24 independent reviews for Italian Alps inn accommodation in Piedmont, Italy

Reviews for Italian Alps inn accommodation in Piedmont, Italy

SHOW
8
13
3
0
0

review 7 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fine mountain walking (take proper boots) in good summer weather with a bit of a breeze to take the edge off the heat at over 2000 metres; delightfully relaxed hospitality at Bella Baita at the start and end of each day. Fabrizio and Marla know and are well known in the area and gave us plenty of good tips about where to go and places to visit. There's lots to do without having to drive great distances.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Rent a small car with a bit of power to it so that it can get you up the hill to Bella Baita, but also navigate the serpentine mountain roads. Swap stories with your hosts and do one of their enjoyable cooking classes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt this was a very low impact holiday. Great emphasis on shopping local - and why wouldn't you with a great market twice a week in Pinerolo? There's more wildlife to be seen in the area than in most parts of Italy these days, so someone must be doing things right in conservation - salamanders, marmots, wild goat and a good range of bird life in the mountains and forests. More nature than culture..

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just what we needed, a relaxed week but with plenty to do. No stunning surprises, but a completely recommendable choice for people who are looking for an active holiday supported by some rather superior home comfort!

review 19 Dec 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gosh, difficult to say which part out of so many! I am reviewing the holiday five months later and still remember everything about our stay here. The delicious food and warm hospitality from the hosts, the beautiful scenery and the long walks will stay with me forever, I think.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bringing a car would be best, but I'm sure carlessness would not be a problem.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - fresh, local spring water and local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

With the best rating possible.

review 26 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kindness of our hosts, the nice balanced way they shared and included us in their individual enthusiasm and warmth, the pertinent information about local and Piemonte region, without coming too close. Their excellent cooking skills, morning and evening. The easy contact with other guests over dinners, getting to know the world through their eyes. The stillness, the butterflies, the mountain skyline all around; the Gran Dubbione Valley which is so varied that it grows on you after only one week (we stayed nine days). The clean, simple, colourful and comfortable room and bathroom. there was a small, fully equipped kitchen annex sitting-room where we could make tea, sit at a small table or on a comfortable sofa. Springwater was provided via a special tap.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good walking shoes with you and sun protection. There were no mosquitoes. If you know a little Italian, you will get a long way talking with some of the elderly locals, who have much to share. If you are withou a car, like us, be ready to walk 1.5 hours to the nearest bakery or supermarket (and walk back!). we had an arrangement to buy simple lunch ingredients from our hostess, using the fridge in the small communal sitting room annex kitchen. Bring a book, there is no telly!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our holiday certainly benefited local people, as our hosts bought everything locally. They made much of their own food. Trips with their car were made to address several chores, to save on petrol. Our host keeps the walking paths clear and is behind a project to mark all the nice and safe walks in the direct region (GPS). our hostess upkeeps the information on the website addressing the sustainable tourism in the region.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday.

review 9 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The commitment of Fabrizio and Marla to their accommodation and to their guests was outstanding. Whilst it was exciting for a group of Australians to live in the Italian alps and to experience snow in December, it was our hosts exuberance for their B and B, their commitment to their local region and their willingness to go the extra mile for their guests that stood out. Particular activities that are memorable include the cooking class, a local new years eve celebration, exploring the local villages, the odd glass of grappa and the easy atmosphere created by mine hosts where guests feel as though they are part of the family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The B and B is at around 1000m above sea level and the road subject to snow and ice conditions during winter. Confirm that your car has chains that fit prior to attempting the road (particularly important with hire cars as we discovered).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It was evident during our visit to the Pinerolo market to purchase supplies for the cooking class that Marla and Fabrizio go out of their way to support local agricultural producers. This is evident through both their promotion and use of local produce, and as importantly, through their education of guests on the use of local ingredients in the cooking of local specialities, something that is possible due to their extensive local knowledge and their skills as chefs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Whilst we have many very happy memories of our recent 5 weeks in Europe all involved voted that the week was 'the' most memorable. This was primarily a result of the passion that both Marla and Fabrizio bring to the running of the accommodation and to ensuring the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. Of course this professionalism is ably supported by the fantastic scenery and interesting history of the area.

review 1 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful mountain scenery on our doorstep. In particular, we loved the day out on the mountain top at Prali. Blue skies, warm sunshine and miles of spectacular views of lakes as we walked high on the Alps. Every night we'd come back to the warm hospitality and great food of Marla and Fabrizio. The wine region nearby also provides a relaxing day out - the Barolo was amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's a great base for a walking holiday, a gem in the mountains off the beaten track. You'll be well looked after.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Marla and Fabrizio are very resourceful and go out of their way to support and promote local enterprises.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic holiday. We have some happy memories of a truly beautiful region.

review 25 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dancing to traditional occidental music in the village square in Usseaux where I had been taken by my hosts as an act of pure hospitiality. Also completing a four hour walk on the top of the mountain above Prali. Not forgetting the wonderful cooked by Fabrizio and Marla with instructions on how to do it at home of you wanted them.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book a cheap flight in advance so you can go direct to Toriono, and not as I did, via Rome which made it a much longer journey than necessary. Take a warm sweater even in summer, and don't expect very luxurious rooms. They are comfortable with wonderful views, but the bed would have been very hard if Marla hadn't given me a duvet to sleep on. You can get there without a car, but as it is six miles from the nearest town, you are very reliant on the generosity of Fabrizio to dive you to the bus/

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Fabrizio and Marla are absolutely passionate about using local products. Just about everything you eat is home made or produced in the region. They go to great pains to promote local producers. Inevitably, living so far up a mountain, you are reliant on a car to get down, but they try to rationalise their trips as much as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. As a single traveller it was ideal because I could be alone when I wanted to be, but also had company and local knowledge when I wanted it.

review 28 Dec 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

On the second night it was about 7 and Fabrizio put his head round the door and gently checked on our food plans. I'd forgotten to book dinner that night. He and Marla rustled up the most fantastic meal of polenta, sausages, cabbage, pudding, the works. Every meal was memorable. Christmas day, we put on the snow chains and headed up to the top of the valley, had a coffee, then came back and I sat outside with the sun on my face watching the blue skies and clouds and mountains opposite while Marla and Fabrizio cooked our dinner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go, make sure you stay several days and enjoy the local area as well as the incredible warmth and hospitality. It's a treasure.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Certainly. It's really clear from conversations that Marla and Fabrizio are working very hard for local tourism and that their presence is influential.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely special.

review 4 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the ski resort of Prali. This was recommended by Fabrizio and Marla as the chair lifts were working and it is an easy - about 40 mins from the accommodation. We loved the tranquillity, surrounded by snow capped mountains and walking down into the valley with its pristine lakes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take advantage of the wonderful meals prepared by Marla and Fabrizio. The food is freshly cooked, very appetizing and not at all 'heavy'. Every evening was so enjoyable, especially being able to eat with our hosts.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Food sourced locally. Fabrizio and Marla work hard on promoting the produce of the valley and taking care of the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, would love to go back again at some time.

review 23 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Thoughtful vegetarian and 100% home-made meals. I'll be back for the cooking lesson for sure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There’s not many things to do except relaxing, hiking and skiing (in the season) and the town in quite far from the house.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

In this aspect, I learned a lot from my host & hostess. They tried to get local vegetables and tried not to use plastic bags, and their daily life looked ecologically correct.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

95% (the weather was not very good. so I'd like to revisit there.)

review 4 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying high in the mountains with wonderful views. Very peaceful. Meeting a lovely couple (Italian and American) who could not do enough for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We recommend eating with Marla and Fabrizio. Both excellent chefs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. All home cooking from local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good indeed.

review 22 Jun 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in the mountain streams as we hiked along the beautiful valleys nearby. The porcini picked locally and cooked to perfection by Fabri.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A small car is very useful. Don't miss the fantastic market in Pinerolo. Penerolo is a really nice town to spend a day in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Very few people live full time is this area. Visiting here supports a very local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic holiday. We will definitely be back. Best breakfast in Italy.

review 1 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The warm and friendly hospitality provided by Marla and Fabrizio. They are very keen to help you to make the most of your stay with them, and have excellent local knowledge of the places of interest, good walks and great restaurants. They take time to get to know their guests and try to identify the type of activities that will suit individual tastes. We were lucky enough to see Juventus play a friendly match in the local town of Villa Perosa - an event which happens once a year and very exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Having a car allows you to make the most out of your time in Piedmont. I would recommend the fort at finestrelle, the walks at tredici laghi. Having said that, we did appreciate that we were not totally dependant on the car. If you enjoy walking, there are routes that start right on your doorstep, and I would certainly recommend that you book a cooking lesson with Marla and Fabrizio.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Marla and Fabrizio actively promote their local community. They can recommend some very good local restaurants and attractions and all their food is sourced from local markets. Re-cycling is actively encouraged

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fabulous holiday and all down to the great hospitality provided by Marla and Fabrizio. I rate it as one of the best places I've ever stayed in and hope that I will be lucky enough to return sometime soon.

review 11 Dec 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Finding the eyrie of the accommodation - way above the Chisone valley... and the welcome of Marla and Fabrizio.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It may be easier to have a car - as the house is a winding 6km up a mountain road. Make sure you take advantage of the cookery courses to hone your pasta skills!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Wood fuelled heating - locally sourced foods - use of local craftsmen... I think so!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent and all too short break...

review 31 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery, the hospitality and wonderful food! We were made to feel very welcome and very much at home from the moment we arrived in this beautiful alpine retreat. Joining our hosts Marla and Fabrizio for the evening meal was a real treat. Both are professional chefs, and the food, invariably served over four courses, is very special. We have rarely eaten so well. Joining in with the cooking classes was a hugely enjoyable and satisfying experience - the pasta we made with Marla's expert teaching, was the best I've tasted.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Throw caution to the wind and have five puddings a day. Marla has worked as a pastry chef, and her puddings, cakes and breads are to die for. Make sure you sign up for the cooking classes, these are a very fun and sociable way to spend an afternoon - they are also very 'hands on', so you can join in properly and there is absolutely no sense of standing around just watching (something we have experienced elsewhere). Watch out for the homemade Limoncello (delicious) and Fabrizio's grappa (deadly - but very tasty). If it's the right time of year, ask if you can join a mushroom hunt. The area is renowned for it's fungi, which are prized by the locals. On the whole, they are very cagey about the best locations, but Fabrizio is happy to act as a guide on one of his favourite mushroom trails (a word of warning though - I for one couldn't tell the difference between the edible type and the deadly poisonous type - Fabrizio has been gathering mushrooms since he was a small boy, so he knows, but don't try it on your own). The walking is excellent - quite strenuous in places, but the alpine scenery is always breathtaking. The 'Seven Bridges' route is a most dramatic walk, criss - crossing a crystal clear mountain river in a stunning gorge. We didn't have a car, so the further reaches of the valley were out of our range, but there was plenty of local walks to keep us happy for the best part of a week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Marla and Fabrizio source all their food from local markets, and almost everything we ate had been grown in the valley. Like all Italians, they are fiercely proud of local produce, and rightly so. They are very conscious of their environment. We were able to get there easily by public transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays we've had, certainly the best in terms of the welcome and the hospitality. It's only four stars because of the weather - which is perhaps unfair, so for the accommodation, it's a resounding 5. Being a mountainous region, the weather can change very quickly, but we had rather too much cloud and rain for our tastes (although this also included the most spectacular lightning storm I've ever seen). Marla did say it had been an unusually wet year. Besides, rain would just be another excuse, if you need one, to stay in and eat more.

review 13 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The spectacular mountain scenery and remote location. The warm and genuine welcome from our hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read up on the area before you go as the tourist information for the area is not very well co-ordinated. Our hosts were very helpful however particularly with gastronomic information. If you are travelling with small children as we were you will need to be fairly well organised but you will find children are warmly welcomed and accommodated everywhere. Don't expect the locals to speak much English and remember that life goes on at a different pace.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. We ate at local restaurants, shopped at the markets and visited local attractions. I don't think any of our activities impacted on the environment greatly however we did travel a lot by car necessitated by the remote mountainous location and the fact we were travelling with 2 small children.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful experience and one where we felt truly connected to a place through our contacts with local people. The area has not been spoilt by mass tourism and it was one of the few European holidays we have taken where we have not felt that at the end of the day we were just more tourists passing through.

review 13 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Location of B&B and the caring hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring an umbrella.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes certainly for the first statement.

review 22 Apr 2007

Last month I returned from my first trip to the Italian Alps – it was better than I could ever have hoped. I stayed at this accommodation, a small guest house high up a mountain. Arriving at Pinerolo in the evening after a bus journey from Turin, speaking no Italian, I was apprehensive. Pinerolo was clearly lovely, but I was dreading the communication problems. I needn’t have worried – although there was little English spoken, people could not have been friendlier and a lady in a café showed me, via hand signals, how to use the Italian public telephones. I phoned this accommodation and was amazed to find that Marla, the hostess, spoke perfect English with an American accent. She was indeed American but I hadn’t realised this. Marla told me to wait by the station and her husband Fabrizio would come and fetch me. A very cheery Italian man – Fabrizio - subsequently arrived and we drove through the Italian agricultural landscape until we reached some truly impressive mountains. Fabrizio seemed to drive straight up the side of an extremely steep wooded mountain for a couple of miles and we arrived at this accommodation – everybody’s image of an ideal Alpine lodge. Immediately on arrival at this accommodation, I looked at a vista of wooded mountains towering above the valley below with huge snow covered peaks behind, marking the French border. I watched the sun set behind the mountains as I sat in the kitchen while Marla and Fabrizio prepared a meal for us all. I am usually a single traveller and some of my friends consider me eccentric for holidaying alone – not a problem at this accommodation. It was clear that I was going to have good company whenever I wanted. Marla and Fabrizio really do consider their guests as friends. I was made welcome immediately and it was apparent that this was a place with a relaxed atmosphere – yet if you needed something, Marla and Fabrizio were able to provide it. (I was particularly grateful to them for being able to provide daily e mail access, enabling me to indulge my workaholic tendencies whilst enjoying my holiday.) On the first day of my holiday it rained, so exploring the mountains was out. So Marla and Fabrizio offered me a lesson in Italian cooking – we spent the afternoon making ravioli from scratch, a wild boar stew and Italian desserts. For the remainder of the week the sun shone - I got some good walks in, the locality having truly stunning scenery with ancient villages nestling among mountains within easy walking distance of this accommodation. Marla provided me with excellent packed lunches when I was out all day. If I was at this accommodation at lunchtime she had an amazing ability to rustle up salads and pasta at short notice. Every evening we sat down together for a home cooked Italian meal. Marla has a wonderful sensitivity towards her guests and quietly but accurately works out their taste in food and drink and caters precisely for them, without ever making it seem a chore. There were idiosyncrasies about my stay that I really enjoyed as well. I am a sociologist, so I was quite interested to watch Italian television and compare it to American and UK television. Marla and Fabrizio translated for me and explained the jokes on the satirical programmes. I spent the whole week at this accommodation, enjoying the views and food and company or walking through the mountains. It was remote and beautiful, although Marla and Fabrizio were ready to supply information regarding transport or car hire if I did want to go elsewhere. I intend to return to this accommodation in the autumn for another stay, even if it’s only for a few days. It was exactly the sort of holiday that I wanted and there are loads of walks that I still want to do. Of course, I am looking forward to seeing Marla and Fabrizio again. I can’t recommend this accommodation highly enough – I found it virtually by accident and I’m still amazed at the gem that I discovered by surfing the internet one morning. A word of warning – when Marla quotes the cost of your stay – there is no mistake, it really is that reasonably priced!


review 20 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The food, the views, and the friendly and accommodating hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have a car that can go up steep and very twisty roads! Ask to use the spare kitchen if you are interested in saving a bit on money and bring food with you as the road down to town is not just around the corner.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, very much.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 27 Apr 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to know where to begin. The wonderful view of the mountains when you open the blinds in the morning or the walking/biking through the beautiful surrounding area? The great food that seems to be everywhere or the warmth and hospitality shown to us by Fabrizio and Marla? Marvellous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If possible, hire a car. As mentioned by others, it's a good idea if you want to get out and about. The cookery classes come highly recommended. We went to the market, made a gorgeous 4-course meal with Marla and Fabrizio, then sat down together to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As mentioned, Fabrizio is from the area, and knows many of the local producers. There is an active promotion of agriturismo in the area, and both Fabrizio and Marla are heavily involved in this. We bought food from the market, and there was a wide selection of the local digestifs to sample (hic!).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Four and a half stars.

review 14 May 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Where do I start?! The food and location, the warm welcome - we had a wonderful time from start to finish - I think our favourite part was the cookery class. We set off in the morning to buy most of the ingredients fresh from the market together, made a meal fit for a king then ate the meal with much anticipation, fine wine and good company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When reading other travellers reviews on this accommodation and getting advice from our hosts - we decided to hire a car. This is definitely recommended as it gives more freedom and opens up the options as to what's available to you activity wise day/evening. Moreover, the drive from the airport is very straight forward and the roads are good!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Fabrizio is from the area and the food was all local produce - a great deal of it was home-made, yum! To name a few other examples: this accommodation recycles paper, plastic, aluminium and glass. The water is only heated when needed and we also went to the local market to buy ingredients for our cookery class.

4. Any other comments?

Four and a half stars! We had such a great time on our long weekend, we got great weather, great food and a great welcome. Marla and Fabrizio were also excellent sources for information activities, history, culture and the food/wine of the area. Thank you!

review 17 Jun 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable was the hospitality, very different from any other hotel that I have stayed in. But for their hospitality It would have been very difficult/costly for me to get about as the hotel is 6.5km from the bus stop at the bottom of the road. Fabrizio drove me from and to Pinerolo train station and despite having to wait awhile for me as my flight was delayed, he was really good humoured. Fabrizio and Marla also took me on walks which were off the beaten path. This was really helpful as there are only 3 marked official paths within close proximity of the hotel. On these walks we picked wild strawberries and found the biggest mushroom I have ever seen (so large it was served as anti pasta that and the following evening). I saw salamanders, eagles and mountain goats, and even heard cookoos. Meeting Fabrizio's parents was lovely, his mother baked me a chocolate pie for my journey home. Other locals that I met were also very friendly. I really did get the sense that I was experiencing local Italian living.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would suggest that they hire a car as this would afford them greater independence and give them access to local facilities and other official paths.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Certainly as at this accommodation as in most rural areas of Italy the food is mainly sourced locally. Also as most of their food suppliers tend to be small farm holders as I experienced on a trip to the market, I would imagine that farming methods are not intensive and so I would expect the use of fewer pesticides. Although the locals are dependent on the woods for fuel my hosts explained that the woods were managed responsibly.

4. Any other comments?

I would give 3* for hospitality and ** - *** for the holiday overall.

review 29 Oct 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Discovering the hidden charms and natural beauty of the Val Chisone and its surroundings. We were ably assisted in this by Marla and Fabrizio the proprietors at this accommodation who are very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with suggestions that add to the success of the stay with them.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is advisable to have your own transport as this enables visits to remote villages and hamlets which are part of the history and culture of Piedmont – as well as giving access to lovely areas for walking. The road network is good – and getting better in anticipation of the Winter Olympics in Feb 2006 – and we were able to drive easily to nearby towns such as Pinerolo and Saluzzo, which are full of interest.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes – we were very impressed by the emphasis that Marla and Fabrizio gave to this aspect of our stay and they encouraged us to share their love of the locality and the maintenance of its environment and traditions. This included sampling an excellent variety of local foods and dishes. We also found local people in villages and restaurants were very friendly and helpful to us.

4. Any other comments?

We are almost certain to go back to the area because there is so much we still want to do and see – and we will not hesitate to return to this accommodation when the time comes......we do not have grandchildren, but we are telling lots of friends about it. It is definitely a four-star experience in my book.

review 2 Oct 2005

I had a wonderful holiday in Italy last September. Following a search on your website I contacted Marla and Fabrizio of this accommodation via e-mail. They responded immediately with the news that they had a vacancy and would be happy to see me two days later. As it was all very last minute I had little idea of the area etc I was travelling to. My journey was delayed by a day and night due to Eayjet's loss of my luggage but Marla was very accommodating and kept abreast of my movements via text. When I eventually arrived two days late I was welcomed with homemade pastries, great Italian coffee and a warmth that I usually only get on returning home to Ireland. Marla and Fabrizio explained the ethos of their business and we made plans for my stay. My holiday in Northern Italy was six days and nights, during which I ate my own bodyweight in gorgeous Italian cuisine (including veggies from the family's garden, mushrooms from the mountains freshly picked by the family and locally sourced produce), went hiking in the mountains close by (Marla has a wealth of experience in guiding, trekking and orienteering, along with a great understanding of the local culture, geography and history which made our walks so much fun) and managed to pick up a few useful phrases. I also visited local artists and producers such as the Galup panonette factory....ideal for finding usual gifts and local foodstuffs to bring home. Fabrizio took me to the local horse-riding school where they arranged an English-speaking riding instructor and I had a ball! My accommodation was clean, warm and perfect for my needs. I felt it was my home for my stay and the views of the mountains from my open doors in the morning were magnificent. By the end of my stay I felt I had made two good friends and was welcomed into their home and immersed in Italian local life. The wonderful thing about my stay was the relaxed way Marla and Fab run their business, I arrived stressed and tired and left rested, relaxed and promising to come back soon. In summary, the holiday was great value for money, Marla and Fabrizio provide a service that is well-beyond B&B standard and I would recommend this holiday for single travellers (as I was) as well as couples and families. I do not drive and so was reliant on Fabrizio's kindness so I would recommend your own transport if you want to get out and out a bit. And it fulfilled all I would expect from an ecologically responsible business.

review 28 Sep 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a very relaxing time staying there and I think that the most memorable part of our holiday was the great hospitality and friendliness shown by our hosts, who bent over backwards to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves and were able to do what we wanted to do, and of course the beautiful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some tips I would share would be to maybe make it a 2 centred holiday, we went to the coast for a couple of days by train and think that we may have been bored if we had stayed there for the whole 10days. The B&B is situated 5.5km up a steep hill which was a bit of a surprise as we thought that the "end of the road" meant just a short walk, however the hosts would pick us up from the bottom of the hill and there was a bus which we used to travel to the next town or to Turin. Tourism is just developing in this area so knowing some Italian would be an advantage.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I felt that the holiday benefited local people as the hosts lived within the community and used all local produce and services. Our hosts were great chefs and we were given examples of local dishes and products to try. Recycling was encouraged..

4. Any other comments?

Overall I would give the holiday a 3* rating. Great if you want peace and quiet and a get away from it all holiday beware of putting on weight though with all the lovely food!

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies