10 independent reviews for Malvern bed and breakfast accommodation, England

Reviews for Malvern bed and breakfast accommodation, England

SHOW
1
8
1
0
0

review 10 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was a beautiful setting, away from all distracting technology, right in the middle of the country side. A very warm and welcome environment. Inspiring to enjoy nature.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it certainly did benefit the local people. Lady who runs the place is local. However since a car is necessary to get there it would not reduce the environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9 out of 10.

review 27 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hospitality was very warm and welcoming - and the rooms and house were delightful. Lots of lovely touches - organic food and organic bath products and a bar of chocolate from Oxfam. Lovely and warm.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get clear instructions to find the place - a complicated route of back country lanes and we never seemed to find the same way twice.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Four stars - as I had mentioned I am a vegetarian beforehand I would have preferred a wider choice for breakfast - not just minus the sausage and bacon. The cereals and organic juices and coffee were lovely though.

Read the operator's response here:

I'm so sorry my guest was not aware of the choice of vegetarian options I offer: eggs in all forms, vegetarian sausages, local cheese (and even pancakes if ordered the night before). I understood her to say she would like the same cooked breakfast as her friend, but without the meat! We have many guests who follow differing diets and do our best to provide them with a delicious breakfast. It always includes cooked fruit, fresh fruit salad, nuts and seeds, and home made bread, in addition to the cooked breakfast, and all ingredients are organic and/or locally produced wherever possible.

review 25 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in such a beautiful location and being able to walk on the Malverns again.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Look up good directions to get to the accommodation before going!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. There was lots of local produce there, including jams, muesli and bathroom products. The owner also talked to us about the new eco-friendly Lighthouse that has been built.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great!

review 5 Mar 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic B&B. Beautiful old house. Living rooms available to guests. Hospitable and friendly owner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Worth paying the extra for one of the main bedrooms. We would probably choose the room called 'North & South', which has a super bathroom, despite not being en-suite.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, yes, yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 25 Mar 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely location - beautiful buildings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Follow the directions exactly - roads are confusing if approached from a different direction!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 17 May 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is possible to get there by train too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes for both. We ate out locally and Ella uses locally sourced food for our breakfast.

4. Any other comments?

We really felt at home and relaxed. The standard of comfort is very high.

review 26 Nov 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful accommodation and great breakfasts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book taxis well in advance as the B and B is very remote!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we ate local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10

review 25 Oct 2006

We stayed at this accommodation near Malvern. The accommodation was lovely - there were several highlights including sitting around a huge old round table eating a delicious breakfast watching woodpeckers in the tree outside of the kitchen window. Our welcome was great and Ella made sure we had everything we needed (and more!) without us feeling crowded. We spent a few happy hours sitting in front of a log burning stove relaxing as well as time walking, eating, drinking and meeting up with friends. Tips would be check locations on a good quality map (possibly OS) because the lanes can be very narrow and can start to look the same - especially in the dark. Check out the information available regarding eating places - some great places to try. My most memorable part was walking away from the hills with a grumbling stomach and blistered feet, looking back and realising that we'd been up 'the big one!' Ella did a great job of providing us with local produce - I didn't realise you could get so many different types of apple juice and encouraged us to try the Food Fair at Hereford so we could try some more. She provided us with environmentally friendly toiletries and there was information about how we could contribute to looking after the environment whilst we were there. My partner has subscribed to one of the green magazines that was available and I have started to use washing balls and making sure I do the shortest washes possible - i.e. it has changed some of our habits. We were only on holiday for four days so it would be an exaggeration to rate this as a holiday of a life-time however the accommodation is definitely **** and I have already recommended it to family and friends.

review 26 Feb 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having a peaceful living room with fire, deep sofas and no TV. Welcoming pot of tea, local apple juice available on demand, fair trade chocolate bar in the room (which we did keep for half way round the walk).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't rush breakfast - there are almost too many rich tastes from the local organic food. Read the label before adding the seaweed extract to your bath. Bring slippers - parts of the floor are uncarpeted and uneven.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - the environmental policy is set out in room folders, and the business is enabling a historic building to stay in use.

4. Any other comments?

Close enough to the M6 to consider for an overnight stop on a long journey, though expensive if literally used for bed and breakfast only.

Read the operator's response here:

We have a budget room for overnight stops - but we hope our guests will stay longer in order to appreciate all that we have to offer and get best value.

review 8 Aug 2005

Just to say that this is a marvellous place, entirely justifying a placing in your recommendations. Ella is a charming host, the bedrooms are five star luxury, breakfast was marvellous, the outhouses fascinating, the scale of the place awesome. And all this within a few miles of the Malvern Hills.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies