38 independent reviews for Croatia holiday, activity week

Reviews for Croatia holiday, activity week

SHOW
13
24
1
0
0

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved everything! Exhilarating activities, delicious food, a fantastic location and wonderful hosts!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Craig and Zania tailor the holiday to suit your abilities but being reasonably fit certainly enables you to access more!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! This was a really eco friendly holiday and we felt like a part of the local community on Vis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was truly wonderful! It will be hard to top this experience. We felt that it catered really well for a mixed age group and differing ability levels. Relaxingly active is a perfect description!

review 13 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all great - beautiful island, good food, tasty wine, lots of sunshine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was good to spend a night in Split before going to Vis to get to see it properly. Take bug repellent as there seem to be quite a few bitting things...although I never actually saw what they were. You don't need to take a beach towel as sarongs provided. You will eat very well so no need to take extra snacks!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Xania and Craig have a very good relationship with the locals and point you in the direction of restaurants and local producers. As you mainly walk/ kayak/ cycle around it doesn't feel like you're having a detrimental impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really good. Especially as I was a single traveller. There is lots to keep you occupied, plus time to yourself.

review 5 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I discovered paddle boarding and I love it! The crystal clear waters, the sunshine, the food...I could go on. But it is Craig and Xania, the owners and hosts, who really make it. They are not only "relaxingly active" but also "relaxingly organised" and just lovely people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I went on my own it is by far the best holiday I have done as a solo traveller.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the holiday gives you the chance to eat out at lovely local restaurants and I also went on a boat trip with a local man who had just set up in business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great - I'll be looking at their place in Austria for the winter.

review 7 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning scenery - simply breathtaking. We loved the home cooked food - every mouthful was packed with flavour and was delicious. Our hosts were exceptional - very professional, warm, accommodating and knowledgeable. The yoga overlooking the beach was fantastic and we loved the kayak along the coast - and the delicious picnic and chocolate brownies topped off a perfect day!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it! You won't regret it. Follow Craig & Xania's advice for what to do and where do eat out. Their expert knowledge was really appreciated. Rent a scooter on your "Yoda" day or explore the island's flora and fauna on foot, and ask about a military tour of the island - it was fascinating.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate locally produced organic fruit, vegetables, eggs, honey and wine etc every day. We recycled everything we could and minimized the plastic we used. We drank tap water (infused with fresh fruit and herbs - yum!) every day. The showers were heated using solar water heaters. We cycled, kayaked, walked and used mostly "no engine required" power for our trip! It was a very low carbon holiday and we were delighted with everything.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 star. Most rewarding and fun holiday experience ever. We'll definitely be back!

review 25 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's impossible to single out any one thing as everything was great, but I loved the overall change of pace - starting the day with some yoga by the sea (optional) followed by a relaxed breakfast, then the day's activity and returning to home-baked cake and a siesta afterwards. "Relaxingly active" does sum it up perfectly! Then either a lovely home-cooked evening meal or a trip to a restaurant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As others have mentioned, gloves can be good when kayaking (I used old mountain biking gloves) and remember not to grip the paddles too tight! I also found a Camelbak or similar hydration pack very useful on the bike rides & walk. The Croatian Airlines shuttle bus from the airport is great, costing about 1/10th of a taxi and getting you there almost as fast. Also, if your timings allow it get the catamaran between Split/Vis (from the Krilo/Kapetan Luka ticket booth at Split port) - it was only 1 kuna more than the standard ferry (55 kuna rather than 54) but is an hour quicker!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in several ways, from eating at local restaurants to the fact that Craig & Xania use local produce for the meals, including local wine and craft beer! We paid for a great boat trip with a local operator on our day off, and although some days' activities involved journeys in the land rover this was kept to a minimum, and we got around a lot by kayak, bike and on foot.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic - I was travelling alone but Craig & Xania (and Ela, their current assistant) made me 100% comfortable and the 3 other couples on the trip were all lovely and very friendly. Craig & Xania give you free access to all the communal areas of their lovely home, and do everything they can to ensure everyone is happy - for example, one couple loved kayaking so did it on every activity day, while others of us chose to cycle/walk. The group can decide what they want to do (with suggestions from Craig/Xania) and there's no obligation to stick with the group if you fancy doing something different!

review 29 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There wasn't really just one - Xania and Craig definitely challenged us with the biking and kayaking. I think we all felt quite proud of what we did manage to do! We got an insight into Vis, Croatia that we otherwise would not have gotten in a traditional hotel. It is the most magnificent island we have ever been to and we hope to go back soon!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In order to enjoy it properly, it would help to be physically fitter than we are! We were not really prepared for 5-6 full days of biking, kayaking, climbing, yoga - sometimes all in one day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Xania cooked just about everything from scratch - all locally bought food. There was very little waste.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Definitely 4 stars. As a family, we would have liked a bit more R&R and creature comforts for the siesta time in particular. The food was absolutely delicious; the location perfect and our hosts felt more like friends!

review 3 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to pick just one! From snorkelling in crystal clear waters, beautiful beaches to relax on, morning yoga by the sea, and white water kayaking around coves, to the amazing weather and incredible scenery, and delicious food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

P20 sun cream! Boat shoes or similar and my cycling gloves proved useful while kayaking. Craig and Xania are extremely knowledgeable about the local area, which proved especially useful in finding the best restaurants and quiet beach spots for time off.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it's clear that Xania and Craig are part of the community, they create wonderful home cooked meals with local produce and I ate at a number of restaurants owned by locals, overall the trip felt very positive and not at all 'touristy'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! I worried beforehand about being a solo traveller but needn't have - Craig and Xania were wonderful hosts, and very accommodating. Great mix and choice of fun activities, and still plenty of time to relax. Such a memorable experience - I have already recommended to a number of friends.

review 3 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having never undertaken an activity holiday (and both in our sixties) being encouraged and guided by 2 consummate professionals gave us a chance to try things never done before. The kayaking by Craig was a really enjoyable experience and one we would now wish to repeat,. The thrill in coming down the 5km steep hill into Komiza was memorable, as was the exhortation from Xania - "just keep pedaling you can do it"! We eat loads of veggies but never knew vegetarian food could be so varied or so good - Xania is a fantastic cook.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't take regular exercise be prepared to push yourself a little - but there is no pressure to do so and Craig and Xania are well able to gauge what you can and can't do. They don't make you feel inadequate if you don't try or complete all the activities. Some more tourisy and waterfrontt restaurants are not good value and it's worth checking out reviews before you decide where to eat out. Craig and Xania also ensure arrangements are made where necessary for you to eat out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely as you eat out a lot and use a range of local facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An amazing experience and it has given us an incentive to consider how we become fitter, eat more vegetarian dishes and how invigorating it is to try new things. Never too late to try!

review 9 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking anlong the cost with not a human soul in sight (apart from our group), having dinner with Xania and Craig and snorkeling which was like a documentary from David Attenborough.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a foldable chair for Split airport (or be prepared to sit on the floor in the departure lounge), be careful on the roads when cycling (no crash barriers).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably, we drank refrigerated tap water so didn't waste any plastic bottles. We went to local restaurants owned by Croatians. We stayed in a small house not a large hotel that spoils the countryside.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous if you're into activity holidays that are not too crowded.

review 28 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking and cycling around lovely Vis, early morning yoga by the sea, Xania's cooking, playing picigin!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Give yourself time to spend a few nights in Split before or after your week on Vis. It's a beautiful place with lots going on.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - Craig and Xania support local businesses and are very much part of the community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A excellent week - Craig and Xania work extremely hard to give their guests a memorable holiday.

review 17 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to choose just one thing...the hospitality was outstanding, Vis is absolutely beautiful, and our hosts were wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you have flexibility with your dates, let Craig and Xania group you with people of similar interests (e.g. I traveled with my 18 year old son and another family was on holiday with this company with 3 kids around the same age.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday gave me an appreciation for a country and a way of living that was new to me. Each day we explored the island by kayak or bicycle. Xania and Craig introduced us to some great restaurants and people on the island and I was pleased to support the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, superb, outstanding.

review 12 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayak trip (11 km) around the south side of the island was stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax. Craig and Xania have everything handled. Great recommendations for activities and places to eat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Sure.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Totally relaxing yet delightfully active with superb hosts. My wife and I have never experienced any vacation quite like this one. We had total control over what we wanted to do and when we wanted to do it. The difference is that Craig and Xania provide everything when and where you need it. My biggest worry was how long my afternoon nap was going to be. Food was off the chart delicious for every meal. I will recommend this vacation to all my friends.

review 1 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were several memorable parts: early morning yoga followed by a refreshing swim in the sea before breakfast was a fantastic way to start the day. The kayak tour around the bay of Vis town then on to the submarine cave was spectacular and also the mountain bike trip to Komiza where I surprised myself being able to (being fit enough!) cycle back up the hill from Komiza.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The only tip I would give is that the restaurants in the bay of Rukavac do not take credit cards so we were unable to pay our restaurant bill the first night. Many places on Vis didn't take cards so you'll need to keep getting cash out. You also definitely need water shoes as the beaches are mostly pebble. We used very high factor 50 'once' sunscreen on our upper bodies and none of us burnt.....you are exposed to the sun for many hours!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we drunk locally produced wines exclusively and supported local restaurants and bars.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was absolutely fabulous. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I love an active holiday with just enough time out to chill and read a book and chat to other guests.

review 12 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The magnificent landscape, the genuine hospitality of Craig and Xania (and the dog Zora.) The afternoon cakes were the highlight, the daily activities in the Kajak or on the Bikes (-:

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it, you will not regret it. Enjoy the activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great relaxing time and would do it again (in fact we will do it again!)

review 24 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to reduce to one. The hospitality was great and loved the food. Enjoyed the kayaking and swimming in clear blue water and discovering little bays and beaches. All in all a fantastic holiday with great balance of activity and relaxation.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

June for the last few years has been hotter than July and August so it proved a bit hot for walking. Up to 36 degrees!! Bring shoes to wear in water when swimming to help avoid sea urchins.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as some meals were in local restaurants and the hosts bought local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic and would love to return some day.

review 19 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Island of Vis is stunning. We enjoyed cycling and sea kayaking, snorkeling and swimming in the beautiful clear sea. Difficult to pick a highlight, but the 7km cycle run down into Komiza was stunning. Our hosts Craig and Xania know the island and its really well and were able to direct us to local restaurants, the best beaches and advise on activities to suit the weather conditions.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it! Too good to miss.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - Xania cooks with local fresh ingredients, which was wonderful. We were advised where to eat and the lack of commercialization on meant we felt we were contributing to the local economy in a positive way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have not enjoyed a break so much in a long time and I would totally recommend this operator to anyone. I could not fault any part of it.

review 15 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is a great blend of outdoor activities and relaxation on a breath-taking island. Craig & Xania are fantastic coaches who enabled me to build up confidence in the sports while enjoying the views. Not to mention the delicious, yummy food! Most of all, I found myself again in the midst of nature and the wonderful companions I've met on the trip. Thank you very much Craig & Xania. You are fabulous, keep it up!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I only booked it two days before the trip as I was so busy. However, it turned out superb. My tip? Go with the flow and be surprised with more than you bargained for! PS: There is no single supplement charge and this is one of the reason I chose them as they are fair to people like us!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. I managed to make friends with the local community through dinners out. The locals were most friendly and we shared such great laughs. The recycling and environmental-friendly practices are well and alive too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10.

review 21 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to pick one as it was all so fantastic but kayaking around the unspoiled island and stopping off at deserted beaches to have our picnic lunch was fantastic... but hiking and biking through the unspoiled landscape of Vis was also unique... it's not often you can go somewhere so beautiful and not be overwhelmed by tourists which is definitely not the case on Vis.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to book... as a solo traveller I had the usual worries but this holiday was absolutely perfect with the right mix of activity and relaxation. The great location/accommodation topped off by amazing home cooked vegetarian food (locally sourced ingredients and wine) and the perfect atmosphere to enjoy it all. Bring shoes to wear at the beach as the beaches are stony...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Xania and Craig are actively involved in the Island community and support local enterprises. Xania cooks based on what is locally available and all wines come from local vineyards. Apart from a few trips in the landrover (minimal) all activities are either on foot by bike or by kayak and they actively encourage people to respect the environment and not damage the unspoiled ecosystem.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, would encourage everyone to go!! I will definitely be returning.

review 22 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking down to the beach through forests that smelt of pine and fennel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay in Split for a night to explore the town, and don't bother with taking a taxi from the airport to the town as the bus goes from straight outside the terminal to the ferry.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - most of the food we ate was grown in the island itself. Also the tour operator is very low key, personable and friendly - the opposite of a large hotel chain.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exactly as it is described....it is an activity holiday in a small friendly hotel with amazing food, but be prepared for long mountain bike rides!

review 23 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful warm clear sea and all the different beaches within walking distance of the house. Most memorable was also yoga early in the morning on the rocks by the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate local food and used the restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful week for lots of reasons, slightly out of our comfort zone being in a group and be guided. Xania did an excellent job. The activities provided enough of a challenge without being daunting. The food was delicious. Looking back now, I realise how much of a holiday it was being gently guided and going with the flow and taking part.

review 2 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

As soon as I arrived the atmosphere was very friendly. Xania & Craig make you feel welcome and like it's your home too. Great holiday for a mixture of activity and relaxation and the pace you want. Little details I'd never thought of made it even more special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay as long as you can as there is plenty to do. One week was too short.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Xania and Craig were aware of many local places for food, extra activities and to buy local products but didn't pressure you to feel obliged to buy anything....the local food was great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday. Beautiful location, always something to do...if you wanted to, friendly hosts that thought of everything and were very easy going to make sure you enjoyed your holiday. Highly recommended.

review 5 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had an awesome week out there. Loved the place, loved the accommodation, loved the food, loved the activity, loved the feeling of really getting away from it all. Craig and Xania were brilliant hosts

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

What you get out of this holiday will depend on what you put in. If you are enthusiastic and happy to give things a go, you'll have a great time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. We ate local produce either at our hosts home or in local restaurants staffed by people from Vis. There was fairly little motorised travel. The emphasis is on moving around under your own power.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 9 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is very difficult to pick out one thing. The Island, the food, the company, the kayaking, the relaxed afternoons of swimming and resting, the biking, the cake, the morning yoga, the jumping.....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't pack a raincoat if you go in July. Make the most of the opportunities on offer. Try the jump from the top of the submarine cave (we didn't and have regretted it ever since). Join in all the games. Eat all the cake. Bear in mind that two adults on one scooter won't make it up all the hills.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Craig and Xania are really good at recommending local places to eat and drink and shop. Seeing the Island by bike and kayak is a very low-impact way of getting the best from Vis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Cannot recommend it highly enough. If you like to be active and get out and about this is the holiday for you. The island is stunning and has so much to offer, while still feeling like you are getting away from it all. We were a bit worried the holiday may be more geared towards families but we had a wonderful time. Xania and Craig have created something unique, a warm friendly environment in a great location with something different everyday. We were sad to leave and have talked about going back ever since.

review 19 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea Kayaking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4/5 would have benefited to have the rest day on the wednesday as normal, people were tired on the wed and thursday.

review 15 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great to have really patient kayaking tuition as a kayaking novice. It was wonderful to kayak, swim and snorkel in such crystal clear waters. Vis Island is staggeringly beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I took a pair of cycling gloves with me which made the paddling much easier on the hands. Also you can buy swimming shoes very easily and cheaply in Split and on Vis so you don't need to purchase them before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I was really impressed that Craig and Xania are 'walking the walk' and not just talking it - they don't have a tumble dryer for example and use local produce for the fantastic meals they produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is a great holiday for adults (single or in couples) who want to have some exercise and be gently challenged as well as relax and do nothing. In my experience holidays are usually either full on activity wise or completely lazy and this one has just the right mixture of both.

review 13 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Ooh, that's quite a hard question to start with. I think maybe it was realising that I could manage the 11kilometre kayak that I thought would be beyond my abilities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a mosquito plug with you, they're nippy little blighters!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As far as I could tell, all the food we ate in the house was bought locally and our hosts actively encouraged us to eat at restaurants run by local people - one of which has it's own organic wines.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate the holiday very highly, I ended up relaxed and invigorated and had accomplished rides and paddles I didn't think I would be able to manage. Both Craig and Xania were supportive in all our activities.

review 20 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking into the empty little coves on our second kayak tour and the fact that I was finally able to kayak in a (more or less) straight line! Xania's cooking is superb and the bike ride down to Komiza was very very pretty. It was exactly the kind of holiday I wanted: good amount of physical activity (not boot camp) and the afternoons to lounge, read and eat very well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The website seems to suggest that this holiday is very family focused. While I have already recommended it to friends with kids, I would HIGHLY recommend it to folks without children in the May, June and September time periods when the kids are back at school and the island is quiet. Hanging out in the living room and the terrace listening to the radio after a morning of activity was very relaxing indeed. There were only four guests when we were there but our dinners were really lovely both in terms of the delicious food and great conversations. If you have enough friends that are game for hiking, kayaking and biking...it's a great place to get away.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Xania and Craig are clearly very integrated into the Vis community and were great at suggesting dining options and gifts that would benefit the locals and were more authentic in feel. I also very much enjoyed the unexpected pleasure of watching a game of Vis Cricket (not a joke!) which Craig helped get off it's feet.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a lovely time! Exactly what I was looking for - cozy environment, pretty nature, fun activities, excellent food and the space and time to just relax. Relaxingly active is a very representative slogan indeed I am not at my fittest but I was able to move at my pace and in a way where I felt challenged but not pressured in anyway!

review 11 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities and relaxing nature, warm welcome and excellent food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take appropriate clothing as suggested

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All the food and wine was local, water was solar powered

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed ourselves the company was excellent the accommodation was very comfortable, the activates were well organized and although we had never used a kayak before the instruction was there to make it easy and enjoyable. Highly recommended

review 18 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to pinpoint just one memorable part as every day was different and brought it's own highlights with it, however, some of our highlights include: Kayaking into isolated coves and caves; watching the fish jump not to mention the odd snake or three!; achieving the 4km hill climb out of Komiza; trialling the new off road cycling route with Craig; waking up on my birthday to an amazing sunrise over the bay; at a time when we would normally be just going into work having already completed yoga on the rocks!; Viz cricket; Craig and Xania's fantastic hospitality - humour; great food and wine!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate - do it today! Think about going out of the traditional summer 'season' - we went at the end of September/beginning of October and the weather was fantastic and the sea warm. We also got to see the locals harvesting the wine (not to mention sampling the odd grape or two!). Split the journey up by spending some time in Split at the beginning and/or end of your stay.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It was obvious from early in our holiday that not only have Xania and Craig set up a fantastic business on Viz but they have been embraced by the local community. They use local produce as much as possible and support local restaurants (agrotourism). They are environmentally adept with solar powered water heating and are aiming to use rain water for their water supply.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - can't say any more than that!

review 15 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The yoga on the rock by the sea. The wonderful sea kayaking. The challenging cycling. Xania's excellent cooking with the treat of home baked cake in the afternoon. The warmth of Xania and Craig's welcome. Their lack of fuss but thoughtful and thorough approach to all aspects of the holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be open-minded and go with the flow!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We witnessed local produce being used in the food prepared for us. Local wine was consumed! Local bars and restaurants were visited. We were aware of the limitations of water and took care to minimise consumption.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. I have already recommended it highly to friends and family.

review 4 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Really fantastic home-made food and excellent company from Xania and Craig, the hosts. Sea kayaking was a challenge but a rewarding one, and the cycling and hiking were all the better for the lack of traffic. Also, a local casserole dish, known as a "peca", is definitely recommended. Impressive also was the way that Craig and Xania had transformed a traditional Croatian house into a fantastic holiday home.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Keep your fingers crossed for good weather if you go at the start of the season. We travelled at the end of April and had a few cold and partly rainy days. Take your walking boots - the hikes are manageable with trainers but proper footwear recommended, as are padded cycling shorts. Warm clothes also needed for the potentially chilly nights out of the summer season. And don't think that you can use Euros - only Kunas were accepted.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we ate in a few restaurants and thus made a small contribution to the local economy. Xania's cooking was wholly reliant on local produce. The house used solar panels for water heating.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good - definitely recommended for people seeking to avoid a beach holiday and who wish to sample several activities in a safe environment (aided by Craig and Xania's background as PE teachers). A reasonable standard of fitness is required to get the most out of the holiday but there's no need to be an Olympic athlete.

review 26 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A day long kayak with picnic at secluded beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 26 May 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It has to be enjoying being surrounded by the crystal clear, pale blue sea from the seat of a kayak, listening the paddles dipping in and out of the water, with the sun warming my legs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry if you're not fit, you can go at your own pace. Just make sure that at the end of every day, you feel satisfied with what you have achieved so that you can enjoy the fabulous food all the more!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Being on an island, the ability to explore the island under our own power, be it by bike, foot or kayak meant we had minimal impact on the local environment. To provide ourselves with the energy we needed to do this, we ate a lot of food!! A majority of this was from the island itself, some of which was provided by people within the community in which we were staying. We also tasted food from restaurants on the island, who also cooked using local meats and fish. We were taught about and encouraged to try local dishes, which all helps towards promoting the island's culture and history of food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday's are always a bit of a gamble; will the accommodation be comfortable; will the location be right; will there be enough to do; will the people be nice; will the food be good? On this holiday, the gamble really paid off. The accommodation was beautifully presented, the location was idyllic, the balance of activities and relaxing was perfect, the hosts were attentive to all our needs and the food was amazing. I was able to completely forget about life and home and totally relax into the island's surroundings. Perfect!

review 21 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea kayaking on a glorious day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Whilst all levels of fitness are accommodated you will get far more out of it if you are reasonably fit. The nearest shop is app. 10km - nightlife for the young might be a problem. Xania is a fantastic vegetarian cook and all meals she prepares at home are vegetarian. Obviously you can have fish, meat etc. when one eats out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A splendid balance between good physical activity (none of which is compulsory) and relaxation as well as fun.

review 3 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Many memorable moments including: kayaking and snorkelling in the Green Cave, excellent meals in a friendly and relaxed environment, the local knowledge and activity suggestions from our hosts Xania and Craig.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We had the misfortune to hit a cold spell in early September - an extra sweater and rain gear is recommended - be prepared hopefully you wont need them. A week wasn't long enough to unwind and enjoy all the different activities the island has to offer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - Xania made every effort to use local produce in her delicious meals and we certainly enjoyed supporting the local vineyards and restaurants. The satisfaction of exploring the coastline and interior under our own steam by kayaking, biking and hiking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This would have been a 5 star holiday had the weather been better!

review 13 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was superb from the standard and quality of the equipment to the care and attention given by the operator to the activities and the superb freshly prepared food shared in excellent company. The morning yoga in a stunning setting started the day off wonderfully. Kayaking and snorkelling in the clear blue sea with lots of fish to look at in the quiet rocky bays.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Whilst this holiday was great for us and we would not hesitate to recommend it to others anyone booking the holiday should read the operators web site fully to ensure itís for them. Vis is a quiet and safe island and the operatorís statement that his is a relaxingly active holiday sums it up well. If you are looking for clubs etc this is not for you. The food is superb and primarily vegetarian so if you have kids (or adults!) who are fussy eaters be prepared for this.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Food was sourced locally and local enterprises were supported. Much of the transport around the island is under your own steam, bike, kayak or foot minimising impact on the island.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Itís usual to be able to see little things that can be done to improve a holiday. We could find none on this holiday. Everything was thought of. The operator had catered for all eventualities and communicated all aspects of the week to us. There is no pressure to take part in the activities and all abilities were well catered for. Craig and Xania are wonderful hosts and will do all they can to help your holiday be as close to perfect they can make it.

review 14 Oct 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I think the sea was my favourite part of the holiday. Paddling around the coast of Vis and seeing the cliffs and rocks and finding these small bays and coves where there were homes on their own. Also, getting to swim each morning in warm water. And the colour and clarity of the sea are unmatched.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For this holiday, flexibility in schedule to accommodate the weather is helpful. Also, being fit enough to enjoy the activities without exhausting yourself, although our hosts accommodated all levels of activity.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It seemed that on the island, many people made a living from tourism. Also, most of the food we ate and wine we drank was produced on the island or came from the sea. So, no packaging, no extra energy invested in transporting products. Also, most of our travel on the island was on foot or bike or kayaks, so our impact was less there, too.

4. Any other comments?

We had a wonderful trip. Our hosts, Craig and Xania made us feel like friends there for a visit. The cooking and food was wonderful at this operator and all over the island. We could have spent the whole week eating, if there weren't so many other great things to do. It was wonderful to spend a week where our only job was to wake up and have fun outdoors. Most people ask us why we chose Croatia and I tell them about your website.

review 9 Sep 2006

We arrived back from our holiday in Croatia a couple of weeks ago and we had a wonderful time, I would definitely recommend this holiday for anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing break with plenty of activities to get involved with while benefiting the friendly local community. One of the most memorable days was waking early and experiencing yoga on the rocks next to the sea with the early morning sun rising over the hills and the fish leaping through the waves. After breakfast we enjoyed the short kayak ride to the luminous green cave, snorkelling and rock diving in the clear sea. and after a sumptuous vegetarian lunch a relaxing afternoon dozing in the shade of a palm tree reading a book. the best of everything! Craig and Xania do everything to make your holiday a special time, a difficult thing when you holiday with two teenage boys! We all had a wonderful time. The produce is grown locally and Xania prepared lovely meals for us on most days. When we chose to have a restaurant meal Craig arranged the reservation for us, drove us there and collected us at the end of the meal. We tried several of the local restaurants where we had a selection of freshly caught seafood, "pekka" lamb that had been stewed for hours all washed down with local wine. On our less adventurous days, pizza and pasta were available. At the end of the holiday we felt that we had made two new friends! A few tips for other travellers, don't expect a typical resort, Vis is a quiet island with a couple of lovely towns, white pebbly beaches and a couple of sandy coves. Craig and Xania know the mountain biking trails throughout the island and know where to take you no matter what your cycling abilities. We would thoroughly recommend a holiday with this operator.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies