31 independent reviews for Amalfi Coast walking holiday, Italy

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 13 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery , wonderful people and our guide Severio

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walking is classed as low to moderate but our group of average walkers all agreed it should be re classified as moderate

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our hotel was family run and very good. We were taken to local bars and local businesses

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was more than I could of expected . As a single traveller I felt as if I was part of the family. Superb

review 5 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery, the panoramic views along the coast are absolutely breathtaking! Walking up to and around the top of Vesuvius was also a highlight of the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read the trip notes carefully and prepare for the weather. Good walking boots/shoes are essential and trekking poles useful. Do prepare for the walks before you go. They are moderate walks which are challenging at times, as there are some steep ascents and descents and of course there are lots and lots of steps!! If you go in August, it is very, very hot and the walks take a lot longer than you might think.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed in a delightful family run hotel and ate local produce over the course of the week. We also used local guides at Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum and local transport was also used.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic! It exceeded all expectations. The staff at the hotel were so welcoming and friendly and the scenic walks were very, very enjoyable. Our group leader Suzy was also an amazing guide and her passion, knowledge and love for the area enhanced the whole experience. It was my first walking trip, but certainly not my last!

review 7 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wonderful views along the walks, the company, and the great leadership from Thanos our knowledgeable guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go and enjoy! Keep in mind that you move from place to place every few days, so pack accordingly. Some of the hikes were quite strenuous and on unstable surfaces so hiking shoes/boots are a must.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic; exactly what I was looking for as I was travelling alone. Extremely well organised.

review 18 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning views and vibrant colours - the lemon groves, bougainvillea, wild flowers etc. I especially enjoyed 'the walk of the gods'. I enjoyed the company of our friendly group - all lovely people, from various countries.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take walking poles and walking boots/good trainers. There are strenuous climbs up and down steep steps and slopes (but worth the hard work for the stunning views!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly benefited the village and local economy

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I thoroughly enjoyed it. Our group leader, Suzy, was brilliant! Knowledgeable, helpful, very experienced and well organised. The hotel was comfortable and friendly.

review 11 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking the "Walk of the Gods" - spectacular scenery and a lovely walk. Also enjoyed our walk around the rim of Vesuvius with the local guide who was very informative.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get in training for all the steps down to Amalfi and to Positano - they do leave you a little stiff!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The trip used local guides for Pompeii and Vesuvius, who were excellent and supported all the staff and employees of the very nice family run hotel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really good week's walking with spectacular scenery, a great guide and a really friendly hotel with great food. Really enjoyed going into the kitchen on two evenings including pizza making - really excellent wood fired pizzas!

review 13 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

a) Walk of the Gods b) Hotel food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Train for walking up and down lots of steps

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - family hotel, local produce

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 22 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting Herculaneum. Walking up to and around the crater of Vesuvius. The stunning coastal views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As it was predominantly a walking holiday our impact on the environment was reduced. We also supported several local businesses, putting something back into the economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb.

review 5 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The challenge of the walks and the outstandingly beautiful views

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you do not walk frequently, assume you will need walking boots for all the walks which are wonderful

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefitted the local economy which is dependent upon visitors and the environment because it is kept very clean and appealing to meet visitors' expectations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The hotel was really lovely with a warm and attentive atmosphere and very good simple food. Our Guide was very special and without her we would not have seen or understood the beautiful areas in which we walked, the area is outstanding and it was a very nice group.

review 20 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The nature reserve with waterfalls on the Valle del Ferriere walk was just stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

People may want to take knee supports - one of the walks had a lot of steps!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel was a family run business and they did have solar and photo voltaic energy. But we often came back to find the heating on and the window open. Also, recycling was not obvious to us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. We has a great time and came back fitter than we were!

review 6 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking in the hail storms with high winds. Views of the Amalfi Coast. Visiting Pompeii and Hurculaneum.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be sure to bring hiking poles. This is a moderate rated level hiking trip from a difficulty standpoint. Very little level ground.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly benefited local people. I don't know about environmental impact and conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Met/exceeded expectations.

review 21 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing the Vesuvius mountain and overlooking the Volcano and naples from above

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To wear many layers as the weather changes from warm to cold and vice versa.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really except maybe the family run hotel business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very enjoyable and well organized trip...The scenery along the amalfi coast was amazing.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback on your recent Amalfi coast trip and was pleased to read you enjoyed the Vesuvius walk and indeed the views are impressive from there. In regards tie your comments I just wanted to respond to the aspect of the benefits of the trip. We have used Braccicorti for many years and this farmhouse is owned by the Giovannetti family in fact 3 generations of the family live in the hotel, they produce a considerable quantity of local produce including wine and honey and also buy from local farmers and thus this money goes directly to the local community which we have been involved with for many years. In addition the majority of the staff employed in the hotel are all from the village of Bomerano and the hotel is a vital source of employment in the community So we can assure you that your holiday did benefit the wider local community

review 13 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The amazing view of the Sorrento Penisula when we arrived at the top of Monte Tre Calli and the fantastic scenery walking along the Amalfi coast. The walk of the Gods ending up in Positano was a fabulous walk and something I have always wanted to do - it definitely met my expectations:-)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You must enjoy walking and being on the go! You will meet some wonderful people and really get to know them by the end of the week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the local hotel was supported well as was the local bakery for lunch. The visits to the cheese making farm and the local bar were a great insight into local life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 7 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring proper gear

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The guide Ale was excellent!!!!!!

review 7 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to pick one thing in particular. Walks were all breathtakingly beautiful; the scenery is stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

remember the weather in hilly mountain areas can be changeable and take something warm!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably good for the economy

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great - just what we were looking for

review 28 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waterfall.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Never give up.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 23 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Walk of the Gods finishing in Positano. Beautiful scenery!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There are lots of steps on some of the walks, so if you need to bring walking poles to lessen the impact on your knees!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The hotel in which we stayed was a locally run family business. Lunches were provided by the local bakery too!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good, but would have bneen more restful by less hanging around waiting for transport back at the end of the walks, allowing more time to relaxation at the hotel.

review 22 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Pompeii and Herculaneum

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read up about the area beforehand

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good

review 25 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views on the Amalfi coast can not be captured in pictures, it is so beautiful. The walks we took each day were challenging and took us to areas not seen by tourists. It was spectacular.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to walk up and down the mountain trails and steps, it rises and falls hundreds of feet. Be in good shape.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate each day in our local hotel and shopped locally as well, injecting good economic benefits. We used public transportation when possible too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The guide, Albert, was very knowledgeable and added much to the holiday. The hotel and family that owned it were wonderful and accommodations were nice. The whole itinerary was planned well and went off without a hitch. Really a great holiday.

review 30 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of the holiday was snow on the mountain top on our first walk of the trip and the witty and informative tour around Herculaneum.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Layers of clothing and walking sticks a great help.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, as we used local stores and restaurants, with limited effects on the enviroment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great escape especially around christmas.

review 5 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely Italian countryside and the views

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walking is not all that leisurely. There is a lot of 'down', quite a bit of it on steps (some more than 1000 steps at a time). Most of the groups were quite sore and some had to miss a day's walking. Need to do some prepration before you go and poles really help.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Using local buses and a family hotel certainly helped

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good; I had a great time

review 7 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking on the Amalfi peninsular is a pleasure but you need a guide or very good maps / instructions. The scenery is beautiful. Ravello is truly inspirational and the archeological sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum are fascinating.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If possible, try to arrange to visit the archeological museum in Naples. On the return day, some on a later flight went to the airport on an early run and left bags at the 'left luggage' to go into town by bus. With BA, it is possible to check in on line for the return flight which should help get seats together - we did this at the hotel. Some people who checked in at the airport did not sit together.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Used local buses and boat. Brought business in to a town off the 'tourist route'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Delivered exactly what was promised - nice walks, food, wine and company - and at a reasonable price for this expensive part of the world.

review 24 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk around the rim of Vesuvius, closely followed by the Wednesday walk to Amalfi.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's not always blazingly hot in Italy in May, so remember to take some warm clothing and waterproofs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope so. Staying away from the tourist hotspots must be to the economic advantage to the village we stayed in. It's likely the people who benefited most were the hotel owners, a charming, hard working and friendly family who were probably quite affluent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We enjoyed the walking, the company and the places we visited. Albert, our guide, was well informed, efficient and helpful. As a group everyone got on well, and this contributed enormously to the enjoyment of the holiday. We would certainly go on another walking holiday in the future.

review 18 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The amazing views of the Amalfi Coast looking down from the top of many of our walks was breathtaking. Each of the walks had something special. Wild flowers and scent of fruit blossom intoxicating. The food in the hotel was wonderful. My intolerance of cheese and butter was catered for with so much care. We found the experience of going to Pompei very moving and having Vesuvius towering over us was very disconcerting. The holiday was a lovely mix of being active as well as sampling history and local culture.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good walking boots / shoes. Walking sticks very helpful due to amount of descending of steps. It was possible to swim in sea at the end of 3 walks so bring swim gear. Bring your own travel kettle if you like an early cuppa.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The hotel was run by an extended family plus friends. They were also used on a few occasions to transport us to and from walks. We also had the opportunity to visit a local cheese making factory. As we were walking and using public transport most days, I feel the holiday did minimise the impact on the local environment..

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceeded our expectations. Only one slight problem - one member of group was struggling with demands of walk and caused time delays in arriving at destinations. Group did support him a great deal though.

review 16 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting Pompeii.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get as much info on weather conditions beforehand so that you can take the right kit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes and it was noticeable that this was a primary concern of our tour.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable

review 27 Dec 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Eating lunch on an unseasonably hot December day on a hillside 1000m above sea level, with blue sea and sky, and a clear view of Capri and the beautiful Amalfi coast below.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Visit Naples on the day off, and take a tour of the underground tunnels. Also pack sun screen as well as waterproof clothes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we stayed in a small hotel and travelled with local bus companies and on public transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent and really great fun.

review 19 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The so-called Walk of the Gods on the last day and the visit to Positano. Weather was perfect, walk quite strenuous but well worth it - the views spectacular, as they had been on all the walks. Our guide, Albert, was very knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the correct gear, as stated in the trip notes - good footwear and clothing for all weathers. Reasonable fitness is a prerequisite, or the steepness of some of the stretches may be a shock to the system.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The use of locally-sourced fruit/veg/dairy products and a local company for transportation and the fact that a small, family-run hotel located in a small town far from the crowds is used.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. The food was fantastic; the staff did all they could to make us feel comfortable. The scenery was breathtaking. Almost the best holiday I have ever been on!!

review 7 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk to Valley of the Ironworks had some spectacular scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walking is of moderate level, most enjoyable but bring a good pair of walking boots!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we stayed in a local hotel and transport was well organised.

review 19 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it. From when Sara met us at Naples airport we were looked after brilliantly. This was our first holiday with this operator and took in the Amalfi coast walk. Views, arrangements, hotel and food were all stunning, a complete pleasure. I must make special mention of Sara who looked after us so well, do not let her go; she could not do enough for us, always organised and knowledgeable on the area we visited. A credit to your company, we will be back!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trainers as mentioned in your brochure are a complete no no. Walking boots are a must. My wife did not take her boots and regretted it but was acting on your advice. Also the walks are not for beginners and need highlighting as one or two of the party struggled at times with the gradients.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Without a doubt we all benefited both in our physical improvement and social skills. Local people were lovely, could not do enough for us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As our first holiday with you; excellent and pleased we went with your company. Do not know what to expect when using for the first time but full marks to you. We had friends join us from Australia and they loved it as well. Look forward to returning with you hopefully next year!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent Amalfi Coast holiday. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the trip and agree that Sara is a great leader, who we hope will continue to work with us in the future. I am surprised that you feel our information about walking equipment was not adequate, as I would like to assure you that we have not received such comments previously. After consulting various leaders, I believe our recommendation of 'light walking boots or trainers' may be misleading. Therefore, this information will be updated for future trips. Thank you for your feedback, which is always paramount to our improving the quality of our trips. We look forward to welcoming you on another holiday in the future.

review 27 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the walks were memorable. To enjoy Capri it is necessary to venture away from the maddening crowds - get a map from the tourist office and follow some of the trails e.g. Arc Naturelle Walk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for some challenging walking!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just what I was looking for at this moment in time! A very pleasant holiday.

review 31 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

La Pozza was a wonderful restored farmhouse in an inspirational setting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to mix with the group.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate great food in local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great combination of cultural visits and countryside walks.

review 15 Apr 2007

Really enjoyable trip with a good balance of walking and sight seeing. Super weather for April, great hotel with good Italian food and attentive staff. Hotel is very much a family concern, they invited us into the kitchen to see the meal prepared one evening and on another night demonstrated pizza making. The walks were not as scenic as in Tuscany with the exception of the last one, the walk of the Gods, which was breathtaking!! Lovely coastal towns of Amalfi and Positano and on the free day we all went to the Isle of Capri which was really beautiful. The visit to Pompeii was enhanced by a local guide as was the Vesuvius visit. We visited small local producers of Limoncello and Mozzarella cheese which was fun and the local bakery in Bomerano was used for our packed lunches. The hotel used solar panels for energy and saved water by using towels until they needed washing. Would recommend the holiday, though the area probably gets very busy and hot in summer! There are lots of steps on the walks, some mule sized, some human, so a walking pole is a very good idea!!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies