11 independent reviews for Photography holiday in Andalucia, Spain

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 18 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved El Torcal and walking through the rock formations... very memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Brian, Many thanks for your wonderful review regarding your photography holiday with us. We are so pleased that you had such a great time. The group as a whole were fabulous people and i know that some lovely friendships have been forged over a shared hobby.It was our pleasure to have met you and we very much hope to see you again one day here in Andalucia.

review 4 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hosts were extremely kind and knowledgeable

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

enjoy yourself yes

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes I loved the locals, felt amazing to stay in a local community of wonderful people

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

it was best vacation I've had. I will definitely use responsible vacations again. I was very pleased

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that we were able to help you relax,have fun and of course help you out with your photography. You were with a super group of people and we know that you have made new friends. We are very pleased that you have decided to come and visit again to enjoy our painting holidays. We look forward to seeing you very much.

review 24 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This holiday involved the Photography Tour, and all of it was exciting. Our group of 4 was taken to wonderful sites, and our tutor was friendly, helpful and fun. In the evenings we ate at a local restaurant (a different one each night)in the company of the group of artists also with the same tour group. The food and the company were exceptional. The hosts of both tours, went out of their way to ensure we all had a wonderful time, even having the artists at their own home when the weather prevented them from going to the intended sites, and having us all to dinner on the last night. The whole experience was fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hestiate to book - you'll have a wonderful holiday, and learn some photography on the way. The stated aim of Kevan, our tutor, was 'holiday first, photography second'. However, he took us to carefully selected, varied and very photogenic sites, and helped us with critiques of some of our photos.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people undoubtedly benefited - we stayed in a house owned by a local person, the artists were in a local hotel. We ate and drank at local restaurants, and seemed to give most of them a turn to host our party of 16.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous - wonderful hosts and tutors in a spectacular environment.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Margaret, Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. It was such a pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us so much.We have fond memories of your holiday here in our beautiful part of Andalucia. Victoria & Paul. xx

review 19 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The locations for the photo shoots were excellent - especially Comares and the lake. Good company enjoyed over the varied evening meals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Maybe do not weigh yourself down with too many lens, comfortable shoes and make the most of the review sessions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we rented local houses, ate in local restaurants and overall had minimal environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought it was well organised.

review 19 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The eclectic mix of photographic locations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to be reasonably fit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Photograph Andalucia tried to use local trades people as did we.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great value for money - informative and friendly tuition, excellent accomodation and hospitality.

review 19 Apr 2013

1. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday? The week was very enjoyable - good photography tips, great locations in Spanish villages and coasts, and with 'staff' that seemed more like old friends than small business operators. And it was excellent value for money.

review 27 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting the host, wonderful people who looked after our every need.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early, you don't want to miss out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we used local restaurants and local accommodation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 12 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The photography holiday in Andalucia included a wide variety of locations and excellent tuition. Accommodation in villas was comfortable and the food was of a very high standard - especially the picnic lunches which were superb. The ethos was very friendly and hospitable and the staff went out of their way to make the holiday enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday was run and mostly staffed by people living locally, and local restaurants, coffee shops etc were patronised. Transport was by minibus.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really enjoyed the week and also felt it was excellent value for money.

review 19 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoyed the opportunity to take photos of working fishermen, landscapes and buildings at Caleta fishing port, ruined sugar mill and in and around Torrox, where we stayed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The tour operator is mainly geared up towards walkers and painters. You will get support with photography from a helpful and friendly tutor, but don't expect a structured or tailor-made course. You will stay in a village house generally owned by a UK expat and the quality of the accommodation varies considerably from en-suite and spacious to somewhat cramped, with bedroom lacking an external window. Operator good on booking and pre-arrival information but not strong on day-to-day organisation: e.g. Day one: we had a smooth transfer from the airport and then had to wait around in the sun and drive around for over an hour before sitting down to a welcome meal while they moved people who were dissatisfied with housing. Picnic lunches are simple and unimaginative, generally a filled roll, one piece of fruit, plus a child-sized fruit-flavoured drink and snack bar. The day we were served a decent restaurant lunch we were told we would not get evening meal, as per contract. We insisted and were given a light 'tapas' supper, which was fine.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Evening meals are taken at local restaurants in Torrox or Torrox Costa so this feeds into local economy to some degree. This is a small business run by ex-pats who support other businesses by this arrangement but who also try to do as much as possible from their own home. Tutor flies in from UK and house/ farm help also from UK, apparently working for board and lodging.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I enjoyed my break, and have improved my photography skills somewhat. I don't feel this matched Responsible Travel's slogan 'travel like a local'. The only contact I had with local people was through conversations I initiated with photography subjects. I wouldn't rate this as very ethically-minded holiday and anyone booking should note that in some markets (Frigiliana and Torrox Costa), a number of local people feel they are being exploited by photographers.

Read the operator's response here:

We are pleased that Audrey enjoyed the beautiful locations, that she found the tutor friendly and helpful, that she enjoyed her break and has improved her photography skills. Providing an educational establishment type structure is difficult given the wide range of expectations and skills – this is after all a holiday and our overall concern is that our guests have a lovely holiday and at the same time improve their photography skills both of which outcomes have been achieved in this case. Indeed other guests on this holiday have commented “Had a lovely holiday here again – as good as last October. John has been great again; he cannot do enough for us, is very encouraging and has a great sense of humour”. I am sorry to learn that Audrey did not enjoy the picnic lunches. We pride ourselves on the quality of our picnics. Firstly, a decent length break in a pleasant place (thought out in advance), and then we serve wine, salads, tomatoes, chutney etc. I am sorry to say that on this occasion the tutor did not add these extras at the beginning of the week but that this omission was rectified towards the end. We do ask clients to be responsible for their own water. The "child-sized fruit-flavoured drink" is a 250 or 300 ml serving of fruit juice, no water or added sugar, and we've been using these for 9 years without prior complaint. Finally, I cannot stress enough how important our business is to the local community. Indeed many of the local restaurateurs have told us that, if it wasn’t for our custom during the winter months, they would have had to close. In addition, we spend thousands of Euros in the local shops buying provisions for our holidays. We use a local garage to service our vehicles, local people for cleaning and maintenance. It is true that we tend to use houses owned by foreigners but this is a Spanish village and there are very few properties which are Spanish-owned for rent. Nevertheless, the rentals we pay for the use of these village houses pays for maintenance, electricity, cleaning etc all of which bolsters the local economy at a time of great economic hardship in this part of Spain. Again, it is all a matter of perception. Comments from the same holiday include: “All you would want from a photographic holiday.” “The instructor, John, was very approachable and accommodated everybody’s needs”. “Excellent overall and good value for the money”.

review 1 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The group and John (the teacher) was the foundation for a great experience. OK, it was a photographic holiday but it also contained other elements to make for a great experience. The venues we were taken to were good, we got an overview of the countryside around Torrox. Food was generally good and socially it was great. It was great to be guided by a knowledgeable teacher and to see how others in the group visualized the venues we visited through their cameras. I had not been to Spain for over 30 years and on the way from Malaga to Torrox I had serious misgivings when I watched the rather less-than-pleasing developments along the coast. Torrox was great though, it had very little to do with the style on the coast. 2. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment? Yes, to some extent. 3. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall? A great experience in a great location. I'd happily go for something similar in the future and I'll have no hesitation to recommend this holiday to friends.

review 20 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The excellent tuition and sociability of Johm, the photography teacher. The good weather, lovely villages, scenery and accommodation.All great for taking hundreds of good photographs and gaining experience of how to do them better.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check the tour comapny website because Google Search doesnt give you the company using the Photography Andalucia search. Be aware before you book that the main work of the organisation is on the painting and walking holidays, not photography and that this is obvious throughout the holiday, and also on the website.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Benefit for local people was only the money spent by the group. There wasnt any impact on the environment- positive or negative

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was very good because of the excellent tutor.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies