41 independent reviews for Sea kayaking holiday in Croatia

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 10 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 26 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The brilliant guide and the beautiful sun sets.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try wild boar to eat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed with locals. They were friendly and felt as though we were living among them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic. Had an amazing time and started planning the next on the way home.

review 27 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting a variety of people. The day paddling when we stopped for a picnic on the side of the island and were left to swim and relax

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to really like Kayaking

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it supported local people. All lunches were arranged in local restaurants Group tour to a local small farm where a lady cooked an amazing meal with wine and local brandies all enjoyed on her porch. Very traditional food made by a local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was good could of been a bit more opportunities to explore the coastline. Sometimes felt like it was just to focused in getting from A to B

review 12 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I can't choose just one thing. We live on the west coast of Scotland, which is arguably the most interesting and scenic place in the world for sea kayaking, so we were hoping for equally interesting places to see and stop off at, with just better weather! There were 3 occasions when our guide opted for safer or curtailed trips, based on his assessment of our abilities, but we still faced some tricky conditions at times, so that was exciting. I was a bit disappointed there were not more landing places to allow more exploration. That said, the relaxed atmosphere, lack of traffic on the islands and the friendliness of our hosts are the impressions that are staying with me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Keep some energy sweets or bars handy! Ask about the implications of any changes the guide may make to the proposed schedule. For example, one day we waited for the weather to ease off but found ourselves with a 4 hour paddle across lunch time. There was nowhere to stop and we hadn't been told to bring food. I'd also recommend adding on a couple of days to visit Dubrovnik.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We weren't given any information about local flora and fauna but we didn't see much either. Kayaking in itself is a low impact way to see a place. We all liked being in smaller guest houses run by local people and finding out how they make a living the rest of the year. These were people who love their jobs rather than people who just work for money and that glimpse of their lifestyle was a very special part of the holiday. Don't upgrade to a posh hotel!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good.

review 16 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most exciting part - the speedboat transfer in the dark! The most memorable - the whole week - beautiful weather, scenery, good company, lovely paddling...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

take mosquito spray and cream for bites! If you're veggie or vegan take some protein bars or powder with you. (Local food for veggies is pizza, salad, grilled vegetables, or spaghetti with tomato sauce. You can buy fruit easily in shops. If you're vegan it's limited choice, but most cafes/restaurants seemed happy to help with variations to their menu - having a tour guide to discuss in Croatian helped.) you don't need to take hiking boots with you (most walking you can do in flip flops pretty easily) spend a few days in Dubrovnik while you're there, and if you get time, there's a lovely little coastal town near the airport too - Cavtat, that's a nice place to spend a few hours if you have a later flight. Although it said suitable for novices (and I would agree it was) I think we got more out of it as a group because we were all experienced kayakers. I think your experience of this holiday could vary quite a bit depending on who was in your group.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes. We were very low impact, stayed with locals, ate local food in local cafes. Flying there wasn't so good, but it's hard to get to Dubrovnik otherwise.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fab! loved it and would do it all again in a heartbeat. Was sad to finish at the end of the week. Definitely up there as one of my best holidays.

review 18 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was memorable. The kyaking guides were fantastic, accommodation good, food great and I never felt 'herded' around - it was really relaxing and good fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring kyaking gloves - I used fingerless cycling gloves and they were perfect for the job.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It was lovely staying on local accommodation. I was also impressed by the kyaking guide picking up litter he found etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect!

review 3 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was memorable because every day we went somewhere beautiful but I would have to say the paddle on the first day in the swell and waves. It was baptism by fire!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make it clear what your room expectations are. All accommodation was good and perfectly acceptable, but as a single person I was allocated a twin room with another female traveller on the second leg of the trip. I didn't make a fuss because we made do with a sofa bed in the adjoining room, but if you're like me, you get to an age where you have certain requirements and want a degree of privacy! Take plenty of energy snacks when out in the kayaks. Our guides (who were wonderful) were keen to give us the best possible day's experience and because the weather was changeable our plans sometimes changed mid paddle and lunch was a long way from breakfast. Take a waterproof bag for your camera you can hang from your buoyancy aid to take shots on the water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accommodation was in local people's houses or managed by them. The meal at the farm house was all home grown/home reared and fabulous. The family worked so hard to give us a lovely meal. It was the best cuisine on the island.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely week. The group was great with a real mix of ages and experiences. The pace of the week was just right with some pretty challenging paddles some days and really relaxing ones on others. The attitude was laid back with loose plans flexible to suit the needs of the group.

review 2 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying on Sipan and doing a 22k kayak into a 25 km per hour headwind...great fun

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so. We ate in small local places and stayed in apartments or rooms owned by local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great fun.

review 23 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going into the blue and green caves. Being part of a group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To get it booked stop just thinking about doing it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the accommodation and restaurants where all local owned and they were all very friendly. The kayak instructors were all Croatian.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, we had worried about being part of a group but that turned out to be one of the best bits. Like minded people out to have more than a sun and sand holiday.

review 24 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire trip was great, I particularly enjoyed kayaking around the coast of Sipan and Quad biking over the hills of Calvat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to go with the flow and enjoy the expertise the guides have to offer. The food is great and the guides will take you to places that the locals eat which is great. On a practical note waterproof shoes are needed as the seabed is stoney.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really enjoyed the entire trip, all activities were very good and with a small group we got to know each other well. I would definitely recommend this trip to friends.

review 4 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

In terms of kayaking, the immense satisfaction of being able to skim through actual waves past towering rocks was pretty exciting; after only three days I felt like I'd completely got it, even after getting stuck between islands and having to be towed back to the beach early on. The meal on the last night would have been more memorable if the hosts homemade grappa hadn't been so potent, but I'll never forget the moonlit walk back down the mountain and the flight of the conchords covers/ Croatian ballads. Our guides were so lovely, calm and happy and I had a great group of enthusiastic and very friendly people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take kayaking gloves and plasters- i didn't have gloves and although I was fine with plasters it would have been easier with gloves. Personally I'd make sure I had at least two days to to see Dubrovnik properly either at the start or the end of the holiday, as it's a beautiful place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate at some fantastic local restaurants, at least one of which we wouldn't have found or been able to go to without our guide, and our group had a whole house block to ourselves. Kayaking is a very low impact activity in terms of the environment, and our guide would quite rightly not let us use the golf buggies so we adhered to the no cars rule.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was superb. I wish I'd booked for longer! I'm a convert to kayaking and Croatia- can't wait to return! I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to completely switch off and enjoy beautiful scenery and lots of simply cooked excellent food.

review 24 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was memorable because it is the first time we had been on a adventure holiday. I didn't think I would enjoy it as much as I did and kayaking in this beautiful part of Croatia was breathtaking. From the moment we stepped off the aeroplane until we got back on we were looked after very well. Our local guide Filip couldn't do enough to help us and we are much indebted to his energy and company making it very relaxed and enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would recommend booking an extra couple of days to see Croatia because we were on the islands and not the mainland. It is not too expensive and the Croatian people are very friendly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I felt the local people benefited from us because we were accommodated in local guesthouses rather than large hotel complexes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We absolutely loved this holiday because as well as hard work kayaking it was so nice to stop off on the Islands either exploring or going to the local bars for refreshments. The balance between kayaking and having our own time was just right. Croatia is a beautiful country and we will certainly be returning. I would recommend this to anyone who wants an alternative to lazing about in the sun. Give it a try and I promise you will love it.

review 11 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I don't think anything could top the 8 foot waves we encountered on the first day kayaking out of Lopud. The thrill of the waves toppling down on top of our boats was an adrenaline rush we didnít expect and the sight of dry land an even better feeling :)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do a course before you go, you need to be fully competent in your skills if you come up against the rough sea's like we did (given the conditions we had to turn back and considering that there was no group control I think it was the safest option.) We had a group of 12 people with 2 guides. 2 of our group decided they wouldn't battle the waves (which appeared suddenly) as they hadn't kayaked before so understandable really and 1 guide took them back to shore leaving 1 guide to 10 people so when 1 guy got into trouble the guide stopped to help him and the group scattered trying to battle the waves so we felt that should any of us had gotten into trouble we were a long way from help. As most of the group had kayaking experience everyone managed to stay upright and all managed to turn back safely. But I donít believe this was due to the guide but our good fortune and relative skill. Bring your snorkels + fins + underwater camera to enjoy the wonderful sea life some just centimetres beneath the surface. Oh and donít forgot water shoes/booties those urchins hurt! Make sure you are happy with your boat before leaving lopud as the later in the week you go the harder it will be to swap them out should you feel uncomfortable. Donít go with expectations of things running to time - Croatia especially the islands are so laid back you might as well leave your watch at home and go with the flow. Bring some binoculars - we saw a large group of dolphins and had we brought binoculars we would have been very happy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - in every way. From staying/eating in locally run B&B style accommodation to travelling by paddle power. Our guide also encouraged us to pick any litter we came across while paddling - which in fairness was very little but the odd bottle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great holiday. Once our group got over the hesitance resulting from the first days outing we had a blast. From then in our guide was fun both on and off the water. On the final day he (Radivan spelling eh?) took the time out to show us how to eskimo role on what would have been his day off and also joined us on a powerboat we hired to show us the best snorkelling/diving places. Be prepared for some long days kayaking and whatever the sea throws at you enjoy yourself. Our group was amazing too which always helps...

review 6 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

First day's kayaking in rough seas!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book as far out of season as you dare to avoid crowds.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - I think we provided employment and were impressed that, on the whole, the food was local and fresh and that the islands were not commercialised or overdeveloped.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyable, well run, owners went to some lengths to make sure we enjoyed ourselves for which, many thanks.

review 5 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Excellent week - well organised and superb kayaking.

review 2 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Each day was different, so it all added up to a totally memorable experience. We loved the special dinner at the Lopud farmhouse.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It helps if you have a little sea-kayaking experience before joining the trip, even though complete novices are catered for.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We were staying in local accommodation, and eating at local restaurants. As a small group we did not feel as though we were having a significant impact on the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The operator was very well organised, and very efficient. Not only was the actual trip a pleasure, but their attention to your 'wants' before and after the trip very much appreciated. They made you feel like a really valued client. We have no hesitation in recommending this trip to our friends.

review 23 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was our first trip to Croatia and my boys and I had a fantastic time kayaking round the Elaphite Islands, swimming in the sea, exploring caves and chilling out on Lopud. It was a glorious way to see bits of the islands that you otherwise wouldn't be able to reach. Our guides were lovely.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring kayaking gloves! Also, my youngest is 10 and found some of the distances a bit hard going - though our very obliging guides towed him on a couple of occasions (which he loved).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Clearly kayaking has a negligible environmental impact. On the other hand, I don't think our holiday was of much benefit to the locals except insofar as Lopud (the island we stayed on) is utterly tourism dependent so I guess us being there swelled the coffers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I was worried that we wouldn't get on with the other families - but they were all lovely (we were 15 people for 4 days and 8 for the remainder.) Kayaking allows you to interact as much or as little as you want with others - and there was lots of down time for lazing about. As a single parent with three boys (10,12 and 16) the holiday was an outstandingly enjoyable success.

review 14 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The green cave was stunning and definitely one of the highlights. I also loved being on the water every day - both when the sea was choppy which was harder work but really fun and when it was like glass and completely silent. I'm really glad that I went with a locally-run company as having a guide who knew the islands so well meant that we got far more out of the trip, and that everything was far more relaxed, than if I'd travelled independently.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If I was to go again I'd take a yoga mat, rock shoes for scrambling and a small dry bag so that I could keep my camera on me while paddling. The coast is so beautiful that you'll want to take pictures of pretty much everything which you can't if your camera is stowed away like mine was most of the time! Everyone who's seen the photos that I did manage to take has wanted to visit Croatia and I'd really recommend using this company.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely. We ate in local restaurants which would have benefited the local economy and certainly benefited us as the food (in particular the seafood) was generally both fresh and delicious. The islands were full of cats too which dealt with any food waste pretty effectively! Kayaking is a fantastic way to see the coast and doesn't have any impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I gave this holiday 5 stars as although I've had some great trips before I've never felt so much better after just one week. The Elaphiti islands are absolutely gorgeous which makes it all the more amazing that they're so unspoilt - I hope they stay that way. Also, one benefit of going near the end of the season was that we were almost the only tourists there (especially on Sipan) and had the water to ourselves.

review 27 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Finding all the tranquil little coves that the other tourist boats couldn't get to.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax, switch off and let rhythm of the paddling carry you along. It is the most relaxing exercise gets!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It was nice to meet, stay and eat with the local people. We got so much more out of the trip than if we had been staying in a big self contained hotel. It seemed that wherever possible the operator had used local people, which made for a far more interesting trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful time. It was our first trip to Croatia and it was such a perfect way to see the country. Our guide made the experience all the more brilliant with his unending knowledge of his country, he was a constant source of enlightenment, enthusiasm and laughter. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the trip to anyone thinking of going to Croatia or just looking for somewhere to go sea kayaking.

review 14 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery was fantastic, the relaxed life of the island coupled with the flexibitiy of the tour guide. This allowed the guide to change the itinerary based on the weather so we could maximise the days on the water and not loose out. Going into the caves was spectacular and the excitement of paddling on choppy waves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This holiday is great for beginners and advanced and there are parts you could miss out and not attend at all. You donít feel forced into doing anything you would like to do. The guide is not particularly hands on. Our group were all fairly experienced so if you do want more hands on be aware that this is not a teaching school. The accommodation is basic so donít expect 4 star. Be careful to account for the cost of your lunch and dinners as they are not all included. Bring a good book if you are on your own as you do have a fair amount of free time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As you eat out in local restaurants you are benefiting the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was an excellent mix of exercise, and relaxation. Plus the relaxed attitude of the guide was great.

review 31 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Awesome scenery along the coast and around the islands. My favourite place was the little harbour town Sudurad on Sipan. Good local food and local wine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are not a good paddler make sure you get a kayak which has a working rudder, sometimes hard to paddle for a long time with side winds. Make sure to check the accommodation with your guide and agree on it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we stayed at local private houses and had our meals at small local places (the farm visit was the best). Yes, we made sure we didn't leave any garbage and I wished the rest of the tourists and locals would do the same. Unfortunately a lot of garbage (plastic bottles, bags) along the shore line.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great, would recommend it.

review 12 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The operator provided a way to slow down and kayak around the islands but also walk the villages and the islands seeing the history and fabulous country and culture that Croatia has. Having a guide from the islands was a bonus!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The amount of kayaking you do depends on the weather but even more on the various levels of skill that the group has. Come to enjoy it whether you do a little or a lot. Bring water shoes - the Adriatic really has very few sand beaches. Rocks are sharp. I enjoyed having a mask and snorkel.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we went to places and restaurants that aren't in the guide books and that were fabulous! Bought olive oil from the owner on Shipan - not something you can do everyday. Guide was very environment conscious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had a great holiday. Good accommodations, weather, folks and food! Group was flexible and everyday we set out to do one thing, did another and had a great time. Had a nice laid back vibe to the week. 1 recommendation for the operator. Bailers in the boats (just cut off bleach or detergent containers would do)

review 31 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My overwhelming memory of the one week sea kayaking tour is of kayaking around rocky islands in crystal clear water under perfectly sunny skies and in extremely calm water. A dinner at a local farm organised by our tour guide ("not included in price" but extremely good value) was magical - homemade produce including prosciutto, cheese and chicken washed down with homemade liqueurs, all graciously served.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are an early bird, take some books to read between sunrise and breakfast - getting breakfast before 9 am is virtually impossible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I certainly did - apart from the aeroplane flight!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The tour operator is a wonderful small company with an emphasis on personal service. They are very flexible in accommodating particular needs and timetables. Apart from the basic bare bones of the holiday they also made sure we were okay before and after the holiday and booked us a great room in Dubrovnik after the kayaking was over.

review 7 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Elaphite Islands, utterly beguiling. The village of Sipanska Luca, extraordinary.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go to Croatia now before everyone catches on.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

A week with no cars using kayaks, bicycles and public transport, just a shame we have to fly there. Sea-kayaking is such an excellent way to see the coast with the only fuel being the huge amounts of lunch required to paddle through the day. Croatia has a rapidly developing and well organised tourist industry. It would be nice to think that the Elaphite Islands will be protected from the more brutal aspects of this while still improving the lives of the folk who live and work there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

review 4 Jun 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery and marine flora and fauna are pretty fantastic around the Elaphite Islands; we had flat calm sunny weather for the first half of our trip so could enjoy it to the full! Trsteno is a gorgeous place which is well worth a visit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of sun cream and mosquito repellent. Not all the accommodation on the islands have air-conditioning and it gets pretty hot without the windows open but pretty uncomfortable the next day if the mozzies get you!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Kayaking is a carbon neutral way of getting around, and the islands don't have cars so you have to walk so all in all this holiday is pretty good for the environment. That said the ferries you take to get to the islands are about 60 years old and belch out plenty of diesel fumes - it all balances out though I'd say. The guides were from Dubrovnik and the company is run by local people. The accommodation is all small and family owned, and all the restaurants and cafes are run by the locals too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a great time but would have preferred slightly choppier seas! Can't do anything about the weather though and I can hardly complain about 30 degrees every day. Great for those who like to get away from it all.

review 6 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking between the islands.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it, you will have a great time. You do need to be reasonably fit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, by staying in the local guesthouse, meals in the local hotel and use of local guides.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great family run holiday company. Very helpful with all arrangements. Definitely recommended.

review 20 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The underwater caves, the food and drink at the farm on Lopud, and the group itself! All were excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sea kayaking isn't difficult to pick up, but it would be handy to have some experience of it before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. We only used the kayaks and ferries to get around, stayed with local people and ate (lots) at the local restaurants!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday, and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to see a beautiful part of the world, and doesn't want to sit on a beach for a week. The people (both paying and the guides) were great too. The manager of the tour company was there at the harbour to see us off on the first day, which was a good personal touch.

review 29 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I can understand why people would like to live in Croatia, the people were very friendly. The tour operator offered a very personal service, they endeavoured to make my holiday special. I enjoyed spending time in the unique town of Dubrovnik on my first day. Splitting the holiday between 2 island helped to make the holiday and adventure in its self.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I regret not taking a sun dress for the evenings, as the evenings were very warm. If you are kayaking take a thin cushion to sit on.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I stayed in local guest houses and eat in the local restaurants, this must have benefited the local community. Using the island ferries.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The Company offered a personal service. The kayaking daily trip was a real adventure. This is not a conventional holiday, but just right if you enjoy medium distance kayaking, and a casual holiday.

review 17 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

In terms of excitement - definitely the waves crashing over my kayak on day one!! Thankfully the winds eased for the remainder of the holiday. Worth remembering that the sea doesn't always appear like those mill-pond brochure pictures. The trip up to the farm on Lopud for dinner was also very memorable for all the right reasons. Such a fantastic location, and a wonderful meal. Virtually everything on the table had been grown or raised on the premises.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try and get a guarantee regarding the number of people in your group. I was told 8 (to one guide) when we booked. The brochure says max 10. We had 11 for the first three days - including 2 children and a complete novice. Thankfully, our guide was extremely experienced and coped fantastically when he was on his own with us in sub-optimum conditions on day one. He was a complete star. Also, try really hard not to bash your thumbs on the kayak. If you do that on day one (I did) then you'll spend the rest of the week fighting to get waterproof plasters to stick on open wounds. Doesn't work! Finally, take a torch. The trip back from the farm on Lopud to the guest house is a bit tricky otherwise.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We definitely benefited local people by staying in private rooms and eating in local restaurants. My environmental impact was probably bigger than anticipated, given the amount of bottled water I got through (so lots of plastic waste). Not because local water isn't drinkable (it is) but certainly on Lopud, water at the place we were staying was warm and had a funny taste which didn't make it particularly palatable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. We'll be back...

review 2 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Simply, the setting, it was beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a group activity holiday, so be prepared to be part of a group and holiday with them. You don't need to be superman but you do need to be willing to give things a go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. All board and lodging was taken with local people, who were all very friendly and welcoming. All travel that was not by Kayak was by public transport/bus.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 27 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The guide. He was fantastic! I spent the whole week in wonder of the sights while laughing at his stories. The family that run this trip is truly wonderful. They are so welcoming, friendly, and genuinely in love with their local area. The Chilean guide has a fantastic sense of humour, is really concerned about kayakers comfort with the length of each trip and energy expenditure needed to complete it. He is a great, great guy.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask for breakfast/dinner vouchers while you are on the island of Sipan.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. This is an incredible experience. Kayaking during the day and staying with locals in the evening.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Completely memorable. I would do it again in a heartbeat. I did not want to leave. The scenery, food (especially the ice cream on Lopud), people, walks, weather, and local activities that crop up make this trip truly worth the effort of booking.

review 19 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the Elafiti Islands is breathtaking and seeing them by sea kayak is certainly one of the more relaxing ways to approach it. The Adriatic is wonderfully clear and blue and when we were there the weather was fantastic and our group was really friendly which added to the experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This company are excellent. Our plane arrived after the last ferry had left for the day, but they collected us from the airport and arranged a special transfer by speed boat so we could start the kayaking the next day with the rest of the group. At the end of the trip they collected us from the ferry and took us to our hotel for the rest of the week. Definitely go with this operator!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in a local guest house and ate in local restaurants. On the final evening we were superbly catered for by a local family who lived near the top of a steep walk in Lopud. Their homemade liqueurs were certainly an interesting experience and the food was wonderfully tasty and fresh. As for sea kayaking, the impact on the environment is minimal which is certainly a plus point in addition to the sheer enjoyment of it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, the organising company catered for our every need. The guides were very good and couldn't have looked after us better. What a great job they have!

review 12 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Relaxing days, not getting up too early, bobbing about on the water, taking some great exercise in totally peaceful surroundings and then relaxing in fantastic restaurants eating delicious seafood....oh, and the ice creams on Lopud are outstanding.....so many choices, so little time to have them all! The guides were both fantastic - great sense of humour and they really worked hard to make sure everyone had a fantastic time. The Chilean guide was outstanding!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take some extra time to see Dubrovnik and other islands in the area. For those focused on lots of paddling the first couple of days were very gentle and I could have done with a bit more paddling but the guides are very relaxed about allowing people to take out the kayaks in the bays outside the guided times, so there is plenty of opportunity for more paddling if you want which was great. The days get progressively longer and by the end of the week it was 4-5 hrs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We stayed with local people rather than in hotels. Rooms were simple and clean, and the owners were wonderfully friendly, sending us off with bunches of grapes picked from their vines.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant! Highly recommended.

review 8 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayaking - it was fantastic. Beautiful scenery, crystal waters and clear blue skies. The other people on the trip were great, as were the guides. The Chilean was a particular star.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be sure to give yourself enough time either side of the kayaking to see Dubrovnik, and other parts of Croatia if possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic.

review 19 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Slipping out of the kayak and swimming into a cave with a submerged entrance.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The fitter you are the better but you can get away with less if you are in a tandem kayak.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Good use of local facilities, guest houses etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. Shame the Med doesn't have more fish but that isn't the tour's problem.

review 12 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The short time spent kayaking was excellent. Great to have the opportunity to be on the water and able to experience Croatia/ Dalmatia from the sea. Having been to the islands and see the marine charts, the planned kayaking had the potential to be fantastic with several islands kayaked round and viewed at sea level as well as time ashore.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for no kayaking if the sea state or winds so dictate. On a five day tour (three days of paddling) we only really had half a day on the water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely. Company owned by very dedicated Croatian people who live locally and are keen to ensure you have a great holiday and see the best the country and region has to offer before/ afterwards. The guide was very knowledgeable about the local area and half Croatian. Local accommodation was used and local foods and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Potentially an excellent holiday with superb staff, company, equipment, accommodation and food. It is unfair to rate it by the star system as the weather/ sea prevented most of the kayaking. Without doubt it would be 5 stars if there was kayaking.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your understanding that the reasons which spoiled your holidays were beyond our control. The weather was not favourable and it does not happen often on Elaphite islands during the sea kayaking season (May through October). If there is any chance that you can come to Elaphite islands again we would be pleased to offer special discount for you, hoping that you would be able to enjoy the sea kayaking the way it is most of the time.

review 9 Jul 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The setting was amazing - the Elafiti islands. We loved the kayaking the coasts and sometimes visiting caves. The towns were really great and not at all over-developed. We also had a real sense of achievement as we kayaked almost 100km in a week without it ever seeming like a great effort.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You don't need to be of Olympic standard but you do need some experience and fitness (the website does state this). Bring plenty of sunscreen and a wide-brimmed hat- it gets pretty hot out on the water. Also, on a more frivolous note, if you like ice-cream you must try it on Lopud!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local people, yes - local business, local restaurants, local accommodation. Minimal impacts on the environment - yes, the very nature of the holiday is minimal impact; also, eating locally sourced foods.

4. Any other comments?

Somewhere between 4 and 5 stars. It was an absolutely brilliant holiday and I enjoyed the kayaking much more than I could have imagined. Also, because of the nature of the islands it was a complete and utter escape from the real world. We were really very impressed with this operator. Everything was superbly organised and the kayaking guide was terrific- a really nice guy who knew what he was doing and who managed to make sure that everybody got what they wanted out of the holiday. We also had a really good feedback session with the company at the end where they asked what was good and what they could improve. We really enjoyed dealing with them- we felt they really cared about their customers and they provided us with a great, totally hassle-free experience.

review 21 May 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was kayaking into the small harbour in Sipan island after a day's lovely sea kayaking and being greeted with great enthusiasm by local children. We gave them a football we had been found floating in the sea (only bit of pollution we saw all week!) and they were ecstatic, immediately running off and organising an impromptu match for their friends. We received a warm welcome wherever we went, but this was definitely a highlight for me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We did the more demanding week's kayaking (up to 20km on one day), so get fit before hand! The pace was gentle, but you do need some endurance, especially if you're there in high summer. Worth investing in some waterproof kayaking shorts and always wear some kind of footwear when swimming, as sea urchins seem particularly attracted to foreign feet! Plenty of sunscreen is recommended too, as the sun can be quite fierce, even in May.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. We stayed in small, family run accommodation and the owners (despite not much English) were always on hand to help and advise. We used local boats to transfer across to other islands and local buses on the island of Sipan. This gave us a real insight into daily life in Croatia.

review 27 Aug 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Elaphite Islands are very scenic, and although close to Dubrovnik, relatively undeveloped. The seas are clear and perfect for swimming and snorkelling. On Sipan island we stayed in a guest house with a balcony overlooking a lovely little fishing village with very few tourists around. Lopud Island had more tourists, but is still a very nice place to spend some time. Highlight of the week was a paddle at dusk from Lopud to Sipan for an evening meal (not a guided part of the trip), paddling back in the dark under the stars on a glassy calm black sea. A quite surreal experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask some very pointed questions about who will be guiding you. Our guide for the week was a young local Crotian, a nice lad, but it was the opinion of all seven people in my group that he was frankly not very good as a guide. He was highly disorganized, told us little about the history or culture of the area, and I thought his skills and qualifications to be a sea kayak guide at all were somewhat questionable. He apparently did not know how to do an Eskimo roll - in the UK this would be regarded as an absolutely essential self rescue skill for someone looking after the safety of other potentially inexperienced sea kayakers. On one day the guide did not even turn up till nearly midday having returned to Dubrovnik the evening before without bothering to tell most people in the group. Half the group was so annoyed about this they went kayaking on their own unguided for the day. Such casual disregard for the interests of paying clients is unacceptable on a trip costing over 600 Euros. In fairness I should point out that another group we met who were doing a four day trip with this operator were apparently very happy with their Canadian guide, so an element of pot luck does seem to be involved.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Zero environmental impact, and we stayed in locally owned guest houses and ate at local restaurants.

4. Any other comments?

3 stars. Very enjoyable, but in spite of rather than because of the guiding from the operator.

Read the operator's response here:

The guide who was guiding the tour from August 13 - 20 worked as a guide for another sea kayaking company for two years and he joined us at the beginning of August 2006. Due to complains that we received in two weeks of his guiding, he does not work for us any more. We are sorry that unsatisfied group did not contact us before (they had our phone numbers and they could contact us from the guesthouse). The guide would be replaced immediately. We pay great attention to safety. In general, the Adriatic sea is calm sea but in case the sea is rough we send our life boat as a support boat for the group.

review 4 Sep 2005

My friend and I went on holiday with this operator in late August and had a wonderful time. We had planned to do a five day kayaking trek with them, staying in a private guesthouse that they had arranged on the island of Lopud just of the coast of Dubrovnik. The room was very clean and basic as expected and the staff were lovely, we chose to upgrade the room half way through the week at a little extra cost just to have the luxury of air con and a balcony. We found that the service from the operator was excellent, they picked us up from the airport and took us back, they paid for any boat transfers that we had to take when meeting them for kayaking. They were not only very friendly they were also very flexible with times and dates. The kayaking was great fun with amazing surroundings. The sea as promised was very calm and made for easy paddling, with the chance to stop off for swimming and snorkelling whenever we wanted. They told us how they will be expanding next summer for school groups and will have their own safety boat - I think this will be a real asset to them and their vibrant company. Croatia as a place is absolutely beautiful and had far more to do than we had expected - lots of day trips to surrounding countries, water sports, sightseeing etc, etc. I would definitely recommend the holiday to my friends and have even offered to help out this operator with their marketing of the holidays at the Adventure Travel Show in London next year.

review 31 Jul 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Warm water kayaking is cool, especially when you roll.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Foreign guides may do things differently, so check before you arrive exactly what you can expect.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Staying with ordinary local people in simple accommodation is a great way of exchanging experiences. I learned more about local life and it made me feel like I was making a real contribution to local peoples incomes.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies