9 independent reviews for Gozo self catering with sea views, Malta

Reviews for Gozo self catering with sea views, Malta

SHOW
7
2
0
0
0

review 2 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was staying in the accommodation. Last year we visited Gozo and stayed at a hotel. We liked the island so much we wanted to return but we knew we had to find self catering to really experience Gozo. Seaviews is so comfortable and with its traditional design it is the perfect place to stay and experience the real Gozo. Our host was genuinely warm and welcoming offering help and advice whenever we need ed it. On the penultimate day Frank, our host. took us around much of the island of Gozo. We visited beautiful churches, local shops and crafts studios and stopped at spots where we could view the magnificent scenery. It was a wonderful finale to our holiday

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

My tips to other travellers are to use the buses to see the island, to meet the people of Gozo and to experience the real Gozo. Bus travel is easy, it is cheap and it is run on modern, clean vehicles as a real service for the benefit of passengers. It is a beautiful island but it is the people who make Gozo. Also ask Frank! He isn't just saying it when he tells you to ask. He wants to help. Use his wonderful message pin board on the exterior of the house. Frank will check the messages twice a day and answer any queries. Don't worry he is not intrusive at all and totally respects your privacy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Frank the owner is very environmentally aware and active in the local community. He operates a full recycling policy in his property.Staying at the house we also felt we were benefiting the local economy and the local people by using the local shops, the bus service and even the local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a fantastic holiday. Our host so friendly so welcoming and so helpful, yet he never intruded. The house was perfect for us It is extremely comfortable, perfectly equipped with beautiful views from its balconies on both sides. It is ideally positioned to explore the island. But Mediterranea Seaviews is more than the sum of its parts. If you are like me, the house, Frank, the owner, the island of Gozo and its people will get under your skin. You will want to return. We certainly will.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for sharing your Gozo experience at Mediterranea Seaviews on responsibletravel.com We are very and I repeat - Very glad that both of you have had a most memorable stay as much as we enjoyed welcoming and hosting you! On behalf of the local community, thank you too for your support during your stay. We really appreciate your kindness and responsibility, your respect and sensitivity. You are most welcome anytime, any day! Grazzi hafna / Thank you very much, Frank

review 11 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our host was the ultimate enthusiastic guide to Gozo, great introduction, personal bus timetables, etc etc.. Every detail was covered by Frank, and now we are home, he has sent photos of our highspeed tour. Highlights for myself was the Archives in Victoria and the view of documents dating back to the 1600s, my wife enjoyed the wild flowers on the coastal walks, and we all enjoyed the food, such generous portions !

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just relax and enjoy Gozo

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local stores and restaurants, cycled and walked. Plus used the very cheap local buses. Frank is very involved with in trying to protect the environment as real pressures exist

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Mgarr and returned home totally refreshed with full batteries.

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks to Andrew and his family for their words of appreciation and gratitude. We are delighted they all have enjoyed so much their stay at Mediterranea Seaviews Gozo Holiday Home. It is also a great satisfaction to read that they really enjoyed the free food tasting tour including the panorama points, the Gozo archives visit, the visit to the oldest bakery on the island and the special lunch treat facing the blue Mediterranean Sea. We are very glad too that this holiday helped the local people and reduced environmental impact as far as we can - and seeing our guests using the new bicycles, helmets and locks which we provide for free, is great satisfaction of responsible travel indeed. Thanks again and you are most welcome anytime! Grazzi hafna / Thank you very much from Frank.

review 23 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved the antiquity of the island and the considerable human history story. Also loved the salt pan industry - all very interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We rather regretted not doing more coastly walks! So next time would concentrate on these! We enjoyed having a hire car??, which was inexpensive and allowed us to get off the beaten track!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We would have loved to have supported any conservation initiatives, but didn't really feel we came across many. Yes, we bought local food and ate in local restaurants so supported the community that way, but this is normal for any visitor. As oversees visitors we did feel that there was too much building work being carried out which was spoiling the natural beauty of the island. We were also worried about the water supply and the lack of managing this scarce resource. All those plastic bottles, their production, import and disposal has a huge environmental impact. Are these imported from outside Malta and if not, why can't the water be put in the taps? ??!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful holiday! For me it was a great experience returning to the country where I spent the first three years of my life! We made an excellent choice of accommodation and host! Frank couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating; it was lovely to be personally picked up at the ferry and driven to his traditional house on the hill. Mediterranean Seaviews is a very comfortable and well-equipped house with fantastic views of the harbour and Comino in one direction and the fields and hills of Gozo in the other. Frank kindly drove us around the local shops and amenities, and gave us a glimpse of some of the best views and hidden gems of Gozo, not least the wonderful back-street bakery whose delicious ftira we much enjoyed!

review 15 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The favorit memorable is the wonderful visit to the food factory, what Frank was organized. The visit to the bakery, however, was the highlight for our children. Thank you Frank for buying us a few specialties. It tastes very good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Even before we reached Gozo, Frank have provided us with lots of information. It was also very nice that Frank have picked us up from the ferry and have even gone there again at night at 3:00 AM. Your apartment is really nice. From the roof terrace you have a wonderful view of the harbor and Malta. Gozo is a beautiful island and much quieter than Malta. There are beautiful bays for swimming. The San Blas Bay was our favorit Bay.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Frank recommended many local companies, so that we support the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

PERFECT!!!! ;)

Read the operator's response here:

Special thanks to you Katrin and your fabulous family and friends for your lovely review and above anything else for your wonderful presence amongst us in Gozo, Malta. It was really a Great pleasure to host you all at our Gozo self catering with seaviews. We are delighted to know you have had a really perfect holiday here and you have found our accommodation's location as well as all its luxury just ideal for all your family and friends needs. After you left, you have kindly send us a thank you email with your next holiday dates to come back! We therefore look forward eagerly to help you enjoy and experience a deeper immersion of real Gozo island. Grazzi hafna / Danke / Many thanks from Frank, Island of Gozo, Malta.

review 10 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Thank you for such a wonderful holiday experience. Your kind and thoughtful hospitality is totally unique and overwhelming. Never have we experienced such a personal and considerate service as you provide. One of our main highlights of our Gozo experience was the day you gave us a tour of the local area to help us get a better feel for the local way. The bakery was a fantastic experience as we learned first hand the traditional way of bread making and how the locals buy their bread. And of course it was ‘delicious’. This was our second holiday in Gozo and Mediterranea Seaviews and we enjoyed it as much as the first. Frank you should be proud of the service you provide as it’s above and beyond.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy the bus pass as soon as you can If you plan to use the bus service, as this will save you money and is less hassle than having to keep change for the bus tickets. Also ask Frank about anything you need or want to do, as he will point you in the right direction so you can have a wonderful Gozo experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Frank encourages you to experience Gozo as a local by doing as they do such as buying bread from the local bakery. This enhances your holiday experience along with benefitting the locals, which are all very friendly and helpful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic

Read the operator's response here:

It was a really beautiful week to welcome back David and his wonderful family. David's family is the perfect guests whom I highly recommend to all hosts on responsibletravel.com We are delighted to know again that David have had a totally unique and overwhelming experience at Mediterranea Seaviews. Wish you the very best and you are most welcome anytime! Thanks / Grazzi hafna from Frank in the village-by-the-sea of Ghajnsielem, Island of Gozo, Malta.

review 11 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The welcoming and serviceminded people! It was our first but not last trip to Gozo, and it was fantastic! Frank gave us a more than fantastic service beginning long before our arrival with helpful emails full of facts about Gozo, Frank also provided us with full details about pickups from Airport and all the way to "our" house. He was more than helpful on several occasions! He also guided us around the island and showed us his secret hideaways !

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you bring good shoes for walking beacause you will want to walk a lot on this beautiful islands and it is hilly! Also by a buscard/ticket up at the busstaion in Victoria and try all the buslines all over the beautiful island.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in the villa there was rules for sorting garbage, plastic, glas etc and it is environmental frindly all the way. We supported the locals by shopping local foods from farmers markets, eating at local restaurants, scubadiving, and the busriding with local buses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a superior stay and a fantastic experience and will for sure come back to Gozo.We can highly recommend staying with Frank! The villa has everything you need except food but Frank will take you shopping the first day for groceries ;)

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you very much for your time to share your Gozo experience at our holiday Home. We were delighted to host and get to know you during your stay. We really appreciate your words of appreciation and gratitude, responsibility and respect you have shown throughout your stay. We are delighted knowing you have had a fantastic experience and look forward to see you next year! Thanks, Frank, Ghajnsielem Malta.

review 12 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of the holiday would have to be the wonderful, warm and genuine welcome from Frank and mum. You feel more like friend than guest but always treated with professionalism and respect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The house has everything you could possibly want or need and if you can find anything to need or want during your stay guaranteed it will appear quickly and without fuss or question. It is so comfortable, relaxing and beautiful, home from home you will find it hard to leave.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Island is being brought into this century with the help of European funding using a high degree of taste a respect for the past and relaxed nature it deserves, hopefully finding and keeping the right balance and maintaining it into the future. We fitted in with the local community so easily, so welcoming and helpful it was really nice to purchase fresh local produce every day. No need for a car as local buses are so comfortable and frequent and the walking is so easy and bikes available at the house if required.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have stayed in many 5* hotels and self catering establishments around the world and easily give this one 6* plus. The island of Gozo is a very beautiful place to relax and unwind from the fast pace world we live in. Coming back to de-stress in 2015.

Read the operator's response here:

It was delightful to welcome you as our Special guests from England. We are very satisfied and more than happy that you have had a superb stay in our holiday home in Ghajnsielem Gozo. Your presence amongst us and your sense of appreciation and conservation completely match our common goal to preserve our common natural and historical environment on the island of Gozo while at the same time support the local community. You are most welcome anytime, any day at Mediterranea. Grazzi hafna / Many thanks, Frank.

review 15 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of this holiday is the style of accommodation and that every little detail had been thought through – from the booking with all local information about Gozo to all the ‘extras’ within the accommodation – excellent standard.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Optimise the use of Frank – his knowledge and amiability were second to none

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Frank introduced us to local food and shops. We utilised the local bus service and taxis (we did not need to hire a car). We had guidance for recycling and for energy efficiency e.g. washing machine. We also had local tours of bakery, etc…

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - I would say the experience that we had was unique in giving us an insight into the local people and customs/history becuase of our host. It has made us want to return to get to know the island more.

Read the operator's response here:

It is our greatest satisfaction reading our Special Guests' comments after spending their holiday at Mediterranea Gozo self catering seaview acoommodation at Ghajnsielem Gozo Malta. We are very very glad our guests were really happy, really satisfied with both accommodation and all the extra free services like free transfers from and to terminal and the local shops, bicycles and free computer with internet and wifi. It was even special sharing our environmental concerns, the local history of the village of Ghajnsielem, the island of Gozo, the tastes and aromas of the daily fresh bread, the local ftira from Ghajnsielem main square bakery, the delicious pastries few metres away and the traditions of our common heritage. We do look forward to welcome you again anytime! Grazzi hafna / Many thanks from Frank.

review 11 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved everything though the hospitality of our host Frank Tabone really made the difference - sea kayaking to quiet beaches and coves, being taught to make bread in a local bakery and eating some amazing Gozitan food with him really set this holiday apart.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay longer! There's so much to do in Gozo and Frank is an excellent and well informed guide and host. Let him know in advance what you'd like to do and he'll help you plan it and ensure that its delivered to a high standard. And there really is no need to book a car!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we were able to use public transport rather than a hire car; we were able to shop from small, local suppliers and stores and to stay in a more sustainable form of accommodation. We also learned a lot more about local biodiversity and heritage than if we'd booked a more 'traditional' package.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had an amazing time - you know you've had a good holiday when you're working out when you can go back before you're even on the flight home!

Read the operator's response here:

We want to thank you for your kind gesture, you have found time for us writing your comments! Really appreciated as will also be appreciated by all our online readers. You were really great special guests and it was wonderful getting to know you and sharing our island with you! It is our greatest goal and therefore our greatest satisfaction when another couple on visiting Gozo for the first time found our accommodation a real home away from home where environment and community sustainability are a priority. Look forward to see you again. You are most welcome anytime! Grazzi hafna minn qalbi / Many heartful thanks, Frank.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies