20 independent reviews for Red Sea diving holidays

Reviews for Red Sea diving holidays

SHOW
1
17
2
0
0

review 20 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having never undertaken a scuba holiday before I was eager to find somewhere beautiful, friendly and, moreover, safe and professional. This holiday certainly surpassed all these criteria. Everything the club provided was of the first order, be it the fantastic dive instructors, who never failed to make my holiday fun and engaging; the well-thought out and delightful accommodation; safe and well-maintained equipment; and the friendly, caring and enthusiastic staff. The restaurant there is also of a high standard. Being right on the beach and only 3 metres from the hotel, Food Urge is an enchanting place to eat. Their Bedouin seating areas are wonderful for relaxing in, drinking tea and recalling the many wonders seen during a dive that day. The holiday provider has my complete endorsement; the family who run this establishment make every effort to create a memorable and fun experience for you. Although it sounds an over exaggeration, this traveler has never stayed at a more friendly place. I would definitely come back to say with the crew again and explore more of the Red Sea - perhaps the Blue Hole! Thanks for a wonderful holiday! 10, 000 pts!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. Book as early as possible to get cheaper flights to Sharm. 2. Bring your sun glasses and hats, especially for boat safaris. 3. There are cash machines in Dahab, so no need to bring a lot of cash. 4. No need to bring your own equipment unless you really want to, or need to. 5. Don't buy the food on the plane - it's grossly over priced for what you get. Just by sandwiches at the airport in the UK and ask the owners to prepare you something for the flight. 5. Take a jumper if you're going in April or earlier (+ trousers). It was warm but the wind occasionally make it a tad chilly during the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Defo. 99% of the staff, including drivers, were locals. The food was freshly prepared and locally sourced. Great efforts are made to be reduce the impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a wonderful experience at the centre and Dahab. The friendly and professional diving instructors, facilities, accommodation and eager and caring staff made for a highly memorable holiday. I would defo go back when I can and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place to anyone thinking about a scuba diving holiday.

review 7 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was fantastic. This is definitely the place to go if you want to dive and snorkle. Itís a great location too, near the main stretch but far enough away to allow you to enjoy your peace and quiet. The staff are amazing, really helpful and fun to be around. They went out of their way to ensure I had a good time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No particular tips. This is an ideal place for friends, small groups and the independent traveller. It also caters for disabled travellers (one of my diving companions was a wheelchair user). Some rooms and showers are kitted out for wheelchair users.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I would say so, food was locally soured, reasonably priced. We were given tips on how to respect the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, it was just what I needed.

review 29 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My first dive as a qualified open water diver, being able to enjoy watching all the colourful fish and corals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring plenty of cash, because the cash machines can be temperamental. Try not to get a cold because you might have to take couple of days off, enjoy yourself.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It was great to stay in a place where so many Egyptians were working, in a family atmosphere.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! So relaxing, with great, hospitable people and lovely food, plus finally achieving my ambition of learning to dive.

review 13 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving in the blue hole.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't dive already Ė learn.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Drivers and staff at the hotel were all local. We were able to dive locally and sometimes walking from the hotel. No use of boat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 15 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was spectacular but the most memorable part of the holiday would be the staff at the dive centre. I can't recommend the place too highly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack the minimum and be prepared to relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The dive centre employs many local people. Policies regarding room cleaning, towel washing and waste separation were all environmentally friendly. Great care is taken during diving to minimise impact on the reef.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - the hotel was ideally located close to the Bedouin town and only a short walk to the main tourist area but it was a quiet oasis. The staff were excellent and so friendly. The dive staff are totally wonderful and so is the chef.

review 9 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scuba diving the blue hole in Dahab. Fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dahab is rapidly becoming like sharm-el-sheikh! There are some very good independent dive centres, with a few massive resorts popping up.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The dive centre we stayed in was a family run business owned by a local man. The majority of staff employed were locals, including the dive instructors. The hotel was keen on recycling plastic bottles, and encouraged guests not to get plastic bags in local shops - they provided a canvas bag in every room for shopping. Whilst diving we were encouraged to avoid damaging coral and sea life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable holiday, very relaxing, great scuba diving.

review 9 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was fantastic - couldn't do enough!!!!! The operator looked after me really well and made the holiday so much fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Can't think of anything other than make sure you drink lots of water as its v hot and you get v dehydrated when diving, but other than that just enjoy your time, oh and book for longer than you think, I went for 8/9 days and wished I'd had more time there!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

My dive master was local and the place I stayed was staffed by locals which is great as you feel that they are directly benefiting from your tourism. I have not been to Dahab before but others who had said that the levels of rubbish had improved and it is alot cleaner and there is a more active approach to recycling and minimising the use of plastic bags so hopefully that will just keep getting better.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic and am already looking at dates to go back.

review 20 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just generally having a warm peaceful holiday in a small well-run diving complex. All the staff were very good and professional.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just to relax and enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I felt that this ethos was very evident with the tour operator.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just the ticket!

review 27 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Firstly, thank you very much for recommending this operator. There couldn't have been a better choice for a diving centre. I spent a week with the team and the whole week was memorable and exciting. The place is run by a very effective team of professionals, who go every day over the top to make their guests feel special and very well looked after. I have passed my PADI diving certificate and I am looking forward to return to the dive centre next year for more diving.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to be well looked after and have a great diving experience, you must book with this operator! Be open to listen and respect the local people. And be careful how you treat the sea life as it is so fragile, beautiful and precious!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I have taken extra steps to make sure I follow every advice on how to protect the environment for everybody but mainly for the local people. The operator is particularly good at advising their guests on the best way of protecting the environment and the local people!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a wonderful time and I am very grateful for it to the people of the dive centre... without them and their kindness and help that wouldn't have been possible!

review 7 Mar 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was ALL good - the wonderful hospitality, the beautiful diving, the excellent instruction, the interesting company and the lovely setting...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take enough cash for Egyptian purchases like food. The ATM's are problematic. The food on site is especially good.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Very much to the benefit of local people. A family run community business employing nearly all local people and inspiring them to high standards. Very careful diving practices. Locally sourced products and services.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Charming, restful, friendly and excellent in every respect.

review 1 Feb 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving and camel safari to Ras Abu Ghalum National Park.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít eat in the main strip in Asilah too much!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not sure. There is a lot of rubbish in Dahab which is a shame but the reef is in surprisingly good condition. The operator has mostly local staff.

review 8 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The excellent diving and the one-to-one guiding. The people were fantastic - knowledgeable, professional and really hospitable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! I was travelling alone and was very nervous about going to Egypt to dive by myself. I needn't have been. The tour operator made everything really easy and I felt secure the whole time I was there.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. This became especially apparent when I watched other groups underwater from other dive centres (especially those from Sharm) grabbing coral, picking things up and bashing into the reef as they dived. Their instructors did nothing to stop them and even, at times, encouraged this irresponsible behaviour. My guides respected the reef at all times and often collected litter floating in the water column as they dived.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Wholly professional, very hospitable and friendly and a great set up. The rooms and food were brilliant. The quality of equipment and technical support on site was faultless and the diving was made so good because it was led in a relaxed way that was very reassuring.

review 28 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The utmost professionalism of Richard my instructor - thank you again! Be aware that things can go wrong, not as a result of anything within the control of the operator but just because occasionally they do. Be confident that if they do, you will be well looked after.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is like the web site says. Really friendly people, really nice place. Relaxed and chilled. Make sure that the scheduling suits you rather than the other way around.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local people and family staff the club so yes. Everyone seems happy to work there - if they are not they hide it well. Notices about minimising air con; re-cycled water etc so yes committed to trying to minimise impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I'd go back. Not exactly the holiday that was planned but that through no fault of the tour operator or Richard! The ratings don't really lend themselves to the experience but had I been able to do what I set out to do then I'd award it 4.

review 20 Mar 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The high quality of the dive guiding - ensuring that someone like me who was a bit rusty could build confidence and really enjoy it, as well as making sure that we dived responsibly to avoid damaging the reef or disturbing the life there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a good destination for a single woman. The staff at the tour operator are all a delight and Dahab feels very safe. Be prepared for the standards of driving to be not as high as at home! As the ATMs can be a bit temperamental, I'd take all the cash I needed with me another time and leave it in the safe.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, apart from the dive guides, all the staff are local as are the owners of the tour operator. There is emphasis on ensuring minimal impact on the reef. Sadly, you will see other divers in the water who take a lot less care.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great - chilled relaxed atmosphere and good diving.

review 30 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the beauty of the coral reef and fish accompanied by a really professional and encouraging instructor. A Bedouin style meal under the full moon up in the mountains above the Red Sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ideal holiday for families with teenagers who want to dive/learn to dive. Also very welcoming atmosphere for solo travellers. Not for clubbers, but very friendly and laid back. Take your own toilet soap.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Owners are very conscious of preserving the reef. All the staff are locals and are apparently paid above local rates.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Jonny, 18, 'best holiday yet!' Alison, 57, 'lovely relaxing break in a beautiful setting'

review 16 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was very slickly organised. Staff were very friendly and professional. The accommodation had the air of being family run and it was a very pleasant environment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you do as much diving as possible because there are so many fantastic dive sites and you won't find more experienced or more sociable guides. Get Roxy to take you quad biking if you think you can hack it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local people were employed, especially drivers and chefs. The operator was definitely not run by English people only. All non-Egyptian staff were very culturally aware and spoke Arabic which was very impressive. Diving guides always respected marine life and even cleaned up when it didn't compromise the client's enjoyment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would definitely go again. I have worked in two other dive centres and this place outclassed their service, equipment, friendliness, and social and ecological responsibility.

review 27 May 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving. We were expecting it to be good, but it was spectacular. Our instructors Sam and Birgit were wonderful and the small groups made us feel safe and special. The family atmosphere was a further jewel in the crown.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The dreaded Gyppy tummy can ruin a holiday. Bring plenty of rehydration salts and any other medication you can, and avoid dodgy food. We needed a doctor who was very kind. Be prepared for the fact it may happen!! Those who enjoy an alcoholic drink may need a bit of background knowledge on its aquisition.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Many of the local Bedouins got work through this operator, and there was a good relationship between the Egyptians and the Bedouins. The philosophy of the center was to have a very responsible attitude towards the sea.

review 27 Nov 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable was my friend learning to snorkel for the first time, in calm clear waters full of colourful fish and coral.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Although it is right by the sea, it was too windy to swim in the sea most days, and I think that is typical of this part of Dahab (but there are more sheltered beaches to the south, and they were happy to arrange transport).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I would give it 3 stars as it was very enjoyable, but I would also recommend it to friends.

4. Any other comments?

Overall, I'd say that the staff, service, food, and facilities were very good. We had a smooth transfer and a warm welcome, with staff on hand to make sure we had everything we needed; the location is right on the beach and within an easy stroll of the town; the food is cooked to order and was delicious, and there is easy access to tea, water etc; the dive services were friendly, helpful and professional, in small groups (2-4), with well maintained equipment. They seemed to provide a good service for disabled people. We stayed in the larger (family and friends) accommodation, which had good facilities but rather creaky beds and doors, but is in a prime site with sea views. Donít know what other rooms were like, but they are set back from the beach.

review 1 Apr 2006

After Egyptian mainland Dahab was SO different. Very laid back, Bedouin cushions on the beach, and not nearly so much hassle from traders or restaurants. I felt very safe wandering around on my own. Good to relax after a busy 14 days sightseeing. Couldn't dive because I dislocated my shoulder! But the diving instruction seemed first class. Water was colder than I thought. It was low season. I think every Xth person was a European dive instructor who just loved Dahab! The diving company was lovely, small and friendly. 3* (probably more if I had gone diving, but from what I saw my diving experience in Indonesia still comes top) The diving wasn't cheap if you take into account hiring equipment.

review 28 Aug 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Red Sea scuba diving - simply extraordinary!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't dive/snorkel, not much else to do in Dahab. Need to be culturally aware and don't break promises.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - made a number of friends with local people, distributed a quite a lot of cash! Think we left a good opinion...

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies