66 independent reviews for Walking holidays in Spain4 star rating

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through responsibletravel.com. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.

Simon Foster review 3 May 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The fiestas - this was my second visit with this operator. This time around I chose the week specifically for the Fiestas of Moors and Christians which were quite amazing. To combine this with excellent mountain walking (guided) and great food .... and on this trip inclusive wines from the region which I would unlikely have otherwise tried. A shame the weather was not always on our side - but seeing Spain in flood can itself be an experience!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Relax - Brian, Pat and Tom will do their best to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Accommodation very comfortable and serviced daily. Quatrotondeta is a quiet village, so take a good book just in case rain stops play (although the cottages do have a selection of these). Oh - forget the waistline (although you will, of course, have worked a healthy appetite on the hills).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes - food (and wine) locally sourced I believe, and often taken to small local cafes etc on way back from walks. Your custom is always appreciated in these places.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


A very enjoyable week once again. Great value trip.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Simon,
It was great to welcome you back for the week including such a wonderful local fiesta. Thanks for your great company and we all hope to see you again sometime in the future.

We were left wondering who the rain God of the week was, but it was strange that as the train departed towards Valencia the clouds parted and the sun appeared. Surely this was a coincidence? Hopefully you had an enjoyable and sunny few days in Valencia before your trip home.

Best wishes from all of us in Quatretondeta.

Richard Voss review 30 Apr 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Fantastic Alcoy Festival of Moors & Christians. Excellent food and walks with lots of wild flowers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


They have well over 100 walks in the area; all are graded and they cover a wide range so it is worthwhile looking at the gradings that are proposed for specific weeks - details on web site.

Good breakfast and packed lunch materials are provided, so there is no need to bring or buy anything (no shops in the village anyway).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Several houses in the village are used for guest accommodation. All transport is provided by their minibus, including transfers from airport or railway station so individual transport is not needed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good, though we had some unusually wet weather. The family are very knowledgeable on the history, fauna and flora of the area which adds to the enjoyment on the led walks and trips.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Richard and Anne,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed the experience of the Alcoy fiestas so much, it is a terrific event and we feel so privileged to be able to take guests to such a wonderful event, that we personally enjoy.

We certainly had some rain with the final count reaching almost 400 litres m2 over the last 2 days of the holiday. It was our first rain in several weeks and at least will ensure that our local water supplies will be intact for the rest of 2014. The flowers during May and June will now be spectacular.

It is our hope that we can welcome you both back some time in the future to try out a few more of our vast supply of walks.

Best wishes
Tom , Patricia and Brian

janet brady review 30 Mar 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The walking was excellent-taxing enough to be satisfying but not too difficult. The limestone scenery and the effect of a massive earthquake in 17th century were really amazing. Lots of birds, lovely plants and well-informed caring guide. The accommodation was very good - we were free to prepare our own breakfasts and lunches from the food provided. The evening meals were delightful our hosts were good company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Have something nice to wear in the evening as the meals were so special.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Definitely as it's a small family business. They live in the village and are very active in the local community e.g. supporting the stand made in the region against wind turbines. We made a point of visiting a local bar after every walk. A local producer of oils and vinegars etc was contacted so that we could buy genuine, well-priced souvenirs there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent

launa wallace review 27 Jan 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The walking experience, food and company

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Get fit before you go!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent

don lucey review 30 Mar 20133 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


I would have to say the evenings in the dining room, it was the perfect setting to allow people to relax and get acquainted, not to mention the excellent cuisine cooked by Pat and served by family members.
The walks were very pleasant, not too strenuous once you had completed the first day good outdoor wear would be very helpful as it tends to be very windy and of course correct foot wear

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Be prepared for peace and tranquility bring a good book for evening .

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


8 out 10

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Don and Maeve,

Thank you for your lovely review, it is most appreciated by all of us, including those behind the scenes who you do not get to see.

Peace and tranquility in great surroundings; with a vast variety of walks from fairly gentle to very strenuous are what we are all about. Each of our guided walking weeks are offered with different grades of walks so it is important to choose a week which suits you best.

You're comments regarding clothing and equipment are helpful and although the strong winds you experienced during your stay are unusual it is always recommended to be prepared for all conditions when heading for the mountains wherever they are in the world.

We hope to see meet you again sometime in the future.
Many thanks & Best wishes

Helen Boaden review 23 Sep 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


There were many but probably the highlight was walking through a deep and beautiful gorge where the remains of Moorish houses were still very evident, looking up and seeing a pair of Golden Eagles and their juvenile circling above us. We watched them for about forty minutes. It was awe inspiring. But so too were the Griffon vultures, Kestrels and Peregrine Falcons. All were a wonderful surprise in a glorious walking holiday in the mountains behind Alicante. This area was a revelation. Each valley and range was different, stunning and steeped in history from Moorish Castles to 8000 year old cave paintings. Walking on the tops with endless views enjoying the smell of mountain sage, wild thyme and pine in the warm air was simply bliss.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


The walks are carefully tailored but I wish I had been slightly fitter! Don't underestimate the sun- hat, water, good sun screen are essential. And even if you aren't a twitcher -and we're not - we were really pleased to have binoculars with us. On the free day, Brian may take you to Alcoy which is a fascinating town or take the train from there down the mountains to lovely Valencia. The train journey is a joy and Valencia is a great and very walkable city.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes - Brian, Pat and Tom have lived in the village for twenty years and are completely integrated. They have provided employment throughout that time. They have also been active in challenging the mad development schemes which have scarred other areas of Spain. They know and love this area with a passion.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Outstanding. It is definitely one of the best holidays we have been on. The accommodation is very good in individual houses which are well equipped. Pat's cooking is exceptional with a real feel for the regionality of Spanish cooking. There is great wine and fun conversation -you get a genuinely warm welcome. And finally Tom's deep knowledge of the area he grew up in enhanced each of the walks and added to our pleasure.

Pirkko Lampinen review 8 Apr 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Great variety of walks through pine forests and gorges to the peaks, really enjoyable with magnificent views and points of interest. Most exciting was the descent from the peak of La Serrella through its deep, rocky slopes by the pinnacles - what a feeling having challenged myself! A great memory will remain of tasting wild asparagus, which our guide Tom introduced to us. He also picked some handfuls to take to Pat who served them glazed in olive oil at dinner, mmmh...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't hesitate to book, this holiday was very well maintained in all its senses. You can really feel taken care of! The tasty dinners were served in Brian's wine cellar with an excellent selection of Spanish wines to all tastes and budgets. In the walking point of view, you will have a great fun, but also a good challenge - in a positive way.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Well, it was a great experience with wonderful and professional hosts as well as with nice walking mates. Ten points overall!

Cecilia Mauceri review 28 Mar 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


All of the walks had beautiful views and challenging sections, but the one that really stood out was Els Frares. On the last day of the holiday, we scrambled up the scree covered face of the mountain in front of Quatretondeta past amazing pinnacles and ran back down. As someone who had done next to no serious walking before this holiday, it was a totally new experience and loads of fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


I was initially a little concerned about my level of fitness and experience. The operator did an excellent job of fitting the walks to my level and still keeping them interesting. In the end, I surprised myself with how much I accomplished. My advice would be not to be held back by similar doubts. A basic level of fitness is enough to enjoy these beautiful mountains, and my guide Tom was very helpful in giving me beginning walking tips, such as how best to tie my shoes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


From talking to the hosts, I had the feeling that the operator was very active locally in building an interest in tourism and resisting large scale development.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very worthwhile as an introduction to walking. Next time, I might try a self-guided walk.

Jen Randle review 6 Mar 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The fabulous gorges and rock formations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Excellent food for all and for vegetarians.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Jennifer Basiji review 30 Nov 20115 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


At the end of each day, we had a great sense of accomplishment! (Tom, our guide, even managed to make a rainy-day hike enjoyable!) We also loved the smell of woodsmoke as the evenings turned cool.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Get fit before you go! Ensure you have a camera with you at all times to record the incredible views, wildlife (sheep, goats, birds etc), good company and special memories. I was also very glad I had good hiking boots that worked well in all situations.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes to both. All food items were locally sourced. Minimal use of transportation to/from trail-heads. Village accommodations benefit local homeowners.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


This was, WITHOUT A DOUBT, a five-star hiking experience. Brian, Pat and Tom are very natural, down-to-earth and warm people. We enjoyed meaningful conversations throughout the hikes and during the fun evenings at dinner (during which we were also treated to GREAT music!!!) During the mid-week day off visiting Alcoy, Brian went out of his way to ensure we got the most out of our time there. Sadly, next year we can't return, but our plan is to go back in 2013.

Sue Christoforou review 29 Dec 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Reaching the first peak of the holiday was exciting and came with a real sense of achievement.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Read the descriptions of the walk gradings given on the operator website and be realistic about your capabilities. If you have any queries, don't hesitate to ring or email Brian, who I found to be more than happy to answer queries.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


To the extent that we spent money outside of the holiday package, we brought some custom to the area. Also, I believe the food provided to us was, in the main, locally sourced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Brian, Pat and Tom, my holiday hosts and walking guides, are lovely people. They were very helpful, lending me a pair of walking poles (and even shampoo!), as well as accommodating my newly-discovered fear of heights by, on one day running two walks of differing difficulty and varying the rest of week's walks to enable me to take part. I would highly recommend this holiday to any keen hill/mountain walker.

Steve Brocklehurst review 27 Nov 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The walks and the food, the walks were well guided and varied and the food each
night was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take hard sole boots with good ankle support as the terrain is rocky. Make sure
you have plenty of liquids with you when you walk. Take waterproofs, when it
rains it really rains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, helped bring outside business to a quiet village with minimal impact to the
environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


I'd rate the holiday highly, for it's very friendly hosts, great guiding and
excellent food.

Simon foster review 30 Oct 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Great walks - plenty of opportunities to revisit and not repeat any walks you have previously done. Away from mainstream tourism to not be bothered by crowds, yet close enough to the main airports (and trains if that is your preference) for easy travel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't worry about the wasitline - Pat's food is too good.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good. Brian, Pat and Tom are excellent hosts. Comfortable accommodation in the village. Great range of documented walks available if you choose self-guided (I was on guided though).

Birgitte Wandall review 22 Oct 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


There were many memorable moments: Splendid views, interesting wildlife (often insects), WONDERFUL meals and great company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Be prepared for both hot and cold weather. Temperature changes rapidly in the mountains - after sweating all the way up a mountain, you may find you miss a woollen hat and gloves once the sun goes behind a cloud.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Simply great! We really enjoyed the flexibility and the very large selection of possible walks. Hope to be back for more.

Lorna McCourt review 17 Oct 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Food cooked by Pat, vulture watching, scenery, comfortable accommodation with rooftop patio overlooking mountains and enjoying a well earned beer after a good walk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Just book it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, travelling by car/van was fairly minimal as most walks were close to village. Wine and food was mainly locally sourced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Jenny Dobson review 16 Oct 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Your review format has asked for feedback re memorability and excitement but that wasn't my aim ! I wanted sunshine, plenty of exercise, good food and good company and this holiday supplied it all. I thoroughly enjoyed it - the dramatic jagged mountain scenery, the (unseasonably over 30 degreees) hot and sunny October weather, delicious food and great company. This was a prefect antidote to the British Summer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


The food is too good - don't expect to lose weight.
I travelled in Autumn but the spent seedheads show this area's Spring flowers must be spectacular.

The cottages - village houses - are very clean, with comfortable beds and a constantly replenished fridge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


This is a family run concern (originally from England) with an obvious passion for their adopted country, the local village and the conservation of wildlife. Our young guide was very knowledgeable about the area and very good at encouraging me up those slopes. I don't speak Spanish (or Valencienne) but when I mentioned our guide's name to two locals I received a huge grin and nods in reply - so enough said I think.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


If you want to switch off, walk and really look at what's around you, learn more about Spanish history - from the Moors to Franco, then this is definitely for you.

Debbie King review 25 Apr 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The walks were excellent - very well chosen and organised, with beautiful scenery and views. Our guide, Jem, was very knowledgeable about the area and local flora and fauna and happy to answer all our questions. Brian and Pat were great hosts and the vegetarian food was fresh and delicious. Altogether, a lovely holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


An excellent experience with lovely walks and a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Many thanks!

Gail Bottomley review 18 Apr 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


It is hard to choose only one memorable part of the holiday. The scenery was stunning, the guide excellent, the birds, wildflowers and herbs were fantastic. In addition the hosts Brian and Pat were very welcoming, the accommodation was good and the food excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take a good camera as there are many wonderful sights.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The hamlet where Brian and Pat live is very small, so I think any business that they can bring to the area is good and I understand when they have large groups they employ local people to assist them. This has to be good in an area of Spain with high unemployment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Sarah Roberts review 13 Apr 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


First arrival at Quatrotenteda village and the scent of flowering almond trees filling the warm, clear mountain air.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Allow yourself to experience this old school walking holiday through a fascinating historical and diverse landscape. Jem, our guide was sensitive to groups' varied fitness levels allowing all to stretch out or take it as easy as they wished and very knowledgeable on birds, plants and other aspects of local ecology. Pat is an inspired cook and using all local ingredients and cuisine, she prepared subtle and delicious feasts for us every evening. These sociable and fun meals were complemented by Brian's extensive wine cellar! There is no shop in the village so take all you need unless you wish to make a local town visit, interesting but you could have been out on mountains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, Brian and Pat have raised their family within the ageing local community and created a new business in the village. They have made a long term commitment to the region fostering the most low impact form of tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Wonderful, planning to take family for a visit later in year.

Ann Finn review 21 Mar 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The most memorable was the walk in the three gorges, fantastic views, wonderful flora, great limestone features, caves and arches, tests your endurance but ultimately satisfying, plus plenty of time to check out the echo, it does work! The most exciting was probably the ascent of the hole of Africa, this is not obligatory but makes a great photo, even more exciting on the descent!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure you have a sun hat, no other tips really, a certain level of fitness is required but you might surprise yourself. If you use poles donít forget to bring them. I was kindly lent some by Pat!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The consumption of local food and wine contributes to the local economy and help sustains to some extent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent value for money, accommodation was excellent (cosy fire on return to your medieval cottage, accompanied by a nice cup of tea), the food was very good, the guide was knowledgeable and accommodating.

Judy Potts review 21 Mar 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The walking was very good and Jem our guide was excellent. He knew the mountains and paths really well and chose walks which gave us great variety and wonderful views. And exciting scrambly bits as well.

The food was amazing. Pat is a wonderful cook and every night she cooked lovely food from local ingredients. Brian is a very cheerful, welcoming host. He seemed to really care that we all had a good time. His wine cellar has great local wines.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


This is a great holiday for single people. Everyone is met at the airport or station. The accommodation in village houses is of a very good standard. Brian and Pat's cellar dining area and bar ensure convivial evenings.

The walking is interesting and varied and our guide ensured we had 6 full days of walking. There is very little to do in the village if you don't want to walk and very limited public transport.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


There was no shop in the village for us to spend money but I believe that Pat bought all the food locally and Brian bought all the wine locally. The accommodation is in sympathetically restored village houses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Wonderful. High quality in every way. Very good value for money.

Cathy Borrow review 22 Jan 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The beautiful January sunshine, t-shirt, shorts, good company, fantastic scenery, accommodation excellent, hosts warm and welcoming.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Hurry and book it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

Susie Lecomber review 25 Apr 20113 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Seeing the vultures - they looked beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure you take water-proofs - just in case.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was a stress-free, enjoyable holiday but the rain ruined a few of our days.

Bill Hutchings review 5 Apr 20105 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The holiday had a number of memorable features:
The quality and variety of the walks, with a high quality of the guide.
The food was delicious
The friendly welcoming atmosphere at the hotel

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?




3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Local produce was used in food preparation. It supports village economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent. A great trip I am very likely to repeat.

Kathryn Lambourn review 7 Dec 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


So much to choose from. The walks were really wonderful and some simply and literally breathtaking. I guess if forced to choose I know I will always remember the sight of griffin vultures wheeling around in the air currents just below us .And also going higher and further than I would have imagined I could, under the guidance of a wonderful leader Jem. And also eating a lot more than I had planned because Pat's food is just outstanding!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't be worried if you are not a very experienced walker, walks /pace/length and height will be adjusted and it is surprising as you gain confidence in a good leader, what you can do.

Also come ready to enjoy good company, wonderful food and wine, Brian's fantastic music collection, and a laugh around the table in the evenings!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Brian and Pat live in the village and are clearly part of the village community .They have a deep love and respect for the very beautiful surrounding area and are so knowledgeable. They are able to adjust planned walks from day to day to make the most of weather or conditions as they arise, so you do feel attuned to the nature around you and see a fantastic variety. And coming back to the food and wine again , it is all locally sourced and celebrates the local area's resources.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Absolutely excellent on all counts. I can't thank Brian and Pat enough for their care and kindness, especially when the air controller's strike extended our holiday with them by 3 days! I highly recommend it and will be going back myself!

GM review 14 Oct 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The actual hiking - the mountains were a complete revelation with a huge diversity of hikes. Also Jem, my guide, was perfect. I couldn't have asked for better. The accommodation - Its very well looked after and I had it to myself the food - Pat's cooking was to die for and very welcome after a hard day on the hills.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Book today!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, Quatretondeta is in the middle of nowhere and some of the hikes were directly from the village which was great. Any money I spent was in the village. On reflection, I would like to have bought some local products, but since there were no actual shops, I didn't think of this until I returned. I did buy some wine, but should have investigated almond/olive oil products etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent - I really enjoyed the week and there were absolutely no negatives. Pat & Brian run a tight ship and know their business, and it comes across with their clients. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this tour company to anyone, and also plan on returning with some of my hiking buddies.

Stewart Buchanan review 13 Apr 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


There wasn't just one memorable part to the holiday. It was a series of cleverly thought through walks which managed to do justice to the spectacular countryside and brought it to life for the participants.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Just the obvious ones. Be sure to take strong, comfortable boots, take a light camera as some of the shots are definitely worth capturing, and be prepared to be stunned with the standard of cooking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Food locally sourced, well embedded in the local community~ who actually shared the facilities, and we were not treated as interlopers by the village but welcomed positively. This requires a history of positive experiences with the walkers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent holiday and exceeded my expectations. The staff know what they are doing...Our group leader could not have been faulted and took our wishes fully into consideration; the terrain is spectacular; the hotel is clean, comfortable and very safe. The food is outstanding; worth going just for the evening meals!

Mercy Sharma review 6 Apr 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Being able challenge myself to the max as it was grade 3 and above walks. The group was good and jelled well. Pat's food was amazing , and my room with the view was excellent. Our guide Gem ,gem by name and Gem by nature and knew those mountains like the back of his palm. Brianís relaxed nature , and Tomís good manners put us all at ease. Good walking weather.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure you have a very good pair of waterproof walking boots, walking sticks. The village is very quiet and only one bar outside the hotel. As the walks are scheduled everyday, it would be better to take a day off in the middle and go to nearest town and the market, which I did and enjoyed . Do not compare it with another walking holiday you might have had.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Subodh Dave review 5 Apr 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The last dayís walk on the pinnacles was absolutely fantastic. I really enjoyed all the walks - and seeing the vultures on one of the walks was an added bonus. An additional but equally memorable element was the dinner on offer. The food was of exceptional quality and something to really look forward to in its own right.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Pack light - take only hand baggage. The usual tips of dressing in layers as it can get cold if windy and plenty of sunscreen needed as the sun can bear down (unlike in UK:)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


You can always visit the local bar..which is a direct way of creating additional business locally but Brian himself is well-liked in the village and is now an established local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Great holiday - wonderful week- made many friends and would most likely go again.

Ans Gorter review 10 May 20095 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


I couldn't possibly choose between all those good moments as the whole week was so fantastic. But most memorable to me were the flowers. I am a rather fanatic botanist and I got more than my share of new and exciting plants. There were too many for me to identify all of these in one week, so I'll just have to come back.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Just enjoy yourself. (Literally everything has been taken care off, you will feel really pampered and your only responsibility will be to decide what you will choose out off the fridge to bring with you for lunch.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. We ate local products, the personnel was mostly local, the hot water was provided by solar panels. And most of our transport was on foot!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


These people are all absolutely great professionals. Moreover, they made me feel very welcome. They did everything one could think off to make this an unforgettable stay. The walks were chosen in accordance to the wishes and capacities of the group members.

Patricia Turnbull review 10 Feb 20095 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


My wife and I have spent a wonderful and exciting week with Brain, Pat and their son Tom. Tom guided us on spectacular, grade 3 walks, in the mountains and valleys of this varied limestone scenery. Strenuous ascents followed by breathtaking ridge walks with panoramic views and then lovely mule tracks which descended slowly to interesting villages. Returning after a rewarding day to the excellent cooking of Pat using local ingredients and recipes complimented by Brain's choice of wine and music.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Ask your hosts to advise you on walking routes to suit your tastes and stamina. They have great knowledge and love of the area. The cottages are well equipped with lovely roof terraces.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The walks showed commitment to the local environment and the host's knowledge of the area was considerable. Most if not all food and wine was locally sourced. Local people are employed to help within the business. The restoration of their properties has been done by local craftmen and is in keeping with local design.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


An exceptional holiday with fantastic walking and wonderful local food.

Jill Sheppard review 5 Jan 20095 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The New Yearís Eve dinner and party was terrific with all the hotel guests, Spanish and non-Spanish joining in an evening of traditional and non-traditional fun. The roast suckling pig was superb, traditional grapes as midnight strikes and plenty of dancing afterwards. But undoubtedly the most memorable was the wonderful walking on varied terrain with great mountain scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Go there - it is great! Get fit beforehand if you can - although there are walks of different grades so you can find a level that suits you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


80% of water heating is by solar and most food etc is sourced locally. The hotel provides employment and economic activity in an area where many villages are being depopulated.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


First class.

Robin Ridley review 2 Nov 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The Whole thing! Had a really great time, excellent countryside and well lead walks, great accommodation and fabulous food and hospitality

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


None really trust Brain & Pat!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes indeed

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent

Sarah Scobie review 22 Oct 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The best times were definitely reaching the mountain peaks and the wonderful 360 degree views. The food in the hotel also must come high up the list of best bits!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


The most important thing must be well-fitting-well-broken-in footwear!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Wonderful holiday from start to finish. Meals were lovely - good choice for breakfast, packed lunch and delicious three course evening meal. Very clean and comfortable hotel - especially liked the fact they have three comfortable lounge areas... the addition of a log fire on one cool evening added to the cosy atmosphere. The knowledgeable guide set walks/routes based on group abilities and choice and allowed us to go at our own pace etc. Would definitely travel with this operator in future and have recommended it to friends already.

Bernadette Halpin review 30 Mar 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


It is impossible to choose between the challenging and often awe-inspiring days, and the superb gourmet dining of the evenings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure your boots are up to the relentless impact of broken limestone tracks.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


All of our food was grown and bought locally whenever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Everything about this holiday was excellent, and exceeded expectations. The walking was varied, the guide/s were knowledgeable and supportive, the food was simply wonderful, and my walking companions were friends by the end of the week.

Nicholas Ringwald review 16 Mar 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The fantastic views and ideal walking weather. Pat's cooking and knowledge of local cuisine and flavours was superb - my only complaint would be that on two or three of the nights I could have eaten a slightly larger portion on main course. Brian's selection of local wines was excellent and ideal with the classic cooking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


don't expect too much from Quatrotendata village - it is very small and only has one pub/cafe. there are no shopping facilities near by so bring all your gear you need for the week with you or hire a car !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was an ideal walking holiday for the time of year and to be able to book at such short notice was ideal for me. Again the views were spectacular and weather superb. Pat's cooking and knowledge of local cuisine and flavours was also superb.

Read the operator's response here:

Glad you enjoyed your experience. Itís a pity you didn't mention that you wanted more to eat at main courses as we could have done something about it at the time. The area in which we are based is an area which is suffering badly from depopulation and the failure of the local agriculture. Rural tourism is a very important part of the future of these small villages. It is correct that there are no shops in the village other than a pharmacy but the village is very well served on 6 days by travelling shops providing everything from bread, vegetables, meat and fish through to foot wear and furniture. The latter two admittedly only once a month.

Cath O'Leary review 9 Mar 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Walking through hail, thunder and lightning! The smell of wild rosemary, lavender and gorse. Craggy mountains with the sea in the distance.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring elasticated bandages and deep heat!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Memorable walks to places that I would never have found myself. The best ever veggie food. Good company - plenty of laughs and good conversation.

Liza Pullman review 4 Jan 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The awesome walks, fellow guests, hosts, the inn...the entire holiday was memorable!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Highly recommend as an active holiday - if you are looking for being in the mountains, walking/hiking daily, and enjoying the end of the day with a wonderful meal - you can not go wrong.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, the area in general is suffering and many beautiful orchards of olives, cherries, almonds, etc. are unable to thrive due to economic challenges. The inn provides an important means of employment for the community and the food incorporates all local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent. I would definitely return!

Karen Booth review 9 Mar 20093 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Stunning scenery, some great walking and lots of weather! The food was fabulous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Pack for ALL weathers and make sure you take everything with you that you need as there are no shops. Sturdy walking boots essential!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The tour operator is based in, and is part of a small mountain community. Currently economic conditions mean that their opportunities to employ local people are limited as it seemed to be a predominently family run business. We certainly felt that environmental impact was minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


A great fresh-air spring break and warm hospitality. I do hope this couple get their hotel back as I think the current set up of small groups sharing local houses, whilst a comfortable enough alternative, still is not the same as having a lovely room with a view/balcony in a hotel and does limit the opportunities to choose whether you want the company of others or not.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for the review. The benefit brought to local people is that we are entirely based in the community and are very much part of it. Our tax contribution to the village community is substantial and by far the largest source of income the village has. Due to the current economic circumstances we are not able to employ more people but we are still the only business in the village offering employment to local people. The bulk of our spending for provisions and maintenance is also within the local community. Taking a holiday here is very much helping to keep a village alive. I am not sure that a group guided walking holiday would have been any different in the hotel or the cottages, as it is a group holiday and the group take their meals together. Also the hotel was a small hotel based on a homely set up, so you would have still been very much in each others company. You certainly experienced some weather when you were here. It has been uninterrupted sunshine since you left. Thanks for your wishes on the hotel, but that is entirely in the hands of the irrational banking industry at this moment.

Amanda Berry review 5 Jan 20093 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Each day's walking provided a different aspect of the area with some tremendous far reaching views at summits enhanced quite dramatically by low level cloud at times. Cuisine at the hotel was excellent with good variety to suit all tastes. A very warm welcome by Brian and Pat at the hotel which is comfortable/clean and homely.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent venue to get away from it all.

Jenny Preece review 3 Jun 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


It was all memorable - fantastic walks, lovely people, great food and a beautiful hotel. (It was also pretty exciting to be on top of mountains in, variously, a hail & lightening storm, a Moorish castle on top of a pinnacle, up close with vultures, and balancing a narrow ridge with views to all of other mountains we'd climbed that week.)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


This is quite a treasure of a place 'get away from it all' - do what I did and leave your mobile phone charger at home! I'd also thoroughly recommend getting there by train. I had afternoons in Paris, Valencia and Barcelona as part of my holiday. Others in the group had afternoons stuck in airports.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. The hotel and its projects seemed to be an important part of the local economy and to make a significant contribution to appreciation and understanding of the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Elizabeth Seakins review 1 Jun 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Realising I could get to the top of the mountains!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't forget your waterproofs!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Fantastic.

Liam Stewart review 30 Mar 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Fantastic walks with a very well-run company. Very nice hotel with nice food and friendly management.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


There is no shop in the town. Make sure you bring whatever you need with you. Budget for day lunches (Ä8 per head).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Iain Wishart review 24 Mar 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Difficult to say really... I enjoyed every aspect of the holiday... the hotel and hospitality, the food and drink, the walks, the weather... but if I had to choose it would be the scenery and wildlife... vultures and golden eagles made my holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure your flights arrive and depart before 12 noon.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes... the hotel is a focal point of the village.

Georgina Self review 17 Mar 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Fantastic scenery. The hotel was superb. Was made very welcome.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take everything you might need with you as there is no shop in the village.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Local staff in hotel, local produce used so yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Brilliant. Hoping to go again next year!

Elizabeth Rees review 2 Jan 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Memorable good - spectacular scenery, good companionship, excellent round-the-table meals at the accommodation and all round hospitality.
Memorable bad - getting drenched on the first day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure you have suitable kit for rough walking, including waterproofs!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - the operator employs a number of locals and sources produce locally. Waste is recycled as far as possible. The hotel also welcomes locals to its bar and restaurant, in a village with few facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was excellent. The hotel was great, the group I was with very nice indeed, and the countryside simply superb.

Miranda Kronfli review 27 Nov 20075 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The stunning scenery. Delicious food every day, including the packed lunches.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Check with the hotel to see if other members of the group have booked individually (e.g. with responsible travel) or if the holiday places have been bought up by another tour operator, as some tour operators sell holidays aimed at a different demographic (e.g. older people).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - the hotel clearly played a very important and beneficial role in the local economy and the food seemed mainly to be sourced locally. The walks were all great, with no long car journeys.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Fantastic! The hotel staff were some of the friendliest I've come across, the tour guides were professional, capable and treated us all like friends while out on walks. The hotel was beautiful, homely, warm, clean and my room was lovely - with wooden panelled French doors which opened out onto a balcony with a beautiful view of the hills and village.

Barry Tooze review 24 Nov 20075 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Simple answer is every day - the walks are fantastic, the hotel was superb, food was so tasty, the bar was welcoming, warm and all the residents loved it! I could not fault it in anyway.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Enjoy it - it will be extremely hard not too! Also suggest you book for a different season as well (i.e. book two holidays - not only will the walks be different, but the flora and fauna will be too!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Travelling through the region you can see how the villages are becoming less and less populated - seeing what Bryan & Pat and all at the hotel have achieved is remarkable - a viable business in a region that is losing all it's youth to the big towns and cities. And the Solar Panels that warm the baths are most welcome after a long day in the mountains!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Superb, cannot be faulted in anyway. Will I go back? Definitely! Will I be telling my friends? I am doing so already. Definitely worth a visit or 4!

Carmel Barry review 21 May 20075 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Apart from the fantastic landscape and wildlife the whole holiday was so well organised and yet so relaxed it is something I will never forget. The food also, was superb.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


To be as fit as possible and get in some mountain walks before the holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes the area is very environmentally friendly and it would be a shame to have a negative impact on that, however the employment given by the Hotel and the emphasis on the environment throughout the holiday can only have a positive effect.

4. Any other comments?


From beginning to end, from the time Brian picked us up at the airport to the time that he left us back to the airport it was all such a pleasure and all of this has made us determined to do the same type of holiday again.

Michael Bushby review 31 Dec 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


High quality walking experience. Great being out each day, good variety.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


It can be chilly and wet, so be properly equipped.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. The business is helping to keep a small rural village alive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


A friendly, well-run hotel. Coped well with the loss of a guide. An interesting, unspoilt area, well worth a visit.

Emma Campbell review 3 Dec 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Walking along one of the highest ridges in the area, with unbelievable 360 degree views, in glorious sunshine, wearing shorts and a t-shirt - in November!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Definitely go for it - and keep your fingers crossed you end up with as nice a group of fellow walkers as I did. Probably a holiday for keen walkers only though, rather than people who want a mixture of activities, as there is not a lot else to do in the village.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. I'm told the business has enabled some families to stay in an area where there is very little local employment, rather than having to move away. Hotel has solar panels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent! The walking was fantastic, food and accommodation superb, and the staff and owners unfailingly friendly and helpful. I have already recommended it to two other people.

Lisa McGhee review 21 Nov 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Absorbing the beauty of the surrounding landscape and returning from a long days' walk to the peace and tranquillity of the village both stood out for me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


The walks on this holiday were graded level 3-4 and all walkers were of a similar fitness level and ability. This helped the week to go especially well. It is worth bearing this in mind, particularly for more seriously marketed events.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Superb - lots of fresh air, good company and great hospitality.

Clare Jackson review 20 Nov 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The fantastic sunshine and beautiful scenery. The walks were spectacular.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


There is no shop at all in the village or anywhere nearby, so bring everything you need with you!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - it has brought work to local people in the village.

Sue Thurston review 13 Nov 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The grade 3 walks and seeing a golden eagle.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't hesitate. Check your walking boots beforehand to make sure they're up to the job.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Lisa Birthistle review 31 Oct 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The magnificent and varied views which each day presented. Each day was unique and there was so much to see and appreciate. Also the hotel was wonderful with a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and excellent food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't hesitate - just book it immediately! Bring rain gear and lots of socks! Definitely bring a camera - there is a lot worth recording and I regretted not bringing mine. Ideally do some exercise to get in shape before going but if you're reasonably supple you'll get away with it (I did). Also I would recommend this for anyone travelling alone. The walks are guided and you have a ready made group to interact with, while still being able to choose quiet time on your own if you wish.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes on both counts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent. Well organised, welcoming and very enjoyable.

Christine Knights review 21 Oct 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Wonderful scenery, lovely walks, very good food. We were very well looked after and the hotel was lovely.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very enjoyable and lived up to our expectations.

Steve Procter review 30 Sep 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The views from the tops of the mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Ensure you are fit beforehand. Then you can take advantage of the excellent Grade 3 walking

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - the hotel tended to use local suppliers for food etc and the owner was clearly involved in the local communities and a great advocate for the area

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good - great views, great people, great walking and great food... everything I wanted.

Susanna McKnight review 7 Oct 20064 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


With the help of the guides, walking at higher altitude and for longer than I have done for many years.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Think about your boots; are they suitable for heat? I went in September, temperatures were high.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, one of the guides was local, hotel staff were local and local specialist produce such as honey and olive oil, was available to buy. The local culture and history were also explained.

4. Any other comments?


The holiday was excellent, the hotel very comfortable, the food very good and the owners very warm, thoughtful and informed. The guided walks were well thought out and catered very well for a variety of experience and fitness. I would certainly go again.

Pirkko-Leena Koponen review 8 Apr 20064 star rating

We were a group of 24 seniors and two younger people. I was the tour leader. We enjoyed our week very much. The accommodation is really a good place to stay. The rooms are beautiful and tidy, most have terraces and all have coffee making facilities in the rooms. It was so comfortable. The dining room is very nice with a lovely view. The meals were very good too. And Brian and Pat Fagg are so friendly and nice. They served us very well, and so did the other too. But the local staff didn't speak English and only 2 -3 of us could speak Spanish, so we could not talk with them.

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Itīs difficult to say, what was the most memorable part of our week, all days were so good. Our walks were fantastic. Some of the group are good walkers, and they enjoyed every moment. Some others were not as strong, and so Brian had extra work to arrange some special walking programs for them. He didn't complain about that. It was very interesting to see so many kinds of nature, for all the walks were in different kind places. History of Moors was very interesting too. Our tours abroad are educational, and the group got much information already before this tour. So all the days were very interesting and memorable. It was also memorable to visit Concentaina town market and museum and later go round our own village Quatretondeta with Brian. He is a very good guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


We didn't know that there is so many loose stones on the path, and one must be careful and good shoes are essential. But this may be not anything new for most of the people who plan to go there.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


According to what we read about the idea of this hotel, it is a big thing for this countryside and the village, that this hotel is there. They give work for people, they take good care of the surroundings and minimize the impacts to the environment.

4. Any other comments?


At least **** and +. Many in the group might say 5 stars, but many of them have travelled so very much and had many other lovely tours too. It was a lovely week, thank you!

Mandy Barner review 25 Feb 20064 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


I would have to say that the most memorable part of my holiday was climbing to the top of an old Moorish castle and looking out over the countryside with the almond trees just beginning to flower. All of our walks took us to a different region of the Alicante province so it is hard to say which is my favourite! Another favourite part was returning every night to a fabulous hotel (recently doubled in size and quite tastefully done) and having a wonderful meal with Spanish wines every night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


If you are booking independently and coming from a country outside of Britain, the flights don't match up very well with the transport provided but you can always go in to Valencia and explore the city. We didn't have the chance to get there during the week so it was nice to have the chance to see it before. Also, remember that lunches are not included but they do provide a packed lunch for an extra fee. They're quite filling but if you like to snack on the walks, bring your own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Our hotel employed a number of locals from the surrounding towns, giving them employment in an area that doesn't have a lot to offer in the way of jobs. As for environmental impact, I was at first concerned by all of the plastic sacks we used for lunches and such but they have a program in place where those can be sent away for recycling. And as hikers, we didn't leave any traces of our passing other than footsteps so impact was minimal.

4. Any other comments?


This holiday is a wonderful getaway for those seeking relaxation and exercise at the same time. I found the walks to be perfect for getting us out and moving but not for killing our muscles (or ourselves!) with tons of mountains. Quatrotondeta is a wonderful and quiet little mountain village and perfect for observing Spanish life. The hotel, twice as big as before, is beautiful (especially loved the terrace looking out over the village and hills at sunset) and the food provided is delicious. I give my holiday four stars ****. Thanks for a great time!

Frances Wright review 11 Jan 20064 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Very well informed and interesting guide, excellent food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


In December / January it's hot in the sun but the wind can be cold so don't leave all your warm clothes at home.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - as much as is possible ignoring the impact of getting there in the first place!

4. Any other comments?


I'd recommend it to anyone.

Dianne Page review 10 Dec 20054 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The most memorable part of my holiday was the walk on the third day when we walked up to see the griffin vultures. The spectacle of the birds soaring and riding the thermals against the backdrop of the mountains and the city below was mesmerising.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Other tips - The food is very good with local specialities on the menu and the rooms are comfortable so recommended if you like your creature comforts after a day out in the hills. The village is very small so if you forget to pack items you need, it would be wise to get them at the airport or in your arrival city.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


I think the hotel itself has helped to reinvigorate the village, buying local produce including wine and using local construction companies. They are also hoping to open a shop I believe. The hotel owners are planning to incorporate renewable energy into the hotel extension. As walkers we are conscious of erosion issues, not picking flowers and fruit and although we used transport to and from our walks, the fact that it was a group mini bus minimised the impact on the environment.

4. Any other comments?


I have recommended it to friends already. Not sure about the grand children bit though.

Dave Hopkins review 1 Oct 20054 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The whole week was memorable. The setting is fantastic, the walks were long but very good, the food every night was excellent, and the hotel and staff was very nice and welcoming.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Apart from saying a big yes to anyone thinking of going, just be aware that unlike some holidays it is walking every day so you need to be reasonably fit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


As far as possible I think so since it is a very small village and I assume all produce is local.

4. Any other comments?


Almost reborn...definitely in the top 3 holidays ever and we will be returning.

Julia Arden review 18 Jun 20054 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Discovering this part of Spain, its wonderful scenery, complete absence of other tourists, stunning wildlife (golden eagles, falcons, nightingales etc.), huge range of aromatic herbs and flowers covering the landscape, challenging walks in good company, and retiring in the evening to delicious meals and excellent local wines. Brian and Pat have the perfect package for walkers of all levels.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't bring too many clothes! A couple of walking outfits, comfortable boots and one or two other casual things for evenings. Binoculars are useful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, most of the staff are from the local villages, food and wine are sourced locally, and rubbish is recycled. Because there are several hundred walks in the area, not one path gets eroded. In any case the tracks and paths are well maintained for walkers.

Sherrie Thorley review 26 Mar 20054 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The fresh air, scenery and exercise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


You need to have some walking experience for grade 3, some of the walks are vertigoes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, local people are employed, local produce is used. The business benefits the local village.

Kik Pang review 7 May 20053 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Stunning scenery & locations, challenge & variations of the walks, warm hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Find out what the lunch options are, and whether there is a local shop.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust responsibletravel.com reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

5 stars
I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
4 stars
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
3 stars
Very enjoyable
2 stars
It was OK
1 star
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies