47 independent reviews for Andalucia self guided walking holiday, Spain

Reviews for Andalucia self guided walking holiday, Spain

SHOW
3
38
6
0
0

review 8 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wild spring time flowers were absolutely amazing. Beautiful vibrant colours everywhere we walked. Local scenery was spectacular, with great (and somewhat challenging) walks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We went at the end of April. The weather at this time was ideal for walking - warm but not too hot to get out and about. Evenings can be a bit cool, so take a warm fleece or jacket.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly benefited local people, as we ate out at the local restaurants and bars every day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Our hosts were absolutely lovely and made us feel extremely welcome.

review 29 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking the mountainside amongst the wildflowers watching the varied bird life. We saw a different bird species every day. These included lesser Kestral, Sardinian and sub alpine warbler, black, black eared and common wheatear among others.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You really need a car to get there. The shopping in the village is a little limited and at the time of our visit neither restaurant was open. Be prepared to self cater. It may be worth doing a shop en route for some fresh fruit and vegetables.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The village of Lubrin is relatively isolated. A car is needed to get there but once there it was not used again during our stay. The owner provided walking guides enabling us to explore on foot from the Cortijo. We also ate and shopped locally once we arrived; shops included a butchers, a couple of bakeries and a few small convenience stores. There is also a really good Wednesday food market.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent relaxing week spent walking, birdwatching and relaxing in the sunshine. The local tapas bars were cheap and friendly.

review 3 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Good walking

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you know the altitude and the climate in Spring!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

OK

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Enjoyed it!

Read the operator's response here:

Gareth and Jose certainly helped to benefit the local economy with their purchases in the local supermarkets and bread shops and by eating out in the local tapas bars and restaurants. They followed our instructions in the recycling of their waste and were willing and happy to use our environmental friendly wood burning stove. Our logs are the product of the pruning of the almond and olive trees and are provided free of charge to encourage minimal use of our oil fired central heating system.

review 26 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many things - the great location and views, the friendly people, excellent accommodation, very helpful hosts, the weather, the food etc. But the biggest highlight was walking off the beaten track in the beautiful hills with such spectacular views, wild flowers, olive and almond groves, goat herds and bird life. We walked for hours at a time seeing only one or two local people and were always met with a friendly "hola".

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We found the walking guides provided very useful. We did the majority of the walks. The western walk was our favourite. If you only do one walk - do this one. The panoramic views from the top are spectacular and the second half walking through the olive and almond groves is lovely.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in terms of benefit to local people - we used many local businesses and services - bars, restaurants, bakers, grocers, the market, taxi and bought olive oil and honey from the local producers etc. Lubrin is off the beaten track but has everything you need and it was a pleasure to spend time and money buying from small local family businesses staffed by friendly people. In terms of conservation, spending on the local businesses may help to conserve these and help to keep villages like Lubrin going without changing them. It is harder to say in terms of environmental impact - the biggest local issue appears to be water due to the lack of rainfall. Our hosts stressed the needs to conserve the water as much as possible with practical guidance.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved the holiday and will be recommending it to a number of our friends. The views from the accommodation are fantastic and its a great place to relax. The village is an easy walk away and the hills and countryside are fantastic for walking.

review 27 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery on the North and West walks. Hospitality and helpfulness of our hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In February be prepared for cold and limited sunshine. If flying to Almeria then Avis is hard to find. Goldcar and Hertz are at the airport.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out every night at local restaurants. We used our car very little as we were walking most days.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Recommended.

review 27 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The amazing landscape; so different from where we live!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When following the guided walks pay particular attention to the photo tips - we managed to go wrong twice but totally our own fault!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The village of Lubrín is small I suspect that the small businesses operating there rely on visitors.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The accomodation was clean comfortable and incredibly cute. I loved the different colours on the celings between the beams. The village is pretty and we found an excellent tapas/pizza bar run by an Argentinian couple. All food made on the premises and pretty awesome pizzas!

review 25 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just being in the peaceful surroundings of Fuente Arriba and relaxing in the sun during the day and star gazing in the evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go prepared to unwind and enjoy the silence

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes there was an emphasis on recycling and responsible use of resources. I particularly liked that the plunge pool was filled from a spring.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic and restful

review 16 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Views, the walking was good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the right gear, i.e., walking poles, footwear, Sun block. Good hats and drink plenty of water when you're out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We used the local restaurants and bars, used the local taxi (JuanP, arranged by John), shopped in the village. They are all very friendly and helpful but it does help if you speak a bit of the language.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just what we wanted.

review 5 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire experience was delightful, and it would be too difficult to pick out any one aspect. We had a terrific time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We found the restaurants outside of Lubrin, and specifically those at El Marchal and Bedar, to be excellent and well worth the short drive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate out, used the recycling facilities, bought supplies locally and used the car sparingly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The walks, the accommodation, the privacy and the weather. The local tapas bars were incredibly cheap, if a bit limited in choice.

review 12 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great holiday, great weather, our hosts Gale and Terry were fantastic and made us very welcome. The accommodation is as expected, basic, clean and comfortable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Lubrin is a good location, a nice small town where you can buy basic supplies. We knew we would not be in time for the fruit and veggie market on Wednesday, so we stocked up at the supermarket in Almeria before driving to Lubrin. This worked out well, also there are lots of good restaurants in Lubrin and in close proximity to Lubrin , that you won't go hungry. From Lubrin we did a days trip by car to Granada (2 ,1/2 hours) and a days trip to Cartagena (1,1/2 hours). Both worthwhile trips. The walks were challenging in parts! Well documented by John but some updates maybe needed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people were lovely and we enjoyed eating out at some of the local Lubrin restaurants and cafés.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very memorable.

review 8 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Quiet and peaceful. Very genuine accom + weather!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes a bit though no doubt going by air didn't.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Incomparably superior to the normal Mediterranean / Canaries packages.

review 25 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The first sunny morning at Cortijo Fuerteventura was lovely, the garden beautiful and sitting out for breakfast delightful. The welcome from Terry and Gail was also great and the information provided by them and John about the local area invaluable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make use of Jphn's well described walk guides for an energetic and interesting introduction to the area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were able to buy every thing we needed at the local market and shops - the bakery provided delicious fresh bread daily. We could recycle the waste and make use of the bath water to water the garden.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing, lovely spot, friendly hosts who let us get on with our own holiday, but available for help and advice.

review 10 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Peaceful location, excellent or walking, Beautiful scenery, friendly and welcoming people, great wine.....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

January / February is a great time to go. Days warm, cooler early in the morning and evenings so take warm cardigans and slippers! We went home with a healthy glow.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we did all our shopping and eating in the village, local produce, Eco friendly hosts,

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, a more comfortable bed would have made it perfect.

review 8 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A splendid welcome from our hosts and the lovely inhabitants of the village. We were also warm!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It might be worth looking at different sites since the prices seemed to vary for the same premises

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, to the extent that we bought everything in the village, or ate there, and travelled around b y public transport

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent break. However, a slightly more modern TV could b e acceptable, and we should have valued more specific, rather than general, information about the village and the domestic arrangements.

review 3 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All pretty memorable, but particularly enjoyed eating in Lubrin.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go along expecting to see the real Spain in action.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly benefited the locals as we ate in the town most days and used the local shops for supplies when we did not.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very nice relaxing experience.

review 28 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Eating breakfast on the little terrace in front of our kitchen with the early morning sunshine lighting up the surrounding hills, followed by a day's walking in the empty wilds of the Sierra de los Filabres. Also the kindness and warmth of people in the local village, Lubrin.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend a day in Granada. Book an entrance ticket to the Alhambra on-line well in advance if possible, but don't be put off going if on-line tickets are sold out. You will still be able to buy a ticket on site for the whole Alhambra site with the exception of the interior of the palace itself.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Using cafés in the village and buying locally produced bread and vegetables must have contributed to the local economy. It was good to see well-used recycling facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We loved our typically Andalucian accommodation and warm welcome, and fell in love with the area.

review 10 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing the small hill out from the cortijo, wondering where the village was, and suddenly, there it was, below us, tucked up in it's hollow amongst the hills.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a stiff, steep climb on your way back up from the village, don't do it the first time on your way back from a bar

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We spent money in the local shops, bars,cafes, etc, this may have benefited the local economy slightly. We also spent a lot of cash at the Cabo de Gata-Nijar Visitor Centre, might have helped conservation or possibly helped pay the very knowledgable, multi-language speaking curators(?) wages.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant, enjoyed every minute.

review 27 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was great to find spring in Spain given the UK weather. There were some wonderful scents and lots of bird song.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We arrived at after dark but I would recommend arriving in daylight, although the directions were good.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we did a lot of walking and spent money locally which should have helped the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a really enjoyable and relaxing holiday

review 6 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable and exciting part of the holiday was the bread fiesta which takes place on the 20th January each year. The narrow streets were decorated and packed with people. We joined our hosts and their English neighbours at the lunch time picnic in the square which was full of friends and families joining together at tables laden with good food and drink. After wards every one packed the tables away for the band and dancing which was very enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you travel to Lubrin by car we would advise that you visit a supermarket in a large town on the way. The market in Lubrin on a Wednesday was excellent for fresh fruit and vegetables.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out at the local restaurants and bars in Lubrin, bought fresh bread from the local bakers and fruit from the market on Wednesday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed our week. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The welcome goodies of bread, butter, cold meats, cheese, oranges, juice, beer, wine and milk from our hosts John & Mair on our arrival was most appreciated. John and Mair were very helpful with the self guided walk which we did and with advice on nice beaches to visit.

review 19 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely place to simply relax and unwind. Great walking in the hills. We were lucky to be there at the time of the October food festival which was great fun and the weather was perfect throughout our stay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A bit hot in the day for walking but late afternoons and early evening are perfect. John's restaurant tips were all excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped locally in the village and I am sure our presence and those of a few other holiday makers is of benefit to the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 1 Dec 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery- vast blue skies and total peace and quiet and amazing views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There isn't a lot of English spoken in the village so definitely come with a Spanish dictionary. The owner John provides a phrase book but definitely take one in case you need to say anything before you get to the villa. In November it is quite warm when walking at times but very cold in the evenings so definitely pack jumpers and coats. We didn't find any fresh fruit or veg until the market on Wednesday so it might be better to stop at another town for that. The tourist office in Almeria airport is very good and get in the queue for the car rental office as soon as you grab your luggage as the queue was really slow moving.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it was useful in supporting the village economically- there are several tavernas we would go to. John does a lot of recycling and the holiday is as low impact environmentally as it can be really.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fabulous holiday. John the owner is really kind and makes you feel really welcome and is really helpful. He has loads of knowledge about the village. The villa has wonderful shutters and it is so quiet and peaceful there that so we slept for ten hours a night minimum. A beautiful verandah for having breakfast in the sunshine looking out on the views. In the days we went on lovely walks which were all very carefully mapped out for us and on easy to follow maps. In the evenings we sometimes stayed inside the villa as it was really cosy with the log burning stove and sometimes went into town where there is a choice of lovely local tavernas. Our favourite was El Molino- 10 euros for a three course meal with bread and salad and a bottle of wine- fabulous. The people in the village are really friendly and welcoming (or seemed that way to us although our Spanish is very poor!). The market on Wednesdays is well worth a visit.

review 22 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and tranquility of the cortija and surrounding area. Being able to start all walks from the cortija meant that we did not have to drive. The accommodation was authentic and entirely comfortable. The owners were available and helpful if required but recognised their guest’s needs for their own space and freedom.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure that they use the local facilities of the village. Recommend tackling the walks in the area and visiting the many beaches which are under an hour's drive from Lubrin.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited the village as we used the local shops, restaurants and market to purchase food etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 17 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely location of the apartment was ideal. Perfect for relaxing and enjoying the quiet atmosphere. The self guided walks were all of a good length and difficulty for a not too strenuous walking holiday. Giving you the best of both worlds, relaxing while enjoying some exercise. The people in the village were all very friendly and accommodating, especially with our poor attempts at Spanish.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We arrived on a Sunday and the welcome pack was a godsend for a snack and breakfast next day. All the supermarkets we had passed on the way were closed. Definitely have a look around the region as there are lots of beautiful areas to see. It's also well worth a trip down to the coast.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local village is a short 5 minute walk over the hill and is ideal for buying your shopping. The local Wednesday market is great for all your fresh fruit and veg and just mixing with the local people. Eating out in the village is very cheap and there is a good selection of tapas and daily menu's if you don't feel like cooking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really relaxing and enjoyable stay in a beautiful and unspoilt part of Spain. Our hosts were very welcoming and happy to help if we needed them. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Hopefully we'll be back.

review 16 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The landscape, peace and flowers in the countryside. I know Almeria is a very arid environment, but at Easter there was lots of greenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use local services, markets and restaurants. They are cheap, friendly and good quality,

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully. We used the village services as much as we could.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 15 Feb 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

More than one, but the location is special. Rural views, peace and quiet, (except for the occasional barking dog). A short walk on a track to an unspoilt traditional village. Everything inexpensive, especially eating out. Loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have a few words of Spanish but beware the regional dialect. Everybody we met were friendly and helpful. We were not that impressed with the coastal regions. It was what you would expect for southern Spain. Even the National Park, El Cabo de Gata, did not impress. However inland, a different story. Villages and countryside truly wonderful and with the almond blossom in bloom, very pretty. A day trip to Granada and the Alhambra was worth the effort, if only for the great, scenic drive there on nearly deserted roads. Buy the local olive oil with a pourer attached for 3 euros. The 'menu del dias' for 10 euros at El Molino in the village, including three big courses, wine and coffee, fantastic. It was cold at night, being February, so I would take a hot water bottle next time. Kim and Tomas were house sitting for the owner John and could not have been more helpful and agreeable company.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent locally so I guess that helps.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate it highly.

review 3 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely apartment with pool in a spectacular location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your walking boots - fantastic walking opportunities - you can walk all day without seeing anyone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - tourism seems to have suffered in Lubrin in recent years and we used the local bars and shops. We didn't use our hire car all the time we were there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceeded our expectations in every respect.

review 26 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very hospitable hosts; friendly & very 'Spanish' village, (no English spoken, couldn't buy a post card, fabulous tapas & local food.) Interesting local scenery & great self-guided walks. Spacious & well thought out accommodation.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Need to know when market day is - no fresh fruit & veg. available in the intervening days. Challenging & steep gradient rough track up to the house. Credit cards not accepted in most local restaurants/bars. Brush up on your Spanish. Make the most of local Tapas bars & restaurants (Las Molinas set lunch was amazing & 10 euros for 3 courses with wine & coffee!) Los Millares, near Almeria, stupendous Neolithic site & free.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We tried to ensure that it did by shopping locally, but the finca is British owned .The owners do try to support the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant & quite different for an accessible European destination.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. For guests arriving in Spain on non-wednesdays we send them a link to stop off at at a supermarket on route from Alicante, Murcia or Almeria Airports. With you arriving, and intially staying the first night in Malaga, did not trigger our usual advice and we apologise for the oversight. I also apologise about the poor condition of the road up to the Cortijo which has now been permanently repaired.

review 26 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty and the peace.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 12 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty and quietness of the location, it was a pleasure to stand still and hear nothing but birdsong…the tapas crawl in Lubrin with the surrogate owners, so nice, and the couple who had rented the other apartment…the extraordinary friendliness of the people of Lubrin. As a new birdwatcher I was thrilled to see a black redstart in Lubrin and the amazing stilts near Cabo de Gato

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Fresh fruit and veg is only available on Wednesday in Lubrin. Definitely worth stocking up en route from the airport. If you are an enthusiastic driver, you will probably love the challenges of negotiating the picturesque curvy mountain roads, otherwise you might want to consider renting an automatic car. The weather in early March wasn't exactly a problem but it wasn't quite what we were expecting. It was mainly grey and often wet. We still had lovely walks and I would rather put on an extra jumper than be too hot. Still if you want sun it would probably be better to go a bit later... on the other hand you would maybe miss the abundance of spring flowers and the almond trees in blossom.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. This is a hard time economically for many people. we were glad to support the community by being consumers there. The way the cortijo has been restored is very sympathetic to the locality, blends in beautifully, uses local products. We loved the woodburning stove - no fossil fuel consumed and more importantly, very warm!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lovely week, better than expected even. Would consider going back.

review 25 Feb 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The buzz and activity in the village during the fiesta del pan. The walks in the mountains surrounding the cortijo. The almond trees in full blossom.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Depending on the time of year the holiday is taken of course but we went in January and the nights can be a bit cool if you are out and about. We experienced some lovely sunshine and warm temperatures on a couple of days so plan the clothes to take. Enjoy the tapas bars in the village and restaurants in the surrounding areas. It's a good location for walking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Tourists bring money into the local economy and thus benefit local shops/bars/restaurants. We didn't overly use our hire car during our stay except for one or two trips to the coast and some local restaurants. The cortijo is ideally located in the village and all walks are organised from the door of the accommodation. No driving necessary. Friendly local people so you can practise your Spanish.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very friendly owners John and Mair were always helpful with advice and local knowledge. The several walks from the cortijo are well researched with distances between points and printed pictorial guides given. Good welcoming pack on arrival.

review 3 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was brilliant. Our villa was gorgeous and there was fantastic walking right on our doorsteps and plenty to do just a short drive away. We had a day exploring the coast and the villages along it were fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! We flew into Alicante airport and it was a really easy drive to the villa.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes definitely we were very much encouraged to shop and eat locally and support local business. Our hosts were extremely friendly and really want to promote the area

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We couldn't have asked for more. We went on honeymoon and it was just perfect. Our hosts made us feel so welcome - there was bread, cheese, ham, olives and wine on arrival and even in the middle of December were perfectly warm. The log fire kept us cosy and the weather was perfect for long walks. Our hosts provided maps of walks to do. Would really recommend this place for anyone who wants to get away from it all and enjoy the outdoors. Shops and restaurants were an easy 5min walk away and there is plenty to do just a short drive away to. Amazing!!!!

review 14 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The well planned and well documented walks prepared by John through the nearby hills surrounding the village of Lubrin. The West walk gave views across to the sea, so choose a blue sky day for this walk. Only by walking along the tracks could you appreciate the range of small scale cultivation in the area. The walks are not too demanding and take around 3 1/2 to 4 hours

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to be flexible in your eating arrangements - visit restaurants in Lubrin and the surrounding villages - for value for money. Specifically Restaurante Lopez where wild boar is offered. However we went in October and a couple of restaurants were closed. Also, there are few tourists, and the local people are very friendly if you smile and say "Ola".

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we used local shops, including the local supermarket (a bit limited) and bread shop, a market on Wednesday, and the local restaurants - we had a hire car, but hardly needed to use it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a very peaceful and relaxing holiday. The owners (John and Maya) who lived on site, were very friendly and very helpful without being overbearing. They are keen to develop the walks further, and are working with the local community to do this. A really peaceful place in the real Spain where you can relax in the knowledge you will not be "ripped off"

review 1 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scenery and wildlife in and around Lubrin.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wednesday market in Lubrin is excellent - but be aware that no other local source of fresh fruit or veg so stock up to last until the Wednesday..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Location encouraged us to support local businesses and market.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were extremely well looked after on our visit, and had a wonderful time (despite the unseasonally cold weather). The wildlife and scenery exceeded our expectations. A magical location combining the best aspects of remoteness with easy access to the village centre. And some fantastic walks from the house.

review 22 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Almond blossom blowing in through the doorway, picturesque old men with skin as gnarled as the almond bark greeted us with friendly "Olas" as they herded goats across the blossom studded mountains. Orange groves. The cosy wood burning stove. Tapas in friendly restaurant "El Molina".

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Better if it doesn't rain as there's not a lot to do besides walk, but the wood burner makes it all very cosy so you can relax and play games etc. indoors in comfort. We were unlucky as it doesn't usually rain so much.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we ate locally, shopped in the village, so all the money we spent hopefully went back into the local economy. The house is quite eco-friendly: recycling, eco-bulbs etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good.

review 17 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The great location of the peaceful and relaxing accommodation - with everything you'd need within short walking distance in a very friendly and genuine corner of Spain. Really helpful and friendly hosts who'd gone to the trouble of stocking the fridge and being on hand to help out with recommendations, walks in the locality, etc.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to experience the real Spain - and practice some Spanish - away from the hordes of UK package tourists.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we ate in local restaurants, drank in local bars and cafes, shopped in the village market and small supermarkets - and did several walks in the locality, direct from the apartment without using the car. We hope that promotion of this low-key type of tourism will benefit the local people and their economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceeded our expectations. Great location, friendly locals and hosts, charming village in interesting mountainous area, good value for money, and within easy reach of cultural sites for day-trips - would definitely recommend to others.

Read the operator's response here:

Great location ...peaceful and relaxing accommodation - with everything you'd need within short walking distance in a very friendly and genuine corner of Spain.

review 24 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Super local walks... local wines and cuisine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Unable to make suggestions to other people with different interests.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Possibly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable.

review 18 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty, peace and tranquillity of Lubrin and the surrounding country.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of water when out walking. Study the maps carefully as the walking trails need to be developed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, as we used the local shops and bars.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 6 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We drove right into the village of Lubrin without the exact to directions to the apartment so ended up getting lost in the narrow, winding village streets. Armed with directions in Spanish, we still managed to miss the turn-off so after another attack through the village streets, it was exciting to finally reaching our destination. Staying at such a panoramic location was memorable in itself and we also really enjoyed the rather challenging walk up to the hilltops on the other side of the village, amongst the almond trees and an incredible display of wildflowers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have the directions and be prepared to relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we purchased supplies and dined in the local village which was just a walk over the hill.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent. We were made very welcome by the hosts and had a very relaxing and very enjoyable vacation. We awoke to morning sunshine filtering through the bedroom window and enjoyed the setting sun on the back patio with a glass or two of wine accompanied by sounds of the local goat herdsman "talking" to his goats and the tinkling of the bells around their necks.

review 1 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Doing a lovely walk designed by John around the outskirts of the village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Arrive early in the week to take full advantage of the market on Wednesday - we arrived on a Friday so had to go to supermarkets outside of town to get fresh fruit and vegetables for most of our stay (and the market was great!). Visit 'La Tasca' restaurant/bar in town - very friendly staff and lovely meals and tapas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The house had been renovated sensitively and in keeping with local architecture.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing and in a lovely setting, with friendly and accommodating hosts.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies