9 independent reviews for Cuba cycling holiday

Reviews for Cuba cycling holiday

SHOW
0
7
2
0
0

review 3 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The camaraderie of the group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the last 10 km!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we mostly stayed at non-government establishments and had our meals at small, privately owned restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The trip was well run and the head guide was able to make small adjustments as needed. There was a bit too much lecture about the government and the politics; more information about local culture and the environment would have been appreciated. Also, the recommended tip amount seemed way out of line. If everyone had followed the recommendations, the guide would have made more than the yearly average wage for Cuba.

review 12 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable for me was the window into the lives of Cubans. I learned a lot from our guide and the staff, but I had the chance to talk to many Cubans throughout the course of the tour. I will remember Cuba as a place with great untapped potential for economic development and growth. I also loved the music. It is everywhere!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The ride was ranked as a 1,2. It was harder than that. There were considerable challenges on each day except the second ride. I would suggest travelers who are interested in this ride do significant training before hand. I would also suggest you bring extra cash for the additional events that are offered throughout the trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I do not feel that the trip reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation. We had a large bus for only 18 people. Maybe a smaller vehicle would have been better. I think the trip benefited Cubans only because we brought money into their economy, which is very poor.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great group of folks from around the world and we all got along and enjoyed each other. Our guide was incredible. He was flexible, patient and helpful. He has a wealth of knowledge about his country and his pride of Cuba is evident. He was able to tap into what we wanted and provide it. One member of the tour turned 81 during the week and he arranged for a cake with candles for her at dinner!

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Cynthia. Firstly, thank you for your comments, we are delighted that overall you had a great trip. Regarding the grading of the trip we do an annual audit of all trip grading’s based on feedback and our staff visits to ensure that we are grading correctly. We do feel that this trip is currently suitably graded however we will take your comments on board in our audit so thank you for letting us know regarding this. I’d like to give you a little more information regarding your comments on question 3. While it is true that the local community generally benefit from our commerce we do take every step to ensure that the positive impact of our business is felt by as many as possible. Our decision to stay in ‘Casas Particulares’ ensures that local families benefit from our stay and our visits to local family run restaurants also ensure that the economic benefits of our stay are widely distributed. Many of the sites visited also ensure a contribution to the preservation of Cuban heritage. Regarding reducing environmental impacts this is something that we are constantly working on. The availability of buses that are right for the group size is a bit of a challenge in Cuba as minibuses are not currently widely available. Clearly, things are changing fast in Cuba however so we are continuing to push for vehicles that match the group size. Another initiative we are soon to introduce will be the inclusion of drinking water on all of our Cuba trips so we can reduce the use of plastic here and manage our environmental impacts better. We do hope that this explanation provides an adequate response to your review and offers you reassurance that we are continuously working on ensuring our trips are as responsible as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Cuba one day.

review 5 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hearing about the way of life/history from the guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to drink alot cycling.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staff bought local food, money went to casa's therefore to the people, we ate with families who prepared the food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, loved the way the guide introduced the whole country and way of life to us.

review 23 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling along the coast, swimming in the ocean and cycling through small villages

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

bring tabasco sauce to make the food more tasty. The tour is rated leisurely - not my experience! It is very hot there so be ready for that when cycling.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really, any tourist travelling in Cuba is impacting the environment as they are in the 5th year of a drought and don't have a lot of food and resources. Use of local guides and drivers and casa particulares supports locals but staying and eating in government run facilities does not directly benefit locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really enjoyed the tour guide, staff and fellow cyclists. The food was not all that great and I know that there is better food in Cuba from having it on another tour. The bikes and support were fabulous.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Vicki, Firstly, thank you for your comments, we are delighted that overall you had a great trip. Regarding the grading of the trip we do an annual audit of all trip grading’s based on feedback and our staff visits to ensure that we are grading correctly. We do feel that this trip is currently suitably graded however we will take your comments on board in our audit so thank you for letting us know regarding this. We’d like to give you a little more information regarding your comments on question 3. While it is true that the local community generally benefit from our commerce we do take every step to ensure that the positive impact of our business is felt by as many as possible. Our decision to stay in ‘Casas Particulares’ ensures that local families benefit from our stay and our visits to local family run restaurants also ensure that the economic benefits of our stay are widely distributed. The government run hotels or eateries are only used when we have no other option and as such the itinerary dictates the necessity of this. Regarding the environmental impact of our commerce it is the case that we do all we can to reduce our impacts however the wider issues e.g. drought are clearly beyond our control. We do all we can to travel sensitively and to try to not negatively impact the environment and to exacerbate the lack of resources. We do hope that this explanation provides an adequate response to your review and offers you reassurance that we are continuously working on ensuring our trips are as responsible as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Cuba one day.

review 15 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our guide Mauro was an excellent ambassador and made the trip interesting and showed us the human side of Cuba. Whether it was biking, eating, music, dancing, tours, or on the bus, he made the trip extra special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Cuba is a beautiful country full of nice people and interesting history. Come with an open mind and a smile. You'll have a great time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in private homes some nights, and ate at local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. We want to go back and see more of Havana and other parts of the island.

review 5 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most special part of the holiday was the family meeting from around the world to enjoy Cuba together for Xmas. The country is fascinating - its history, politics & economics as well as great vibe with friendly people & wonderful music on every street corner all day & night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go now before it gets overrun. Cycling was great fun & there are excellent places outside Habana to spend time -for example, Cienfuegos, Santiago etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people definitely benefited from our spending.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastically interesting & fun - very memorable & highly recommended.

review 2 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 21 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The cycling, the music, the people and the island.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check you can cope with the daily cycling distances in the likely temperatures before you book.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 18 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling through the national park up to the lake on the last ride it's beautiful. And an amazing thunderstorm during our dinner on the second night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was much hotter than the weather chart predicted - reaching at least 40C in April is normal according to conversations with people we met. Otherwise just enjoy every minute - it's wonderful

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Two night stay in case particulares is good for the economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exciting, challenging, warm and friendly. Unforgettable

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies