21 independent reviews for Yoga holiday in Italy

Reviews for Yoga holiday in Italy

SHOW
2
12
7
0
0

review 2 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Yoga outside on the terrace and use of the beautiful private pool

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When going on the guided walk walking boots or trainers and long trousers are needes. the pool wasn't always available. Balcony on casa latini is incredible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably brought business to local bars, restaurants etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing break

review 21 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I enjoyed all the week. We loved meeting all the people on our course and the parallel one. It was great having a breakfast waiting for us but the coffee was awful. Alan needs to sort that out. We loved our accommodation and the people we shared with. The village was fascinating and the fact that there was no traffic made it very special and quiet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Think about the time you will get into Poggio Mirteto if you go by train. You can get a bus up to the middle of the village.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tried to ensure that it did by using the local shops, bars and cafes. We arrived by train and used our feet or bikes during the holiday. We left by taxi which we shared with two other people. We continued our holiday for another 9 days and used trains to get everywhere.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. As I am a complimentary therapist I didn't use any of the extra therapies but everyone enjoyed them.

Read the operator's response here:

As we had such a large group the week you attended the holiday, we used a new large filtered coffee machine as there were over 20 people , however we did have other coffee options, fresh filtered coffee in glass cafeteria, espresso ( mocha ) and latte machatto ( ground coffee with milk or without ) we apologise if you were not informed of this by the staff at breakfast. All staff now offer alternative coffee options for when the large coffee machine is used for those people preferring a more refined Italian coffee experience :)

review 16 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Casperia is very beautiful and so are the people. I can't say one thing in particular was exciting. I just find Casperia enchanting. The staff were more like friends. They were very lovely happy to help people. X

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The only tip I would give is to be aware that you will be totally relaxed and serene x

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I felt very much back to nature as Casperia had no roads, vehicles, tv's which made you walk and appreciate the loveliness of Casperia x

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic.

review 22 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

1. the setting, the village, the landscapes - picture post-card Italy, it exists 2. the people. The hosts, the helpers and the wonderful characters that my retreat brought together in our group. 3. the yoga. Beautiful. Light, unpretentious, and in a way deeply inspiring.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. pack light - though the boys offer to carry your luggage through the little streets and up all the stairs, I like to know that I would be able to handle it myself. 2. go with it - the way Sunflower Retreats are set up is that they give you the base, the accessories and all necessary assistance for your holiday, but they leave you to make it your own. You will live the local life, shop in the local shops and order your own meals in the restaurants... in Italian ;-) It isn't always clear what is going on, but this is exactly what makes it unique.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

YES. All the optional excursions and activities were organized with local businesses, families and farmers, and we were recommended restaurants in the village and neighboring communities. I did not see any particular grand efforts on environment-impact reductions, and I did not notice any unnecessary environment-harming extravagances, either. On reducing environmental impact I guess we all need ask ourselves how many changes of sheets and towels we need, how long our shower needs to be and how much energy and waste we consume.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Soothing, uplifting and long-lasting, I am still feeding from the energy - three weeks later! My retreat was one of the nicest gifts I gave myself lately. Thank you.

review 18 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We really enjoyed the cookery class by Paolo in Gusto al Borgo. We ate what we cooked and it was fab! There was home made wine and lemoncello to go with it. Views fab in Casperia.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light lots of steps and bring light cotton/linen clothes. It was really hot when we were there early July. Got some bites so worth trying their natural anti-mosquito repellant. Try the local organic icecream its delic!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we went to local restaurants and had local organic food for breakfast.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The weather was so hot felt sheets on bed should have being changed mid-week. Also we didnt get ensuite which we booked and had to share bathroom so they should be more careful with bookings.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Mary and Tony for the review, we appreciate all feedback from guests visiting our centre. We also hope that Mary and Tony enjoyed the Yoga classes daily and the other activities and treatments available on the holiday. On their arrival Mary and Tony were given a twin ensuite in our village house accommodation option which they originally booked, however on arrival they said that they wanted a double bed, so they were shown a room with a double bed which shared a bathroom with another room. Mary and Tony were also told immediately from our PR manager that we had another room available that was a double bedroom with a private ensuite bathroom which is what they requested and this room would be available for them to view asap if they wanted to see it. However Mary and Tony decided they wanted to stay in the double room with shared bathroom, they were also therefore refunded some monies as they decided to stay in the double / shared bathroom which is a cheaper room option in the village house. Concerning cleaning and linen change, there are 2 morning cleans per week on Saturday and Monday where our cleaners enter rooms and bring clean towels and clean where necessary. Concerning a full daily cleaning service including change of sheets & towels, or mid week full clean or change of sheets, this service is most certainly available daily or upon request as stated on our website, this information is also stated on our program of the week which is given to all guests on arrival. The cost of this service is 15 euro per linen change and clean, we have spoken to our staff working the week Mary and Tony attended the yoga holiday and they do not remember being asked for this for this service at any point while Mary and Tony were on the holiday, and if we had of been asked for a change of sheets we would have organised this right away as the comfort of our guests is of up-most importance.

review 7 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved every part of it!! From the breathtakingly beautiful scenery to the feeling that you were living simply among an Italian community who acknowledged your presence but did not change themselves because you were there. All in all a non-touristy and fabulous setting to do daily yoga classes that made me challenge and improve my existing yoga practice. The classes were tailored for all abilities and what a joy it is to do them outside in a beautiful sheltered setting!! I have named this holiday a down to earth yoga holiday which is exactly what I wanted!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are after late nights, parties and alcohol this is not the holiday for you! Although I drank plenty of Proscecco and met some amazing and interesting people. Yoga starts at 8am daily so a little bit of making myself go to bed was in order!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the houses are slotted into everyday Italian living. Locals are employed to serve and make breakfast. There are trips to local restaurants. A local Italian couple cooked us all a gastronomic many courses meal. Yoga happened out of the way down in a beautiful garden.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous!

review 23 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely people it attracted - both those who work there and the other guests

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There are mosquitos but the local spray 'Off' does work

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The operator were great at offering ideas and tours to local businesses and locations

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an amazing holiday. The location is beautiful set in the Sabine hills, the locals are friendly and welcoming, the yoga was as good as promised and it attracts wonderful people.

review 1 Jul 2009

It was a fantastic holiday with wonderful service and assistance, especially from Sallee who couldn't have been kinder. The whole team were great and loved being in Casperia! Many thanks to you all - Congratulations, a lovely set up. Thx to all...

review 25 Jun 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The setting - Casperia - perfect. My yoga teacher Gabrielle. She is expert, realistic and great fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel from Fiumicino rather than Ciampino is much easier and quicker!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes loved that it was set in a local and untouristy village rather than a purpose built yoga centre. The workers (in the main) were local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent though would love it to be a full week rather than a day short. It was just a tad shorter than it should have been.

review 23 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

First arriving and seeing the view from my house!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to spend additional money on treatments and extra yoga classes - once you're there you want them all and they all add up!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very well organised, great team overall. Sallie clearly a genius to keep everything running so well, Gabrielle full of healing light! Hannah has the magic touch - fantastic treatments and Kim a brilliant addition with the hypnotherapy to help mind heal body. Would have liked more yoga classes - was hoping the additional 10 euro ones would be provided every day (not really clear on site that these were only twice during the holiday). Great combination of time with the group and time available to be by yourself if desired (but then I did have a house to myself, difficult to know if I'd feel the same if sharing with others!).

review 18 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Casperia is the most amazing place, like something from a film set. We did all our yoga outside with the grounds of the former Contessa's home. It was like Miss Havershamís garden, quite overgrown but with some features still surviving - a rusty spiral staircase and stone tables and benches. Excellent accommodation and housemates.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely try to learn some Italian or take a phrase book as most the menus are in Italian. The trips, excursions and treatments are quite expensive but would recommend the meal at the cookery school even if you donít do the actual cookery course. Also the trip to the Roman Thermal Baths and Clay Sulphur Pools are a great experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Casperia is an unspoilt town not featured in the Rough Guide to Italy and has a small population. There are a couple of good local restaurants. The Pizza Restaurant is excellent. Friends is a good bar, but the food unfortunately was a bit disappointing. The locals were very friendly despite our lack of Italian! So it is important to be respectful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous holiday in paradise.

review 9 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery was absolutely stunning. I donít normally get excited about landscapes/views but simply put the view from Casperia is breathtaking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There are no taxis available in this resort, only transport is by the Sunflower bus and they charge you Ä3 to go anywhere (even a 5 minute journey down to the pool). If you are not happy to be marooned in Casperia then a hire car is a must in this resort.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I think so although a local person could have made a killing driving a taxi!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I wanted a relaxing/do very little break and that is what I got. My first accommodation (Casa Lantini) had a wonderful terrace and watching the sunset was magical. I didnít do the normal arrive on Thursday depart on Wednesday as I wanted to stay longer (8 nights) but in hindsight I think 6 nights is probably the right amount of time there. In addition, they are not very well set up if you go outside their normal parameters which I do understand given they have to cater for the majority. I did return to the UK completely refreshed and relaxed though so am happy with my holiday.

Read the operator's response here:

We are glad that Nikki's holiday was overall a relaxing, refreshing and good experience. There is no charge for the swimming pool shuttle service. We always offer free transport to the Casperia pool, I am sorry if Nikki read on her weekly holiday program differently and may assumed there was a charge this may have been due to a typo error on the program of the week of which has been corrected. Nikki was not charged for transport to the pool and back at the end of her stay with us. She was charged Ä3 for transport from the Il Gusto Borgo the local cooking schools Agriturismo where the group had dinner had dinner one evening. We can assure all guests we do not charge for pool shuttle services.

review 8 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The cookery class with Paula at the local cookery school.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect the yoga to be too challenging.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes in general I think this holiday is respectful to the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Relaxing and enjoyable but not exactly what I had expected on the yoga front.

Read the operator's response here:

We are glad the holiday was enjoyable overall for Lisa. We have different guest yoga teachers teaching each week. The Yoga teacher the week Lisa came on the holiday is Jessica Ground from the states, she teaches Hatha Yoga in a gentle way with a lot of awareness on breathing, which is not Dynamic / power Yoga, its Hatha Yoga which consists of not over the pushing the body. This can in itself be very healing and relaxing if you are open to the gentle approach of connecting to the mind and body and self. Not every yoga teacher can satisfy each individual person, our website has profiles of each yoga teacher their qualifications approach and when they teach at the centre. Most people attending the weeks when Jessica has been teaching have enjoyed her classes in both Yoga and meditation and Ayurveda. We welcome Lisa to come back and attend another weeks holiday when another Guest Yoga teacher is teaching and she may find the Yoga classes more suitable for her.

review 28 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The village of Casperia is truly memorable as it's so unique. Everything about the holiday was excellent though - the yoga classes were brilliant and everything was really well organised but in a relaxed and laid back way, the accommodation was lovely and very unusual.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it! And make sure you try some of the complementary therapies on offer - they are excellent and well worth the money (trust me, I'm a massage therapist!). I'd also recommend the buffet on the last evening - gorgeous!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

They employ a number of local staff, uses local produce as much as possible, and organises trips to villages and restaurants in the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

There's a big world out there and loads of places I'd like to see, so I rarely have a desire to return to the same place. However, I would definitely return to Casperia with and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, unique holiday.

review 29 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The town of Casperia is a wonderful traditional place in Lazio, Italy. The views of the hills and countryside are fantastic. The buildings and architecture also

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack a backpack - the cobblestone paths of the village right up the top of the hill are not so good for suitcases. Try the treatments out - great selection. I personally had the La Stone massage by Paola and the Shiatsu by Simone. Both very enjoyable and fantastic!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The holistic treatments were done by local people. We ate in the local town or close by and so supported the 2 local restaurants. The retreat is a great little local business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful relaxing experience. The weather was great. The people were lovely and the yoga was refreshing and a great way to start the day.

review 25 Apr 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all very good, but the bits that stood out for me: the warm welcome, and feeling looked after the stunning location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You can do as much or as little as you like, so it would suit a wide range of people, and a wide range of moods!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.


review 12 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A beautiful location, friendly people and very relaxing. An ideal place to 'get away from it all', however near enough to Rome to combine with a city break. I travelled on my own and there was a mix of couple/solo travellers in a small group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. Travel as lightly as possible/be able to carry your luggage. The journey to Casperia via public transport and traffic-free hilltop setting means that luggage has to be carried. 2. The accommodation is basic but clean. 3. Take advantage of the treatments available at an extra cost...they're lovely.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely benefits the local economy and public transport is easy to use.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Happy I chose this holiday, although I felt the price of accommodation was a little high for the level provided.

Read the operator's response here:

Just want to highlight there are 2 types of accommodation on the holiday the 1st Option is a budget type traditional village house accommodation traditionally furnished of which Jennie stayed in and the 2nd option is boutique style restored properties with ensuite rooms such as Casa Latini.

review 12 May 2005

Went for a week but got more than a week's worth of relaxation and renewal out of it. It was a good combination of structured activity - in the morning with the yoga and in the evening with shared meals. The rest of the time you had the freedom to do what you wanted. Lots of activities and additional yoga or massages you could buy into. I chose to spend the days doing exactly what I wanted which usually included setting off to wonder through the wonderful local countryside in search of a fabulous extended lunch - culinary bliss out! Handy for Rome too - so squeezed in a weekend there - never having been before. Italy is hard to beat - best food in the world, best culture, one of the best lifestyles. With this holiday you can immerse yourself in it whilst toning yourself up with yoga, and de-stressing in your very own medieval hill village. Thoroughly recommend it!

review 7 Apr 2005

I would like to say thank you again to give me such a special Easter holiday in Italy, it has been great.....I love it so much, I wish I have more time to stay longer... the Yoga class and practice with you has been brilliant. Although I have been practising Yoga casually in UK, I can tell the huge difference after 5 days serious practice under your supervision, it has been one of the most amazing thing in my life so far.... I don't know how to describe it in any language, but you really are amazing. The Yoga notes you gave me is so helpful... I am seriously thinking about professional Yoga learning and will keep you updated on this one, hopefully, I will come back in the future to practice under your supervision in the beautiful Casperia...

review 9 Sep 2004

My friend and I booked a fantastic holiday with this operator to Casperia in Italy. We stayed in an amazing palazzo full of great architecture and antiques for the price of a normal hotel. Many people we met including ourselves had travelled extensively and agreed that Casperia was a beautiful scenic and unspoiled paradise. The company had thought of everything; there was freedom to do what you wanted or take part in all types of interesting activities including daily yoga and excursions. This Medieval village was surrounded by organic farms and the operator ensured we were able to eat in a handful of local restaurants which all served excellent fresh food. I would highly recommend this holiday and travel company to anyone, there were many ways they had developed sustainable tourism in this village and it could be used as a model of good practice. I and the 20 or so other tourists who stayed in the village were very impressed and delighted with our choice. Everyone agreed they would holiday there again, indeed we met a few people who had extended their stay by 1- 2 weeks.

review 29 Jul 2004

I went on a yoga holiday to Italy, it was really good. The accommodation was basic but the quality of instruction for the yoga was excellent. There was one person in my party.

Read the operator's response here:

There are two accommodation options: Option A GB £295 with a GB £75 single sup for those wanting a single room is a self catering medieval village house in a prime location in Casperia with superb views and shared bathroom and small terrace. Option B Casa Latini a beautifully restored 13th century property with ensuite rooms, price start from GB £345 for single loft room and up to GB £395 per person for twin room with private lounge and bathroom. All twin rooms incur a GB £100 single sup charge in Casa Latini, Casa Latini also has a self catering kitchen communal lounge and terrace with spectacular views. When these 2 options are full we have Casa Bella vista and Forani Palace the noble home of the counts of Casperia as extra accommodation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies