15 independent reviews for Andalucia accommodation on organic farm, Sierra de Grazalema

Reviews for Andalucia accommodation on organic farm, Sierra de Grazalema

SHOW
5
9
1
0
0

review 9 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful calm and atmosphere of 5 moons

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There is self catering available but the meals Gonzalo cooks are great. No need to bring wine only beer if you want one. Good walk direst from the farm.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes- local produce, and water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb

review 12 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The children absolutely loved the river, pure, fresh, clear, with a lovely knee deep pool, early morning and late afternoon swims were amazing. Also, Gonzalo cooking an amazing paella for all the guests to eat together

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to go self catering, note that there isnt too much to buy in Zahara itself. There is a larger supermarket in a village about 15 minutes away

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, the accommodation has become a real paradise for us, and the children cannot stop talking about it

review 14 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Its a beautiful area for walking

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We used the accommodation as a base for walking, but also travelled to Seville for a day, and to Ronda. Centrally located for trips to Jerez and Cadiz too, but also ideal for days out in the local area, walking or enjoying tapas!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used the restaurants in Zahara and Grazalema.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A nice place to stay. We were there in April, and the owner was away when we arrived and the place was charming but tending towards neglect. However, the owner started tidying the garden on his return, and was very friendly and helpful.

review 3 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is simply a really nice place to visit, with a wonderful creek flowing through the yard, many places to relax and think, great natural food, and perfect hosts. We enjoyed the relaxation and the home. The young children in our group were able to play freely all day with the host's children, they also saw animals and got to play in the water. I guess for me personally, I loved the warmth of the dining/living room with the fireplace, that the hosts kept refreshed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We should have spent a few more days here.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We bought several bottles of olive oil, ate oranges, fresh potatoes, orange and peach jellies, etc. from the hosts as well as the local community. Everything was recycled.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was perfect for us.

review 4 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful area, welcoming hosts and a wonderful home away from home.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sit back and relax, enjoy the sounds of the stream running next to the house. Make some time to enjoy the countryside and swim in the wonderful lake just a few km's away.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Everything is recycled, farm is run on solar power, wonderful organic vegetable garden, chickens for fresh eggs, olive oil also made at the farm. We would agree that the hosts reduce the environmental impact with what they do on the farm and that the support conservation in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very much enjoyed our time at the farm - feel very relaxed and would visit again.

review 15 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved this little farm and the people who run the B&B. It was in a lovely spot by a stream.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The are several other sites in the area such as La Cueva de la Pilets...ancient caves that should not be missed. Also the equestrian school in Jerez, although it was very hard to find it due to no street signs in that town.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, this is a little organic farm and a local business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I loved my time in the area of the B&B.

review 6 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The warm friendly welcome and hospitality that carried on for all our time there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go, it is truly relaxing and beautiful, and you won't feel short of things to do. Stay for as many days as you can to properly unwind. If possible fly into Seville to make the drive shorter. Ask Gonzalo for his route from Malaga.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Would liked to have stayed there forever!

review 24 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

La casa es fantastica, los alrededores maravillosos y sus propietarios hospitalarios.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Con niños la experiencia es aun mas maravillosa, tienen mucho espacio para jugar, bañarse en el rio, disfrutar de animales, naturaleza, huerto...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Sin ningún lugar a dudas, es muy sostenible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10.

review 5 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We really enjoyed our hosts and the beauty of the surrounding scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

DO IT! Our time at the farm house was the most refreshing and relaxing part of our whole vacation hands down!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Our hosts were very conscientious about both supporting local businesses and caring for the land.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

AWESOME! It was exactly what we were looking for...a relaxing place from which we were easily able to explore and hike in the beauty of this region of Andalucia.

review 29 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Helping with the Olive harvest, which happens between Nov & Jan, on Gonzalo and Anja's organic farm was a fascinating and lively event - we had to knock the olives from the branches using sticks (without doing too much damage) and capture them in a set of nets. Altogether we collected about 740 kg between five of us over two days.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

At this time of year (mid-November) take warm clothing for the evenings, nights & mornings but remember that daytime can get quite warm. We wore several layers in the evenings, including a couple of pullovers, but most days could go with shorts & tee-shirt from about 11:00 till 4:00. Also remember that you can get rain - we had two days at the beginning - but hey, we're from Manchester!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Apart from having to fly (in spite of carbon off-setting) and use a (albeit small) hire car from the airport we tried hard to keep our environmental impact low. The money from our stay went entirely to Gonzalo & Anja at the farm. For any investment in the farm thet try to use local providers (e.g. solar panels).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely wonderful - we had a delightful time. Highlights were the olive harvest (see above), "proper" Spanish breakfast with Gonzalo & Anja and their children, Anja's excellent cooking, cycling the Via Verde and walking the local hills. We were made to feel almost like members of the family.

review 23 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

To arrive during the blistering heat of August to a tranquil river-side retreat was wonderful. The welcome we received was friendly and relaxed, and the atmosphere peaceful. Our 3 children had a great time - there are lots of things for kids to play with and the river is shallow and gentle enough for them to play happily for hours.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We had a fabulous swim in the nearby lake

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the lovely owners are clearly respectful of the environment - we got given fresh fruit and veg grown on their land to use, and you can buy olive oil they have made from their own olives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a really lovely time here, and could have stayed longer. We would love to return one day. The surrounding countryside and villages are simply stunning, and have a very special atmosphere.

review 19 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going to the bull running in Grazalema which we just found out about on our arrival! I wasn't sure about spectating but local people looked after us and the best of it was soaking up the festive atmosphere more than the actual bulls. The journey there is breathtaking also and the Natural Park area beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We had such a short stay, this is such a nice area and the house so relaxing it was a shame not to stay longer. We'll just have to go back! A Finnish couple we met there had split their week in Spain with half of it in Granada and Cordoba and the other half at Cinco Lunas where they had relaxed by the river for a few days...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The whole way the farmhouse is run is very sustainable and one of my favourite parts was cooking omelettes for breakfast in the kitchen using the ingredients from the farm. Plus I can thoroughly recommend the organic marmalade!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved this place and would love to go back, thank you to Anja and Gonzalo for welcoming us and giving us pointers and introductions!

review 13 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We were happy that our children enjoyed playing together with their 3-year-old boy, Merlin. In this large natural space, there are many things to do for children too. Watching fish in the river (also they found a snake!), playing in the children's pool and shooting with water-guns, running on the grass, feeding chickens, saying Hello to sheep, Darts Game, and so on. Every breakfast time they gave us their chicken's wonderful eggs. We had never had such natural, fresh and tasty eggs before!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you have any child, Cinco Lunas would give you and your children very pleasant holidays. Of course even if you don't have any, still, this guest house would give you a great time of relaxation in full of nature.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Unfortunately we couldn't get used to Spanish-time during our stay. Our dinner was too early to eat all together with the host's family, so we were alone every time we eat dinner. We were still suffering from jet lag, so we have no choice. If we had have dinner with host's family, we could have give 5 stars.

review 19 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The friendly owners, lovely river and heaps of inspiring ideas for your home! They're so clever!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate and drank at local places, used our bicycles to get around and visited local attractions - so yes I hope we gave back to the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous.

review 23 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having a wonderful home cooked meal with our hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This holiday is really for someone wanting to experience the local lifestyle. You feel like you are staying in a friend’s home. You have full access to your own kitchen, you eat eggs, veggies and olive oil from the farm. This is about as far as you can get from staying in a hotel.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, it feels really good.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, we loved it!

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies