14 independent reviews for Peak District self catering cottages, England

Reviews for Peak District self catering cottages, England

SHOW
2
11
1
0
0

review 23 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dovedale proved to be very popular and we spent 3 very enjoyable days there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The breakfast we had delivered to our door on our last morning was delicious! It's quite pricey but it kept us going, with a few snacks, until supper when we got home so it was worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes there was a lot of evidence to support this.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The accommodation had everything we needed and the owners were welcoming and informative. It was a good overall experience.

review 10 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking through the country side and stopping for lunch at a country pub. Also watching the cows walking past the cottage in the morning and evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read the recommendations for where to eat and what to see that are in a folder in the cottage.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, particularly local people as most business went out of there way to inform customers that they supported local suppliers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing and the cottage was wonderful to come back too at the end of the day, or have a break during the day.

review 30 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The cottage was wonderful and the views superb. We did some great walking and some amazing eating. The farmhouse breakfast has to be described as memorable -delicious!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Eat the breakfast! The walk to Dovedale was great. Stay longer than three days!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, that was very evident from everything in the cottage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exactly the relaxing break we needed and more.

review 3 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving at the beautiful cottage surrounded by glorious hillside views!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring wellies, a map, and good walking shoes! Embrace the self catering! Order as much fresh produce as possible from the owners - it's all delicious.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing- we'd love to go back!

review 5 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The landscape and walking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a good pair of walking boots, you will want to use them!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It helped support the farm we stayed on (very friendly people). The nature of the holiday meant that we spent locally, shops, pubs and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable, shame that it rained quite a bit!

review 5 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Waking up to see the sun filtering through to the snowy hills opposite us, sheep grazing and the moon still high. It was so peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. Also, the wonderful walk on (somewhat icy) Bunster Hill, down the valley to the picturesque village of Ilam.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take walking boots, bring provisions, and just enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we were staying on an organic dairy farm, which is a family-run concern. They supply other businesses (including some of the large supermarket chains) with their produce. We bought many of our provisions directly from them. In terms of environmental impact, we travelled by public transport and were picked up by Sue in Ashbourne, the nearest town. We recycled or composted most of our waste. We walked everywhere!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely wonderful! We had a very relaxing stay in the cottage, and wish we could have stayed for longer.

review 22 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The view from the Little Cottage at the accommodation! Lush green fields, dry stone walls, sheep and cows, gently rising dales, woodland valleys, hovering kestrels and darting hares - all whilst you enjoy your first mug of tea and Sue's flapjacks in your private back garden on arrival. Then there is the wood burner in the living room which will soon warm up stiff walkers legs, lots of beautiful paintings to admire, a beautiful bathroom and a very comfortable canopied bed. In the morning you will be visited by the friendliest hens and will see sheepdogs at work - they are incredible!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring wellies and/or boots and if you plan to be out walking, waterproof jacket and trousers. Don't plan an itinerary because the weather is changeable and it's much more fun to look out the window in the morning and decide then! Don't do Dovedale at the weekend as it gets very busy - leave it for a weekday when you can enjoy the beauty on your own. The Tissington cycle trail is a very easy level cycle track, following the old railway line across the dales which a whole family could do.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I bought some locally made meals which were delicious and shopped in Ashbourne. The recycling and composting system is very good, all cleaning products are biodegradable, there is a biomass boiler on the farm and at the time of writing this, I think they are greening their system even more. It's an organic farm so if you stay here, you are supporting and contributing to the organic ethos. You also have the opportunity to see a working farm in action and increase your awareness of organic farming.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I loved it! Sue, Terry, Alex and Rob are the most helpful, lovely people who make you feel really special. I loved all the little touches like the welcome board, the flapjacks, the comprehensive farm information folder and the meals I had ordered already in the fridge. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. There is so much to do in the Peak District that you could probably go out every day for a year and there would still be more to do! I will be coming back!!

review 23 Mar 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful view from the cottage and peaceful surroundings. You could not ask for a warmer welcome - and the home made flapjack waiting for us when we arrived was delicious.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring your walking boots and enjoy the surroundings. Don't miss the farm trail (literally on your doorstep), it's really interesting, a good way to get your bearings and learn about how the farm has developed over time. Definitely take advantage of the take-away breakfast from the farmhouse, a great start to a day roaming around the beautiful countryside.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The owners take such care and attention to detail, it makes it very easy to be good, e.g. sort waste for recycling. Their recommendations for nearby restaurants point out those that use local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb. We had a lovely weekend here, and you could easily stay for a week with plenty to see and do. The cottage is really cosy and ideal for 2. You can tell that the owners love the place, and after one day you feel the same way! We will definitely recommend, and come back for another visit like so many others. The loyal fanbase is well deserved and reading the guestbook gives some lovely insights into what to do in the area.

review 10 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

An evening spent in the hot tub after a day's walking, as the light faded over the Derbyshire hills and dales. Cycling gently along the Tissington Trail, with unexpected and wonderful views. Or just sitting in our tiny walled garden reading and enjoying the peace of the countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The farm has a gorgeous, serene setting in the south of the Peak District, and Sue and Terry Prince are the most welcoming hosts you could wish for. Make sure you order their produce for your stay, including home-baked bread and milk from their Fresian herd.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, in that their food buying policy means produce is either from their own organic or neighbouring farms or ethically sourced (Fairtrade). The farm's situation means you can do any number of walks straight out of the door, or cycle along a limestone trail built on an old railway route that starts from nearby Ashbourne, hiring bikes at the local cycle centre.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic place to relax and unwind, beautifully cared for by Sue and Terry and just really special! Obvious from the guest book that many visitors return time and again. A great base if you love the countryside and want to walk or cycle, and plenty of country pubs with very good food.

review 22 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace! The cottage is situated in such a wonderful location. The local food was wonderful also.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go prepared for tranquility and peace with your walking boots and plenty of books.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we purchased local food from the farm and from the farm shop down the road. We also ate in the excellent local pubs in the evening. We also bought 2 sheepskin rugs that had been naturally tanned which are very rare to find.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing and just what we both needed after quite a traumatic year.

review 2 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

At the farm we thoroughly enjoyed the Farm Trail, despite fighting against the strong gales! In the area there was loads to do and the Tissington Trail (cycle way) was an excellent relaxed way to spend one of the dry days.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take strong boots and wind/waterproofs to enjoy the local countryside - of course you may get perfect weather! Go prepared to have a go! The walks from the farm meant you didn't need the car. Food is available for sale, but did not cater for Gluten free so we took some prepared meals to make life easy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The farm is organic and is very beautifully situated. It seemed idyllic. Used local people to work in the B&B and cottage cleaning.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

First rate. Cottage very comfortable with everything we needed. Hosts and "fill ins" (hosts went on holiday) were very kind and met all questions and requests helpfully. We'll be going again to do all the things we couldn't fit in

review 15 Feb 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Use of hot-tub in garden! Novel experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book longer than a weekend.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - eg. ate locally produced organic food which enabled us to stay in on the saturday night thus not using car

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great weekend.

review 24 Dec 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sheer peace and quiet. Much appreciated by someone who lives on a noisy main road!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't try to do too much......just relax and look out of the windows at the superb countryside and get to know the owners, Sue and Terry. They give you a fascinating, no holds-barred, perspective on working an organic farm.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We pumped a fair amount into the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent and memorable.

review 22 Dec 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving in the dark and finding our way through the farmyard to our little cottage, glowing with light and warmth from the little stove burning ready for us, and a welcome gift of chutneys and a personal note from the owners; really lovely start.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring pyjamas as the bedroom was cold!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes! Really good. They have made a really detailed booklet about exactly how the farm runs. Really educational and accountable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for your kind comments - sorry the bedroom was cold. I just discovered that my husband, Terry, had borrowed the bedroom heater and not put it back! I have learned a lesson to double check. We are working on plans to replace all our old oil boilers and electric heating with (hopefully) a wood fired boiler and maybe an experimental bio-gas digester. So if you come again, hopefully you will be as warm as toast!

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies