20 independent reviews for Croatia sea kayaking holidays

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 19 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of Croatia in general was breath taking. The sea kayaking was a bit more than I expected so it was an adventure, but I loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A certain amount of skill level is not needed bit helpful as well as a certain amount of being in shape.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 21 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely relaxing, chilled holiday

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent location, friendly people and very relaxing activity holiday

review 15 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayaking was great and our guide Amir was brilliant. The weather wasn't great but it made the kayaking challenging so we felt we had really achieved and overcome.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't go start of May, everywhere is a building site as it's still off season. I was really upset that the agency didn't think to tell us this and advise we come 2 weeks later, even if it had cost more. It was a real downer. Also, in all honesty I'd book your own accommodation on the island and just organise day kayaking trips with guide on the island. The accommodation was really really bad. We just left after a night and booked ourselves in to another place which they thankfully agreed to pay for.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It did in the sense you were put in an old woman's upstairs room, so I guess it benefitted her!! Though tbh staying anywhere better and eating in any of the restaurants on the island was benefitting the local people and you'd get a nicer holiday!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It wasn't great for us, island was a building site, had to move hotels. Only good thing was kayaking and I'm annoyed agency didn't advise us just how poor the accommodation was OR that it was still off season and building work stopped 2 weeks later. I'd go back, but in peak season and make all my own arrangements and probably save a fortune. Props to Amir though, he was great and if we went back we'd definitely arrange day trips with him.

review 26 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking through a storm on the first day was quite exciting! It was a relaxed holiday and the guides were really friendly and very adaptable in where we paddled and starting times. I enjoyed the speedboat ride across to the other island one evening for the meal up on the farm in the hills, which was brilliant including all the wine and spirits they'd made themselves!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take some warm clothes for the evenings depending on what time of year you're travelling and definitely a waterproof jacket in case of storms or when going out in the speedboat! Kayaking gloves were really useful too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate at some local restaurants on the islands and were taken to a farm up in the hills one evening which was run by locals who made all the food and drink on their farm. I definitely wouldn't have found the place on my own. Obviously the kayaking itself didn't cause any pollution and the guides were either local to the area or Croatian. Unlike the big day trip tourists we stayed and ate on the islands which meant more money went to the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great, relaxing holiday with kayaking everyday but also time off to explore the islands, swim or relax. Brilliant, fun guides who really looked after everyone in the group. Amazing way to see a bit of Croatia.

review 8 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking the beautiful waters of the Adriatic! Also we had a dinner at a farm on Lopud one night that was really special and that I would highly recommend. The food and wine were delicious, the hosts were very welcoming, and the experience didn't feel at all "touristy".

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and have fun, don't worry about time or the weather or anything else, turn off laptops, ipads, phones, etc., and just go with what each day brings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I would agree that the holiday benefited local people as it supported a lot of small local businesses (e.g. guesthouse, farm, small cafes, restaurants, and also possibly some logistics/equipment support I wasn't aware of). Also compared with larger boats and ground transportation, kayaking and hiking have a lower environmental impact, and because of the longer stays (4 and 3 nights) there was less impact (e.g. laundry) than if we were moving every night to another accommodation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a really wonderful trip, with an excellent itinerary. The guide was very friendly and personable, competent and safety-minded. The company is very well-organized and professional. Absolutely no issues with the accommodations or the equipment. I would not hesitate to recommend this trip.

review 8 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Endless thunderstorms but still got to do lots and had great craic. Felt very well looked after, and though it was only a short four day kayaking break, felt like a lot was packed into it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good and active - pack walking boots as well as your swimming /kayaking gear as the islands are lovely to explore but quite hilly!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did. Our guide was Croatian, and all of the accommodation we stayed in was owned and run by local families. The restaurants we ate in too. As we were either kayaking, walking, swimming or using the local ferries, the environmental impact was minimal - just the flight over really. Also, our guide took us to a local farm on the island for a meal which comprised food grown and produced on the farm. It's not a place we would have found otherwise, and as it's a difficult place to make a living, felt good about being able to support them. Also, it was a fabulous meal!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - looking forward to booking a trip for next year with the same company in a different part of Croatia. Felt very well looked after, and even though plans had to change constantly due to the weather, we were never left twiddling our thumbs doing nothing, which I certainly had not expected.

review 27 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking on the island of Lopud was breathtaking and snorkeling in the crystal clear water was delightful. The guides we had were wonderful, especially Ivana who got us where we needed to be and helped us tremendously when our plans changed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you get precise details about the type of accommodations you will be staying in. Given the cost we assumed a higher level of comfort than what we got. (no a/c or ceiling fans - and we were in Croatia in July; very poor quality linens, towels, and pillows, showers that did not drain, no screens in bathrooms windows which did not shut so lots of bugs, etc). However, the family that ran the B&B was lovely and we were happy to be staying in a B&B that was owned and run by a local family - the quality was just not what we had anticipated given the cost.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful.

review 11 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking around beautiful such shores in beautiful weather - but also kayaking in strong winds and rain, which was exciting and challenging! On the second day, Amir our instructor showed us a fantastic blue lit cave that could only be reached by jumping out of the kayaks and swimming through a small entrance – lots of fun. Plus we enjoyed a lovely dinner on a local farm where everything we ate and drank had been produced on the farm, including some wonderful liqueurs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Although it's suitable for beginners, 7-15km a day is quite a fair distance so you do need to be fit. Also bear in mind that the itinerary and distances stated may need to change due to weather conditions and/or the overall ability of the group. Remain flexible!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people in that it's a Croatian company and our kayaking instructor was a Croatian student. We stayed in a small locally owned guesthouse, ate in local restaurants and kayaking itself has little environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday with 3 days of kayaking being probably just the right amount. We liked the fact that there was also time for relaxation and the starts were not too early (around 10.15). The little island of Lopud is charming and the guest house was lovely with great breakfasts. Amir our instructor was very good and very nice. In fact, everyone we met was very helpful and very friendly.

review 31 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A great sense of achievement after paddling so far each day and being able to enjoy such beautiful scenery from a totally different perspective.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Whilst the trip is definitely suitable for all levels if I were to do it again I'd probably get to the gym a few times beforehand to prepare. It's worth taking gloves too to prevent the otherwise inevitable blisters!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in lovely local guesthouses and getting around was generally on foot or in kayaks so I'd rate this as a pretty eco friendly trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday. Well organised, great group leader (thanks Filip!), stunning scenery, gorgeous weather, good company. Fun and active. Would recommend it.

review 27 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking through pristine turquoise waters and staying on idyllic islands with locals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember to stretch before you kayak.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Environmental impact minimal given all transport was either public ferries (at start and end) or by kayak. Stayed with small local family B&Bs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 2 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking to the Blue Cave and the Green Cave, leaving the kayaks and swimming into the caves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry that it will be too much hard work - the pace of paddling is suited to everyone. If you paddle slowly you have more time to enjoy the scenery while quicker people are can always do a few extra laps to burn off their energy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent trip, we loved the relaxed approach to each day. We especially loved being on Lopud with no cars - so refreshing not to hear engines all the time.

review 27 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of Croatia, making new friends, and our fabulous guide, Divo!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely go for it if you're reading this!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant fun, great way to enjoy the beauty of Croatia while keeping fit, and would definitely come back!

review 15 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking! And going to Tup's Croatian family’s house for a 5-course dinner - wow! Tup, our guide was fantastic, as was Vlaho.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Need to be quite fit as there is a lot of paddling.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Very well

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant!

review 21 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our first long paddle to Kolocep, body surfing in the huge waves on Sunj beach, the wonderful 5 course home made meal on the last night at a local farm including a range of interesting spirits, eating a raw sea urchin, seeing a "squid", and all the friendly people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sea kayaking is trickier than it looks when it is windy, as it is hard paddling and steering in a headwind. Be prepared to be adaptable, but the guides ensure that you have a good time whatever the wind level. They were really happy to take us out round the bay and practice our skills when the weather wasn't quite right for a longer paddle. As our guide Tap's motto goes - "There are always options!"

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we ate at lovely local restaurants with delicious freshly caught fish, stayed in local guest houses, and supported the island's economy. When we were out in the kayaks, the guides picked up litter from the sea.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful - it was so much fun and the three guides we had were brilliant - they helped us have a great time and really made our holiday. The whole group got on very well - we had a wide range of ages and abilities, and the more able kayakers helped out us less experienced paddlers with hints and technique. I would heartily recommend this holiday - I've come back feeling so energised.

review 31 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the island, the hot sunshine, the incredible scenery, the balmy evenings drinking nightcaps by the sea, eating ice creams on the beach, the plentiful opportunities for swimming, the great company, the entertaining guides, the fun kayaking in crystal clear turquoise waters, the relaxation time - it was all wonderful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For the kayaking, take a swimsuit, hat, sunglasses, sun cream, and a long-sleeved top if you burn easily. A bandana instead of hat is excellent for keeping hair out of your eyes if you have long locks... And drink loads of water!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we supported plenty of small local businesses and our impact on the environment was low.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really great holiday, superbly organised but at the same time very relaxed. HIGHLY recommended - I would do it again in a flash.

review 30 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking through a torrential storm hoping nobody in our party (particularly me) would be struck by one of the many lightning bolts plunging down quite close by.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't presume you'll definitely only go for the short break, as you could easily be tempted to extend, especially if you have not done all the kayaking you hoped to due to weather conditions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, our group took advantage of local shops and restaurants, and none of us drove around in Land Rovers the whole time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10 - majestic!

review 24 Sep 2007

Fantastic holiday. Recommend kayaking gloves and a water bottle that you can attach to the canoe net. Much better guiding than the competing company. We saw their guide leave a double kayak paddled by two women in mid-ocean and carry on to Lopud, leaving them in high seas and a strong wind to struggle on. We had left our kayaks and come back with Andy and Radvan our guides safely on the ferry. The group format worked well. Everyone was extremely sociable and made room for the stronger and weaker members, always chatting happily with no grumbling while we waited for the less strong to catch up.

review 28 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Speedboat transfer back from Islands from Ivana's Mum & Dad!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it - you'll have a great time

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, particularly the transfers to and from the airport and help with accommodation in Dubrovnik.

review 18 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Grabbed by an octopus while swimming of island of Mijet

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to spend a good proportion of your time at the island of Mijet.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Depend on the practices of the restaurants, difficult to judge in detail, but generally yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable

review 29 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The last day's paddling on the west side of Sipan through high waves - a real thrill.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to work with your group to be clear with the guide what you want to do for the day: how much paddling you'll do, when and where you're stopping for lunch, what food will be available. This was sometimes unclear and led to some disappointment in the group.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall I had fun, and would recommend this holiday, but a good holiday could have been great with a few improvements. The guide didn't always communicate clearly what we would be doing the next day and what to expect in terms of food. The amount of time spent kayaking on some days was very limited: we tended to set off quite late and usually had around a 45 minute trip to and from the kayaks. Lunches could be a long affair - up to 3 hours on one occasion. I'd also say the food was disappointing overall - it wasn't bad, but I was expecting great things after reading the description on the site saying food was one of the highlights. Expect solid simple fare with a limited selection and don't bank on vegetarian options being available, not gourmet meals.

Read the operator's response here:

We value your opinion and will consider your comments when planning the next sea kayaking tours. Please note that lunches are not included on our tour and longer stop during the lunch time is usually because of the strong sun. The kayaks are situated on the beach next to the accommodation and some days kayakers walk across the island to the send beach, two km away or even go by boat to another island . Thank you for your comments that will be used to improve the tour.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies