intrusively so. the breakfasts are fantastic (bacon like you only dream of these days) and all locally sourced and/or organic. Evening meals also adhere to this organic/local policy, and gave us a chance to meet and talk to other guests around the dining table - very informal and well worth it. Ann and Bob are great sources of information on local walks and points of interest, and gave us directions to a cave system we'd have certainly missed otherwise. The environmental policy of the B&B is very evident (but not restricively so), from the grass-roofed buildings (we stayed in one of these - the Garden Room - which was very nice and spacious. Another is called the Hobbit House!), to the solar panels on the buildings. They also use grey water where possible and have a septic tank. There was a stream just outside our window, running through their semi-wild land which was brimming with finches and sparrows, and I'm sure birdwatchers would identify many more. We'd definitely recommend this holiday. Rating: **** (4). I only hold back from rating it five because it's hard to think of a two day break as better than any fortnight holiday I've been on. I certainly feel reborn though!

review 19 Apr 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We climbed Snowdon!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wales (and the Snowdonia National park) is beautiful, the B & B is super! It is really worth to have a holiday there.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

With my and my boyfriend’s outdoor clothes shopping probably yes :)

review 17 Feb 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing Mount Snowdon with my partner and son aged eleven with our guide Bob Cole.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Great relaxing holiday for families, food was great, rooms spacious, Anne & Bob were great hosts throughout our stay.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All food was from local produce.

4. Any other comments?

Lots to do, great lakes and mountains in every direction you drive, don't miss out on going on the old steam train. Five stars for this holiday, will be going back in the future.

review 27 May 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The setting was idealic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book the evening meal - they're fantastic and good value for money.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes; local produce used for meal, and eco light bulbs throughout the house.

review 9 Apr 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable things about the stay was the food, which was wonderful, fresh and home cooked with a good choice and plentiful portions. Rooms were well presented. The tea and cake upon arrival was most welcome. The Welsh weather was varied, from snow and hail to glorious sunshine. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, with Snowdon, Portmerion and Harlech within easy reach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Our tip to anyone else staying would definitely be to have the evening meal, there is little to do in the evenings locally, but the dinners are well worth staying in for!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We did feel that we were helping Bob and Ann support their local community and the environment.

4. Any other comments?

We had a wonderful time during our stay at this accommodation and would definitely wish to return there. Thanks for helping us find it.

review 7 Apr 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going for walks on the hills/eating with other guests in the evening at the guest house.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bob Cole is very knowledgeable and he was very helpful. He helped us find walks and lent us some maps.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we did not travel there by car and we used the local buses. Meals at the guest house were made from local produce.

4. Any other comments?

It was very relaxed and Bob and Ann made us feel at home. We had some good laughs with the other guests as well at mealtimes.

review 26 Feb 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

On top of the disused slate works when it started to snow... meeting an old school friend that I hadn't seen for 20 years by a lake in Snowdonia...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go off season if you want to chill out, relax & have some parts of the area to yourself.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Any other comments?

Get a guided walking tour!

review 7 Oct 2006

Hobbit house, Snowdonia B&B accommodation

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in the 'Hobbit House' a room with a grass roof and having a sauna amidst the welsh mountains

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Eat in the guest house, the food was fantastic. Much better than the local restaurants and reasonably priced.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 1 Apr 2005

Had a great time. Although from South Wales and used to bad weather we were able to see and do a lot in three days. The accommodation was excellent and food and hospitality very generous and warm. We will go again and highly recommend it. I give it 5 stars!

review 20 Feb 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views around Blaunau Ffestiniog and Snowdonia were terrific, the weather was fantastic, with plenty of snow on the high mountains. The kids loved Harlech Castle and the train ride on the old steam trains. The whole trip was excellent and the B and B was brilliant!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your all-weather walking gear and DO go to the slate mines at Blauau Ffestiniog, We went in the quiet of February - it was great having places to ourselves at times! Don't expect a wide range of choices of restaurants in the area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Hope so. The B&B was well run by Ann and Bob and they certainly seemed to consider their environment (I noticed Ecover washing up liquid, solar panels and home produced eggs!) We certainly put some money into the local economy through the tourist attractions. We probably spent too much time in the car getting from place to place.

review 30 Dec 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The fantastic walks on the hills in Winter.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry. The owners will look after you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Any other comments?

The food was fantastic. The service was great. The B&B was excellent value.

review 30 Jul 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to say, but my son (aged 7) would probably vote for "Playing with Bryn (the dog)"

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes: in particular, we appreciated the locally sourced food (mostly organic).

review 4 Apr 2005

Bob and Ann are superlative hosts, very generous and helpful but able to give their guests their own space. The house has been creatively extended by them as a model of energy conservation, to show their guests that such concerns are ordinary, achievable and not eccentric. They also have a very ethical attitude to using local suppliers, promoting local trade including paying their staff well. Bob is an experienced mountain guide and gives wonderful suggestions for walks. They cook beautifully, for instance bacon at breakfast is worth eating and not the excuse that it so often is, evening meals are delicious - it is so rare to find fish not over-cooked. We stayed with them for a week in March, walking in sunshine, rain and a flurry of snow, we were well looked after and returned deeply rested.

review 20 Feb 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walking and dramatic scenery, everyone was very friendly and welcoming - including Bryn the dog.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just bring yourself - no research needed - Bob and Anne offer expert tips and routes for everything on offer in the local area. From walking, to climbing and just sightseeing (too many activities to list), including suggestions, routes, maps etc. and everything is just outside the back door. Although it's a B&B, you don't need to go anywhere else as the optional evening meals are excellent (though you do need to bring your own booze) and they even provide packed lunches, which gives you more time to do your own stuff

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The whole place is geared up to have minimal environmental impact on the local area, so you don't need to worry about anything.

review 23 Oct 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in the nearby hills when the sun came out! Great views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't book the "double room" - it's small and not half as nice as the other rooms! Try the garden room, which has a turf roof, or the lovely king-sized "yellow room". Do stay in for evening meals - well worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely....

Read the operator's response here:

We were full as we often are - the double room this couple stayed in has a standard 4ft 6in bed - our other double rooms have zip and link beds, so they can also be twin and therefore are 6ft wide doubles. It is the smallest room, but many people request it as it is cosy, no-one has complained before. All our rooms are different, with mountain views, with hopefully something to appeal to everyone.

review 20 Aug 2005

We actually stayed at 2 locations, the first night was from your web site at this accommodation. We were made very welcome and stayed in the Garden House which had a grass roof. The food was all freshly cooked and excellent, with three courses at £18.00p per head, bring your own wine. The location is fantastic right on the edge of a lake. There is also a sauna adjacent to the accommodation. Second night was on the recommendation of Anne and Bob (They were unable to do the second night) at another place, equally hospitable and very friendly would definitely recommend both locations. Plenty to do with walking, Biking and the mountains including Snowdon.

review 28 Jul 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Eat at the B and B.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

review 12 Jun 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Ideal for walking in lovely rural surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a wide variety of clothes to meet any weather condition.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, my B & B was very comfortable with good locally produced food.

review 4 Jun 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful location and excellent hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a strong pair of walking boots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Bob has invested in a solar heating system and went to great lengths to provide food which was environmentally sound and using local produce.

review 27 Dec 2004

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going for a 'walk' (4 hrs hillside trek!) with the hosts on a snowy Christmas morning, up the mountains and getting caught in a blizzard! - coming back to thaw out in front of log fires with glass in hand & dinner on its way!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the right gear to take full advantage of surrounding area (walking/climbing). Would appeal to 'active' persons, or complete chill out doing nothing!

3. Any areas for improvement?

Nope!

4. Any other comments?

Thoroughly friendly/helpful hosts, providing the best food if you go full board.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies