9 independent reviews for Family tour to Morocco4 star rating

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through responsibletravel.com. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.

Meriel Griffiths review 24 Feb 20145 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The camping trip into the Sahara Desert and the nights at Tazzarine Campsite - home of Said and his family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Ensure that if you order sleeping bags from the organiser whilst still in the UK, that you have this confirmed in writing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Very much so - local guides, staff and hosts were used wherever possible, and (particularly in Tazzarine and the Sahara) this contributed hugely to the experience.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Absolutely brilliant!

Tania Knight review 22 Nov 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The most memorable part of the holiday was camping in the desert and sleeping under the stars! Amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Hold on to some change for toilets.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes. This trip takes you to the locals. During the trip we stayed in a morrocan home whilst the children slept in tents outside. We got to meet the family and the children.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


This was an amazing experience, although it was our second visit to Morocco. The trip was suitable for all ages and it was culturally challenging. I would recommend the trip for families.

Susan Gregory review 3 Nov 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Trekking with camels in the desert and camping under the stars

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take travel sickness pills, especially if your children prone to travel sickness!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes to local people benefitting, no to the other two.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


A great fun family adventure. Kids loved it and didn't mind the travelling.

Alison Williams review 12 Apr 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Seeing the excitement on the children’s faces when they got to ride donkeys in the oasis and the camel riding on the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


There is a lot of time spent in the mini bus travelling between destinations, great for adults who want to see the countryside but bring things for the kids to entertain themselves with on the bus, bring children’s medicines for travel sickness, and diarrohea and hand wipes!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

Ferne Mele review 27 Apr 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Camping out in the desert, and our tea party on a dune at sunset.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Pack very lightly, but be prepared for different kinds of weather.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


I feel we did little harm to the environment and we contributed somewhat to the local economies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent, and we all loved our knowledgeable, kid-friendly guide Noureddine.

Sibyl Ruth review 18 Feb 20085 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


A terrific thunderstorm before dawn in Tazzarine, while sleeping in a Berber style tent. It was the first time for four months that the town had had any rain. In the morning there were hailstorms outside our tent, and flash flooding in what had been a dry river bed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Although there are opportunities to sit and admire the scenery, you need quite a lot of energy to make the most of the week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, in the sense that we had Moroccan rather than European guides. And also in that the money we spent while travelling around helped local businesses and traders. But I was aware that there we were surrounded by poverty and our presence could do little to transform the lives of the least privileged people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


My husband, my daughter and I all had a wonderful time. It was really good for my daughter in particular to visit an Islamic country. (She has Muslim schoolfriends.) Hearing French spoken also helped her to realise that there are real advantages in learning to speak another language.

My husband and I found Moroccan people very friendly. The desert and mountain landscapes are spectacular. And Marrakech is an extraordinary city.

Kathryn Bohrson review 9 Nov 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Riding camels in the desert. Walking through the souks of Marakesh.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


It can be cooler and wetter than you would guess in October. Your Berber tent will probably leak. Check your tarp and be careful where you place your gear. Be prepared for motion sickness - erratic driving and winding mountain roads.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Benefited local people - only slightly. Minimized impact - somewhat. Still lots of fossil fuels consumed and lots of plastic water bottles generated.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Good. We were working with a very tight window for a tour and this fit our schedule perfectly. Accommodations and meals were OK. In general though, we would prefer to travel a little less frequently and book a higher end tour.

Caroline Miskin review 7 Apr 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Highlight was the camel riding and camping in the desert.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Consider the flights carefully - the standard flights offered with the trip had some of the group arriving at 1am and having to meet at 8am the next morning ready to go. They also had a 5 hour wait in Casablanca on the way back as the flights were not direct. Those of us who arranged our own flights got on much better even though we had to make our own way to Ouarzazate from Marrakech. If you really want to see Marrakech consider adding on a day as 1 day was not really enough. Be prepared for a lot of confusion over tips. Make sure you take out enough cash in Ouarzazate to last you until Marrakech.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good - we loved all the things we did. Would have liked a more characterful hotel in Marrakech.

Sarah James review 2 Nov 20063 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Seeing the Milky Way and shooting stars for the 1st time ever whilst in the Sahara.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Buy some duty free booze to take in! Make sure the bank gives you small notes; it was really difficult getting change from almost everywhere even with a 50 Riad note. Don't go out in Marrakech after 6pm if female & under 50. (Simply horrible place - we were followed, threatened and groped even with men in the party and children in tow).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Certainly brought cash into the country and some employment. Didn't realise quite how much tipping we'd need to do.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Overall *** (because of the horrible atmosphere in Marrakech, really soured the holiday).

Holiday Reviews

You can trust responsibletravel.com reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

5 stars
I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
4 stars
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
3 stars
Very enjoyable
2 stars
It was OK
1 star
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies