10 independent reviews for Sea kayaking in Croatia

Reviews for Sea kayaking in Croatia

SHOW
1
7
2
0
0

review 4 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking in beautiful landscapes with clear blue seas

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check up on ferry times to the island before you book your flight as there are not many ferries

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes of course. Contributed to local tourist economy and used human energy to power our vehicles

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really very good. Tour guide called Stefan was excellent! Only down side was that no wine with meals was included in the price.

review 26 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking from Lopud to Sunj on day three of the holiday, the wind got up a bit and it was exciting riding through the waves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The operator guide, Stephano, is very knowledgeable and checks the weather frequently, so you can rely on his judgment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. For lunch one day we ate with a local family, in the centre of Sipan Island, and of course kayaks are environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly. We enjoyed our holiday.

review 13 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved almost everything! We had booked the sea-kayaking trip and were upgraded to the catamaran sailing trip for 5 of the 7 days, which was fantastic! I enjoyed seeing the different islands while sailing, biking and kayaking, as well as all the meals the guides organised for us at local people's houses.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect every day to be filled with organised activities, some days you have lots of free time which is nice too, to go swimming or visiting. May was a bit early to go swimming as the sea was not very warm. Great guides.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people, as the guides took us to locals's houses to enjoy meals prepared by them that we ate in their garden. Those were also the best meals!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great, well organised, good activities and the guides really know the area and the people. Especially nice because we were upgraded to the sailing holiday for 5 days.

review 23 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exciting: Kayaking in beautiful crystal clear waters and seeing the islands from a whole different perspective. Memorable: enjoying fantastic home-cooked food every night with a friendly international group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that the paddling is more demanding than suggested by the website - we did four-five hours rather than two-three. Health and safety was well below that which would be required in the UK - for example, there were 14 people/10 boats and just one guide. One of our excursions was cancelled, and we received very poor communication about this. We all complained formally when we got back and to the company's credit, they have refunded us for that element of the holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All staff were local and our excellent accommodation was locally owned. Our guide suggested local restaurants and bars.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic break but this was in spite of some very poor customer handling by the company providing the holiday when our sailing activity was cancelled. The entire group was unhappy about this. Such a shame because it really cast a shadow over the last couple of days.

review 18 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking around Kolocep Island and visiting the luminous Blue Cave half way around the island, which we could only swim into and out of.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check the details carefully! Our "stay in family homes" and local food advertised on the website was changed without notice into a stay in a quite large hotel (300+ people) with buffet meals. I only found this out by chance when we were mailed just before we left that we would be staying on a different island. The other families on the holiday were also not informed beforehand about the changes; they had also expected to stay in local homes. The children enjoyed the pool at the hotel, but I would have preferred to stay in accommodation rented out by locals, as had been suggested on the companies. The tour operator and Responsible Travel both dealt with my complaint before the holiday with very professional mails explaining why the change was made. We stayed locally by ourselves after our kayaking holiday and I felt that that benefited the locals more than staying in the hotel; the service was personal and the room better.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Unsure. In the hotel, towels were changed daily, the airco was put on when we were out of the room... not sure if the hotel employed real locals or who the owner was. The manager was French and, although excellent, definitely not local. Kayaking was a great way to travel of course and visiting local restaurants for lunch benefited the locals running them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great activities - kayaking, biking, walking - but the stay in the hotel wasn't what I had expected.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Ms. Tanner, I am the manager of the tour company and I would like to give you more insight information which resulted with the change from Lopud to Kolocep. We operate kayaking and multi-sport packages from both islands and Zaton Bay since 1988. We have established good collaboration with all - restaurants, hotels, families who rent rooms or apartments and others. We prefer Zaton Bay in spring and autumn as in those periods there is hardly anything happening on the islands - even the restaurants are closed. Lopud has the most hotels, restaurants and family owned pansions and villas. Kolocep has one hotel and few houses suitable for accommodating groups on such an active holiday. The hotel was too expensive for us. Hotel Ville Kolocep - the only source of jobs for the Kolocep island inhabitants - went bankrupt during the recent conflict in former Yugoslavia. The new owner is a non-profit organization called The Isle of Knowledge. It has invested bank loans in refurbishing the hotel with the purpose of attracting younger population and visitors to the island not only for beach holidays in summer. It also serves the islanders - no more than a couple of hundred permanent inhabitants - to get better and affordable education. Therefore the rooms are equipped with Internet and large screens and there are spaces for lectures, workshops and seminars to be held year round. The recession is taking toll on both islands. The big hotel on Lopud, owned by Italian corporation, will remain closed this summer as the corporation doesn't expect profit in this season, which also means no jobs for 50 local workers - hotel seasonal employees. This is not so bad for the other two hotels and families who rent rooms or apartments. Their bookings are good, also thanks to Easyjet airline which introduced inexpensive flights from UK to Dubrovnik. Nowadays it's inexpensive holidays that sell the best. Still, we are a bit concerned as construction is taking place in other three hotels on Lopud. On the other hand Kolocep Island and its hotel found themselves in a very difficult situation. The bank could foreclose the hotel and sell it to another foreign corporation as the hotel could not pay the mortgage. We succeeded in finding investors (our partner and friend, a Scottsman-Croatian married to a Croatian - as well as their son, the father of two Croatian girls) to pay for the debts and we are trying to bring visitors and business to the island. In return, the hotel gave us the prices which allow our clients - like your family - to stay in much better quality rooms and enjoy the hotel beach, swimming pool etc. This is not a typical resort hotel in which one has to dress up to walk from the beach to the rooms. Kolocep is more attractive for kayaking, hiking and snorkelling and it is closer to Dubrovnik.

review 1 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of Lopud Island combined with the relaxing atmosphere.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't bother with self-catering. The choice of restaurants by the guide was v good. We were initially concerned that meals would be very 'institutional' but this was not the case.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. Apart from which the guide was very environmentally aware.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. One of the best holidays we have had in a long time. From booking the holiday (very responsive and helpful staff/system) to the guides who were brilliant. All this made for a wonderful time and one I would have no hesitation in recommending to friends.

review 29 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery when arriving at Kolocep Island, swimming in the Blue Cave and Dubrovnik Old Town.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you are relatively fit before you go. Although the kayaking pace is adjusted to suit everyone it could be frustrating for others if you're unable to keep up. I was unprepared for 3 days of bora (wind from the mountains) and didn't take any warm clothes, although I think this is rare for the time of year, and take a 3 pin plug adaptor (maybe it was just me who didn't realise you needed one).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As there were no cars on the island we had very little chance of negatively impacting on the environment. The locals kept the island exceptionally clean and the accommodation I stayed in was spotless. As it is not very commercialised all the local shops and services are local. Don't expect a Mc Donald's or Burger King.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Better than my expectations. The company of the group was good and our guide was brilliant at looking after us, also good company, pleasant and experienced. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this type of holiday to anyone travelling alone. The food was generally pretty basic, although we had some very good food on occasions. If you don't like fish, white crusty bread, cheese or cabbage you may be disappointed.

review 24 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

How beautiful Lopud island is. I almost cried when it was time to leave, Id had such a great time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a pair of neoprene fingerless gloves and shoes. Also, buy a strap / string for your sunnies and definitely wear a hat. Also, never underestimate how much water you'll need. When it's 40 degrees and you're spending the day kayaking you'll need a lot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. Ana (the 80yr old lady who owned the apartment we stayed in) benefited, as did all the local restaurants we ate in.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

First class. Met some great people, did lots of swimming and snorkelling and had the best cup of hot chocolate in the world...ever!

review 22 Apr 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our Croatian hosts were extremely welcoming and open and made us feel welcome and a part of their life. This applied to our guide, the staff at our accommodation, as well as other people in the village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The water in April is still a little chilly, but once you are in and swimming it does not feel cold any more.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It definitely benefited local people, and by travelling in Sea Kayaks and on bikes we believe that it had minimal impact on the environment.

review 5 Aug 2006

Click to enlarge Sea kayaking in Croatia photo Click to enlarge Sea kayaking in Croatia photo Click to enlarge Sea kayaking in Croatia photo Click to enlarge Sea kayaking in Croatia photo Click to enlarge Sea kayaking in Croatia photo Click on the thumbnails to enlarge Ross's fab photos from this trip.

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best part? Having part of the Adriatic all to ourselves as we paddled around the shoreline and between islands with only ourselves and the beautiful, calm, aquamarine sea to keep us company. I came back feeling physically tired (we kayaked about 50km and lugged our gear across Lopud island) but mentally refreshed and relaxed. It must be something to do with the rhythms of the waves?? We were also fortunate in that we had a fantastic set of people in our group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The holiday might not suit you if don't like long periods of physical activity, the heat, or have just recovered from a serious back or shoulder injury because your upper body will be aching for at least two days until it adapts. One minor recommendation: don't bring expensive sunglasses, such as Oakleys (you'll break them, almost guaranteed!) and bring a cord for your sun glasses, otherwise you'll probably loose them at sea at some point. Also, bring a proper water proof sun block such as Aloe Gator SPF15, or Piz Buin SPF15 I Day Long. These sun blocks last for 8 hours and need only one application. I used them and did n't get any sunburn. Finally, I would recommend hiring a room, instead of taking the campsite option, if possible. At the end of a hard day's kayaking you really appreciate a proper bed as opposed to sleeping in 35 degree heat in a tent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think we benefited the local community because the restaurants we ate at were all run by locals as were the rooms we stayed in.

4. Any other comments?

It was the best holiday I've ever had! Thanks for helping me find this holiday!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies