11 independent reviews for Malaysia rainforest bungalows near Kuala Lumpur

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.


review 22 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A truly unique location, and the ability to take the kids for a guided trek through a rainforest to a waterfall was a one of a kind adventure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's a very chilled relaxed place - there are things to do but don't come expecting lots of action. We were looking for peace, and we got it. One minor thing - we felt like our house, Sora, was looking a bit tired. It could do with a lick of paint and a bit of a tidy up. But the design is amazing, the location and views second to none. We went there for the location and the sensibility, which we got. This was merely a minor observation.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely - the emphasis was on the right things at all times. We are like minded people, so it was both refreshing and encouraging to see such wonderful work in action. The truly embody Ghandi's mantra, "be the change you wish to see around you".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a hugely successful and fulfilling stay. Everyone who works there is incredibly calm, helpful and patient, even when they had our two screaming kids tearing around at ALL times! We felt remarkably relaxed despite the two small noisy people attached to us...

review 8 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great pool and surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember when ordering catering remember that the portion size is for two people. It is easy to over order.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very environmentally friendly and conservation supported. We did not meet anyone to discuss the benefit to local people. The guided walk was not led by the person described on the website and no information about the local area was given.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Relaxing

review 8 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting in a rocking chair in our bungalow overlooking the forest canopy watching the most beautiful thunderstorm.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, there seem to be strong ties to the local community and families nearby. Environmental impacts were well considered and we could see that the owners take a good deal of time and care to reduce their carbon footprint which is great to see

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful time in Malaysia and enjoyed our stay at the bungalows. It's a fantastic place

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thunderstorms don't usually get a good press - but they are a wonder, from the warning wind that announces their arrival to the wisps of cloud that cling to the rainforest when it is over.

review 17 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The overall relaxed atmosphere and the warm welcome.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is the perfect place to relax. If you are okay without internet 24/7 (there is limited internet though), and think it is fun to have a gecko in your house that makes jungle sounds, then this is the place for you! You can be as busy or as lazy as you want: there are two swimming pools, opportunities to go birdwatching and jungle trekking - however it's quite fabulous just to sit on the terrace and enjoy the view and the peace and quiet. It is only an hour by taxi from KL airport - ideal as a stopover on intercontinental travels.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all staff are local, the restaurant is run by a local family, the guides are from the area, and the emphasis is on enjoying, respecting and appreciating nature.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect! We stayed for a full week and felt very relaxed and revived - what a treat! We would definitely come again!!!

review 26 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole place was wonderful. I loved the open air nature of the hut. It felt like being outdoors yet protected at the same time. A highlight was watching fireflies from the balcony at night. It was like watching a nature program on a 3D massive screen. The trek through the jungle was also fantastic. To be honest, everything was great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't forget to plug in your mosquito zapper every night. We (ok I) forgot one night and paid the price (though not really too bad). But it showed us how well they work. Also, use the local taxi service that they organise. Mohammad was great and really showed us things we wouldn't otherwise have seen. Make sure you get your grocery supplies on your in so you don't need to waste time later. Another tip, it's not really a place to bring kids.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The staff and the jungle trek guide were all local so I hope our holiday was a benefit to the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My best holiday ever.

Read the operator's response here:

This is a great review and we are really happy they took the time to share their pleasure in this environment. But I would like to say that we have many children come here and enjoy themselves. They love the pools, we have put in a playground and swings for them and they are fascinated by the deer. Older kids do the jungle hike and feel very proud of themselves. Of course, in this natural place, parents have to keep an eye on their children, especially in the pools. We even have a resident kid, in Haanim and Cee's child, who is a picture of health, energy and fearlessness.

review 17 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in the pool during light rain and watching the clouds over the jungle.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1) Having a good map and a sense of orientation 2) Learning to use a mosquito net prior to your stay 3) Being patient during breakfast and telling clearly what you want

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I did not feel it directly but I hope that all this happens.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. I would recommend the stay to friends which like the same things as me. (I also have friends who probably could not appreciate everything).

review 14 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful location, living in the open all day and night without the hassle of camping, the malaysian food, the balance between privacy and company, the access to the virgin forest, the pools. What's not to like

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't bother with the Durians. Don't go if you can't do without TV internet etc. Remember it is on a mountain and mountains are not flat. If you are local you might return regularly If you plan to stay longer than a few days bring your own entertainment

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. All employees are local. Food is sourced locally, The Houses are traditional Malay for the most part. The owner is local, long term resident on site and committed to preserving the location, unlike some neighbouring properties.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The Dusum is different. It is not a "hotel". It is an opportunity to share an idyllic rainforest lodge with some lovely people at a very reasonable price in your choice of 5 ecologically excellent houses of different sizes and character. You need to be able to climb several hundred steps each day (It is on top of a steep mountain) and be happy to live outside almost all of the time except when you are in one of the 2 beautiful horizon pools looking out over virgin forest. The location is 1 hour, by taxi or car, and a million miles from KL. Leave your ideas of city life and your friends or children who can't do without the 21st century and its gadgets at home. Go for at least one forest walk and swim in the river pool. Enjoy the Malaysian food. You will leave a better person.

review 25 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The jungle trek is excellent, but make sure you are sufficiently fit and able, and not too concerned about getting the odd leech on you. It is a hot and steamy walk for about an hour and 20 minutes, mostly along jungle paths. Sometimes this means scrambling over rocks, tree roots, or getting across small streams. But the swim at the end in the pool by the waterfall is a wonderful reward.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring your own alcohol. The food supplied by the hotel for your own charcoal BBQ is excellent, but a little pricey. You can cook your own meals on the gas hob if you wish. The location is a bit remote, although the hotel can recommend taxis to take you there from Seremban.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our local guide on the trek (Akow) spoke no English and guiding was his job. Apparently he has 13 children (!) so no doubt our very reasonable guiding fees helped to feed a few mouths.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was an excellent short stay. I wish we could have had at least one extra night - but they were full !. We will go back.

review 9 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was memorable from the the open Malaysian Hut we stayed in, the tropical rain, Fireflies, the swimming pool overlooking the rainforest and friendly staff through to the delicious food the chef prepared and we barbecued over the open fire.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Two nights and 2 full days are plenty enough to relax and partake in a guided bush walk into the rainforest or bird watching tour. There are different chalets to suit different requirements such as privacy, views, extended families etc. Take time to choose the right one for you. Ask a lot of questions - their response is spot on! Watch out for the leeches when on the rainforest walk to the waterfall - a lot of dance moves by all along the track. There are none at the resort. Take a good book, mosquito repellent and playing cards.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - their staff come from a local village down the valley. The food is very healthy and locally grown

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday and would recommend to anyone!

review 29 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A hike in the jungle with a local guide from the aboriginal people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it now!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local people are employed by the company, which is also has a highly eco- centric ethos.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely enjoyable and relaxing.

review 12 Jan 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it really ,the arrival into what was the most stunning location and accommodation ,the delicious food, the staff, the hosts who were so lovely and accommodating, the whole ambiance and so much more.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take lots of mosquito repellant and leech proof socks for the jungle walk which was amazing and sturdy walking shoes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes very much a true blend of accommodation integrating harmoniously with the natural environment, it is a very special place.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10 we will go back a true experience perfect stunning and so very memorable.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies