15 independent reviews for Watersports activity holiday in Croatia

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 27 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having a different activity planned each day was a luxury for us, especially with the knowledgeable guides who took care of all the equipment & logistics as well. The rivers were really beautiful and all the activities were a pleasure to do. The hotel was better than we expected, with a generous sized room and lovely food. The guides were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, everything was well planned they worked really hard to give guests the best experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Highly recommended! The hotel is in a rural location so don't expect shopping or nightlife. If you like to be in a beautiful location by the river, with a variety of activities planned for you, then it's a great holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed at a locally owned hotel & used local shops. Some of the activities were low impact, such as walking, kayaking & cycling. We did do quite a lot of driving as well, but overall it probably had a lower environmental impact than a regular 'package' holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Having read previous reviews for this trip I had quite high expectations! Happy to say the trip was still even better than I had hoped.

review 17 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Croatian country side is unspoilt and stunningly beautiful. The Mreznica River was lovely and clean. We kayaked and swam in the River which was brilliant fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you enjoy being outdoors and in water then this is the holiday for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the local people were responsible about their impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. A great travel company and I would highly recommend them.

review 21 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything about the holiday was mesmerising. The location is perfect, the view impeccable: an azure, crystal-clear river with hidden alcoves and a waterfall, rolling hills, fantastically huge stars against an ink-black sky... It's absolutely off the beaten track and the sports activities immerse you in the essense of the nature of mainland Croatia.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring clothes for different kinds of weather. It can get unexpectedly chilly or rainy on occasion. And water shoes. Otherwise an innocent dip in the sea will turn into torture.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Sure. The operator takes good care of their clients and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was simply the best holiday I have ever been on. I used to think the city was the best place in the world. My world was turned upside down.

review 15 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking down waterfalls! Seeing a snake eating a snake.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trust the guides - they know what they are doing and enjoy the ride.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! Everyone stays in local homes which benefits the families and all of our meals are cooked by a local woman. Although we saw very little litter, when we did see it, the guides made every effort to reach it and bring it back home to dispose of it properly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing! The perfect combination of activities and challenges in pristine settings. Our guides, Nikola and Mario are passionate, knowledgeable guys who spoke openly and honestly. I not only enjoyed the activities, but loved learning more about Croatia.

review 25 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the activities were excellent but we really enjoyed the river rafting through clouds of blue dragon flies and our lunch stop at a beautiful pool with a waterfall. And we also enjoyed the hike at the Paklenica National Park with a traditional lunch cooked "under the bell"

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The companies involved in running the activities were all local - not obvious how we reduced environmental impact or supported conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent. Croatia is beautiful

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Caroline, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your trip with us. When it comes to reducing environmental impact, please let me explain. Our company chose our activities with environment preservation in mind - the core of our business are activities such as river and sea kayaking, cycling, rafting, walking, stand up paddling and sailing. These activities do not require motor engines, and in that way cause minimal pollution and impact to the environment. I hope this helps! We look forward to seeing you again on one of our trips.

review 14 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of memorable experiences: canoeing down waterfalls, rafting down a 2m high waterfall, taking our bikes on a hand-pulled ferry across the river, sea kayaking in spectacular coastal scenery including canoeing over a sunken ship wreck. We had a great hotel room with balcony overlooking a beautiful waterfall.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trust your guide - our one really knew what he was doing. Some of the waterfalls looked quite hairy! The weather was unusually cool when we went (end of May). We regretted not taking synthetic tops to provide extra warmth over our wet suits (the briefing sheet we were sent in advance did advise this, so it was our own fault).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The operator is a Croatian company employing Croatian guides. Our guide was exceptional - not only expert at canoeing and planning activities around weather, he was great with our 10 year son. They put a lot of emphasis on providing good quality training to their staff. We met a few other guides and they all were very enthusiastic about the company. They also used an independent Croatian family-run hotel for a base and encouraged us to buy our lunches from local shops or cafes. The guide was meticulous in picking up any litter left in countryside.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed it. We loved the activities, Croatian countryside and scenery and people we met. We were at first disappointed that there were not any other families because we had hoped there would be company for our son. However, our young guide entertained him so expertly it did not matter. The weather was unusually cold and wet for the time of year (late May). However, this didn't matter much for the water based activities. It also allowed us to do the longest cycle tour (45k) - usually it is too hot to do a ride of this length with children. So we saw some great scenery as a result.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear William, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and have already passed on your comments to the guide. We hope to see you again on one of our trips.

review 17 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going down waterfalls in the upper part of the Mreznica and jumping off high rocks into deep pools below.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to eat with the rest of the group each evening. Note the small print about the programme being subject to change as we couldn't go white water rafting due to low water levels.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a local hotel, bought lunch at local shops and cleared up litter we found on the river (there wasn't much of it). We also climbed one day so supporting a fledgling outdoor pursuits business set up by local people. We set off from hotel by bike/canoe/kayak on three days thus reducing our carbon footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a brilliant holiday. Our group was mixed with familes with teenagers and singles. The programme was very well thought out and activities were a good length each day giving us time to relax at the hotel. The guides, Davor and Zeljka, were excellent; knowledgable, easy-going and careful on the roads and the river. The hotel was comfortable and the food was good.

review 15 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was a great holiday - fabulously clear rivers with swimming places and warm enough to swim for ages! Lots of sun, which was what I needed. Fresh fruit and veggies. Plenty of laughs as we did the activities... Our guides were great fun. I used a bicycle to go for a ride before breakfast several times.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The river level is getting low at this time of year (August) - would be more fun / challenging to do the canoeing and kayaking in May / June or later in the autumn. The activities are moderately challenging, but I am pretty fit and could have done more. To get to some of the activities took up to 2 hours one way, so actual activities don't get started till the heat of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. We stayed in homes in the Korana village, an important supplementary income to these families, ate locally, bought stuff form the local places, low impact on environment, all was kept clean and tidy. The only thing is the transiting between venues.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10 for me! As a solo traveller it ticked the boxes well.

review 8 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming into sea caves with sea lit up a brilliant blue when inside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some of the trips are quite long - much more than 3 hours - and could prove quite arduous even if you're fit. Suggest you do some extra fitness training before the trip. Also if you're an office worker like me gloves are a good idea for the first couple of days to prevent blisters. Finally, bring a water proof cover for your camera so you don't miss all the best shots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ended up staying in a large 4* hotel, but lunched out in local family run restaurants - so locals didn't benefit hugely from our stay.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - best holiday I've had for years. The location was excellent, the guide, Robbie, brilliant. Really enjoyed the kayaking and the holiday was over too quickly.

review 29 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the Mreznice River.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a waterproof camera!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. This is a rural area with few visitors. It was a family run hotel. The whole trip felt very 'sustainability focused'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the very best adventure holidays we have done, and we have done quite a few in Europe.

review 23 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The crystal clear waters of the national park that we visited and then, a few days later, jumping from a cliff into the cools waters of the Mreznica River!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to sign-up for this adventure; it is a worthwhile experience with lots of fun! My twelve year old daughter enjoyed having people of her own age on the adventure too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent!! Our tour guides went beyond the call of duty to ensure, not only our comfort, but our safety too. I certainly would recommend this holiday to my friends.

review 9 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I enjoyed the hiking trip to the Plitvicka National Park, we went mid week so it wasn't so crowded. Beautiful lakes and well looked after. I also enjoyed the canyoning in the local river, climbing up waterfalls jumping into deep pools with the river nearly to ourselves. We also had a good guide that ensured that everybody joined in and enjoyed themselves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a good holiday for travellers of all ages. The activities are not strenuous. The guide adjusted the activities to suit everyone. The hotel is situated on a beautiful clean river it is locally run and by the end of the week you feel like part of the family. You also get a bit of free time to enjoy the sun go swimming or even explore the local surroundings on bike.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The company hires local guides and supports local business. The guides will go out of their way to accommodate any requests, it was a hot day when we went hiking in the national park so we went swimming afterwards in a local spot off the beaten path. The rivers are beautiful and clean and keep that way by the locals that use them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday if you want to get away of the crowded cities and enjoy a slice of local Croatia. Relaxing with a bit of adventure.

review 11 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All aspects of the trip were excellent and all the activities came together to form a wonderful experience. The friendliness of the captain and all the people we met made the holiday an unforgettable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lightly as there isn't much room on the boat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt that it benefited the local families that provided wonderful meals and hospitality in their homes and establishments.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. A wonderfully relaxing yet fun filled few days.

review 10 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Practically all of it however the most exciting part was when we went kayaking on higher waterfalls.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

An ideal holiday for those who wish a different holiday, full of activities and adventure, the hotel is very close to the river thus very relaxing, no long distances to travel in coach, good holiday also for grown up kids as they have something exciting to do most of the time, the whole package is great (accommodation, food and activities planned).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I think it benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We give it a high rate since this was the best holiday we have had, kids loved it as well and we consider re doing it, maybe in a different season.

review 5 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canoeing through a gorge which involved paddling the canoes over a 4 metre high waterfall.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you're going on the Clear Rivers holiday, take a frisbee or badminton rackets. There's lots of space for some informal activities if you aren't worn out by the canoeing and cycling. On your free day, plan your own cycle ride or canoeing rather than bothering to go to Zagreb which is ok but not the most fascinating city in Europe.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant except for the rather unmotivated attitude of our guide.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies