10 independent reviews for Cambodia & Vietnam holiday

Reviews for Cambodia & Vietnam holiday

SHOW
3
7
0
0
0

review 1 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

As a single traveller I particularly appreciated the fact that all the other members of the tour were extremely friendly and easy to get on with. We are all still in touch with one another even though the holiday is finished. Also, the guides were very knowledgable and enthusiastic and all of the activities we participated in were extremely interesting and enjoyable. The warmth of the local people was very touching and the scenery and sights were beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a rucksack, travel light and don't forget the mosquito repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The local people benefitted financially from our activities and shopping and there was no negative environmental impact as far as I could tell.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would definitely recommend this tour and intend to do another one with this company.

review 27 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved cycling in Hoi An and seeing the locals and water buffalo in the fields. The cookery class was hilarious and memorable for all the right reasons. The night on the town in Hue - when we were like drowned rats and miserable until we lightened up and saw the funny side.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light as there is lots of tempting things to buy, plus having wheels on your bag is seriously an advantage. Donít spend too much extra time in Hanoi if you have no firm plans as there are definitely nicer places to stop over a few days.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I would definitely agree with the former. In fact more than any other previous holiday Iíve been on. From the push bike owners to the lady who washed our clothes. There was definitely an ethos of minimising impact on the environment but at the end of day we did get an internal flight and we seemed to accumulate a lot of water bottles! That could be improved.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant!

review 14 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good!

review 22 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Of course there has been plenty of them. To mention those best ones: the cruise on the tranquil Halong Bay, kayaking and swimming in it's waters, the motorbike trip through the backstreets and in the countryside of Hue City, overnight train journey by Reunification Express, picnic on the bank of the river in Hoi An town, traveling by an old bamboo train in Cambodia's countryside... and many more special moments captured by my camera.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For those not accustomed to using tab water for brushing your teeth, don't forget about taking some purifying tablets with you. It will save you litres of mineral water. If you like taking photographs, bring at least 8 maybe even 12 GB large memory cards for your camera. You will definitely use it completely. It is always useful to have plenty of small banknotes (change of $1) handy. You will need them every day for tipping and supporting local communities. Grab any moment to write in your journal about random events or sights.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I surely had that feeling. This holiday is an carbon offset trip- meaning that you are purchasing certain amount in tones of carbon credits from carbon offset programs which work on avoiding or absorbing CO2 emissions, such as sustainable energy initiatives or tree planting. Accommodation in only small locally controlled hotels, supporting local guides for leading the groups, visiting schools, orphanages, home-stays or dining were all benefiting local people. Well done!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent and beyond expectations, good value for money.

review 22 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For me the whole holiday was memorable. We had a wonderful guide, Charlie, our guide in Vietnam, who so obviously loved his country and made us love it too. Although the travelling was arduous the sights and experiences we had on route were worth it. I found the boat trip in Halung Bay the most relaxing being surrounded by such breathtaking scenery. It would have been nice to have spent more time there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take cleaning wipes, a sheet sleeping bag, black out mask and earplugs for the overnight train between Hanoi and Hue. Not essential but does aid sleep!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Optional excursions included local people. Both in Vietnam and Cambodia we were invited to experience a meal in local peoples homes and the money went straight to the families involved. We also had trips to workplaces of people that had been involved in the civil wars and were unable to function in the greater society. We were then able to buy goods and the money went to the charities to enable them to continue their work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If we had had the same guide all the way through the holiday I would have rated it outstanding and clicked 5 stars, but the Cambodian guide did not meet our expectations - especially as our Vietnamese guide was so brilliant. We will defiinitely be going back to Vietnam to explore places we missed the first time and I would not hesitate to go with this operator again.

Read the operator's response here:

We are so pleased you had a fantastic trip with us. We work very hard to incorporate traveler feedback into our trip planning and will let our team in Cambodia know about your comments, as well as thanking Charlie for his excellent leading in Vietnam. Thanks again

review 27 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sailing around Halong bay, Motor cycling through the back streets of Hue, dancing with the children in the villages.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for packed days, early starts and seeing lots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 15 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was a very different holiday for my wife and myself. There were so many memories that will stay with us. A typhoon, the hotel staff and their care when we were stranded Meeting ex street kids that were working hard to create a life for themselves Cyclo rides in chaotic cities. Motorcycle rides into the country

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for the unexpected

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I would hope so, I feel that we had an insight of the real countries we visited

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant

review 11 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many highlights it is difficult to choose! - the boat trip round Halong bay, the motor bike ride through the countryside at Hue, the motor cart and the boat rides across the Mekong delta, the cyclo ride in a monsoon downpour in Saigon and the elephant ride around the Bayon temple at Angkor, all mixed with a great deal of factual background information which was sometimes quite harrowing from very knowledgeable and friendly local guides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light and have things washed en route. Have suitable clothing for visiting temples. Be prepared for a lot of travelling.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes and our tour guides, partic in Cambodia, were able to show us how local people were benefiting. The operatorís foundation supports a number of charitable initiatives and we met many people who had been helped. We used local forms of transport where possible and were given woven cloth bags made by handicapped people to use instead of plastic bags.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lots of really good experiences but some of the long coach rides on unmade roads seemed unnecessary. A tour of Bangkok at the end would have helped. There was a big difference in attitude and application between the guides for the two parts of the trip.

review 21 Dec 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Holiday had many great moments but I think the most enjoyable activity was the motor bike tour through the countryside and villages near Hue in Vietnam to the Royal Tombs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't take too many clothes as laundry is easy and reasonably priced and there are lots of clothes to buy. What clothes you do take give away at the end - they are needed in Combodia

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

There was certainly some benefit to the local areas and people because of the use of local services. I'm not so sure about minimizing environamental impacts - certainly reduced but the amount of transport required??? I think the trip participants could have been advised about the correct use of air conditioning - many of our group didn't seem to understand that it did not have to blast out freezing cold air etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly - local guides were great and were able to give an insight into the area that a foreigner could not. Arrangements worked very smoothly. Vietnam was wonderful and I am optimistic about its future, Cambodia I am not so sure. We had a good blend of the fun and the more very seious and thought- provoking aspects both historical and current as in the Vietnam wars, Cambodian genocide and corruption

review 12 Nov 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Homestay in the Mekong Delta.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring 2 pairs of flip flops and leave the rest at home!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I was really happy to share their daily life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies