13 independent reviews for Fowey accommodation in Cornwall, sleeps 2, England

Reviews for Fowey accommodation in Cornwall, sleeps 2, England

SHOW
2
11
0
0
0

review 16 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Colin was a great host making us both feel very welcome.We were both blown away by the beautiful interior and finishing touches here,it was stunning. Enjoyed the lovely features such as the underfloor heating, jacuzzi bath with TV,walk in shower,huge comfortable bed and the thoughtful items on arrival. The facilities and features were outstanding along with the decor.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is ideal for summer or winter breaks.15 minutes drive from Eden and not far from St Austell.The walks along the river Fowey are stunning,visited the little church on the top of the hill(walk with a legend attached recommended by Colin).Fowey itself was a 5 minute drive (2 large car parks on way in).Could walk through country roads.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Lots of unusual little shops for good quality holiday nik naks ran by local people. Boat trips in local area (Ferry).Views from accommodation were stunning but also private. The hosts were keen on the recycling aspect and the accommodation was very tastefully done.Enjoyed also the book around the building of house and also recommended places to visit with plenty of maps and suggestions around the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Everything about it was above expectation, we absolutely could not fault it!!We would not hesitate to visit again.Thanks for such a lovely weekend great host, great accommodation,great location,would recommend this place to friends and family.

review 8 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We were not expecting such comfort in a beautiful rural setting with all the modern conveniences and yet environmentally friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Allow yourselves plenty of time to imbibe the pleasures of the area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all three questions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We would love to return.

review 23 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

On the first evening we parked the car in the car park of Fowey and walked through the old town to discover amazing views of this busy estuary and wonderful waterside locations to eat. The cottage exceeded our expectations. We could have happily stayed there for much longer whatever the weather conditions.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to pay for parking for any journey into Fowey including even to purchase groceries from the small shop there. If you intend to walk along the narrow lanes between the cottage and Fowey be aware that there are no footpaths and fluorescent clothing is essential.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our visit benefited the tourism industry of the area. We did not choose this holiday because of environmental impact but are happy that the cottage is being run sympathetically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It is a lovely high spec cottage in a beautiful area. We were very sad to leave and we would be very happy to return or recommend it to friends.

review 20 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Restorative peace and quiet; the attention to detail in providing good facilities and information for guests by the owner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Allow time to relax as part of your holiday. A fan for unusually hot nights may be useful in combination with leaving the balcony door open (it feels safe to do so). Flush the jacuzzi with a false fill before using to remove sediment which might come out of the jet pipes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by buying and eating locally; many walks in the area - you don't need to drive to see things; wild areas of garden around property encourages wildlife and bees used crevices in the warm walls of the barn to rest in.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 13 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The extremely comfortable accommodation at peaceful White Willow and the wonderful walks nearby - on part of the Saints' Way to St Sampsons Church and the Hall Walk with its little ferry rides and wonderful views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Allow time to enjoy relaxing at Coriander Cottages as well as exploring the village, walking and visiting the famous gardens nearby.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes particularly the innovative heating system using geothermal heat. Also there is interesting educative information regarding local wildlife and the opportunity to support associated organisations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All the elements for a delightful holiday were there. We had returned after enjoying our previous stay and would do so more often if we did not live so far away.

review 6 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stunning location in a beautiful cottage. Colin, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of information about local walks and places to visit. One of the highlights was seeing an owl at dusk!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, eco-friendly cottage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 14 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The warm welcome and walking into the Cottage! Absolutely stunning views and amazing place to stay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We stayed for only 2 nights which wasn't long enough for us, would have loved another night. The kitchen in the cottage was amazing, we had dinner there one night but would be more than happy to go back with lots of local produce and cook if we had been staying for longer. Also we had dinner in town at Samís which was amazing, would highly recommend (even though we waited for 20 mins for a table - was worth the wait!).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - there was definitely measures being taken around the cottage to be environmentally friendly. They have even cut out part of the internal wall so you can see the wool insulation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect - we loved it and will be back!

review 8 Jan 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many amazing parts of the holiday! Getting engaged was definitely the highlight of the week but, related to the location, there were also loads of exciting and memorable moments. Arriving was brilliant - we couldn't believe that this beautiful, luxurious place was ours for a whole week. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings; playing cards on the hairy rug in front of the wood-burning stove; local walks; visiting the Lost Gardens of Heligan; a delicious meal at Tiffins in Fowey; playing in rock pools on the beach; bathing together in the huge jacuzzi bath with candles and locally produced champagne; getting muddy on the walk to Golant. Oh, and a particular highlight was the welcome we received from Carrie and Colin. They bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we could possibly want, including maps, guide books and a lift to and from Fowey in the evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Colin and Carrie both spoke with passion about the building and the renovations, and the way that it was managed with minimal impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had an amazing holiday and will definitely be back.

review 20 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Returning to the cottage after a walk to Golant (where we collected clams from the river bed), having a luxurious jacuzzi bath and a relaxing evening in front of the log burner while waiting for our clams to cook. We enjoyed the country side with lots of interesting sights and Fowey, with its numerous restaurants.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack your hiking boots if you plan walking a lot. I would still recommend having a car, as Fowey can be explored within a couple of days and if you want to venture into the Cornish country side, it is very helpful not having to rely on public transport.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As we went shopping at farm shops and went to eat out in/around Fowey. The cottage itself is designed in a way that minimizes the environmental impact - very impressively done.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a memorable holiday - a week of Saturdays.

review 25 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I thoroughly enjoyed getting the little passenger ferry for short trips across the water. I also had very memorable coastal walks which are pretty much on the door stop. The town is a short walk away and has almost everything you could need. The accommodation was very luxurious but also minimised the effects on the environment at the same time. The place where we stayed is a converted cider barn with lots of character and a wildlife pond outside the balcony. The owners are very friendly and helped us settle in by providing us with local food which was a welcome sight after a long journey.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be put off by the three mile walk from Par station as the owners are very good and will pick you up from the station. There is plenty to do with coastal walks, ferry trips and the eden project on the doorstep to name a few.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

When we arrived, they had provided us with local eggs, milk and bread from the local bakery to help us settle in along with some luxuries such as wine and cake from the town. The town of Fowey is easily within walking distance and makes a nice walk. Rainwater has been collected and used for certain facilities and also solar panels help reduce the amount of electricity consumed in the property. The walls are insulated with wool and the floor has geothermal heating. These are a few of the many ways they have helped to minimise impacts on the environment and to help the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It is definitely one of the best holidays I have been on with so much to do and see if you love the coast like we do. We warmed to the place straight away and were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this holiday and hope to come again.

review 27 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting on the balcony, sipping champagne and watching the sun set.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A bit of a stretch to walk into Fowey and particularly walking back as itís around 45 mins and all uphill! But a fantastic base to travel around the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great holiday, the cottage is beautiful and very luxurious. It was nice to turn up and have complimentary tea, coffee, milk, bread, butter, eggs, cider and wine - even a cream tea on arrival!!

review 26 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of thought & attention to detail in lovely b&b.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The power switch for the jacuzzi is in the bedroom. Fowey is within easy walking distance.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - lots of local produce used.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 8 May 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking around the cottage - the Saints way that leads to the River and it's such a beautiful walk and so close; the lovely breakfast from local food and the very welcoming hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack your walking shoes and the town is nearer than you think.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The holiday benefited local people by cooking local produce, shopping in small shops and we were encouraged not to drive up by offering suitable information on transport and offering rides within town whenever necessary on the way to/from errands.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, the hosts were very friendly and accommodating, the weather fantastic and my dog was made to feel very welcome and the grounds of the cottage were extensive enough for a walk for lazy bones family members. All in all a definite will return to by many in the group.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies