15 independent reviews for Everest Base Camp trek4 star rating

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through responsibletravel.com. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.

Danusia Brzezina review 6 Jan 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The scenery and the people, the team spirit and seeing Everest.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Definitely should get very fit before going. Also it is camping, just with four walls around you, so very cold at times and washing was almost impossible in places so be prepared.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


We minimized our impact by having our own litter collector! We stayed in local accommodation so I felt we helped local people and provided employment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent. Best for adventurous people who appreciate different cultures and have an open mind, or for those who are fit and like to challenge themselves.

Helen Seymour review 6 Oct 20105 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The scenery was majestic - most humbling. The warmth of the local people lifted your spirits during tricky times and the dynamic of the group was awesome. The flight to Lukla was pretty special too ;-)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Remember to pack for Kat!! Take t-shirts for trekking in - it gets scorchio as you work so hard walking! If you like your sweet treats, stock up from home or be prepared to pay the price for imported, out-of-date chocolate ;-) Enjoy, Enjoy, Enjoy! So hard, mentally and physically, but worth every single step. Would do it again in a heart beat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, I did. We were encouraged to be mindful of our environment and stayed, shopped and socialised in local establishments.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Six stars - totally first class! Our guide Sunny (Surya) was simply fantastic, a true treasure.

Dave Greenwood review 10 Feb 20105 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Working as a Sherpa for the day with my mate Ben and all the local villagers coming out to cheer us on as we struggled with the weight of those packs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Mmmm..........I reckon the Yeti's only come out at night....so possibly bring some night vision glasses.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Absolutely. A very professionally run trip with tremendously positive local reaction wherever we went. I would 100% recommend anyone going on this trip to go out there with open eyes and heart and to interact as much as possible with everyone around. My special memory would be of a local kid of around 3yrs of age who waved goodbye for the 2nd and last time after he was presented with a tennis ball 1 week after he had lost his previous tennis ball gift (by throwing over a cliff).. He must have thought I had climbed down a huge gorge to retrieve it...........although forever the forward planning English amateur cricketer..........I had several spare for exactly that reason.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Probably the most enjoyable AND the most memorable holiday I have ever been on, and truth be told, I never made base camp. I had to return early due to altitude sickness. The positive nature of my group and all around more than made up for this. I may well return next year.......and this time LaLa (group leader)..............you ain't going to get even a pawn in our chess games hahaa!

Ah yes.........and also bringing night vision glasses to find that infamous yeti!

Kenni Poulsen review 22 Nov 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Reaching Everest basecamp after an early morning start and a 6 hr. hike. Walking alone in the mountains when my group was either 1hr ahead of me or 1 hr. behind me. It was awesome. Hearing children singing songs one night outside our teahouse. Kathmandu was crazy wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


You need a decent size daypack. Although it says in the literature that you need a daypack for just your camera and a btl. of water... You also need to have room for layers of clothing. Expect to leave tip along the way. Some people may need to consider this extra expense before going. Earplugs; the teahouses have paperthin walls.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


We used porters (instead of yaks) to transport our luggage. They were paid and also received tips towards the end of the trip. We also tipped along the way in the tea houses. I used biodegradable soap. (Tho not many chances to use it. It was too cold. Didn't wash for days.)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


8 /10. I feel that the tour operator failed to give correct information about any additional charges: We had not been informed that there would be an airport tax leaving the airstrip in Lukla. Nor had we been advised that the bus driver (during the organised tour of Kathmandu) and the 'bus driver assistant' (a young boy who did bugger all but collect money at the end of the day) was to receive tips. And the guide for the day was also to receive tips.

To some people any additional expense if of importance and I think that the tour operator could have made it more clear about who should be tipped and how much to expect to pay. And in no correspondence had it been mentioned about an airport tax coming of the mountain, leaving Lukla to Kathmandu. We had been guaranteed that all teahouses along the way would be clean and hygienic. This was mostly the case but not in Lobuche where the accommodation was vile: It stunk, it was damp and uncomfortable. It was disgusting. All other places were OK.

Read the operator's response here:

With regards to the tea house at Lobuche, we would acknowledge that this is the most basic accommodation used on the trek and are sorry the conditions were deemed unacceptable. Unfortunately we are constrained by availability and the size of the group, however, this feedback has been passed to the Product Manager responsible for our Nepalese trips who will take your views into account when planning our future programme.

Tipping is always a delicate issue we are disappointed the amounts were felt to be excessive. Whilst tipping is part of the culture in Nepal, it should be dealt with in a professional manner by the Group Leader and fully explained up front. we regret this caused a problem but must stress that any tipping is totally voluntary.

Routinely we discuss any such issues as part of our monthly Quality Forum. The problems experienced will continue to be followed up and monitored to ensure there is no repetition.

Lubna Al-Zawawi review 25 Oct 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Reaching Base Camp Everest!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Essential comforts
1-stock up on toilet roll.
2-Things get more expensive the higher the altitude, so extra rupees are a good idea.
3- mini hot water bottle for sleeping bag. I borrowed one.
4- Trail snacks are important.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes absolutely!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Except for our drunk and useless guide Jimmy, the assistants were fabulous and the food wasn't bad at all. He actually scared me for 2 days and I had to make an international call to my husband to explain that I was worried that I would be
attacked by the guide.

Read the operator's response here:

Our guide Jimee has been operating trips in Nepal for a number of years and overall feedback has been been excellent, with Jimee attracting an 80% overall score on our questionnaires this year.

Group Leaders often have a beer or 2 with the group at the end of the day, however, we haven't received any reports of this causing any problems. We understand there was a disagreement in this instance over one of the rooms on the trip and regret if this caused an unpleasant atmosphere between Lubna and the Group Leader.

Of course any such report is followed up with our local agent and appropriate action taken should it prove necessary.

Frank Reglinski review 13 Apr 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Reaching Everest base camp.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring a hot water bottle for the evenings there is no heating.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, economically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent as an adventure experience; I would not have missed it but we have both come back unwell and exhausted

Andrew Gill review 4 Mar 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Climbing the summit of Kala Pattar.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


You can get by with a lot less 'stuff' than the dossier recommends.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

pat mcdonough review 24 Oct 20103 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The trek.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


See below.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Don't know.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Basically everything was brilliant, except the last few days.

The trek, the guides, the airport pick up, the hotels and teahouses, the
tour of Kathmandu - all were excellent, very happy with all those aspects. However....it all went wrong towards the end, mainly brought on by poor
weather in Lukla but also very bad handling by the "company" I think.

On Oct 16th we (the party of 12) were due to fly from Lukla to Kathmandu
for two nights rest and wind down, but the weather had closed in causing
the closing of Lukla airport the whole day - ok, no problem.

On Oct 17th, six of the party were lucky enough to be put on a small 6
seater chartered aircraft and reached Kathmandu early on that Sunday
morning. The remaining six, including myself and my brother Alan, were told
that we would also be shuttled out of Lukla using the same plane as it
returned from Kathmandu. As it returned approx one hour later our bags were
taken out to the aircraft and we naturally were delighted to be boarding.
As we handed our boarding passes to the boarding co-ordinator on the tarmac
we were told that it was not our flight and suddenly a separate six people
turned up from nowhere to board the plane. Something dodgy going on I
suspected.

Lo and behold soon after, the weather turned bad again and the airport was
subsequently closed. We were told to leave the airport and return to our
'hotel' where we stayed all day as the airport remained closed.

Come Monday morning, Oct 18th...our Kathmandu-Delhi flight was due to leave
at 09.30, yet we were still stranded 10,000 ft up in the Himalayas. Having
been promised the first flight out of Lukla, we were disappointed to see
that we were indeed on flight 5 out of Lulka. As the minutes ticked away,
with the chance of catching our flight out of Kathmandu diminishing each
minute, finally we were flown out of Lukla (the final 6 people in the
departures area!!).

At Kathmandu 'International' airport we missed the check in for our
Kathmandu-Delhi flight by 2 minutes and Jet Airways had no intention of
sending any representative to negotiate with. Their offices were locked.
Our local 'agent' and guides had left the airport. Stranded once again.

We had little choice other than to take matters into our own hands. We
discovered that there was an Air India flight out to Delhi the same morning
that would give us a fighting chance to catch our Jet Air Delhi-Heathrow
flight . In an atmosphere shrouded in stress and tension we finally booked
and paid for our seats and took off for Delhi. The race was on. However the
flight was delayed.

After reaching Delhi we all six sprinted across Delhi airport and argued
with Jet Air representatives that we should be allowed on the Heathrow
flight. Finally they relented and after running to the departure gate we
boarded our flight to Heathrow with minutes to spare, overjoyed. But the
fun was not over.....

On arrival at Heathrow at 18.40, it was clear that our bags were not
coming. My brother Alan and I were due to catch a 21.00 British Airways
flight from Heathrow Terminal 5 to Newcastle where we had family waiting to
pick us up.

Due to the delay caused by waiting for our bags and subsequently filling in
'lost baggage' forms, we were losing valuable time to get across from
Terminal 4 to Terminal 5 for our BA flight. Finally we were 'released' and
quickly headed off to Terminal 5. However we got very unlucky with
connection trains, and we missed check-in at the BA desk by one minute.
Stranded once again. Feeling gutted, we had a to book a hotel for the night
and a BA flight for the following day, and take a £50 taxi from Newcastle
airport to home. More and more expense.

As yet, our bags have still not turned up

I feel that all this mess could have been avoided had the local company in Kathmandu and Lukla been more thorough and determined to get us out of Lulka, though I am sure there is the local Mafia to 'satisfy' and maybe they called all the shots. Money talks in Nepal.

The stress and frustration suffered during those last two days soured our
wonderful experience of the previous 14 days, to say nothing of the
hundreds of pounds additional expense. I am left very disappointed.

Read the operator's response here:

Whilst weather in the mountains can be unpredictable, it is rare to have a major problem like this in October. Lukla is one of world’s most ‘challenging’ airports and as such flights are suspended immediately if dangerous conditions arise. To allow for any delays, either from international arrivals or in and out of Lukla, we factor in the extra days at the start and end of the trip.

This arrangement is usually sufficient to enable our clients to complete the trek and arrive back in good time to take their international flights; however,the suspension of flights on this occasion was longer than usual. Consequently there was a backlog of passengers waiting to return to Kathmandu. We can fully appreciate the upset caused when our clients were denied check in for the Jet Airways flight.

Unforutnately once a check-in is closed the ground staff have no flexibility whatsoever; it is down to the pilot to make a decision. However, in the absence of Jet Airways being able to assist, it was most unfortunate that our representative was not inside the airport. For security reasons they are not allowed into Kathmandu airport; however, our local agent and our 24 hour duty office are available via the telephone numbers supplied on our travel documents. It is normal practise for flights to be re-arranged through contacting ourselves on there emergency contact numbers. this may have saved the expense of booking a replacement flight with Air India.

Our clients were lucky that Jet Airways allowed them to board the connecting flight in Delhi, as normally the airlines automatically cancel onward sectors if clients have not travelled on their first flight. Nevertheless, we would apologise unreservedly for the inconvenience and discomfort experienced. Although the weather conditions were unforeseeable and beyond our control, we have taken these circumstances seriously and are looking at how we can provide further instructions on emergency procedures to our clients.

Keith Robinson review 3 Nov 20102 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The helicopter ride off the Mountain...! Unfortunately I got severe altitude sicness, and was emergency airlifted to hospital. The local agents and staff were fabulous, and got hotels and flights sorted to come home as soon as possible upon leaving the infirmary.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Exchange your currency in Nepal before you leave - you can't exchange it back, here in the UK.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Not as planned, but could have been a lot worse!

Gary Moss review 11 Feb 20095 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The first site of Everest.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure you train well before going.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes money makes the world go round.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


The best two weeks holiday ever.

Paul Quinn review 28 Apr 20093 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The trekking was great and especially basecamp it was great to be there and see the entry to Everest. Much better then the books say, it was a privilege to be there. The flight out of Lukla was not forgettable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Ensure some fitness levels as it really makes it more enjoyable. Price around and then compare what is on offer, that way it reduces any extras. Minimise tablets and first aid as most companies will carry a good lot of what we brought and it all adds up on weight and costs. Bring extra money on the trip above what guides say is required on av. 40%.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Without doubt this was true on this trip. We spent money in all local lodges and on little presents from street traders. So it certainly seemed as if our money was used all along the way with different areas and peoples.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good overall. Better then what I thought it would be (maybe it was also a little easier too).

Brent Winter review 19 Apr 20093 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Avoid groups with 15 members: too inflexible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Fair to middling.

Wendy D review 1 Dec 20075 star rating

The holiday was a total culture shock with diverse standards from extreme luxury to the simple based. The trekking was the same, sublime to the most ridiculous. Views of clarity which I've never thought possible. Dizzy heights which made the adrenaline rush, plants and bird life that became photographic perfection. Shooting stars at night so rarely seen in suburbia. All too surreal to be true, frequently having to pinch myself that I was really there.

The food standards of local quality was exceptionally fresh and only cooked when ordered. Put a whole new outlook on freshly served flavours and colours. Very substantial, affordable and delicious.

The unbelievable warmth and smiley faces of the Nepalese people was a lesson in human nature at its friendliest. We never found any situation where we felt intimidated, in fact they bent over backwards to accommodate our lack of local knowledge. If anybody on the planet wants to meet a nation of people so delightful I suggest they visit the beautiful country of Nepal. Having had a taster I can only say that a further trip is on the agenda.

Lucy Armitage review 29 Nov 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Making it to the top of Kala Pattar despite cold, AMS, and not eating!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring plenty of warm clothes!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, we supported local tea houses all the way up.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


An amazing experience, highly recommend it!

Andrew Smith review 7 Apr 20065 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Initially the flight into Lukla (no other flight in the world can compare), then as the holiday grew the people you are with both the locals porters and the other travellers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


You can never take to many warm clothes, always be prepared for the unexpected and just because its hard doesn't mean its not enjoyable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The fact that all the porters and guides were from the local community then yes.

4. Any other comments?


Without doubt a big happy 5 stars.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust responsibletravel.com reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

5 stars
I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
4 stars
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
3 stars
Very enjoyable
2 stars
It was OK
1 star
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies