16 independent reviews for Activity holidays in Turkey

Reviews for Activity holidays in Turkey

SHOW
9
7
0
0
0

review 17 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Booked a one week package of hiking, mountain biking, canyoning and sea and lake kayaking for two adults and two children (10 and 12 year old boys). We all loved it. The guides Vedat and Seda were fantastic and did everything they could to make it a really enjoyable holiday. The kids looked forward to every day's activity and we all warmed to Vedat's infectious enthusiasm and passion for the outdoors.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't like busy, boozy holiday towns then stay clear of Dalyan centre. The restaurants are good but very variable in price. The ones that catered for Turkish families were the most reasonable, The hotel we had 15 mins walk from the town centre was fine for us - quieter and family oriented.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely - the staff brought us into contact with lots of local people and at no point did I feel that we were being taken advantage of (unlike our independent trips into Dalyan). All the staff were environmentally aware.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We would have absolutely no hesitation booking another holiday with this company or recommending it to others.

review 7 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The people! Hotels staff fab so kind and helpful. Tour guides were fantastic too. Very knowledgable, professional and fantastic first aid kit and skills, which we had to test when we had a full scare medical emergency in the middle of the forest, we could not have been in safer hands.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sturdy trainers wit good grips for hiking, canyoning and white water rafting are really important and will make it more enjoyable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the hotel was family run, the guides local and we visited a small cultural museum on our hike.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!!!! One of the best!!

review 2 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canyoning, followed by the white water rafting. Every activity was amazing, and the food for lunch was superb - Fikret and his team prepared food in the most awesome locations! As a family - food is very important to us - :) and Fikret made a point of always having rations on hand at moments when he thought people were flagging, and just on the verge of getting 'hangry' (cross and grumpy caused by hunger and low blood sugars!) Yup, so included biscuits being handed across the waves on the end of kayak paddles and all sorts!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Shoes with good treads for canyoning - mine were too slippery (just an old pair of trainers, but not good enough for someone who isn't brilliant on their feet scrambling and climbing and so on) on wet rock.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Fikret made a point of booking lunch in a local bus-stop 'cafe' in a very rural area where we were supporting the local economy. Other days the food was all locally produced, with Fikret knowing exactly who had produced the honey, grown the fruit, made the cheeses and so on. He also made a point of clearing litter from every location we went to, and taking it home for disposal. Hotel was fabulous, small and boutiquey, where we were virtually part of the family running it, and they soon got to learn our individual preferences for how we like our tea made and etc! Very warm and welcoming.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Totally wonderful. Would definitely do another holiday again with Alternatif in Turkey - but would just have to be set in different locations so we can see another stretch of countryside! Organisation behind the scenes exemplary - Julie was always at hand on the end of emails answering our questions promptly. Can't recommend highly enough - go - and have fun!

review 13 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The white water rafting - more exciting than rivers we've attempted before. Also the friendliness of the company and the staff at the Yunus hotel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for it to be reasonably challenging. If you go in summer - as we did - temperatures can be in the mid thirties and walking and mountain biking can be HOT! There's always a welcome cool dip at the end though.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the company and hotel were locally based and all the food was fresh and bought locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We have done a couple of outdoor activity holidays before but this was the best yet - varied, fun, challenging and tremendous value. Especially good for families with active teenagers.

review 8 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities were great, especially Canyoning and kayaking,all the more so as the team in charge was fantastic ; the hotel was perfect, friendly atmosphere and beautiful surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the right shoes to hike in very rocky trails!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it helps Turkey to go forward to a modern and sustainable development, clearly the people we met and all participants were accordingly motivated, but it is a long way to go.. let's see what the elections will bring in 2 days!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! worth doing again!

review 10 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's impossible to choose from the many memorable and exciting parts of my holiday. The moment I arrived at the airport until the day I left I felt cared for and important. Turkish people are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is situated next to the river and I loved having breakfast on the riverside. The hotel was great, small, comfortable and friendly with attentive staff. It was great being able to eat all meals outdoors. The food was individually prepared. The operator is an experienced and well run outdoor pursuits company with high standards, a duty of care and great customer service. Vedat and Ure our tour guides were excellent. They are professional, very knowledgeable, communicative and charming. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the activities. Every activity was carefully planned with differentiation to suit the needs of every participant - for example optional extra bits for those that wanted to do them when we went canyoning. There was attention to detail to ensure all of us were happy. Vedat and Ure prepared great lunches for us. In the hotel and on the activities I ate locally sourced food which was fresh and delicious.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To get the most from the activities you need to be reasonably fit. Email or speak to Julie at Alternif Outdoor if you have any questions; they can tailor activities to suit you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Our tour guides did everything possible to support conservation and reduce the environmental impact. Vedat collect litter and saved a trapped turtle. I bought things from small local traders wherever possible. The hotel is a family run business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was my first visit to Turkey and I was really impressed. There is so much beautiful countryside in the Dalyan region. Our guides gave us opportunities to see places and do things which were extraordinary. I would recommend this holiday. The experience I had was wonderful and I will definitely return to Turkey.

review 25 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sleeping out under the stars on a shingle beach and a sandy beach where turtles lay their eggs. Snorkeling through a cave. Jumping in to rock pools in an amazing canyon. Terepins frolicking at the waters edge whilst we sipped on wine and nibbled olives. The stars at night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The organisation of this company is excellent. Be honest about your needs/wishes- they catered superbly for us and we changed our holiday from the more usual one they do. Kayaking was hard work but enormous fun. If you don't like to feel your musles ache don't do a several day trip, do just a day of it (but I did the 3 day trip and it was excellent). The canyoning can be a walk, a scramble or a more full on jumping into rock pools experience- just talk to the guide.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Our guide Verdat is tireless in his efforts to maintain and improve the environment. He (and others) campagned and suceeded in stopping a dam project which would have flooded hecters of pristine wilderness. We visited local people and always ate local food. There is minimal negative impact on the environment (other than the CO2 from the plane of course).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best- excellent. A local Turkish guide who is knowledgeable, spoke excellent english and was passionate about you enjoying yourself really made it. Do not go kayaking with a UK based company when you can use this one, pay less and tailor your experience.

review 19 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were too many memorable parts to mention: it could be the great instructors we had - Nudrun and Engen, it could be feeding the turtles or eating freshly caught and barbecued crab, or white water rafting, or canyoning, or mountain biking or the mud-baths or parascending or ..! In truth each one of us had a different most memorable part which is partly what made it such a great experience - we always had something new to talk about.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This was a fantastic trip and kept our six teenage children thoroughly engaged throughout. My advice to other travellers would be: it helps if you are reasonably fit (the heat can be quite debilitating, especially when hiking), pack loads of sun-cream (it's expensive to buy out there) and the post office in Dalyan was happy to change up stirling for a good rate (we took Euros and found we didn't need to). As we were bed and breakfast in hotel eating out every night started to become relatively expensive however we found the pizzeria in the main square and the pancake restaurant on the river were really good value.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think the holiday did benefit local people. We stayed in a small hotel (Hotel Yannus) run by a local family and used local instructors who again made sure we used local services wherever possible rather than the larger tour style operators. We also twinned up with other families for some transportation and also got to as many places as possible under our own steam - so not only good for the environment but also good for us!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was, according to our children, the best holiday that they have ever been on and they can't wait to go back. They loved the varied culture, the friendliness of all of the people they met, the range of activities that they took part in as well as the additional ones that were arranged for them - parascending and scuba diving.

review 12 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All activities were fantastic and very well planned. Rafting and Canyoning were amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have proper foot wear and padded cycling shorts for cycling would be of great help. The guides are fantastic. So relax and enjoy. Our guide Nurdan and Kutlaya were exceptional. They were so patient with our children (12 and 14) and made this holiday so memorable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - The hotel was run by Turkish family and had a very homely feeling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was fabulous.

review 2 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many exciting parts... but I think the most memorable part was jumping off of the rocks into a waterfall while canyoning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This trip is meant for people who are already in relatively good shape and requires a fair amount of exertion, but if you're up for an adventure, I would highly highly recommend it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I feel that this holiday definitely benefited local people- at the hotel where we were staying, the restaurants where we ate, and the shops where we bought souvenirs especially. Most of our activities didn't require a lot (or any) driving in vehicles but when we did, we always carpooled, so yes- I'd say it minimized impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is by far one of the most fun and most well-organized trips I have ever taken. Everything was explained from start to finish and all of our questions were answered, and as a bonus, all of the people we interacted with were extremely nice! I know that we had an amazing time because I honestly couldn't pick a single 'best' day- they were all so great. A+

review 17 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities were well organised. Each day was different - kayaking mountain biking hiking canyoning and rafting. All had plenty of swimming breaks so even though it was hot we had opportunity to cool down. Fantastic fearless experienced guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring well fitting shoes suitable for jumping in and out of boats and walking in rivers and scrambling over rocks. Mine were old sandals and there was not adequate support- the water caused the fastenings to become slack and non supportive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Guides were very sensitive to the local area and actively collected litter to improve the environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous best ever.

review 13 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The canyoning was excellent and the waterfalls and pools we went swimming in were at some beautiful spots. The trekking, kayaking, mountain biking and white water rafting were also very good

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are a family with active teenagers who get fed up with sitting on a beach all day, try this holiday. It was great, The activities were well organised and of a standard that pushed you. most activities finished off with a dip in the sea or mountain stream. I booked this holiday through the internet and it all went like clockwork, transfers, lovely friendly hotel and excellent activities and your own personal guide, what more do you want

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

yes the guides were very conscientious about many things such as picking up litter at some of the beauty spots.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holiday we have been on in the last few years. The operator were very well organised and provided very good guides, They also provided lunch and our guide Nurden always had some cakes or drinks and stopped at some lovely spots when we needed a rest.

review 20 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

White water rafting - I was terrified but it was excellent fun

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Excellent holiday, go with open mind and expect to see magnificant scenery and breathtaking waterfalls and greenery everywhere you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We bought locally, were friendly to all the locals we meet and collected any rubbish we found whilst treking and canoyning.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. A really enjoyable experience. Great to be outdoors most of the time, off the beaten track. Our guide was brilliant too.

review 4 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many that it is hard to say - eating breakfast at the hotel, while feeding fish and turtles in the river, white water rafting along a river with spectacular scenery, leaping into rock pools on a hot day canyoning, swimming in the Mediterranean after an invigorating hike, eating trout at an idyllic "tree house" type restaurant after biking through little villages, sea kayaking to mud baths, enjoying the baths and then cleaning off in a lake, where we caught fish with our hands... The hotel was beautiful, the family hosts friendly and the pool a great size with very few to use it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Space the activity days a little rather than doing all 5 in a row. A day's break after 2 or 3 would be an advantage, another after day 4 would be even better. Take lots of high factor suntan cream and a good insect repellent. One needs at least 2 sets of swimwear - one to get dirty on the activity days and another for lounging in the hotel pool.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely. All the suppliers of services - the hotel management and staff, taxi drivers, guides, restaurant owners, boatmen etc were local. Not a large western organisation in sight.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

review 28 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Either the canyoning or white water rafting - both were amazing and exciting. The scenery near Dalyan in Turkey was beautiful and so uncrowded. You felt you were the only group to discover these spots.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be fit! The heat is very draining but the guides (Sally or Ahmet) are so helpful and kind, that the many stops to jump into the water is much appreciated. Enjoy the fun and ensure you have proper footwear. Rocks can be very unforgiving on light boat shoes!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Everywhere we went we used local drivers, guides and restaurants. The fruit came from Ahmets own garden. We left no litter and by using local produce and human powered transport the majority of the time helped the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved this holiday. My husband and I really felt we reconnected with our 2 teenage children during the activities. We did things as a family again and the activities were both taxing but great fun. At the Yunus hotel we were treated like one of the family, even taught how to belly dance! The air-conditioned rooms were a god send.

review 30 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

White water rafting, down a clear cold river. The scenery was fantastic and the ride was very thrilling. Our guide was very competent and we felt very safe and well looked after.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The holiday was quite strenuous so don't use this holiday as a way to get fit, be fit for the holiday before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local people were running our hotel and the some of our guides were Turkish. We ate in local restaurants and the hotel used local produce in the meals they provided. We crossed the river nearby to get to some ruins and the rowing boat service was run by a co-operative run by local women from the village. We were told about this by our guide who advised that if we wanted to cross the river this was a possibility. The ladies also ran the restaurant where we stopped for lunch which we enjoyed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good holiday, friendly reliable guides who were excellent. Friendly people at our hotel which was well run clean and comfortable-fantastic breakfasts, which we ate near the river in the open air. Lovely swimming pool.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies