37 independent reviews for Walking in Andalucia

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 24 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Experiencing rural Andalucia in a wonderful climate. The week gave the opportunity for varied walks all of which enabled the participants to feel, see & enjoy the terrain & the weather!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come with an open mind, be realistic about your abilities ( especially given the nice hot weather). Be prepared to 'try out' your Spanish!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly contributed to the local economy in respect of meals which were 'shared' with the local resturants. The walking just left footprints & encouraged the local community to respect waht they have to offer others.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If you wish to have a taste of the real Andalucia , this week will tick all the boxes.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear John, Many thanks for joining our walking holiday and your lovely review.We are so pleased that you saw how we help our community and also that we respect the countryside in leaving only footprints. It was a pleasure to walk with you. Victoria & Paul.

review 27 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fabulous location, great weather, good food, fun people to share a holiday with......all in all a great week.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a hilly region so be prepared for walks with some uphill sections.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we met and talked with the locals as well as buying local produce and eating in local restaurants, used local buses and taxis on free day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastc week, I shall be returning.

review 23 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

As the weather was exceptionally hot for September, on our last day we went gorge-walking. Being over 60 and petite I was slightly apprehensive but would not have missed it for anything. The leaders rescheduled all our walks brilliantly so that we were often near water.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are careful and wear your boots to travel you might be able to manage with just cabin-baggage, thereby saving money. The village houses where we stayed had washing machines and usually a terrace to dry clothes if necessary. Check the age range before you go(I did) and be prepared to adapt to people..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Most meals were taken in local restaurants on the "village" square and we stayed in (unoccupied) local houses, thus supporting the local economy. The delicious picnic salads were home grown. We walked everywhere, except for airport transfers and transport to the start of walks(all by mini bus).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. I loved the variety: different types of scenery on walks, eating out in different restaurants and even private houses, and also the different age groups.(40's upwards) I would recommend this holiday particularly for single people. Torrox is a small town and the term "village" could be misleading if you were expecting a hamlet! Loved the old part where we all stayed.

review 28 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really enjoyed the holiday. I think the great scenery and the the fantisic hospitlaity we received. The accommodation was great and the it was lovely being in a small village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Need to be prepared to Walk! There were a few people on the trip who were not great walkers and it slowed down the rest of the group.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 17 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to enjoy an idyllic atmosphere on most of the walks; being taken up into the mountains away from the tourist sites; the location of some of the walks affording pretty paths off the beaten track and stunning scenery we would never have accessed easily on our own; the beautiful Spring flowers in bloom;

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take good quality boots and walking poles as some of the paths are not clearly defined. Be prepared for some steep ascents. Ideally walk in cooler weather.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people as we were staying in a village, using local amenities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. I felt Dave and Gill put together a very good package; they are well organised down to the last detail, in a very informal, caring and friendly way. They and their dogs, along with Chris who helped to guide the walks, constantly entertaining us with his local knowledge and passion for history, provided much fun along the way. They encouraged a good spirit amongst the group. The days were highly enjoyable and catered for all needs, allowing for flexibility due to weather or personal capabilities. We ate well and spent very little extra money.

review 7 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely walks in good company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hassle free trip with amiable hosts in a charming location. Bring your boots and the rest is laid on!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely laid back trip. Great walks, comfortable accommodation and plenty of food!

review 4 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful walks - Dave end Gill really look after EVERYONE Meals at Dave and Gill's home were particularly special

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No need for any money - everythingís included

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great fun - and great company - exploring breathtaking aspects of Spain that we would NEVER have discovered on our own

review 19 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The nice walks and the excellent meals

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for flexibility in the walk programme - the organizers have plenty of potential walks and can adapt the programme to suit the weather

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it helped the local restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most enjoyable

review 14 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful countryside - whatever we could see through the rain!! Even though the weather was less than conducive, we had a great time and Chris was very helpful and solicitous, making sure we were OK on our self-guided walks. Dave and Gill were also very helpful, Gill lending one of our party her own boots when the rough ground proved too much for her own. The cuisine was also memorable as well as the friendly local village folk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Walking sticks help with the uneven ground. Be prepared for all sorts of weather! Also be flexible in the walking plans.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate dinners at the local restaurants and we walked so in that sense, yes. But we were driven to the starting points of the walks. Also, it would be nice if more local people were involved in the company. We only met expat British people, stayed at the house of an expat British (although he has a Spanish partner! Actually no, the partner is Ecuadorian!).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. The self-guided walking instructions could do with some updating and one of our apartments could do with some refurbishing. And the weather could have been more cooperative!!! But other than that, we had a great time and I would certainly do this again or recommend people to do this.

review 17 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The transition from "forest walk" to "mountain walk" when the vistas open up.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you're American this is not a walking holiday it is a hiking holiday! Early in the year the weather can be remarkably changeable so make sure you have a mixture of clothes. Mountain plant life is either scratchy, pointy or sharp. If you want to see ibex or other "big" wildlife, make sure you spot it before the dogs do!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt we certainly contributed to the local economy; it would seem that in Torrox (the holiday centre) that most of the businesses are still owned and run by the Spanish (hopefully the local indigenous population).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday. I thought that Dave was the consummate group leader, always "editing" the walks to ability, and to best show off the area.

review 26 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The week was a big success! Gill and Dave are most well-coming. The walks were beautiful. The food was good. The atmosphere was friendly and cheerful. I'm planning to do that again.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come and enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We ate in truly local restaurants. Minimized our gasoline pollution, and slept in local homes. If we had some garbage we took it with us. And most important we were walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. Recommended.

review 20 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My abiding memory of the holiday is the sense that we were at all times being very well looked after. Our flights times were awkward. I appreciated being collect at Malaga airport and being brought to our accommodation in a genuine Spanish village. During the walks I marvelled at the patience and the adaptability of the walk leaders as they adjusted to the prevailing weather conditions and the capabilities of the group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is an ideal holiday for single folk and couples who appreciate the sociability of being in a group. We had spent many holidays in countries where we didn't speak the language, didnít know or have sufficient time to find 'the interesting places', and often felt lonesome cause we didnít know anyone around.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most satisfactory.

review 1 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks have to be the highlight, but the whole experience was good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan for a good time! Most reasonably fit people should be able to do the walks but you would struggle if you can't do 6 or more miles on a level track.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The accommodation would otherwise be empty if not used by the operator. Local restaurants are the main beneficiaries of the holiday, some in fairly remote places. There's minimal environmental impact once flights have been taken into account.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good walking, food, company and accommodation.

review 30 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great walks, food, company, leadership and dogs who accompanied us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry if the walking sounds either too easy or to strenuous - it is made suitable to all level. Enjoy everything this holiday has to offer!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we used local products and the money remained in the community. We went to walks in minibuses and could walk all the back to the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 24 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful landscape, wild-flowers and the company of other walkers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have done some training up hills on rocky ground and be sure you enjoy the close company of dogs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

In general yes but the dogs were allowed to run loose in a national park (even after the owners were asked to restrain them by rangers) which was very disrespectful of the habitat/needs of native animals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Enjoyable, but some room for important improvements.

review 10 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed the walking throughout.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

None: the web site site is clear and accurate and the walk leading very competent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent money locally and as we walked pretty well everywhere, our negative environmental impact was minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 5 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoyed coastal walks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Best time for this holiday is early spring - Jan/Feb

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good.

review 14 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stopping for lunch on top of hills with amazing views and the homegrown oranges.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

By following their list of things to bring I was kitted out right. Bring minimum requirements in carry on case and visit local market for local wine, olive oil, honey and jamon as it's gone up 4 x to buy at airport. Then check case in for way home and get a late flight back as Easyjet can always transfer free to an earlier flight. Don't miss welcome lunch as train to airport is not much cheaper than cab. Really well organised. Went like clockwork

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes especially as they lived locally so had lots of local knowledge on things like local produce, restaurants, places to visit and walks so was very fitting into environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Top, really enjoyed, excellent value, very well organised, great fun and wonderful people. Also loved accommodation.

review 20 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The weather and the views. Pushing through prickly undergrowth. The noisy evening meals. A variety of friendly characters but with a common interest in walking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you do not want to get scratched do not hesitate to wear long sleeves and trousers on the walks when they are recommended. If you do not mind getting scratched go for it in shorts.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate in local restaurants. Walking uses little resources. Otherwise little contact with the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was my first group holiday and based on the enjoyable time I had, I am sure I will book others.

review 7 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the Andalucian area! The professional way that the tour operators run the programme, all being for the best of the customers, good responses to everybodyís needs. Good planning, good adjustments to different needs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go ahead and book this holiday! No problems occurred, everything was taken care of in a good manner.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we did all shopping locally, had meals at local restaurants, took care of wastes and spills etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good, professional tour leaders, friendly atmosphere

review 28 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything about my holiday was absolutely fantastic. I have no complaints and recommend this to anybody who is thinking of a holiday which is different.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with ease and worry free. You will be taken care of.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Staying in this quaint village and eating locally produced food was amazing for me. I loved every bit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely breathtaking views, gorgeous food, fantastic guides, fantastic people I walked with! It ticked all my boxes.

review 26 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was memorable. Lovely people, who all 'gelled' very quickly. Then of course Gill and Dave, two of the most friendliest people I have encountered in long time, warm and welcoming. Most definitely 'the hosts with the most'. Not forgetting, Rebiea?(not sure of the spelling or pronunciation but you know who I mean) Biggi and Rocco who always came on the walks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not worry about a solo holiday as everyone is so friendly. Just relax and enjoy the walks, as Gill and Dave take care of everything for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local restaurants/shops used. Recycling items even the banana skins for the donkey.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It is one of the best holidays I've had in a long time. I had been anxious about going myself but soon discovered that that had been unnecessary as everyone was so friendly. The local food was excellent, as was the wine, which flowed. The house that I stayed in was lovely, as were the rest and the village is beautiful. Truly a tremendous holiday. Thank you.

review 5 Mar 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The superb walks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure that you've done a few 5 to10 mile walks before the holiday to be fit enough to make the most of the experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 15 Feb 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to pick out one thing because the holiday was such a perfect mix: of mountain walking, interesting company, good food and lovely sunny weather. What comes most to my mind when I recall the holiday is the sheer pleasure of sitting outdoors in the square in Torrox Peublo, just back from the mountains and still in hiking gear, catching the last warm rays of the late afternoon January sun, joining in the lively conversation and sipping a wine or coffee, before heading off to freshen up for the evening out.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If travelling in January make sure to bring one very warm sweater - for the later evening. But bring your sun-hat too!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We gave good custom to the tapas bars and cafe bars and restaurants. We picked up our extra groceries and toiletries in the local supermarkets and 'farmacia'. We travelled on the local buses to get around and explore our environs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

'A' grade: the best active holiday you could have in Europe in January!

review 1 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gill & Dave make each participant feel important, their relaxed and happy company reflects on everyone. Nothing is too much trouble, each day keeps you wanting more. Every ability is catered for, so individuals achieve their own goals. The choice of walks give varied aspects of the Andalucian contours, lifestyle and cuisine, there's a feeling of being immersed in the beautiful area and it's charm.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Very much so, home grown produce, local properties occupied, local restaurants, every walk, took thought and effort on the part of the company, not to upset the environment and benefit local people, and the varied meals including vegetarian were both delicious and more than plentiful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A standard of excellence and enthusiasm from all the company from booking to return far above the usual package holidays we have experienced.

review 6 May 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Some well-planned and fabulous walks with charming people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a water pack rather than a 1.5 litre bottle. Much easier to use while walking. Remember to take shoes to change into after walking (I forgot my flipflops!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes in that we ate in local restaurants and were all respectful of litter etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely good and would do another one.

review 20 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It would be hard to say - everything was great. Particularly memorable are the smells of wild flowers, herbs and pine trees during our walks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to book - you will have a great time! It's a great holiday for single people, it's a great way to meet people and you get the chance to chat to everyone while you walk. The group eats evening meals together, so you won't be on your own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we ate in local restaurants and used local shops and markets. We had to drive to the start of some of the walks, but then our days were spent outdoors.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent. Everything was well organised, our guides were very knowledgeable and friendly and the accommodation was extremely comfortable.

review 17 Mar 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery, the warm sunny weather, the blue skies, the fresh air, the wild flowers, meeting new people and making friends. Hard to choose just one thing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sticks would be useful particularly for the descents. Also one of those water bags with the tubes are excellent as you donít need to take off your rucksack every time you need a drink. Bring sticking plasters & sun cream. Apart from that, the usual things, and bring an open mind and lots of enthusiasm. It is always good to know a few words of Spanish.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

This is hard to assess but we certainly made sure to leave no rubbish on the walks, and to be courteous and friendly to the local Spanish people. We also ate at local restaurants most nights and shopped at the local supermarket. But of course we did fly there and used the cars to reach our walking points.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was the first time I had been on a holiday like this, on my own, but it did exceed all expectations. As a group we bonded quickly and walking is a great way to get to know people. I had some interesting, lively and stimulating conversations and lots of laughter. The food was good, I particularly enjoyed the picnics, which were all the better in the fresh air, after a good walk. I felt a great sense of achievement on reaching the summits. Dave & Gill were perfect hosts, and excellent company at all times.

review 1 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery, the good company, excellent vegetarian food and well-organised walks all made for a fantastic holiday. Prepare to laugh a lot.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Please make sure you do some hill walking before you leave or, if that's not possible, take it slowly. No matter how many miles are walked on the flat if you are not used to hills you will find it more difficult and if you walk in Spain in September expect it to be hot. Also expect rocky paths where you have to watch your feet. Common sense, I know, but some members of the party had problems because of these factors!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We were using local restaurants, drinking at local bars and staying in typical village houses so it felt that we were contributing to the local economy whilst also learning something about the area in which we were staying.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Reborn is over the top but I would give it five stars because it equals the best holidays I have had which have all been walking holidays.

review 16 Jan 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the mountains and the feeling of achievement on completing each walk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to be reasonably fit to complete the walks. No need to take towels.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate at local restaurants and stayed in the old town.

4. Any other comments?

***** Really our every need was catered for.

review 28 Nov 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The group were all good company and we had lots of laughs. The packed lunches were delicious particularly after a long walk. The great sense of achievement on the last day after a challenging walk with spectacular views and beauty.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Comfortable boots and clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in a local house in Torrox village. We ate in local restaurants. Had our hair done on the last day in the local hairdressers. All our food was local and in season. I felt welcome in the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was all I expected and a lot more.

review 17 Mar 2007

With regards to the holiday, I had a superb time. Dave and Jill are excellent hosts, and have a good network in place with the locals. All the Restaurant owners and staff welcomed us, as they clearly valued the custom that Dave and Jill are bringing them. And the food was very good too... The accommodation was very good, local houses with character and good facilities. The walking was good, being aimed at the middle ground, but taking into account the needs of the particular guests. Having the dogs with us on every walk was a plus, as they gave us an extra interest, and were so well behaved, ignoring the local ones despite the yapping, in fact they never once barked on all the walks, and were great company... I took one of their self guided walks on the free day, and found the directions excellent, with photographs of the points of interest and junctions, to help. Also managed some good bird watching. Environmentally we never drove far to start a walk, and filled the vehicles to the maximum. The walks were on defined Park roads or goat tracks, so we did not feel we were causing any damage. Re Tips, Take Poles if you have them, as they were invaluable on a couple of occasions, not needed on some walks. Take a water bladder if you have one, as it made it so much easier to keep hydrated... Take a mix of clothing, as it can be cold first thing and in the evening, if the wind is from the north. Take a high factor sunscreen, as even in march it can be hot. Take a camera and or binoculars if you can carry them. I had a small pair of bins (10x25) as they were lightweight but still had the magnification. Good Boots and socks made a difference; this was the first walking holiday that I did not get a blister. If you are into plants and flowers, take a small identification book, as there are some interesting ones to see. Ditto bird watching had some eagles, shrikes, warblers, and a variety of others, even though it was not a bird watching holiday. Overall excellent, and I will go again...

review 7 Oct 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The way that a group of varied people who didn't know each other became friends by the end of the week. Also the scenery and general ambience of the Torrox area - very relaxing. Weather - in late Sept - was pretty amazing too!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The usual - bring a good pair of boots, a hat and plenty of sunscreen. Don't expect to be hurtling over the mountains - remember a group walking expedition moves as fast as the slowest person. Relax!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, there was a clear effort to involve locals - both Spanish people and British refugees. Local restaurants (warts and all) were used and mainly local products were used. We did have to be driven to some of the walk start points but generally they were not too far away. And a couple of people got a bit excited moving bamboo plants out of the way on one walk - but I think they (the plants) probably survived!

4. Any other comments?

Ten out of ten

review 6 May 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hiking was beautiful, and Gill and Dave were great hosts and guides - so much fun! And so helpful - they were great! The view from the roof terrace at the house I stayed in was also pretty great!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Other than to go on it - I'd say to maybe plan for a few extra days before or after if you want to see other places in the area (like Granada, which is a bit too far for a day trip on the free day)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely.

review 15 Apr 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic scenery, warm hospitality of Gill and Dave, great company, delicious picnic lunches and evening meals. For me, seeing eagles, wild orchids, trees laden with fruit. For my daughter, climbing up to an old Moorish watchtower.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take: a camera, Compede to prevent blisters and a "platypus" to drink from easily while walking. Always talk to the organisers if there are any problems.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We ate in local restaurants every night and once in the day. Picnics are local produce, often home-grown. Walking was not damaging to the environment and we learnt a lot about local fauna and flora.

review 5 Dec 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable part of the holiday was the last day walking in the National Park, up in the high ranges.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Tips for other travellers - nothing specific comes to mind. Perhaps, make sure you bring a camera.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Benefits to local people - Gill and Dave have made efforts to integrate into the local community. They speak Spanish, have Spanish friends and put custom the way of local people, e.g. by eating out in local restaurants. Given that travel always involves some environmental impact (air/road travel), I would say that positive impact is through using local houses for accommodation, well-guided and environmentally friendly walks.

review 5 Dec 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of the holiday was the friendliness of Gill and David who made everyone feel at home and catered for all our needs

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The tips we would give: bring good walking boots and walking poles and make sure you are reasonably fit to tackle the walks which include quite a lot of uphill (it is mountainous country). It is well worth the effort for the beautiful views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We dined at restaurants owned by local Spanish people and visited an olive oil bottling plant run by a local cooperative and were able to buy olive oil. Most of our time was spent walking and we ate fruit and veg grown organically, minimising impact on the environment.

4. Any other comments?

We very much enjoyed our holiday, lovely walks, excellent accommodation and food and good companionship. We would definitely recommend this holiday.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies