67 independent reviews for Andalucia self catering accommodation, Almeria, Spain

Reviews for Andalucia self catering accommodation, Almeria, Spain

SHOW
8
54
4
0
1

review 11 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The property offered such a relaxing atmosphere surrounded by wonderful mountains and views. The village and the walks among the hills provided a great sense of adventure for two elderly people who hadn't expected to be able to enjoy so much sun and exercise. All the people we met were so friendly and we were most fortunate to arrive in time for the village two day festival of San Sebastian and the Fiesta del Pan a most interesting experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stout shoes for walking along the tracks torches for walking back to the house after dark (one is provided in the property). Hiring a car would make it possible to visit surrounding villages but we enjoyed the locality so much we gave up this idea and had a couple of nights in Almeria at the end of the holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was so easy to walk to the local shops . The village was well served and provided all that we needed. There were several excellent Tapas bars and places to eat along with a good local street market once a week. Being winter some places were closed but that was to be expected but it did not deter from being able to purchase our needs within walking distance. The uphill walk back did mean it was necessary to organise our shopping so that heavier goods e.g.. wine and milk were not bought on the same shopping trip so as not to get too exhausted in the amazing heat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We went for 4 weeks to find some warmer weather and could not have been more delighted. We were made so welcome by the owners met with wine, olives and a snack . Overall we could not have had a better experience or relaxing holiday. Only wish we could have stayed longer- maybe next time.

review 17 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The fantastic tapas bars of Lubrin and pure hosted Mair and John. The local walks and local people. The accommodation was secluded but with in 5 minutes walk of the village. And there was a food festival on the weekend we were there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Chill out and relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely spent money in local bars and shops. Did not use any transport all week. Plenty we wanted to do in the village. That was relaxing and walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great experience meeting local people. Rated fantastic.

review 9 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The holiday was truly relaxing with good accommodation and great hosts. Great local food (Tapas mainly) at remarkably low prices and friendly, welcoming local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take suitable walking shoes if you plan to benefit from the available walks. If you have any mobility problems then Lubrin is probably not the ideal place to stay as the village is built on a significant hillside. This is not a criticism, just an observation!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did feel that the local economy benefited from the use of the villages shops and services. The tourism does not seem to have a negative impact on the environment of the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Although only for a week the holiday was relaxing and enjoyable in comfortable and charming accommodation. I would give it 5 stars on my own personal scale rating. With the Mary and John (our hosts) getting 6 stars!

review 20 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was our first proper holiday in Spain. Discovering the diverse and stunning richness of Andalusia was a daily joy. The landscape and views are breathtaking, the people are warm, funny and kind and the range of things to do is broad - from wondering medieval streets through layers of history and cultures, to the stunning landscapes and beaches of Cabo de Gata to hiking and horse riding in the Sierra - all wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Download or take a sat nav. Exploring is wonderful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitively. John and Mia our hosts are very mindful of the special environment that they are part of. They are highly knowledgeable about it too. They work in partnership with many local residents to make sure local people benefit from the gentle tourism that their business brings.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday. The views from the cottage are wonderful, it is easy to simply sit and be absorbed by the glorious landscape, peacefulness and bird life. It is private whilst being close to the main house, pool and other holiday properties and has everything we needed.

review 12 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waking up on our first morning to a beautiful blue Andalucían sky and being able to walk into the village for breakfast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to walk more get up very early or book earlier or later in the year. At 2 euros for a tapas and a glass of wine in the village take a break from cooking!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We eat at the tapas bars and used the bakers and fruiters nearly every day

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, already thinking about going back.

review 18 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Driving on the beautiful country roads.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car if you don't have one, at least for part of your holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect

review 2 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all great: peace and quiet, made to feel welcome but left alone when you wanted privacy. The local market was crammed with excellent local produce. Local wildlife, stargazing, scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to get away from the daily grind, it's perfect. The accommodation is fairly basic, but more than adequate, with plenty of space to sit outside: we spent most of our time outdoors anyway, so it was perfect for our needs. Be aware that water is precious. There is a fabulous public pool in the village, open during the summer, but everywhere else it is in short supply. The British notion of a drought is somewhat different to Andalusia- don't expect to see water in the rivers!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We shopped locally which puts money back into the community and were careful with how much water we used. The locals were happy to take the time to help us muddle along with our terrible Spanish and seemed genuinely pleased to have our custom - generally, that's not something you experience with a big multi-national organisation! It was very refreshing to not find shops selling tourist goods. You feel more like a guest than a tourist.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. Felt completely rested by the end.

review 26 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Discovering the huge public pool hidden up in the trees a 5 minute walk from the property

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of books and a good Spanish phrase book - this is very rural and traditional and the locals don't speak any English

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitely brings business to Lubrin village as it is the only place to eat out and buy your provisions locally

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent. The property was well kept but traditional and quirky too. It was in a fantastic location where we spent hours just lazing around and reading books and the owners couldn't do enough to help us during the stay. Highly recommended.

review 24 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having such a great place to stay. The accommodation was high on a hill overlooking other rolling hills/mountains and beautiful rugged scenery. We had our own self contained apartment with 2 separate entrances. The rooms inside were a good size and had all the amenities you could want including a TV and DVD player (even a supply of DVD's if you wanted them). We didn't watch any TV. The weather was so gorgeous we preferred to eat and sit outside on our spacious veranda at night which also provided us with a 2nd dining table and chairs and 2 comfortable sun recliners where we could watch the sun go down and then lay back and look at the stars. I thought the place was magical. There are 2 other apartments that shared the site and we all had access to the small pool. Whilst we were there, there were 2 other couples staying in the other apartments. Everyone was friendly but because we all had our separate space and entrances, we never felt we were overlooked or had our privacy compromised. It was incredibly peaceful and our hosts Gerard and Karen ensured we were so well looked after. They made helpful recommendations to meet our every need so although we were only there a week, we were able to make the very best use of our time. One morning they invited us to join them for an early morning walk up the mountain/hills. The owners of the property have maps you can follow and photo books they've made up of the 4 main walks with key turnings to help you navigate the tracks and paths. My partner isn't a great walker and the ascent was quite a challenge in part. Gerard and Karen were both fitter than us and I thought there might be a problem with us keeping up and possibly having to finish the walk on our own. Wrong. Gerard made sure he stayed with us, giving positive encouragement and making sure our climbing experience was a memorable one. It was just one example of many. I don't think I've had such attentive and genuinely nice hosts in any place I've stayed and they helped make sure this visit was such a good memory for us. I want to come back with some like-minded friends who I know would really enjoy this place. There's a lot to see in Almeria and with this location and these facilities I know they'll have equally a good time as us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This part of Spain was new to us but we fell in love with it. For those who don't know, it's where Leone filmed the 'Dollar' westerns in the 60's and is very similar to the terrain of Arizona. It's the only desert in Europe. It can get very hot so take water carriers and drink plenty of water and stay hydrated. I read in one review that some visitors who stayed here travelled up in a rented car but during most of their stay just spent their time walking around the hills/mountains. That's fine if walking is your main aim and they'll be some wonderful scenery to enjoy. However, if you're planning on doing one of the western town studio trips or going to Almeria city or one of the many coastal towns, you do need a car to get the most out of this trip in my view. You can get to the coast easily but it takes time because you're staying in the mountains so the roads are winding with a lot of hair-pin bends that will slow you down. There are a number of quiet and unspoilt beaches but they won't have many amenities. The ones that do will be busy and more commercialised. You'll also notice the difference in prices when you get to the coast. In Lubrin village I had one of the best tapas I've ever eaten. Together with a bottle of wine, the bill was 15 Euros for the 2 of us. Double/treble that when you're on the coast. Bring a torch with you if you're planning to eat in the village and walk back up to the apartment after (that's if you don't want to drive). It really is pitch black once you leave the lights of the village. Having said that the food in the restaurants and bars in Lubrin are excellent so you don't have to worry about cooking if you want to have a complete break from it. We did a mix because it was so special to eat at the house and sit outside at night with that beautiful view and total quiet.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I like to think it did. We brought provisions from the local shops and percentage wise we ate at their bars and restaurants more than we ate at the apartment. We were made aware about the water shortage when we arrived. We did our best to conserve and make best use of the water we used whilst we were there. It doesn't take long to get into the swing of watering the outside plants with the washing up water rather than just throwing it down the drain and you quickly get into the mind-set of conserving once you arrive. The villagers were very friendly and clearly benefited from having outside visitors there to swell the sales and services for local people. It wasn't a huge impact. We were there on holiday and wanted to experience a lot of different things but overall I hope we did contribute something to the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent. You've probably picked up from my comments so far. I really loved this trip. My partner and I are seasoned travellers and have holidayed all over the world. To have something as close to London as this little jewell makes it very likely we'll be returning soon (possibly next year if there's availability at the time we want). I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others. John and Myra have created something very special here in Lubrin. We had a brilliant time there.

review 12 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The apartment was perfect for our requirements, simple and clean with our own BBQ and all the facilities we needed. The panaromic views that greeted us every morning in the glorious sunshine were absolutely unbeatable. The peace was the most memorable part, it was a place to escape and truly relax.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to enjoy the calm and serenity of a peaceful Spanish village. Insect repellant is a must!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local village had its own thriving community. There were very few tourists here so I don't imagine we had a huge impact on their trade. During our stay we were informed of the extremely low rain fall that year, so we took all the measures we could to conserve water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If there wasn't so much more of the world to see then I would be straight back there for some more R&R. Overall we loved every minute of it and couldn't fault anything, great balance between exploring the local area and trying out the traditional Spanish cuisine and resting in the beautiful sunshine. It now feels like a dream......

review 1 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being in such a beautiful,unspoilt area of Spain. Being able to see "real" Spain and enjoy its landscape, language, nature, food etc. The warmth of the welcome we received from John and Mair- that will stay with me for a long time. Stopping one evening to admire and photograph a full lemon tree outside a house in the village...and the man who owned the house came out and said (I think! see below re my rusty Spanish) "ah, you like the lemons? Hang on, I'll pick you some" and came back a few minutes later with a bag and proceeded to give us some of the juiciest lemons I've ever seen. A precious memory, as was the lemonade I made from them, back at el cortijo!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Walking shoes- there are some well described and mapped walks near the property and the path from the house in to town is quite rough so something more substantial than flip flops is a must. Other reviewers have mentionned taking a Spanish phrasebook as most people in the village dont speak Spanish- this did seem to be the case, but my very rusty GCSE Spanish seemed to do the trick!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes- recycling was encouraged and our desire not to hire a car was supported. Staying in such an environment it is very hard to not be aware of your impact on the environment eg scarcity of water. We stayed very local so yes, with local spending at cafes/restaurants/market etc, we have benefited the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful holiday that I shall treasure. Try and stop me going back!!

review 21 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching the sunset from our lovely garden terrace.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefitted the local economy to some extent. However, as we flew from Birmingham to Almeria and drove 700 km during the week, I'm not sure that we did much to enhance or conserve the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Great accommodation in a lovely little village.

review 9 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The place, our hosts, the local people, the walks, the food, the weather (sun, and wind) the hilarious bus trip with locals and very funny driver. Pretty much everything.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not ideal for small children. Just enjoy it! For a small village there are good facilities with a gym, football, and basket ball pitches, and communal pool for the summer with pool bar, tourist information, and several bars and restaurants. If you want to go to the coast or National Parks etc the rent a car from the airport, for the duration of your stay.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we did not drive, our hosts picked us up and took us back to Almeria airport. We spent money within the community on produce fresh from the market, and shops and restaurants, our hosts were environmentally conscious also. The village is in a very rural setting so most things were produced locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent, relaxing, lovely walks in the hills, even though it was February/March it was very warm in the sun, even on windy days. It is also very quiet, with no light pollution. if you like walking, or just sitting in the sun or wandering around the village stopping for tapas here and there, then try it. The wood beamed apartments are comfortable with wood burner for winter months. There are secluded patio's for each apartment, with lovely views, and a small swimming pool. John and Mia Vincent the owners are lovely. We would gladly give 5 Stars but the reborn quote is a bit OTT, we are 60 and that ain't gonna happen ! Cheers Dave and Helen Maggs.

review 22 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stock up on a some food and wine when you stop at the supermarket on the way. You can buy things in the village at two small shops and a marlet on Wednesday (and it is good to support the local businesses) but if you are planning on self-catering you might want to make sure you get the essentials, particularly if you arrive at the weekend.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we were encouraged to use the local village facilities as much as possible (and we did) and recycle our waste at the house.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really superb, we will use this website again!

review 22 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The tranquility. Rarely heard more than sounds of birds & insects. Wonderful views on the walks from the accomodation, especially west 7 south walks. John & Mair were very friendly & helpful, but not intrusive. Eating out in Lubrin unbelievably cheap & food pleasant & plentiful. Extremely relaxing holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for rest & relaxation esp. if you enjoy walking. In 10 days we only used car to go to Alhambra (too busy for me - I was glad to get back to the peace of Lubrin). Local market on Wednesday has plenty of fresh fruit & veg & we were able to buy all other provisions in Lubrin.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We purchased everything we needed in Lubrin & felt it was not necessary to go to supermarket at Almeria. We didn’t use the hire car as we were quite happy chilling at appt, walking & going for tapas & a drink or two on way back.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing & peaceful -as I had expected from Johns website.

review 11 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoying time in an uncommercialised rural Spanish village where the locals were friendly and seemed genuinely pleased to welcome visitors. Our hosts were most friendly, welcoming and helpful and contributed to making our holiday very enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a simple and relaxed pace of life with little compromise to modern tourism.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly our holiday benefited local shopkeepers, market traders and bar/restaurant.owners. Not sure there were significant environmental and conservation benefits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A most enjoyable experience and one which we hope to repeat.

review 27 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The two most memorable parts of our holiday were - 1) Visiting the Alhambra in Granada. This also included a long but easy drive in our hire car and visiting Granada Cathedral and the Royal Tomb. 2) A 13.2k walk from our accommodation, designed by our host John. It was suggested by him and it took us high in the hills with glorious views and then a steep way down. We started out early in the day and arrived along with cyclists we saw along the way and to a welcome beer and paella!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that it is well off the beaten track, but is very close to the village by walking. Also know that the owner and his wife live there. They are very friendly and helpful, so this is a bonus. Make sure that you are in the accommodation that we had, just a short stroll away from the others. Helps if you like walking and don't mind steep gradients, either way. Be aware that the owner's have a dog - but one of the nicest hounds we have come across, so no prob, unless by chance you cannot abide dogs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we ate in the village on most evenings and bought produce there as well. We reduced the environmental impact by walking locally most of the time, only using our car for long journeys. We did not pollute the local environment by leaving our rubbish in other than in the bins provided.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was exactly what we wanted. We were well away from the beaten track, getting there easily due to the owners' instructions. We wanted to relax and this was a perfect place in which to do so with great views, very sociable and generous owners who could not have been more helpful. We were pleased that there was a pool in which we could cool down during the hot day. The accommodation is situated very close to Lubrin which is a large village that has all you need. It was good to have the internet available and it didn't matter that we had to move out of our living quarters to get it. Overall we had a lovely week and John and Mair were great hosts.

review 9 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in the pool in the sun with views of the mountains. The warmth and welcoming nature of the owners.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There didnt seem to be any negative impact of the holiday on the local community or environment, and the owners appear to have an excellent relationship and respect for the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, very very relaxing place. If you are looking for somewhere to chill out in the sun where you are not surrounded by tourism then this place is perfect.

review 14 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet of the location (while having wi-fi meant we could connect with the world when we wanted to).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Practise your Spanish skills as there are fewer English speakers in the region than us Brits might assume. A phrase book and maps are definitely helpful - and road numbers don't seem to match very often!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were able to shop and eat in the local village, despite it having lost two of its restaurants and nearby villages also offered nice places to eat. The cottage was nicely low tech and John, the owner, made recycling really easy - he even brings up the biggest bottles of water from the village to decant into manageable (re-used) bottles for guests.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Thoroughly enjoyable: John is a great host, who even prepared snacks/ drinks for our arrival as he knew we'd had a v early start from the UK - it meant we could relax from the moment we arrived. He has great local knowledge of the local community and seems very much part of it. Lubrin is a great base for exploring Andalucia, with beaches only a drive away, but peace and seclusion to come home to. Nice walking opportunities on the hilly terrain.

review 21 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waking up to fantastic views over the mountain tops

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared and make time to get to destinations if you intend visiting places

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we ate several times in the nearby village and supported their market and shops

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great time, found it very relaxing and enjoyed the break

review 15 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the relaxing ambience and feeling like we were friends or family staying.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you go to the Wed market and buy some fresh produce to cook up a storm. I have never seen red peppers so big and the figs, avocados and watermelon were sooooo delicious! Take your own shopping bag(s) as the market people kindly give you a plastic bag for every item. We ended up with several and that was with trying to refuse! Also - John and Mair give really good advice regarding good restaurants both in Lubrin and others close by.. Do try some of them - the food was excellent. Alhambra was worth it - even though there is a 2 hour drive it is fairly easy, along motorway practically all the way. John does have a reasonable B and B to stay in, in Granada, if you prefer. Bring drink bottles- they have huge containers you can fill up from. It gets hot so bring hats and sun screen The village has an excellent pharmacy, authentic bakery and 2 very good supermarkets - no need to stock up anywhere else

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We bought everything locally and really enjoyed practicing our totally inadequate Spanish. The people are very kind and forgiving! John and Mair have a well organised system for recycling ( something sadly lacking in most hotels) Our activities were very low impact- walking, eating, etc. we hardly used the car, other than to get there and back to Almeria. We caught the train from Madrid to Almeria and then onto Seville after our week here, so minimal use of the car was intentional. The local market uses a surfeit of plastic bags ( every vegetable is separately bagged) so we made a point of politely refusing this service as we had brought a reuse able shopping bag all the way from NZ. We watered the garden with our dish water- water is extremely precious in this very dry landscape.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. We read several books but at the same time felt we improved our Spanish and successfully immersed ourselves in this tiny corner of the world- we only wished we could stay for longer. We are already planning our return and would like to bring all of our family and friends as well!

review 27 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The warm welcome from John and Mair. The peaceful setting, only background noise came from nature. Birds singing , bees buzzing. Walking through ancient olive groves and best of all seeing a Golden Eagle take off right in front of us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stock up at a supermarket on the way if you require luxury items. The shops in Lubrin only have basic provisions. Having said that the local black pudding from the butchers was delicious. Then again you could always survive on Tapas. We tried four different bars; all had a variety of tasty dishes at a very reasonable price. The atmosphere in the village is warm and welcoming. It’s worth brushing up on Spanish or take a phrase book.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used the local shops, bars and restaurant. John supplies separate bins to recycle waste. The car was used once for a trip to the coast. Other than that we walked everywhere .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really relaxing holiday. Surrounded by beautiful countryside. Staying in homely accommodation with a cosy wood burner to ward off the evening chill. Private terrace to soak up the sun.

review 8 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waking up to the wonderful view and warm sunshine! The rural setting, the intense quiet and a large patio area enhanced it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If arriving in the dark, follow the excellent directions to the letter!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Using local Tapas bars, market, restaurant and Supermarket benefited local people. Walks are nearby so no car needed, Recycling is good.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We went to walk, and did 4 of the 5 at present available

review 13 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildflowers were amazing; the weather very good (even for southern Spain at this time of year);the weekly market with stalls all along the roads and little squares was lovely; the walks along the ramblas (dried up river beds) and up into the hills very interesting and enjoyable; the cottage was in a very good location - just 5 mins walk from the town, but with the benefit of a garden and terrace (and a pool for summer) to enable you to make the most of the benefits of the sunshine

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Personally I would say arriving on Tuesday (the day before the market) - as I did by chance - would be ideal. Another good point is that it is accessible by bus (via Almeria) from both Granada or Malaga bus stations, so car hire is not necessary - certainly for a week's stay there are enough walks to go on and things to do locally, and just enjoying the cottage and gardens etc, to not need to travel elsewhere ...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - I used public transport, bought local food in the market and shops, went to local bars for drinks on my way back from my walks ...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good! I am very glad I chose to go there!

review 11 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lubrin was one of the friendliest places I have ever been - absolutely everyone said hello and made us feel welcome. I came back really refreshed and relaxed. The most exciting part was actually the drive back to Alicante as we chose to try and follow a coastal road back but got a bit lost , but the scenery was surreal and there was just no traffic anywhere , wonderful. We made a desperate last attempt to find somewhere to eat and turned off the motorway just past Murcia to a restaurante Venta San Jose - absolutely brilliant , exterior appearance really deceptive - they looked after us like royalty and gave us 5 starters (!) all seafood and a main meal , wine and coffee 15 euros each. You can't beat this part of Spain for the whole experience of being looked after .

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You can get by without too much Spanish so don't let this put you off & there are a lot of British people eating out or in the bars so you won't get lonely if you can't speak Spanish very well. You can also get by without cooking too much as the tapas is really good. It is very cheap whilst you are there. At this time of year it was quite changeable weather so be prepared for that. The roads are quiet , well marked and a pleasure to drive , ok they can be a bit narrow in places but nothing like Italy or South of France. Loved the cottage , very romantic and when to sun is out a real pleasure to sit outside.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were lazy as we did not really want to drive out , so we ate in the village every day/night and we stocked up during the week for the odd thing. We recycled as normal - bottles/paper etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing

review 1 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely weather and setting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not in any way whatsoever.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Poor because because there is an ingrained dirtiness of the property. The rug on the floor in the living room smelt and the layers of dust on the light in the bedroom and the presence of cobwebs and spider showed that the property has not a good clean for many months. Add to that the poor standard of the mattress in the bedroom and the fact that in that room there are places where the plaster is coming away from the wall and it didn't add up to a very welcoming or relaxing experience. The Wi-Fi is not accessible in the accommodation itself but only around the pool area and only then in certain places and it is very very slow to use.

Read the operator's response here:

I am so very sorry that your stay with us fell so very short of your expectations and we have taken on board each and every one of your criticisms. It is clear now that you had to do some work and the Wi-Fi problem obviously frustrated your need to be "on-line". Even though we are within walking distance of the village we have no land-line, never mind fibre optic. Our connection is just a max of 1mb by microwave link. By far the majority of our guests stay with us to get away from it all. If I had known of your need to be consistently online then I would have not recommended Casita Musica as, not withstanding it is the more secluded accommodation, it does come at a cost of poor or no signal. I will now look into installing satellite broadband as long as it is not prohibitively expensive. I am also sorry that your work must have precluded the opportunity to spend time in the village, integrating with the warm and friendly villagers and enjoying the tapas and menu del dias. We do like to think that we support the local economy and indeed if we did not then our page would be taken down by Responsibletravel. It is no excuse but we have had a very busy summer and autumn and you were the last guests prior to the quiet spell we now have before Xmas and New Year and the start of the walking season. We have already started to carry out the maintenance but I should point out to future guests that being in a rural area does come with the odd visitor such as spiders and gecko. Also our peace and tranquillity is a product of our enclosure with a boundary of non tarmac roads and dry rambla (ancient water courses) that sends up the dust when the odd vehicle passes by some 25 metres below us.

review 6 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location, in the foothills of the Sierra de los Filabres mountains, offers an amazing variety of on/off road mountain biking trails. This range of mountains are not as well known as the Sierra Nevada but offer a variety of rides of about 35km with ascents of around 250m. There are mountain bikes for hire in the village which is a short 5 minute walk away. Whether you are on a tarmac section or riding the ridges and valleys, the peace and tranquility adds a new dimension to mountain cycling. The ascents on the dirt roads are challenging and the downhill sections of well paved tarmac roads are exhilarating and can best be described as an F1 circuit for mountain bikes! All the trails start from directly outside the main entrance to the finca (no transfers) and all ended up in the village for wine or beer and tapas – Wonderful!.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Probably a good idea to shop at a supermarket on your way into Lubrin from the airport as the local shops are limited (though do have all the essentials so you won't starve!). Stock up with fresh food at the market on Wednesday. If you have space you could pack your own cycle helmet (I always feel more comfortable wearing my own). The hired bikes were excellent & well maintained, so don't go to the expense or trouble of bringing your own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local bars & restaurants, plus of course hired our mountain bikes from a local chap. We were able to walk and cycle from the gate so didn't really use the hire car much other than transfer from/to the airport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very relaxing week in an unspoilt part of Spain. Great for walking and the mountain biking was a lovely unexpected surprise - would definitely recommend this and there are plenty of different routes to tackle if you want to bike all week!

review 4 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely walks in v peaceful and beautifully rugged scenery. the mountains go on and on and the walking possibilities are endless.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You can,t easily self-cater.We arrived Sunday and John, the owner, recommended a supermarket near the airport where we could buy essentials, which was a godsend. The tiny supermarkets in Lubrin have v limited supplies. The weekly market on a Wednesday has fresh food but, again, it is limited to what is in season, no flown in exotic products. You need to speak some Spanish to get by as v few people speak English. The walking was ideal for us, not very challenging and easily done in 3 to 4 hours. Our friends went on one of John's new cycle routes which required much more exertion and was great fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The converted farm properties attempt to be low impact. We had wood burning stoves for the chilly evenings and We were asked to be careful with water and electricity. We used the local bakery, market and bars and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was very much what we expected and needed. A lovely place to relax, no pressure, pleasant weather, most of the time, and wonderful walks. We would recommend it without hesitation.

review 24 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The setting was superb. The hosts were excellent. The walking was good. The locals were friendly. The apartment was well appointed. Fabulous market on Wednesday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good walking shoes/sandals required for walk to village. No fresh produce available locally except for market day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people genuinely pleased to see visitors as Lubin not a tourist town, but spending in bars and restaurants most welcome. Apart from helping local economy not specifically geared towards reducing environmental impact nor supporting conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very satisfactory and lived up to expectations.

Read the operator's response here:

We help reduce the environmental impact and supports conservation in respect of its holiday accommodation by: 1. Encouraging visitors to leave their car on our car park and to walk to the village. 2. Encouraging visitors to minimise use of water and low energy lighting and to use supplied rewind able torch. 3. Providing recycling bins commensurate with the village recycling system 4. Providing free logs for winter heating and to minimise conventional central heating 5. Planting drought-resistant or tolerant plants to reduce the need for watering. 6. Producing walking routes that keep to established historical trails and not to interfere with wildlife and flora & fauna corridors. Thanks John

review 18 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the house we stayed in, its location among beautiful hills so different from our own wet Scottish ones, and the nearby very Spanish village. The whole holiday was wonderful, walks in the early morning starting from the house, returning to swim in the pool, relax with a book and enjoy the sun, sample the village bars and restaurant. Unspoiled Mediterranean beaches were close enough for a couple of trips. We were made very welcome by the owners.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used the shops, bars and restaurants in the village and I think that brought some benefit to local people. It is not at all a touristy village and a bit of extra custom seemed to be welcomed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would give it 5 stars but your words don't fit for me.

review 15 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery is beautiful, it was really relaxing with hot sunny weather every day. The coastline is not far away and there are some stunning beaches to explore in the nearby national park, Cabo de Gato.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a great place to relax and get away from it all and the local people are really friendly. Head down to the village early on Wednesday morning for the market and fresh produce. Once you have done your shopping, sit with a coffee at the nearby cafe and people watch! It is also a good place to practice your Spanish as no one really speaks English but everyone is encouraging and supportive if your Spanish is limited!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The house seemed to be owned by British people, although I am not sure about this as the owner of the house was away during our stay. We did all of our shopping locally so that was supportive of the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed our time at the house. We were doing a little travelling in Andalucia and our stay here gave us time to really relax, get away from it all and experience local village life. The surrounding landscape is beautiful and fascinating and I would recommend the holiday to others.

review 31 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the accommodation and location, it was so lovely. The sounds of goat bells and cicadas was a gentle reminder that you were far from home. We went to relax and that’s just what we did. The hospitality from Steve and Helen made us feel very welcome. We had a few instances of getting onto wrong roads due to not being able to programme the sat nav properly but this added to the adventure when we ventured out.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A trip to Granada to see the Alhambra and the Cathedral is recommended. We went for two days and stayed overnight in a beautiful hotel for just 45 euros in total. Had a great view looking up to the Alhambra from our window. The tourist information office at Plaza Nueva has a list of all the hotels and prices and there are lots in this area. We also came across a tea house in the Moorish district on our way back from seeing some Flamenco. There was a super menu and we sipped Turkish and Persian tea in a lovely atmosphere surrounded by lamps and cushions in the late evening. Lubrin itself is a lovely village but be aware of the steep and narrow streets if taking your car down. If you need more variety in your shopping list, you will probably have to venture further afield to Vera. The village has got most basic items however and there are great value places to eat. If arriving at night be sure to take your directions as there is no sign for the property at the turning onto the track from the main road which leads up to the house.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used the local shop and ate out in two of the local bars/restaurant. There are recycling bins at the property for glass, plastic and paper. You can walk to the village from the house in about 5 mins along a dirt track so if not having to carry shopping on the way back you don’t need your car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved it and came back with a sense we would return. It was so much more than we expected. The only issue we would raise was that of a neighbouring property who had a dog which barked constantly in the evening and into the night. It did spoil the tranquillity to some extent and was distracting.

review 15 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very comfortable, well appointed accommodation. Excellent walking maps and local material - including a small library. Nice 'dipping' pool. Friendly, helpful owner. Relaxing village-predominantly Spanish. Good local market and several tapas bars all very reasonably priced. Excellent menu del dia available. Good local sporting facilities (swimming pool, tennis court etc) and enjoyable walking country and interesting places to visit. This village has a greater feel of authenticity than many others we have visited.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn some basic Spanish to get the most out of the holiday. If you like the seaside be prepared for an hour's drive. Some excellent beaches, but there are stretches of costa plastica to traverse and you will move from a Spanish atmosphere to an international one. Good local (Spanish) beaches are identified in house material. Can be very hot- but accommodation has ample shade. Unfit/elderly/very young might find gradients a bit steep - but the locals cope!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Used water was fed back into garden areas. Local commerce supported and indeed local restaurants bars etc. Visitors are more than likely to eat in the village and shop there out of convenience.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Comfortable surroundings, helpful host - a different way of life/food/ walking etc. Would thoroughly recommend.

review 12 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The dramatic scenery in the area around Lubrin and the walks we took through it. We also really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the other guests there. Another memorable thing was the fantastic municipal swimming pool, up in the hills overlooking the town, surrounded by pine trees for shade, and with an excellent, informal bar.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn basic Spanish as it is well off the tourist trail and the local people are very friendly but you need to communicate in Spanish.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped in local shops, ate at local restaurants and brought our custom to the local swimming pool.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good value, outdoors holiday in a very pleasant environment.

review 29 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The warm welcome from John and Mair made us feel at home immediately. Nothing was too much trouble and thanks to John we were finally able to see a hoopoe as well as hear several more calling in and around the accommodation. The number of birds and wildlife we had not seen before was exceptional. The views from the various walks were spectacular. We felt able to really relax and 'do our own thing'.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are going to walk - go early in the year - it was almost starting to get too hot. Also if you are going to seriously botanise - then April or early May would seem to be the best time. We saw many interesting plants but much of the plant life was already burned off in early June.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Because Lubrin has some very good little shops and an excellent market once a week - we did not feel any need to go out of town to buy provisions. The vast majority of our holiday Euros were spent in the town. The local restaurants provided all we needed by way of additional treats.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

John's walks were very well planned and directions were excellent (so long as you paid proper attention unlike us - we were too busy looking at other things!) A very enjoyable two weeks.

review 29 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We went to here for our honeymoon. We thought it looked a good place to relax following the excitement of our wedding, and we weren't disappointed! We stepped out of the hire car to feel the sun on our faces and the mountain breeze on our skin. We received a lovely welcome from the owners, John and Mair, and a delicious picnic awaited us in our little cottage - a godsend as we were starving! After a day staying in our cottage with its hilltop location and gorgeous views, we felt thoroughly rested.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As others have said you do need to use a little Spanish as this isn't a major tourist destination. We brought our own phrasebook, although there was actually one already in the cottage. We liked having the hire car, it’s good having the freedom to tour by yourself. If you are using satnav it's best to check out the route it recommends before you set out - we had a 'hairy' journey between Sorbas and Nijar, yes it was beautiful but a bit scary for those not used to windy roads! Definitely go to the Wednesday market in the village and stock up.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitely benefited local people, as really you have to use the supermarkets and shops in the village of Lubrin. We also ate out in the bars and restaurants there. John and Mair have restored the old farm buildings, this is definitely conservation as opposed to building brand new apartments. John and Mair are very careful about recycling and reusing. They also are part of the community, they know the locals and they really encourage you to try all the shops and bars in Lubrin.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Simply put, we had a great time!

review 7 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks in the hills which were on our doorstep in all directions! In no time at all it was possible to get spectacular views of Lubrin, rugged hills and fertile valleys and even the coast way off in the distance. Every day we woke to the sound of birdsong or the bells of the small herd of grazing goats on the slopes opposite the property. Whilst walking, there was the constant hum of bees as there were so many beautiful wild flowers on the paths. Everyone in the village was friendly and accommodating of our limited skills in Spanish.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The village is quiet and lacking only in touristy things like gift shops etc (which is great in our view.) If you want to use the car you can travel to other beautiful spots in the region in no time at all. The coast is lovely and wild in places but also affords good beaches with facilities to make for a relaxing experience. We loved the Cabo de Gato.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We'd hired a car to get us there from Alicante but never used it until a week after our arrival as we shopped in the village supermarkets less than 10 minutes walk away. The fresh produce available at the weekly Wednesday market was superb and very cheap, as was the food on offer in the tapas bars and restaurants. We also hired bikes in the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really relaxed stay in a beautiful part of Spain. Our hosts were there if we needed them and they were very helpful at these times. The apartment gave us a feeling of complete privacy even though there were other people staying on the cortijo. We had a brilliant holiday.

review 28 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fabulous getaway kind of place, within reach of coast or Granada, lovely setting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack the sunscreen.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Good local shop and restaurants and Wednesday food/clothing market.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great break, lots of fun.

review 2 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet offered by this lovely house in a charming village, lighting our own fireplace and relaxing. Also walking around the nearby countryside and enjoying delicious tapas at the local restaurants.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Although the village is hard to get to, it is totally worth it once you arrive! You can switch off from the world.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely. Unfortunately the village doesn't get many tourists so any little bit helps.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing and a refreshing week!

review 21 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful location with lovely views. Very secluded and peaceful providing a very relaxing holiday. Jayne and Russ could not have been more helpful, giving us hints and tips for restaurants and day trips, 2 very warm and kind people who were a pleasure to meet. We were very honoured to have been invited to their leaving party which was a fantastic night!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a torch for walking back from the village at night. Go to a supermarket en-route; the village shop is sufficient for basic supplies but doesn’t have any fruit or veg.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate out in the town on several occasions, and shopped at the weekly market. Recycling is encouraged but otherwise we were not overly aware of our actions taken to minimise the impact on the environment. We definitely needed the hire car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, so relaxing and peaceful with fantastic day-trip opportunities. We saw a side of Spain we had never seen before. One of the best holidays we have been on as a couple. Perfect way to relax. We would love to come back one day.

review 26 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Imagine a perfect holiday setting - as quiet and secluded as it gets, free from mass-tourism traps, the landscape unspoiled by towering hotels (in fact there are hardly any hotels around) and only the owls calling to be the sounds of your night-time entertainment. And that spectacular moon rise over impressive rock right across the valley. Immerse into unhasty routines of the villagers, join the locals over delicious tapas in mere two or three bars or a sole restaurant, still with quality and pricing to surprise many seasoned travellers. Or browse delicacies at the fruit-veggies-meat-cheese-or-what-have-you market every Wednesday. Fully furnished apartment (actually three - we stayed in Castillico) in a carefully restored Spanish farmhouse, including your private veranda to sip your malaga wine in the evening, or do your grill, or go lazy on comfortable sun beds after refreshing plunge into the central pool (held impeccably clean). Or write your poems under the shade of roofed open get-together space. Cannot live without your web link? WiFi connection is there. Or pick one of the provided beach umbrellas and lilo and drive up to one of the many lovely beaches nearby. Paradise found. Unpretentious and very comfortable and simply so pleasurable to stay at. I do not know much about feng-shui, but whatever it postulates to make you feel good must have found its right realization at that place! All that topped with unparalleled hospitality of the host-owner John and his friends - Jane and Russ. Need an advice or forgot your road atlas or anything - your hosts are quick to help you out! Oh, forgot to mention three other important residents - Meg, Floyd and Sam: two very friendly dogs and a cat ;-)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Beware of virtual inexistence of any mass-tourism attractions in Lubrin (which I consider myself a great advantage, but some people may perceive it otherwise). Also shopping facilities and options to dine-out are rather constrained. Nice beaches are a good 30-50 km away via relatively curvy roads so if you are not a keen driver this might be a issue to consider.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Without any doubt the local community does benefit from hosting holiday-makers here. The area appears to be rather poor with no industry nor agricultural investments to generate income. Likewise no tourism developments attract visitors to leave their money in Lubrin. Even though the accommodations scale is very small I am sure the locals do appreciate the presence of its guests.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Do not get mislead by website introduction for this accommodation - the reality surpasses all expectations! Needless to say we find the value for money simply stunning... Get away from your daily rats-race and reset your mind. If there were anything like "Slow-Travel" I'd vote this place to top the list. And trust me - I have see quite a few... PS. By the way John has spilled a word to us about his ambitious extension plans, including flamenco classes, guided mountain hiking, horse riding and Spanish courses. Summer or winter – this is a perfect choice for perfect holidays.

review 24 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our holiday highlight was visiting the Alahambra in Granada. It was amazing and although 2.5 hours drive away it was well worth it, it was a scenic drive as you go through the Sierra Nevada and other spectacular National Parks. The whole holiday was exciting as we had never had a hire car before and we didn't know what to expect as we wanted a little adventure. It was a great experience just talking to the locals in a little Spanish and being part of the community.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are wanting to tour around and visit different areas in and around Lubrin a hire car is a must. It gives you much more freedom and scope to discover new places and the roads are quiet and up to date. A phrase book is essential so you have to be brave and give Spanish a go, the locals are patient and very understanding and by the end of the week you will have it to a tee.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. Lubrin is a rural village but has everything you need for a self catering holiday. We ate in the local restaurants and tapas bars most days and they were fantastic, the supermarkets are small but are well stocked with essentials and the butchers and bakeries are brilliant we got all our fresh bread and meat from them, we didn't need to shop anywhere else. There was good recycling facilities at John's house and he is continually trying to source energy from renewable sources.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday exceeded our expectations and we could not recommend it more to anyone looking for a holiday to experience true Spain whether that be for relaxing or adventure, John and Mair looked after us so well, they were ready at hand to offer advice and suggestions which enabled us to have the confidence to get out and explore. The accommodation was lovely and traditional and very relaxing. It had beautiful views and was a great launch pad for setting off for walks, John has mapped six local walks out ready for you to get you on your way. Lubrin is a charming village surrounded by scenic mountains, olive and almond trees, we could not have wished for a nicer place to stay.

review 14 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoying some much needed R & R was a priority for this. The beautiful apartment and surroundings were perfect. We enjoyed being in a very 'Spanish' village, away from the hustle & bustle of more touristy destinations. We found all the locals to be warm and welcoming despite the language barrier and we loved sampling the delicious local cuisine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely visit the supermarket on the way. Eat lots of tapas! Take a phrase book/dictionary if you don't speak Spanish. Try the local bakers & the 'stringy doughnut' guy at the market on Wednesday. There are 3 holiday apartments on site plus the home for the managers. There is a small communal swimming pool and patio area but each apartment has its own private terrace area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The onsite managers were really helpful and friendly in pointing us in the right direction for local food and sharing a bit more about the impact the apartments had on the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 6 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved walking in the hills surrounding the house. There were excellent self guided walk guides provided in the house. The village was also really lovely and peaceful. We went down to the Cabo de Gata which was beautiful. My husband loves bird watching and we saw bee eaters, woodchat shrike, red rumped swallows, golden orioles, amongst lots of others (he was very excited)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A fantastic place to go if you want some peace and quiet, and to see some of real rural Spain. Not really suitable if you want ready made entertainment, resturants etc. Not much English spoken, prob need to speak some Spanish.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I think the local bars and shops benefit. I'm not sure the impact on the environment differs much to other holidays we have been on.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really lovely holiday, very relaxing in a beautiful, unspoilt place we would never have been to had we not gone to this accommodation. Would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

review 20 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful views and good weather.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stock up early on drinking water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, spent money on village and minimal environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 17 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views from the terrace and being able to utterly relax for a week. We really appreciated the welcome "hamper" of bread, cheese, olives, a bottle of wine and a big bowl of fresh salad leaves, as well as the couple tins of soda and beer in the fridge, and a couple bottles of water, especially as we arrived on a Sunday when none of the supermarkets are open. Also, firing up the wood oven for the first time and my husband making homemade calzones for everyone was memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you really want to get away from it all, this is the place. The only thing I would say is that it is not ideal for those who have mobility problems, as there are some rather steep steps down to the apartment from the garden. Although John, the owner, is doing up a couple of other buildings on the property, so that may not be a problem with those in future.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. By the end of just 1 week, we felt to be part of the community ourselves! Everyone in Lubrin was really friendly and welcoming and we ate most of our meals in the bars/restaurants and shopped in the local supermarkets (there are 2) and also in the fresh market on the Wednesday. There are eco light bulbs throughout the property, recycling bins for waste and most importantly it is so nice there you won't want to leave (well, we didn't anyway) - so saves on petrol and CO2 by not driving everywhere! And of course by using the wood oven - not just the once for the pizzas, but we also cooked a roast chicken dinner in it for us all - we didn't use the gas oven.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant, but as usual with these things, 1 week was too short. John is an absolute star and currently he has a couple staying and helping with the guests, etc and they also really made the holiday for us. They couldn't do enough for us, were super friendly - oh and let's not forget the dogs, Meg and Floyd, who also contributed to making the place feel like home from home.

review 18 Mar 2011

The weather was dreadful… freezing cold, raining and windy for all but the drive back to the airport... we used all our fleeces and big boots. However it didn't matter. We were very tired so being forced to sit in village bars, drink beer and eat tapas chatting with whoever might be around was an absolute delight compared with the idea of actually walking! (though your maps looked great) I stocked up with tomatoes, peppers, chorizo, bread garlic and wonderous olive oil... from the Market on Wednesday morning... As soon as I tasted the oranges I knew I hadn't bought enough! We had enough dry wood for cosy fires… we even slept snuggly in the sitting room next to it one night as the rain hammered on the roof tiles... excellent. Whilst poor Japan was being washed away before our eyes, the Wifi and satellite enabled us to keep up with those terrifying events. We wanted to get away from it all, but having the technology available when you need it really makes a difference. Also, with my Ipad, the Wifi meant I could book tickets to the Alhambra... a true wonder. The only quibble, and compared with the joy of our stay it's a tiny one, I like cooking and the utensils are a little limited and basic. A big heavy pot, a big heavy frying pan, and a big heavy knife would do the business! We would be paellatastic with those.... Lubrin itself was a delight. They don't speak English, and my Spanish is rubbish (but improving!) but we had no difficulty attempting communication, shopping and getting what we needed. The people were so kind and generous to us, and our rubbishness. I have lugged home two 2 litre jugs of local olive oil and half the contents of the butchers Chorizo and black pudding store in a desperate attempt to cling on to flavourful memories of a wonderful time. I'm very keen to return... and I don't care about the weather... next time I'd like to get down to the national park and see the flamingos! I do hope you'll have us back. All the very best, and thank you again for letting us enjoy such a treasure.

review 31 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The welcoming and kind hospitality of the people of Lubrin.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax into the pace of life of Lubrin and enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Spending money in local shops, cafes, restaurants and the local market will clearly benefit the local economy. Impact on the environment was minimised by recycling and encouragement to walk locally by the owner of the Cortijo.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable.

review 26 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beach, lava rocks and waves at Playa de Monsul.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When they say hills or bends ---they really mean it. Be prepared.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Help economy through eating out. Impact low.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent break in the simple life of unspoilt Lubrin.

review 2 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The house, garden and settings made the holiday. John, the owner, was so welcoming and he worked so hard to make us feel comfortable. On our arrival the kitchen was stocked with food, wine and fresh bread which was a lovely welcoming gift. The village of Lubrin was truly amazing, a real example of traditional Andalucian life. It was a really magical place. We had a truly sumptuous time, we barely left the house!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We would advise any going to the house to hire a car. The village is quite small and the shops don't stock fresh fruit and veg, so it might be advisable to stop at a supermarket en route to stock up. There is a fab market every Wednesday in the village so if you can wait until then, you'll be more than OK!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent quite a lot of time in the nearby village of Lubrin and so probably did benefit the local economy. John has tried very hard to make the accommodation as environmentally friendly as possible. Water is drawn from a well on the land and much of the food is locally sourced. Electricity usage was minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Magnificent! We had a wonderful time in Lubrin. John was an excellent host - informative and very attentive. The accommodation was outstanding value for money. The gardens and pool were a real delight. We will definitely return.

review 29 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For us, the location provided plenty of days out on the bike in the stunning Filabres mountains, whilst trips to the beach are easily within reach if that is your thing. On other days we just chilled in our secluded casa or in the pool and then a bit of tapas or a meal in one of the village bars.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just relax and enjoy this still mainly unspoilt and undiscovered part of Spain. Get a good map and get out into the hills and enjoy the solitude and almost empty roads. Although a bit too hot when we were there (August), it would make an excellent base for walking or mountain biking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Most of our euros were spent in Lubrin, which has a few bars, 2 small supermarkets and an excellent street market on Wednesdays. John has provided recycling bins for waste and recycles water where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect for our honeymoon! Arriving at the accomodation was the best antidote to the stresses of life and in our case many weeks of wedding planning! You cannot help but relax and enjoy the friendly and truly welcoming village of Lubrin and from John.

review 10 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waking up on the first morning and realizing that the apartment was in as lovely a position as we'd suspected when we arrived the previous evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Follow the advice about getting there with airports/cars etc... - John's instructions were excellent. They've also put a lot of effort into touches like walking trails nearby, and have lots of other useful bits of local advice.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The local people were obviously pleased to see us, knew where we'd be staying, and had a good relationship with the owners. The same goes for the people at the local market, who obviously see visitors as a good thing, as opposed to other far more developed bits of Spain.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

From the wine and bread and cheese waiting for us at arrival to the peace, quiet and beauty of the apartment and area, it was a cracking holiday and just what we needed. We were there in late March/early April, and there are lots of wild flowers just coming up, lots of decent sun, and cool enough evenings to warrant lots of logs in the wood burning stove in the evening. Perfect. For the type of holiday we wanted, this was excellent, and much of the credit goes to the owners, who were lovely.

review 6 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole week was a joy. Arriving at the Cortijo surpassed expectations - a beautiful unspoilt wild spot. John's a magnificent host as well. Being able to walk (when temperatures allowed) in any direction from the apartment was a delight - tranquil dry riverbeds, zigzag paths up empty mountains, and a proper Spanish village over the rise. Excellent birdwatching too - right from the terrace. We're novices, but were able to identify Sardinian Warblers, Crested Larks, Woodchat Shrikes, Lesser Kestrels (nesting in the nearby crags), Black Wheatears, Pallid Swifts, Red-Rumped Swallows, Golden Orioles... some of them without even having to get up from our sun-loungers. Swimming in the Cortijo's lovely pool with swallows skimming the water was enough highlight. We didn't use the car once.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Think about getting to the Cortijo by public transport - the car was only useful for us to get to and from the airport, and the weather too hot for driving anyway. If you can get hold of any decent walking maps of the area, that'd be good.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The nearby village benefited from our custom (shops and bars and restaurants), and also meant we didn't have to drive once - everything we needed was there. We talked to locals in our stumbling Spanish - all were very impressed by John and what's he done for the Cortijo (and the village).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Exactly what we needed. Peace, comfort, nature, restoration.

review 23 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Not being frequent travellers, the whole holiday was both memorable and exciting. This is a lovely area and the accommodation was everything we had hoped for and perhaps a bit more. We were there for two weeks and enjoyed every day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Lubrin is not near the coast or the bright lights. We were looking for peace and quiet and found it. The beaches are about 40 to 50 minutes drive away, but once you get there, you have a lot of choice of lovely beaches. You have to have a car for this location. If it's a hire car, take out all the available insurance, as you can't get to or from the accommodation without going on unpaved tracks. Also, follow the instructions for getting there given by the owner, not the SatNav. If you want advice on beaches, places of interest, walks etc., ask the owner. You don't need to be fluent in Spanish but learning a few key words and phrases will help you a lot as most of the locals don't speak English, but are very friendly and tolerant! Go to the caves at Sorbas (Cuevos de Sorbas) unless you are seriously claustrophobic - well worth a visit. Also the Alhambra at Granada (120 miles away but well worth it, and a beautiful drive -- you HAVE to book in advance most of the time.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Certainly we were recommended to the local weekly market and the restaurants and bars in the local town. The property uses low energy light bulbs, bore-hole water for the swimming pool and garden etc., recycling is encouraged and the owner doesn't use chemical pesticides etc. He also provides local walking routes to help explore the local area responsibly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a very relaxing holiday. The accommodation was better than expected and very nicely appointed, clean, comfortable and homely. We were well looked after. There is a lovely welcome pack, providing a light meal and drink on arrival. Each apartment has two private patios (private to each apartment) and there is a small communal area and small swimming pool to cool off in at the end of a hot day (or any other time). Free, fast, wireless internet was very useful for planning days out. As long as you don't want to be on the beach every day, I would highly recommend.

review 8 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The setting - the cottage was up in the hills, and the journey up there was extremely scenic and truly felt like we were in rural Spain, far away from the built up holiday resorts! There were beautiful views from the cottage and our little terrace, and it was above all peaceful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for total relaxation...it's a very quiet, relaxed town so don't go there if you want an action packed holiday. Make sure that you go to the local market on Wednesday...lots of delicious food! A bit of Spanish would help too!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We purchased everything locally (from the market and local shops), and ate at restaurants in the town which John was brilliantly clued up on! So, yes, hopefully it benefited local people in a small way at least.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic break...just what we were looking for. John was very welcoming and he has an extremely good knowledge of the area which he was always happy to share. It was a gorgeous setting with everything that we needed so would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway...we genuinely felt a million miles from London!

review 6 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The accommodation and setting. Both were absolutely perfect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Certainly hire a car. I would highly recommend a trip to Granada - this can be done in a day or ideally two if you have time. Plus certainly visit the supermarket before arriving - the bakery and butcher in town are all great but the supermarket is slightly lacking in stock, notably fruit and vegetables.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We ate a lot of tapas and kept the flow of Rioja going long into the nights.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Chilled.

review 24 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful evening BBQ's on the gorgeous patio looking out over the hills and mountains drinking local red wine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You don't need to bring anything as the cottage is so well equipped!!! Even adaptor plugs and hairdryers. Plus the layout of the house/cottages is such that you never feel that you have to do on holiday with the other people who are also staying there.Be warned about the rather rocky/perilous final bit of the drive way into the house!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we were able to use the local services - post office, markets and restaurants. The villagers were very welcoming and friendly and John is clearly integrated into, and passionate about, the village life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, the relaxing and beautiful holiday that we needed!

review 17 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The calm and quiet surroundings and the night sky filled with thousands of stars.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are seeking peace and quiet, this is the place for you. Definitely hire a car though, especially if you want to explore the amazing areas around Lubrin. Be sure to check out the coast of Almeria and the Tabernas desert - a hidden gem.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely! John, our host, was very conscious of things like energy usage - plus everyone in the village was pleased to see us around and buying local produce. Everyone was extremely friendly and nice.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A four and a half out of five - I leave a half star for future holidays :) It was a great holiday and John was a very nice host. He helped us when we needed information but also allowed plenty of privacy.

review 14 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The spectacular views and wonderful relaxed atmosphere.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stop at a supermarket before arriving to stock up on essentials. But don't panic if you don't because John kindly puts together a welcome pack of bread and cheese etc which is indeed very welcome.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic and relaxing place in a gorgeous setting. The views were spectacular and such a lovely relaxing atmosphere that really help to relax and revive you.

review 13 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

After heading into town to have some tapas, we got chatting to the local ex-pats and bar owner. Although our Spanish was awful they were very friendly and patient. We ended up talking long into the night, our wine glasses never ran dry.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you rent a car, if you can want to see a lot of the area. The roads are excellent and fairly quiet (if you are driving enthusiast). Ensure you have some basic Spanish or a phrase book, finding someone who speaks English is rare.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I do feel that the holiday benefited the locals, they are happy to have the additional revenue from tourism. The villa in which we where staying was very eco friendly, with energy saving devices through-out.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed this holiday very much. John, the villa proprietor, was extremely helpful and friendly. The villa itself was clean, well maintained and well furnished all while keeping a rustic feel. Although compact it is perfect for a couple sharing. The area surrounding the villas is beautiful and the locals are friendly and inviting. The local food is excellent, especially the fruit and veg. We brought home three bottles of the local olive oil for our friends and families.

review 2 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was refreshing to see the real Spain rather than the touristy parts. The apartment location was ideal for a relaxing break and very tranquil with good outdoor space (Rambla apartment) having two terraces.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Other than on Wednesdays when the market comes to the village there is nowhere to buy fruit or veg in the village at all, so stock up before you arrive. It is well worth a visit to Molina restaurant in Bedar. The leg of lamb (for 2 people) is excellent! Avoid hiring a car with a small engine as the mountains are a struggle, however a small car is ideal for the tight squeezes down the narrow streets in the villages. Lubrin is a lovely sleepy village and very quiet even in the evenings but apparently comes alive for a festival during the first 2 weeks of August.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes as we ate and shopped locally several times during the holiday. Although we did hire a car and didn't attempt public transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed the holiday and was exactly what we needed, peace and quiet and not too hot in June, with very hospitable owners.

review 26 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wild landscape around the house was memorable. The house is well fitted in the environment, comfortable and the external patios allow you to find fresh shadow (if you want) all day long. The place is very quiet and relaxing. The small village close to the house allow you to get the feeling of the Andalusia’s lifestyle.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Although the house is somehow "protected" from the touristic localities, it is possible to reach easily very famous places in Andalusia. Our suggestion are to visit Granada (remember to book the ticket for Alhambra in advance), the lighthouse at Capo de Gata and the "alcazaba" in Almeria.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We think that the impact on the environment was very low, but we believe that the holiday benefited local people only marginally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Beautiful and, somehow, unexpected.

review 13 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A trip to Grenada; only 2hrs 30mins away - a day trip!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take more books. It's a very quiet location. Have a least a basic grasp of Spanish - very little spoken in the hostelries.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate locally and bought from the local supermarket.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very affable hosts in John and Meyer. A good very quiet holiday. Weather splendid all week, put us off walking in daytime; although there were several routes provided by host.

review 15 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The tranquillity and atmosphere of Lubrin. With the weather unusually wet it was still relaxing and interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the bendy drive up into the hills, the scenery makes it worth while and the welcome when you arrive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Without tourism and the influx of non locals I think the village would fall into decline.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8 out of 10 due to weather.

review 1 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable would have to be sitting outside the apartment in the evening, looking out onto the hills and soaking up the peace and tranquillity. The beaches around Cabo de Gata came a close second.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make the trip to Cabo de Gata, it is certainly worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The facilities in the apartment were so good that we didn't travel for meals, we simply either ate in or dined at one of the local restaurants. Lovely food on the doorstep.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8/10 for pure relaxation value.

review 11 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Memories of tranquillity, simplicity and space. Seeing stars clearly at night. Flamingos at Cabo de Gata. Friendly local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take binoculars and a bird guidebook. Enjoy the pace of life in the village.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local village with shops, bars, restaurants and a weekly market only a few minutes walk away - everything that was required with no need to travel miles to large supermarkets. Accommodation was in a renovated farmhouse & locals employed for cleaning etc. A local mechanic and taxi driver were also used by us (unplanned!)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable and relaxing and just what we were looking for. Comfortable, homely accommodation with friendly welcome and helpful hosts.

review 28 May 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We arrived at night and when we opened the shutters in the morning the views all around were breathtaking. Driving around in the mountains was very exciting and the lovely deserted beaches great in the day. Seeing a wild boar on a walk to a neighbouring village was very thrilling.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car and travel around visiting the deserted coves and beaches and then return late afternoon to the spectacular location. Ensure that you eat breakfast when looking out over the hills. The village has all you need including a taxis for late night village hoping. Both restaurants in the village were great and the place very friendly

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The holiday benefited the local people as the owners recommended local markets, shops and restaurants.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies