7 independent reviews for Costa Rica tour

Reviews for Costa Rica tour

SHOW
1
5
1
0
0

review 31 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For my husband it was the amazing variety and beauty of the birds. For myself it was the excitement of seeing an armadillo at close quarters, although all the wildlife was extraordinary! I was also able to do the best zipwire course I've ever done in La Fortuna (although this was not strictly part of the booked tour). Soaring like a bird high above the rainforest was unforgettable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Although mostly hot and sunny, Costa Rica can be surprisingly cool and wet on occasion, so pack with this in mind. Be prepared to pay quite high prices for guided tours etc, but they are well worth it for the knowledge and passion shown by the guides. Take sturdy shoes for jungle walks - they will be needed!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Ticos are passionate about preserving their extraordinary environment and biodiversity. We certainly felt that our tourist dollars were mostly well spent, although we did wonder at the very high prices that some locals charged for tours, money which seemed to go directly to them rather than the wider community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was certainly one of the very best holidays we have taken. Beautiful scenery, lovely people, delicious food and the most stunning wildlife and rainforest. Our wonderful guide, Jaime, really made the holiday perfect for us. Nothing was too much trouble and he would always go above and beyond to make sure everyone was having a great time.

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mangrove tour in Quepos as wildlife was more accessible than in the forests. Zip lining.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As no meals are included the cost of restaurants is approximately $10.oo-15.oo per plate. As portions are very substantial think twice about ordering a starter. Breakfasts are $6.oo Prices rarely include taxes. Alcoholic drinks are reasonably priced: beers app $1.50,cocktails $7-8.00. Not all tours accept credit cards. Throughout the 2 weeks costs begin to mount up.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Costa Rica is the most environmentally sympathetic country I have visited.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My only quibble is having to pay for breakfasts. These should be included as part of tour price even if it makes overall cost slightly more expensive. The tour leader, Wendy was first class.

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching seaturtles laying their eggs on Tortuguero beach and the homestay

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have enough money, as most activities are not included in the holiday

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The basic holiday was great. Very little culture but loads of fauna and flora. Disappointing that virtually nothing was included in the trip and had to be paid for locally. This added about $300 per person to the trip and we didn't do half of the activities on offer.Also only a couple of breakfasts were included in the trip price.Accommodation was great everywhere. Friendly people. Great group ranging from 17 to 67.Tour leader could have been a little more enthusiastic.

review 7 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trip to Tortuguera via bus and finally the boat journey through the rivers and canals was magical and the "town" itself was wonderful, a naturalist's dream!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect to take lots of photographs, light but well considered luggage to reflect the different climates and the fact you have to carry it, and that the US dollar and local currency are interchangeable virtually everywhere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To some extent through the tours. It was also down to what individuals chose to do or purchase.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate it very highly from a planning point of view in that we saw a fair variety within the country, beyond that, I can only imagine it was similar but possibly less developed. This appeared to be a confident, democratic and safe country which provided little culture shock to anyone with even the most limited travelling experience. I would recommend it to anyone interested in the beauty of nature, birds and flowers, etc.

review 15 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing green turtles laying eggs & watching them hatch.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Donít know.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good & hotels good.

review 1 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all excellent, so difficult to say. Seeing the rare Quetzal bird was exciting, but it was all memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go with it and enjoy. You don't have to be young - I'm 68.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I'm not sure that visiting anywhere can reduce environmental impacts, but we did little harm as we took local transport or walked. Ate local produce and did not demand any sort of special treatment. We benefited small businesses with our custom and respected the environment everywhere we went.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 17 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the baby turtles in Tortuguero National Park.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Keep an open mind.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a wonderful experience with a very well trained, and experienced, guide. The communication was excellent.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies