9 independent reviews for Bangkok to Ho Chi Minh City

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 26 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Traveling through the countryside of Cambodia and the Homestay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring toilet paper and moist towlettes, or purchase them immediately on arrival; most toilets don't offer t.p. or soap. Bring electrolyte tablets, Immodium, and a hat (it really helps to keep you cool!).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

My vacation directly benefited the family we stayed with on our Homestay. By default it helped the businesses we used, i.e. the hotels, restaurants and stores we stopped at.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I was very pleased with my vacation. It was non-stop activity, but our guide made sure it was worry-free.

review 15 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Angkor Wat!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 12 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sunrise at Angkor Wat

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for long trips on the road. I loved it but others may not.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did on the whole. Although I would have liked more evidence that the silk farm we visited was really benefitting the local population. Others felt the same.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb! Guide was excellent and itinerary was perfect. Take advantage of the free time you get to sleep because you do a lot in the trip! Sunrise at Angkor Wat will take your breath away!

review 30 Mar 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trip to Tonle Sap and the visit to the boating holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy. Don't expect a lot of spare time, save on the bus journeys, so much to do!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent holiday. A really wonderful guide who went the extra mile to show us the real Cambodia and give us an interesting and enjoyable trip.

review 11 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable occasion was the meal prepared for us by the family in the house on stilts and the chance to try the local delicacy (afterwards), fried tarantula. Man Hill-Woman Hill: The vibrant colours of the gallery frescoes at the top of Woman Hill were well worth the climb to the top as was the huge reclining Buddha at the foot of these twin hills. The Post Office in Saigon - big as a railway station - and so genteel - even if you only have a day here, don't miss it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and go with the flow. Cambodians really love to chat, they take time out, go to a temple, dress up for the festival, and they visit their own sights. This is great - just do the same. There are ATMs in every town so make arrangements to top up your cash in case you see something you really want to bring home.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I was happy that the trip uses a Cambodian guide, that when we travelled we stopped off at local roadside stops where we bought refreshments alongside local people, that we used the local long distance bus to travel to Ho Chi Minh, that we had a great homestay experience (note: we were the only group staying there and families take it in turn to host visitors so this is not a business).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My first trip to Asia fantastic.

review 19 Nov 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting so close to nature on several occasions.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for lots of early morning starts.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Environmental impact was minimised - we were careful about litter and respecting nature when on game drives. Plenty of opportunities to buy arts and crafts from local producers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. Excellent friendly and knowledgeable guide helped to make this a very enjoyable trip. Managed to cover a significant amount of ground in a relatively short period of time.

review 9 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the temples at Angkor Wat and meeting local Cambodians.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely, the operator instils responsible travel throughout all of its operation. This includes encouraging suppliers to embrace these principles.

review 8 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the temples at Angkor

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Fly from Sieam Reap to Bangkok!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, without compromising the fun.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 19 Dec 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire holiday was very memorable, although I think the most exciting thing was cruising down the Mekong.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The heat is a real deterrent to enjoyment, so they should mentally prepare for that difficulty.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think the operator did the best they could, especially by positively encouraging the members of our tour group. The meals at not-for-profit restaurants especially made me feel good about giving back to the community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

*** Very enjoyable. Overall, it was smooth and enjoyable, and the only difficulties were out of the tour guide's control (such as the weather).

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies