20 independent reviews for Cycling holiday in Catalonia, Spain

Reviews for Cycling holiday in Catalonia, Spain

SHOW
4
16
0
0
0

review 9 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed the experience of cycling through the countryside and to the beach then stopping off for lunch and a beer. We saw so many lovely places.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

April weather was ideal. We loved the contrast of the countryside and the beach. Go for as long as you can as the time will go very quick.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. We ate in small locally owned cafes and restaurants and the hotels were locally owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. Would definitely now consider another cycling holiday with this company. Alan has a real knowledge of the area and from start to finish everything was so well organized. This was our first cycling holiday and knowing we had the support of Alan & Vivian was reassuring. Brilliant service!!

review 26 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were 4 people on holiday so all probably have different views of this. I think seeing the first medieval village and cycling through the deep countryside were the most satisfying experiences. For others it might have been stopping for the first beer at a village café. Or the fantastic burger and chips in Ripli when we were all tired and hungry.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The maps and directions weren't always easy to follow. A satnav or your own more detailed map might be useful. Not all villages had cafes so bring your own water and a snack in case you get hungry. Make sure you have breakfast or you will run out of energy quickly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We brought some money into the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We all enjoyed it immensely.

review 15 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling through the countryside and to and from the beach. Also the food was fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was probably a little too hot in July for comfortable cycling but it was hotter than usual. Can Massanes is a lovely place to stay; great location, attractive Spanish farmhouse, spacious and v clean rooms, great breakfast, nice pool and gardens. We also liked the friendly, family run Hotel Garbi very much.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I think so. The accommodation was locally owned and run and we ate at local restaurants and cafes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good

review 7 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The nice and beautiful villages.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go visit and eat at the castle hotel in Bispal

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable

review 16 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling through the gorgeous Catalan countryside along farm tracks and empty roads; visiting tiny fortified stone villages; two excellent hotels, with their friendly staff and lovely swimming pools (we chose the Aatu and the Garbi); wonderful food and wine everywhere we went; a very picturesque coastline; and last but not least the operators, Alan and Vivian, who provided a brilliant service.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We chose this holiday because it had an activity focus that we hoped would appeal to our two older children, aged 21 and 23. It did and they loved it. Being self-guided, you can do as much or as little cycling as you want. We had the occasional day off by the pool/ on the beach. If you're not used to much cycling, choose the shorter circuits at first. However, there are longer, more challenging routes if you prefer. We didn't always manage it, but it's better to cycle earlier in the day, have a very long break for lunch, then do some more cycling in the late afternoon. If you have any problems, you should call Alan straightaway - he's very approachable and responds quickly to sort things out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. By its nature, cycling is environmentally-friendly. Alan has real inside knowledge of the area and suggested lots of interesting places to visit, run by local people. We tried many of Alan's recommended restaurants, mostly if not all run by Catalans, and the food was outstanding. We doubled the environmental benefit by travelling from London to Girona by train, which was also great fun.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was one of the best family holidays we've had and it was a real success, so we'd give it 9 out of 10.

review 10 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The day we cycled to Pals and visited the little tourist and ice cream shop. We then cycled to the beach where we had a wonderful meal and swam in the sea - Rosemary. It was so relaxing cycling around the beautiful Catalan countryside through little old villages - each with it's church on a hill – Colin. The friendly welcome, and the amazing Catalan meal we were presented with the day we arrived - so many different tastes to try out – Steffi. Staying at the Hotel Aatu and exploring the beautiful old village of Peratallada – Catriona.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Allow for a night or two in Barcelona. We enjoyed exploring the city and visiting some of its sights. I've heard that Gerona is a lovely place to visit too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - it's a great place to cycle off-road - good not to use the car (and far less stressful).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

There was something for each of us in the family so we all enjoyed it together - a combination of experiencing the language, food, art and landscape of another country, getting physical exercise and spending time by the sea.

review 26 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

cycling through rolling fields in the morning, watching villages appearing through the mist on hill tops as we got closer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

book it! fit in as many days as you can and try to time it with some of the local village fiestas. the food is amazing and we only bought bottles of wine from local vineyards which were excellent every single time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes definitely - we travellev by train everywhere, we stayed in small local independent hotels, given a choice of local restaurants and so on.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

top rate! great fun and haven't laughed or giggled so much for a long time. we went as a group of 9 people and the variety of countryside/ beach locations chosen by the operatort was perfect. Thank you so much. We're coming back next year!

review 25 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling from gorgeous countryside through medieval villages perched up on hillsides down to the beautiful seaside village, absolutely stunning!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't forget your camera, took some fabulous photos!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! We cycled all day, purchased local produce including, cheeses,bread, fruit and wine for picnic lunches and ate at local restaurants in the evening .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved it! If your looking for activity, scenery and gorgeous food then book it!

review 4 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the experience of cycling through ancient stone villages with not a soul in sight, then finding our way into the main square to find bustling cafes doing a brisk trade in tapas and wine!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Suggest spending part of the time inland but also stay on the coast as the contrast was remarkable. The operators are very happy to be flexible to tailor make the trip if they can for your needs. From our first contact with them online to organizing our final transfer back to the airport, they could not have been more helpful and solicitous.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The low environmental impact of cycling could only be beaten by walking, and we did a little of that when the road became too steep! We ate in small locally owned cafes and restaurants in an area that was under patronized because of the economic crisis in Europe.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As mother and daughter living on opposite sides of the world, this trip was a perfect solution for us. Instead of using our precious reunion time battling cities, transport, navigation and crowded tourist sites, we enjoyed a stress-free experience cruising along country lanes, swimming in turquoise seas and, walking to local restaurants each evening. Perfect!

review 23 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most thrilling aspect of the holiday was the beauty of the Catalan countryside. The eccentric brilliance of the jam museum was as much of a surprise as the curiosities of Salvador Dali's Castel Gala-Dali.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Both hotels are really special. The first is a simple, friendly traditional Catalan farmhouse in a very quiet village. The second is five minutes walk from four lovely beaches and has a gorgeous terrace where you can sit out under pine trees. The cycling is not too strenuous - even in the heat, my 14 year old son didn't moan too much! - But be prepared to get lost and not worry about it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - definitely benefited local people, and in these tough economic times, especially in Europe, you feel that's very worth while. Getting around by bike gives one a smug green glow!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderfully relaxing. I'd definitely recommend it for anyone looking for an active, but not too active, holiday. The routes are easily manageable, but of course you can extend them if you're looking for more of a challenge. The balance of countryside and sea is great. We did the six night holiday - three nights in each base - and I recommend it. The Catalan people are really warm and welcoming. The cycle tour hosts were great too - lots of good information and tips, always there if you need them but otherwise let you get on with the holiday undisturbed.

review 20 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Vivian and Alan are great hosts and had made an excellent tour in every way.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It would have been nice beforehand to know whether we had to bring bicycle helmets, saddle bags, repair tools etc or if these would be provided for us. Vivian and Alan have been informed about it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

At least we did not ruin the environment:-)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I will recommend it to everyone I know!!!

review 25 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This was a Catalonian cycling holiday; I would recommend that the participants purchase the book about biking in Catalonia where give you a detailed description about the bike paths. It would have saved us from getting us lost. It would be well worth the $20-$25.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitely helped the local economy. Because we were biking there really was no environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A- (the minus was only because we could have used the bike book)

review 21 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There is so much to remember about this holiday; we really enjoyed the mixed scenery of forest, countryside and coastal, we loved being able to have an active holiday that the whole family (children & adults) enjoyed, the hospitality we received at Casa Dos Torres was excellent, and it was exciting discovering gorgeous tiny old Spanish villages, packed with charm and very yummy tapas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Think carefully about how you travel to Catalonia, next time we will try and cut our travelling time down by flying to Girona instead of Barcelona. And if you are staying at the Hotel Emporda make sure you get the spa included in your room rate.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we supported the local business whilst on holiday, and we used public transport and bicycles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, we hope to return before the end of the year.

review 13 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was cycling for hours with our daughters, age 10 and 9, with hardly a complaint. They were captivated by the scenery and simple scenes, and gained a sense of pride as a result of their efforts. The other thing that sticks out is the warmth of the welcome we received from the tour operator and from the owners of the hotel where we stayed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This was a great introduction to an extended cycling holiday with our daughters. There were numerous options available, so that we could always be sure that if a problem arose, we were never far from assistance. Also, losing the bike trail didn't mean you were lost or at risk. No matter how far we strayed from the trail, we always made our way back.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so. Cycling itself is such a low impact and local activity that it can't help but benefit the local people without causing significant environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 24 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Costa Brava countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Train for your holiday so you can really enjoy the journey and pack light.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely - we were given wonderful local suggestions to purchase indigenous products and had a great adventures doing so - it was great fun to visit a local vineyard - the local vendors were environmentally conscientious and enthusiastic that we were travelling by bike.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - all of the accommodations were wonderful and gave us a sense of home away from home. Vivian and Alan helped us with so many details of our planning above and beyond our bike tour, making the experience so enjoyable and rich!

review 26 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable was cycling to Castell Pubol - what a gem of a place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use the flexibility: we had all the information we (my daughter and I) needed to fill our days cycling happily to beautiful and interesting places - and having great meals on the way and in the evenings, again as and when we chose.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We were cycling everywhere - so we certainly didn't add to any adverse environmental impacts. Also the place we stayed and the places we had meals were very much small and locally oriented (a rural house, lots of local food, small shops ....)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I'd give it 4 and a 1/2 if I could. Almost the best holiday I have had. Alan and Viv were terrific in supplying what we needed at the start, were backup if we needed them (we didn't), gave us terrific bikes and maps and suggestions based on their great local knowledge.

review 30 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was our first time to Spain and we were looking for an activity holiday that caters for the needs of our three children - age range from 7-15. Seeing them riding the bikes together sharing the joy of zooming downhill and enjoying the warm sunshine outdoors was fab!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When we travelled (Late October) the weather was perfect - not too hot yet dry and sunny. Evening meals are served at local restaurants or Tapas bars late so young people may be tired after a long and busy cycling day...Be aware that the location of the B&B is within a charming old village that retain its character and tradition - including ringing of the church bells 24/7. Whilst the kids heard nothing (?!?) we adults had some problem sleeping during the first night. The host kindly provided ear plugs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent the time (and our money) seeing local sites and sampling local food and drinks. Using the bikes was a great way to enjoy the outdoors without impacting on it too much.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed our short break and valued the open and friendly welcome of our hosts. We were assured that if at any point the journey the children got too tired Alan would come to the rescue with his car. We were also helped with getting to/from local train station which was great!

review 14 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The accommodation was great and the food that was included within our holiday was fabulous. We enjoyed staying in a small village and being amongst local Spanish people. The places we cycled to were pretty villages and we saw very few English people although it was only a few miles from the larger resorts. Vivian and Alan were great hosts and made us feel very welcome.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We had very good communication with the the tour operator and everything was provided for us from panniers to maps.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We used the local restaurants and tapas bars. The food that we had for our breakfast and included evening meals was bought from local shops. We used cycles or trains as our means of transport therefore having minimal impact on the environment once we arrived.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a lovely holiday the right amount of activity time and relaxation time for our family. We were able to see the sights by cycle or train and come back to great accommodation for a swim. Not forgetting super hosts.

review 9 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots! Fantastic and beautiful accommodation, great hosts who always greeted you on return from your day out or ensured you were happy with your plans for the day, extensive cycling network which wasn’t too demanding with different terrains, lovely breakfasts and 2 super evening meals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Great holiday - enjoy it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We bought lunches from the local super market and the hosts supplied locally produced food and toiletries etc. The local pub definitely benefits from guests as unless you want to cycle again the pub is the only option - but lovely pub with all sorts of local events. Cycling always has to be positive on the environment and our other form of transport was all public transport

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really great!

review 3 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved cycling through the countryside to places we wouldn't normally be able to access. The bikes were excellent - and comfortable. The hosts were really welcoming and gave great attention to detail. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and spacious and in a stunning old Catalan house. The highlight was Alan's amazing cooking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are a light sleeper - don't go - there is a bell that chimes every 15 mins in the village. Didn't bother us - earplugs do the trick!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we ate in the local tapas bar twice and the hosts were keen recyclers. We didn't hire a car and apart from the plane journey, it was a fairly green holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies