76 independent reviews for Beach holiday in Cirali, Turkey4 star rating

These full and frank independent reviews are from travellers who have booked directly through responsibletravel.com. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travellers below.

Su Winsbury review 23 Jul 20145 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Bellerophon is a little piece of heaven. It is incredibly calm and tranquil, the hospitality and food is divine and it is an idyllic place to just switch off.
With two teenage sons, we normally go for very active holidays so this was a complete change for us ...and it worked. There is enough to see and do locally to keep everyone happy. The Patisserie on the way into the village is well worth a visit!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Be prepared to completely relax! It's been said in other reviews but you really need to take very little. The hotel provides beach towels, we didn't need any mosquito repellent (such a bonus!) and beach shoes are very handy as the sand is too hot to walk on and the last stretch into the sea is quite stoney.
Having climbed the Chimaera in flip flops and trainers, it was much easier in trainers. Get up and watch the sun rise, it's truly beautiful (around 5.50-6am at the end of July).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It's a very special place and we had a fabulous holiday - it will be hard to beat.

Olga Coulton-Shaw review 14 Jul 20145 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The people at the hotel, the peace and solitude of the place, nature

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


To go on the boat trips around the area, the places like Myra were amazing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Definitely, just the fact that we moved around on bikes made us feel good about
the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Exceptional, unforgettable.

Kathryn Spalding review 13 May 20145 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Impossible to choose one, the whole holiday was certainly memorable, relaxing and interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


If you're looking for somewhere to relax, good food, wonderful people, as little or as much to do and see as you like then book now!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Definitely. The hotel is a family run, local hotel. They employ local people and source their produce locally also. They specifically ask their guests to respect the local area, minimise waste and consider the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Probably one of the best holidays we have ever had. 10 out of 10. I would go back a thousand times and highly recommend. We felt it was huge value for money, an entirely pleasant experience. We felt so welcome and well looked after but at the same time were given the space to enjoy some much needed rest time together and explore the culture and local areas. The holiday really was everything we dreamed of.

Rob Dimery review 2 Jul 20143 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


So many: taking boat trips around the coast. Snorkelling in the sea. Visiting the Chimaera, an area of mountainside nearby where natural gas creates flames that shoot out of the rock. Just lounging around on the beach reading was hugely enjoyable! And the food at the Bellepheron Hotel (we had breakfast and dinner there every day) was great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


If you don't have a car booked, make sure you take out Turkish lira before you travel. Cirali is a small village and has no cashpoint (or post box, or public phones), and you'll have a long walk to get to the next town with one.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Areas where turtles have laid their eggs have been cordoned off. Plus, there are limits on building in the area, so looking back from the sea you would have no idea that there is are shops and hotels on the other side of the beach. My one grip is that there was occasional pollution on the beach. My wife and I spent a while picking plastic bags, cups, water bottles and general rubbish from the sea before we swam. Other people were doing the same too. A pity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good for food and weather. Hotel had very friendly staff but was a bit overpriced for what we had Ė accommodation was OK but nothing special. And it was a shame about the bits of rubbish that washed up on the beach.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for the feedback. It is always appreciated.

Some notes;
It is a pity about the rubbish you experienced on the beach, and it is not characteristic of Cirali where for much of the year the beach is spotless, totally clean of rubbish and pretty well maintained. At some times of the year rubbish is brought in by sea currents, I have personally seen foreign labelled packaging washing in from as far as North Africa, Cyprus and other parts of the country. Sometimes rubbish falls into the sea from pleasure boats passing from larger resorts such as Antalya or Kemer, plastic bags and cups fall into the sea, blown off the boats by wind. It is a real pity, especially the plastic bags which turtles could mistake to be jellyfish, a source of food for them, and try to eat.

Cirali locals do not throw rubbish into the sea, and many of the hotels in Cirali do actually attempt to keep the beach clean, as I say, for most of the year it is spotless! Then there are local tourists who are not as careful perhaps about their rubbish being blown into the sea despite the signs at the far end of the beach to keep the beach tidy.

Bins on the beach have been tried in the past, however in the hight of summer, and due to the local authorities not collecting refuse regularly enough, these attract insects, cause smells and are generally unattractive. So guests who collect rubbish from the beach do indeed need to use hotel bins.

Amy Coleman review 24 Oct 20135 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Just the rest and relaxation was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Get your money at the atm airport. The food is amazing at the Bellefron hotel. No need to go elsewhere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Edward Parker review 28 Jul 20135 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Too many memorable things to type into one box! Cirali is a beautiful area - breathtaking mountains surrounding the crystal clear water and pebble beach. I highly recommend rising one morning at dawn and heading to the beach to watch the loggerhead turtles hatching - an unforgettable experience and definitely worth an early start. The ruins of Olympos at the end of the the beach are also worth exploring - crumbling but beautiful. One of our favourite activities though, was climbing up to see the Chimaera (Yanartas) - an amazing natural phenomenon of fire seeping out of the mountain side. Quite magical!
The food was amazing too - varied and you certainly don't go hungry. You can eat whenever you want, and try out some of the local delicacies. I simply cannot pick 'one memorable part'!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take with you comfortable shoes suitable for walking (trainers or similar) as much of the area is quite rough and rocky - especially the Chimaera. A torch is a necessity also! The beach is also pebbled and gets very hot on the sand, so is hard on the soles; some decent beach shoes are recommended.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes. Everything at the hotel was locally sourced and the staff were very attentive to the environment and the areas surrounding the hotel. Their knowledge of the local areas and conservation was extensive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Absolutely brilliant. A perfect blend of rustic and luxury in a beautiful part of the world. Perfect for escaping everyday life, while offering plenty to do and explore at the same time.

Nic Tudge review 2 Jul 20135 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Fantastic welcome and marvellous service in magical surroundings. Food absolutely excellent, and lots of it. Chimera is fascinating; visited twice in spite of the incredibly hot walk up the hill. Not to be missed. Alper is a delightful host - nothing too much trouble and always a good source of information as well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Diet for a month in advance. Don't bring any formal clothes.. Bring decent walking shoes and a head torch for Chimera. Beach shoes essential to cross the pebbles, but sea delicious once in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


The whole set up is fairly low impact, with low visitor density. Undoubtedly helps the local economy with local produce on the table.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent; best holiday in years.

Bess Hills review 24 Jun 20135 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


We hired a car and took it to Phesalis where we wandered around the ruins and went snorkelling (not much to see but beautiful clear, calm and warm water), we then drove up to the cable car base camp to go up mount Olympos- stunning views and a spectacular ride.
Really though, the over all memorable moment was lots of moments just chilling out at the Turkish style cushioned area under the trees, smelling the heavenly scents that the garden gave off (not to mention the food) and going for a swims in the crystal clear water.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Just do it. If you want to relax this is the place to do it.
If you need help ask the staff- the waiter Alper who was there had good English and was happy to help with anything. If you want your room cleaned ask-otherwise they will do it every other day. For anything, just ask!
You might want to bring a sheet (we removed the duvet and just used the cover).
Bring a decent torch so you can visit the chimera at night (the road there is lit, but sparsely, the path up is not lit at all), (if you forget most of the local shops sell them).
Wear flipflops or similar down to the water as the stones are uncomfortable and hot.
Bring lots of reading material (or borrow from the library in reception)
Whilst there is not a real mosquito problem (the whole area has something that flies over and zaps them), there are a few so wear sleeves at night and if you are particularly tasty to them use a deterrent (they sell various in the local shops).

Take Valium for your journey home, Antalya airport is a massive invasion of the senses after a fortnight in Áirali-and not a good one!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes, definitely. Local produce was used at all times, all the staff were local(ish), the lighting was dim and did not light up the beach
to interfere with the turtles. It was extremely quiet.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Five stars brilliant.

Steve Bicknell review 23 Oct 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Visiting the Chimera, ascending the headland and exploring Olympos at sunrise. This was to avoid the heat of the day. But then relaxing on the beach for the rest of the day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


There is a small shop / cafe across the road behind the property that does good simple lunches, the homemade guzleme (pancake) are great. All whilst sat under the shade of the trees an a raised divan.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


The people were all local and most of the produce was sourced locally. The beach being a nesting site for turtles ensures there is not too much development.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent. Completely relaxing from start to finish.

Elizabeth Croft review 5 Oct 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Being without any luggage for 4 days as Easyjet lost it! Staff really helpful in contacting the airport lost luggage department and picked up for me when they were collecting other guests.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Donít arrive too late as there is no reception.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Not aware of it except on your website.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Delightful, tho at the time the chef had left but all the staff helped out.The owner took a fairly low key approach and did not apologies as such to guests. By the end of the week there was a new chef and food improved.

Read the operator's response here:

3. This accommodation is at the forefront of the struggle to protect Cirali from over development, playing an active roll in local community meetings where it pushes to keep the area clean, free of noise and light pollution.

The reviewer may have noticed that the accommodation consists of single storey, wooden chalets, often made of recycled wood. There is a minimal use of concrete and the entire resort is hidden amidst lush gardens to reduce to a minimum any visual impact on the environment.

4. This was an unfortunate episode. For personal reasons, the chef had to leave the resort at short notice. We apologise for this but it was beyond our control. As the reviewer states, the staff did help out and within a couple of day a new chef had been appointed.

Victoria Clague review 23 Aug 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The wildlife - seeing baby turtles hatching as the sun was coming up - our resident octopus in its hole just near the beach, tortoises mating and my children loving the cats and playing with them.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


It is a relaxing spot but probably worth hiring a car so that you can be flexible with what you do rather than doing organized trips.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes I did feel it was beneficial to the Turkish team at Cirali and pretty low impact on the environment. Very little waste and built around nature. Although there were lots of other resorts there were not to eco - just up the road.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very relaxing, fun and enjoyable. Lovely staff at Cirali and some wonderful memories.

Richard Stainer review 21 Aug 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Seeing the young turtles make their way to the sea

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


The area is more developed for tourism than the website indicates. Still peaceful and uncrowded, but definitely busy in August.
Some noise from beat boxes in cars and on passing ships - short lived, but intense! It was VERY hot. Hiring a car would be a good
idea if staying for two weeks, just to explore the local area - cycling not really an option in the heat with the steep hills!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Certainly benefited locals in terms of employment. The hotel supported the turtle conservation on the beach, so yes, some positive impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good. The Bellarfron Hotel is very good, with excellent food and delightful people. The accommodation was first rate.

Maeve Macavock review 23 Jul 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The glorious breakfasts and animals

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring a sink plug

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes indeed, shopping in the local shops etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Wonderful, really enjoyed it and would certainly return and recommend

Sue Humphrey review 20 Jun 20134 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


We were met at Antalya airport by a charming driver, who had about as much English as we had Turkish...not a lot! But this didn't matter as we were whisked through the night to our destination of Cirili.
On arrival he insisted on taking all our luggage to the the Chalet, a short walk through exotic smelling shrubs with gentle path lighting. Awaiting us in the mini bar were some icy cold beers which we fell on with glee & drank on the verandah. Hot & sticky from the journey? Not any more!
We were in heaven & looked forward to what the morning light would reveal in this oasis of calm.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take far fewer clothes than you'd think you may need...even footwear is optional!
If morning tea is your thing take some tea bags with you, unless you like the ubiquitous Liptons ! We soon abandoned our supply in favour of the delicious Turkish apple tea
Pebbles on beach are smooth but if running with abandon into the sea is a must take some jelly shoes or similar.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


The local people most definitely benefited as so much of the scrumptious food is produced locally.
Cirili beach is home to the egg laying turtles each year who use moonlight to guide them to this beach. Therefore, no high-rise buildings, street lights, loud PA systems & (big plus from us) no vendors hassling to sell their trinkets etc.
Knowing that some of the cost of our holiday goes to support conservation officers is great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Without doubt the best holiday for years...food, people, accommodation, cleanliness, clear blue sea, atmosphere & calm.

Simon Paine review 10 Aug 20125 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Evening meals in the restaurant in total silence apart from the sound of the sea gently lapping against the beach. Wandering through the ruins of Olympus.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Be prepared for a lot of heat. Make sure you do all the recommended visits and excursions. Go to lots of different bars and restaurants. There are many good ones as well as the Bellerofon which is excellent. It is worth having Euros with you as some things (eg Excursions) are cheaper. You don't need a huge amount of money as most meals were between 55tl and 70tl for two people. We read that sterling was accepted but we found nowhere that accepted it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


By spending money including buying gifts we supported the local economy. I am not sure how environmental impact was reduced as we did have to use taxis' a couple of times. Certainly the style of hotel had a low environmental impact, but the area is very developed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was exactly what we wanted. It was completely relaxing. Everyone we met from the area in bars and restaurants was friendly and welcoming. All the staff at Bellerofon were brilliant and knew exactly how to ensure you stayed relaxed. The food there was excellent. Many of the restaurants we went to (all of which were really good value) served wonderful food. We would most definitely like to come back.

Jayne Ellis review 30 Oct 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Sitting under the stars (fabulous Milky Way) eating our evening meal on the beach with the tables placed round a bonfire. Good food, good company, a bottle of wine, bliss!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Read the description of the holiday accommodation - it is what it says, very relaxing, cats, chickens, chicks and tortoises wandering around the grounds. Take a plug for the wash basin and don't expect hot water in the morning and just chill.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


We shopped locally, the vegetables and fruit seemed to be locally produced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


The holiday was lovely, if we returned it would be a month earlier (September) as in October the weather can be changeable. The first 9 days were hot and sunny and then we had 2 days of rain, thunder and lightning, which was exciting at times and then we just got wet. Luckily we took our walking boots and jackets so that we could still get out and take advantage of the walks in the area.

Sue Dinham review 27 Sep 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Fantastic location and views and wonderful hospitality from local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring flip flops as the shingle at the shore is a bit hard on the feet. Bring a torch for dark walks back from town. Check out the Kaptans cafe and bar. A huge welcome and friendly hosts made it a home from home for us.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Truly memorable. The stress just fell off. Well organised with minimal problems getting there and back.

Jan Pullen review 31 Jul 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The lovely villa set in fabulous gardens with views out over the sparkling sea to the islands and to Kas. The friendly people and the great food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure that you have a car to get about the place as the setting for the villa is wonderful, but it's a bit of a hike without transport. It was a good idea to be driven to and from the airport, which takes the stress out of finding one's way in the dark on tricky roads.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Kas is very much a holiday destination so the number of tourists must bring financial benefits. The town, the pebble beaches and the sea were all very clean and rubbish free.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Everything was very well organised for us before and during the holiday.

Pat Reid review 2 Jul 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The entire holiday was memorable - the most exciting part was seeing the
Chimaera, we cycled there from the hotel one evening to see the 'burning rocks'
- quite a climb to get there in the heat but well worth it. In the UK there
would be so much attention to health and safety that it would detract from the
experience but it was possible to wander up the rocks and see the flames
emerging from crevices, it is quite a spectacle. Seeing a turtle on the beach
on our last morning was also exciting and rather unusual. They do lay their
eggs on the beach at this time of the year but usually at night but this one
tried to do it early one morning - she failed. I think it was just too hot to
struggle up the beach, after a 20minute effort she returned to the water and
disappeared.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Come prepared for a very relaxing and chilled experience. We did very little and
had a lovely time enjoying the wonderful food prepared for us, relaxing on the
beach and swimming - what more could you want? I took quite a few books and read them all.


3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


I could not comment really except to say that all the staff at the Bellerofon
were local except one man who was from Kazakhstan visiting over the summer. We
hired the car from a local company so I suppose the answer is 'yes' to the first
part of the question. The area seems very aware of its impact on the environment
and appears to work hard to support the turtles that return to the beach each
year to lay their eggs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We would rate it very highly - the staff worked very hard to make our holiday
special. The breakfasts were amazing and we ate plenty of lovely fresh fish
which was available every day. The proximity of the beach made it so easy and
relaxing that we rarely felt the need to go anywhere else. One day we hired a
car through the hotel and visited Phaselis which was well worth it if you are
interested in the history of the region.

Hannah Bevis review 14 Jun 20124 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


It was all fantastic: completely relaxing and just what we needed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring mosquito coils etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes, I hope it benefitted local people. It did not feel like it had a high environmental impact, but the amount of plastic
bottled water we drank did make me think.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


This really was a fantastic break for us.

Read the operator's response here:

Indeed plastic bottle use in Turkey is an issue. The problem is that tap water in Turkey is not really good for drinking.

However, in Cirali, the tap water can be drunk, but as it is not tested to European standards, we do not advise our European clients to drink it.

Lizzie Hopthrow review 23 Jun 20115 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Staying in a beautiful place and being looked after so well. Local sites of interest were great

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Hire a car from airport for week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Outstanding - would like to take the whole family next time.

Sze Hunter review 12 Dec 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


We thought the service was excellent. We loved the laid back attitude, breakfast whenever and wherever we wanted (on porch, in the restaurant, in the garden or the beach). On a few evenings we had dinner on the beach with a fire underneath the beautiful starry sky which we thought was quite special (esp since we were the only people around). Enjoyed walking to Olympus and day trip to Myra and sailing. The Chimera was good to see too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


As mentioned, it's a very laid back place...come here if you want to relax and take things slowly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes we went on tours ran by locals and to my knowledge most establishment are privately owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We (mid thirties married couple with 5 yr old) had an excellent holiday. We loved the beach with its clear and clean waters, the fruit trees growing throughout the village, the mountain back drop, and the ducks and chickens charging around. We didn't...but saw lots of rambling groups and yoga groups.

Steve Bicknell review 31 Aug 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Getting up to see the sunrise and finding new hatched Loggerhead turtle making its way to the sea. Cirali is a great place to stay and the Hotel Bellerophon was relaxed and just what we needed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't take too much stuff. You won't need half of it. Get out and explore the area. There is so much to see within a few miles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


I do not know clearly how it helped local people. However the produce was always fresh and is thought to come from the vicinity. The area not having big hotels minimizes the impact.

Having been in SW Turkey about 20 years ago it was interesting to see the amount of development from Antalya along the road towards Cirali.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was a great break. A good combination of relaxation and filling my need to go and explore.

Marion Cowan review 26 Aug 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Relaxing by the beach and the beautiful clean sea on the Turquoise Coast. Eating at the tables overlooking the beach for breakfast and dinner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Check whether the turtles are laying their eggs (June) or hatching. We went in
August and saw the baby turtles hatching and making their way to the sea at 6am
in the morning as the sun rose. Looked on and protected by the by WWF wardens.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


We spent our time - 11 days - in the area of Cirali Beach and everything was
focused on the benefit of the local people and environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very relaxing, very enjoyable. Lovely people.

Robert Albery review 25 Aug 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The boat trip down the coast, as recommended by the resort owner. Being picked up from the beach adjacent to the resort was a bonus.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


This is a quiet place! Don't expect activities for kids other than the beach. We hired a car for a couple of days to get out and explore the local area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The resort was locally owned and run, and the potential impact on nesting turtles on the beach was recognised.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


For a relaxing week in a beautiful location it was wonderful.

Neil Horne review 2 Aug 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Watching turtle hatchlings make their way to the sea from their nests at dawn. Also walking up to the flaming Chimaera at night. Eating under the fig trees and vines looking out to sea and enjoying the breeze.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


No need to take books - good choice available there. Food excellent in the hotel itself - no need to go elsewhere. Learn a few words/phrases in Turkish - much appreciated by staff. Take torch for walk up to Chimaera at night.

Get up at dawn one day to see the turtle hatchlings make way to sea. (July/August) If planning to walk, take strong footwear and go when less hot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Local people employed at the hotel. Local produce used. Local taxi services. No wastage of energy. Company contributes to turtle conservation and protection.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent for total relaxation, peace and swimming. Cicadas were the loudest noise all week.

Sara Pouri review 25 Jul 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


We arrived in the middle of the night after a long day of travelling, and were greeted with a wonderful 3 course meal. We could just about make out our surroundings by candlelight, and the moonlight over the ocean, but it wasn't until morning that we realised how stunning the location was - cute little huts set in a garden of pomegranate and olive
trees, ducks, chickens (with their day old chicks!) and a short walk along the path to a beach that felt like it was our own. Amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take an evening out to climb Mt. Olympos (wear trainers!) to Chimaera - known as the burning stone. Natural gas comes out of the earth and combusts into flames for a truly amazing spectacle. Go at dusk and take a bottle of wine! Also no need to pack books as there is a little library.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - all of the produce was locally sourced, and the endangered turtles who laid their eggs on the beach were well protected.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Fantastic. From the food to the location to the way we were looked after, everything was exactly what we wished for.

Henriqueta Furtado review 18 Jul 20114 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


I would say the most memorable was waking up the next morning (we arrived at the hotel at 2 am and where very tired) and seeing the location and breakfast area just next to the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Considering that I went in July walking around under the sun not a nice prospect. The surrounding and nearby visit options are not very varied or spectacular (lycian ruins) so be prepared for very restful holiday.

Most of our visits where made at the end of the day.


3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The type of holiday benefits the local people since there are no international chains. Everything is local. Regarding the impacts on the environment, I notice the water heating system is solar but anything else I cannot judge. The cabins we where in are not prepared with isolation so it was necessary to use the air conditioning quite a bit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


The location of the hotel and the environment was nice and children friendly. Food was good and staff very friendly. And I would recommend the place to anybody wanting to recharge their batteries.

Dale Robertson review 1 Dec 20113 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Meals on the patio right next to the beach, or else actually on the beach itself; the mountain backdrop also came as a beautiful surprise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Go ahead! Do bring warm clothes for October though, as although the sun is strong the air can be cool and the evenings could be quite cold.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. This holiday was very comfortable and felt somewhat luxurious whilst still being simple and not involving excessive consumption.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very pleasant, simple and enjoyable holiday. Low-key, gentle and undemanding. We unwound and came back home feeling relaxed and refreshed.

Simon Warner review 26 Oct 20105 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The food was excellent, especially when served on the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


There's a lot written about the noise of the cockerels and the wasps etc. If you are a light sleeper, it can be annoying, but just bring some earplugs and you'll be fine (I was). And as for the wasps, just cover up the food with the napkins on the table, job done! Don't worry about bringing too many books, there's a very good selection there. Definitely go to Olympos ruins and take the bikes out for a pedal, just give them a good check over first..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes

Graham Brown review 11 Oct 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The beach location and peace and quiet were just what we needed. No crowds, no fighting for sunbeds, just calm and lovely food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Do take time to wander down the beach to the Olympos ruins - well worth a visit. And do go on a boat trip - we saw turtles swimming around our boat which was fantastic. Don't come here if you are looking for lively nightlife, but it is perfect for relaxing. Don't eat too much during the day! The evening meals are lovely and enormous! There is a little shop just opposite the hotel which sells every thing you need - including nice ice creams!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Staff were all local - when we went on our boat trip, we were te only non-Turkish people there as it's not really attracting that many 'outsiders'. Impact was minimised due to the low key approach. Many people were camping there, and the hotels are all very small.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Fantastic.

Nicola Wadland review 6 Oct 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Relaxing in the peaceful surroundings and watching the turtles hatching and making their way to the sea on our last day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Just to use your website - which I already have!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Wonderful and very relaxing - we will definitely go back.

Steve Cragg review 22 Sep 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The general ambiance of the accommodation, a grown up backpackers retreat, with great food and genuine hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Explore the area, there is a lot more than there initially seems.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


It was clearly a locally run and operated family concern.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very relaxing, definitely somewhere to return.

Barbara Grinsted review 16 Sep 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The peace and tranquility. The calm and efficient staff who served us with delicious food, as soon as you sat down at a table the waiter came and either presented us with iced orange juice at breakfast, or iced water at dinner, followed by a vast array of breakfast or a 5 course dinner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Expect peace and relaxation not luxury. Accommodation has everything you need but is not luxurious. No choice in dinner menu, a relief for me not to have to choose, but others may not feel the same if they have serious likes and dislikes - vegetarians however were catered for with no problem.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, we ate local food and wine. Tipped local people. Donation from holiday cost went to helping to preserve the turtles which laid eggs on the beach. No music, TV, watersports or bright lighting to disturb wildlife.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent. A complete change from our normal life, no TV, telephone, music, traffic noise. Hot weather, glorious beach with fabulous Roman ruins, lovely food and charming, polite, low key people.

Laura Moss review 21 Jun 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The most memorable part of my holiday was sitting under the beach gazebo at the edge of the property, just after breakfast one day - just soaking up the tranquillity with a very cute little kitten fast asleep on my lap. It was all extremely beautiful and just the relaxation I needed. The most exciting part was discovering one morning that a turtle had laid its eggs overnight - we got to the beach early enough to see its tracks in the sand...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure you explore Olympus - it is over a large area so you could spend a day there easily and also a must-see is the Chimera. We cycled along there at 11 at night which I was worried about at first as I wasn't sure what to expect - but I felt very safe and there were hardly any cars on the road either. One thing NOT to do - don't do the locally booked tours without checking exactly what you're letting yourself in for. We had a hideous experience with a coach load of Russian tourists who broke out in fights on the coach. You could either hire a car and do it yourself, or ensure you know the EXACT itinerary before you go - avoid the mass-market tours - they interfere with the tranquillity of your stay in this beautiful place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, our part of the beach was kept very nicely and everyone was very respectful of the turtle cages.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was a lovely restful time. The only downside for me is that I suffer from some food allergies and intolerances and the staff had not been as thorough as I'd have liked with checking what was in the food they were serving me. This was mainly to do with the fact I didn't speak Turkish and most of them had limited English. On the last day they realised that one of the foods I couldn't eat was present in the rice they'd been serving during the week. As luck would have it, it was only a trace amount and it didn't do any lasting damage (but did explain some odd symptoms I'd experienced)

It wouldn't stop me returning though, I would just ensure that I had my requirements pre-translated for me next time, and I'd probably learn some more Turkish too. (I would definitely advise for a pre-translation fact sheet this for anyone suffering from critical allergies, giving as much detail as possible as to which foods could contain the allergen)

Karen Vost review 31 May 20104 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Seeing a giant tutle on the beach and being so close to nature.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Travel light, little is more.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, I felt a good balance was maintained.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Nine out of ten.

Madelaine Chapman review 17 Jul 20095 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


We loved visiting the Chimaera at dusk. It was really atmospheric and well worth the climb. I would also recommend the trip to the sunken city. It was a real treat to swim off the boat in the clear water and have a Turkish meal freshly cooked on board. The whole holiday was really relaxing. The food was delicious and Jon, our host, very professional and welcoming. I enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel, especially the beautiful flowers in the garden.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


I would recommend taking some mosquito spray as we got a few bites. Be prepared for the noise of the chickens - perhaps bring ear plugs if you think these will keep you awake!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


I felt that the hotel was run by local people and therefore benefited them. There seemed to be minimal impact on the beach at our end.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Fantastic!!! Would recommend it if you need to thoroughly relax.

Susannah Quinsee review 23 Sep 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Fantastic view of the beach from the terrace where we ate breakfast and dinner. Very chilled out hotel with amazing beach. Very friendly hotel staff and people in the village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't expect luxury but the chalets are great for beach holidays - low key, relaxed and everything you need. Great holiday for families with young children and couples. Cirali is a lovely, quiet place and you relax very fast.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. Did feel that we having minimum impact. Only slight concern was amount of plastic bottles for water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Brilliant, we will go back!

Angela Lazenbury review 21 Sep 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Arriving at the hotel in the dark meant we had a wonderful surprise when we woke to find inviting breakfast tables set out beach side and the wonderful vistas along Olympos Beach. The setting is exceptionally romantic. Be sure to take in Olympos Ruins and the Chimeara - both within walking distance.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


The facilities at the hotel are basic but functional - it took us a couple of days to work out how things worked with room cleaning and getting a drink etc. Don't be shy, the staff there will provide anything you need, you do have to ask though.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Staff who worked here live locally, the food is simple and locally produced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


The holiday was lovely - the tour operator that we booked through were extremely helpful during the booking process and the staff at the hotel were warm, friendly and helpful.

Joanna Brownhill-Farndon review 16 Sep 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Probably waking up & going down to the beach on the first morning. We had arrived in the early hours when everywhere was in darkness so waking up to the full beauty of our surroundings was great. Getting up early & watching Turtles hatching & having wild Tortoises walking around the garden was pretty good too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Itís good to fly & travel at night as it is so much cooler then. Take binoculars not just for the views but for the night sky. We could see Jupiter & 3 of its moons. Sea shoes to get in & out of the sea - itís a pebble beach at the waters edge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes I do, the people working in the hotel were local, the food was sourced locally & we used the local taxi firm. With reference to this particular holiday I did not feel that the impact on the immediate area that we were in was excessive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very good. Very peaceful. An historic area with some fantastic geology. The sea was warm & clean, crystal clear. The Turkish people we met were smashing & the accommodation whilst in need of refurbishment did not detract from our comfort. The food was really good, cooked freshly & with lots of flavours & variety. The hotel next door was obviously more up market but we found that we could really relax at this accommodation. There was no expectation to dress up or be anything other than ourselves, the staff were very good, kind to us & nothing was too much trouble.

Susan Perolls review 2 Sep 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Watching a turtle make it's first unsteady steps at dawn as it headed out of its nest to the sea, and then seeing an adult turtle swimming in the sea next to our boat on a magical day trip exploring beautiful, idyllic bays. Catching fish off the back of the boat and then eating them for lunch was pretty special too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Make sure you bring enough cash as there is no where to get money in Cirali. A boat trip or two is definitely worth it and make sure you head down to the beach at 6.30am to see the turtles hatching - although you need to know if it's the right season first!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was absolutely perfect. Cirali's economy is clearly based on tourism, and yet, because of the turtles, it is managing it really well without ruining the place. It's a very special place as you can chill as much as you want, but with minimum effort you can do amazing things too - see the fires of the Chimera, go on boat trips, see the turtles etc. Its setting against such dramatic high mountains also makes it very special. It blows holidays I've had in resorts such as Bodrum out of the water, but I hope it remains a little secret.

Val Wilkie review 7 Jul 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Arriving for breakfast in the morning having had a comfortable night in our chalet in the orange grove - to find tables set out in the lovely garden - beautiful breakfast and service - then walked onto the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Organise your own trips in the local village - especially if it is not high season - and this helps support local people. There are no buses out of this area - but I understand that there is a mini bus in the village and when itís full they drive up to the main road - where you have to wait for a bus.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - through the trips we took and negotiated with local people - if you have an idea about what you want to do or where you want to go then ask and someone will give you a price to do it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent - would recommend it.

Matt Goggins review 16 Jun 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


It was great to be able to completely unwind for 2 weeks in a relaxing and friendly place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Pack some shoes for a bit of walking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Angela Truesdale review 27 May 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


It would be difficult to choose between the visit to the Olympos ruined city or the night visit to the Chimaera for being the most memorable or exciting part of our holiday. The ruined city of Olympos is like visiting the set of an Indiana Jones movie with ruins set amongst dense vegetation. The night visit to the Chimaera involved clambering up the side of the mountain in the pitch dark and arriving to see the weirdest phenomenon I have ever experienced.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take a good pair of all terrain, waterproof sandals. Unless you are a sound sleeper, some earplugs to protect your slumber against the call to prayer and cockerels at dawn.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The hotel is owned by a local family and locals help behind the scenes to make sure that everything is kept in order. The family made great efforts to shield the lights from the beach and there was no music etc to disturb the turtles. The food is grown locally and organically and prepared in the hotel. There is a bank of bicycles which can be borrowed as and when needed, which saves on using taxis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We had a wonderful holiday which combined the relaxation of the hotel and beach with the mini-adventures exploring the sites. The food, which was high quality and varied, was served to us at tables covered with white cotton table cloths in the beautiful setting of the beach patio, which was a memorable experience in itself. We also enjoyed the garden, which is tended daily and full of trees, shrubs and flowers which attract local birds.

Bryan Parker review 21 May 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Three things: an evening "climb" to the ChimŤre; visits to the Olympos, Myra & Demre sites of historic interest, and the pure crystalline water of the sea at Cirali. One more: friendly, efficient and flexible hotel service at the Bellerophon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Staying at the Bellerophon hotel, the extra 80 metres to the beach is more than offset by the extra comfort and modernity of the orange grove chalets compared the older "beachside" chalets. If relaxing on the beach is not a priority, hiring a car to get around a bit would be advisable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes: local employees and produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


A refreshing stress-free break to recharge the batteries. We felt that the hotel could be more pro-active in proposing or organising things to do.

Zillah Hayslip review 2 May 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The wildlife was amazing, we went in April and saw wild Tortoises! The noise of the frogs in the rivers at night is brilliant. We also saw a flock of Bee-eaters, very beautiful. We loved the chickens, and being woken up by the dawn chorus every morning. The fires at the Chimera are amazing, we went up in the dark and stayed until we were the only ones there! Very special. The ruins at Olympos are also great fun, we did them over 2 days because there is so much to see. The call to prayer from the Mosque is quite atmospheric.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


We didn't have a torch for the chimera, but we borrowed one from the hotel.
At the end of the hol, you can pay your drinks bill with a visa card, but drinks are expensive, so ask before you buy, we had a rum and coke and (although a generous measure) it cost about £7.50. There are only a few bicycles at the hotel, so you can only use them if no one else is. While we were there it was all English couples at the hotel which was ok, but kind of what you go to get away from. Luckily most of the time we were there, there was only one other couple. Otherwise I think it might have got a bit claustrophobic having breakfast and dinner with the same people everyday.
The restaurants on the beach are much more expensive than the ones in the village. We liked the Lemon Restaurant - lovely friendly man and cheap yummy authentic food. Also, it says there are tea and coffee making facilities in the huts. But there is only a coffee filter machine, and no kettle. We didn't use it to boil water but I suppose you could? Would be great if there was a kettle though! All the other things were there.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


I think it benefited local people when we ate at other restaurants, but other than that I can't really see how it did. I think there are more things that the hotel could do in order to be more environmentally aware. For instance the towels don't need changing/washing every day. And I am not sure if anything is recycled? There must be a lot of plastic bottles created from all the water drunk by the guests. I felt sad for the staff who don't get any days off at all, and work from 7am-10pm everyday. There was no bin in our room. I am not sure what Turkey's policy on recycling is, but how about some recycling bins at the hotel? It's good that £10 was donated to the turtles though. I am glad we were encouraged to off-set out carbon emissions too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was really relaxing and we were treated like royalty. The food was really yummy, and so much of it! It was lovely swimming in the sea, Turkey is beautiful and smells of Jasmine and orange blossom in the spring.

Michele Williams review 16 Apr 20094 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Beautiful beach, very welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, excellent food, a great place to simply go and enjoy being there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Borrow the bikes to cycle around the village and walk to the ruins along the beach, we searched for the theatre and baths, which were no where near the signs directed, you need to cross the stream - which is quite easy and they are very pretty.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, accommodation was quite basic, but very comfortable and everyone was Turkish, lots of chickens and a few cats wandering around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Lovely break, probably a lot more you could do and visit, but we were happy just being there.

Andrew Ward review 1 Jul 20093 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Being taken to a favourite restaurant by our taxi driver en route to the airport.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Try to ensure you get a chalet in the beach area-those near the road had problems with the hot water and aircon.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, apart from the flight and taxi trips!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Was what we expected from the online description.

Cath Allen review 11 Aug 20085 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Every bit of the holiday was a delight. I will always remember sitting in the shady cushioned chairs, reading a book and dozing with a cute little kitten who had wandered in off the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Expect absolute relaxation, friendliness and gorgeous fresh food every day. Take a torch if you want to see the chimera at night - it's worth seeing. Not sure if any other tips are needed as it's all so easy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The style of the bungalows and the very small scale of the hotel Bellerofon made me feel like we weren't environmental criminals. Also there are special cages over the turtle eggs on the beach to protect them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


I would rate this holiday ten out of ten and would happily tell anyone what a lovely place it is to stay. Even in August when itís hot, there is enough comfortable shady areas, fig trees, orange trees, oleanders and general lack of need to worry about anything, that it didn't matter what temperature it was. The people who run the place, Umit and the amazing chefs deserve medals all round.

Julia Bateman review 2 Jun 20085 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


What was memorable? Where do I start? The landscape is stunning. Looking up at those incredible mountains from the beach was awe inspiring. I loved the beach itself with its outcrops of flowers and sea holly. The sea was clean and perfect for swimming. The food was fabulous: simple and tasty and made with local ingredients and our waiter was very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was fantastic: plenty of space, attractive decor, a comfortable bed and a wonderful bathroom. The best part of the whole holiday though was the peace. The loudest noises came from the birds. Marvellous!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't go if you want a party town. This is a sleepy little village where the locals are making a living from market gardening as well as tourism. Thereís a few shops but its not great in consumer opportunities. We saw many families with babies and young children. It seems a lovely safe quiet place for them. Come here if you want total relaxation and an escape from modern life.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. Local produce was used in the restaurant and the buildings were sympathetic with the environment aesthetically. We also noted that all the hot water came from solar panels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Perfect. I never want to go anywhere else.

Linda Gwilliam review 27 Oct 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The absolute peace and quiet of the location. The friendly smiles of the hosts. The simple but comfortable accommodation. It was paradise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Bring a torch for any walks onto the beach at night. The stars are amazing!
Take a deck of cards or a couple of good books, although there are a selection of books available at the hotel.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Local people seemed to be on site and in the community where we were buying fresh produce and juices etc. The hosts and staff were so friendly and lived on site. The beach was so natural and activities in this area were minimised to protect the turtles in the summer nesting season, so yes impact on the environment was low and the hotels were very compliant with this with low lighting and a very subtle presence on the beach area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We had a wonderful holiday. It was so beautiful there, a garden/beach paradise with people to match. Our first big holiday with our baby who explored and was thoroughly spoilt. We will definitely return.

Helen Gould-Kopf review 22 Oct 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Opening the bungalow door each morning to watch the sun rise over the sea. Dinner by full-moon on the beach. The climb up the Chimaera mountain to sit by the natural flame sources and many more...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take a rain cape if travelling in October so you can enjoy being outside if the weather turns inclement. Try the local cafes in Cirali. The Turkish people are very friendly and open and the food is good. Donít forget mosquito spray.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. Cirali is not your typical tourist spot, but enjoyed by Turkish people also. Local produce is served every day and there was an active exchange of language and ideas with the locals - simply great! The beach was practically litter free and I saw no signs of tourist pollution.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


I spent a week alone with my three children, as my husband could not make it at the last minute and it was wonderful. We swam in the turquoise, clear waters, snorkelled, hiked, read and played hours of backgammon. Two of my children are teenagers and they thoroughly enjoyed the "kicked-back" attitude of the place. Overall, I would rate the holiday very highly. I would certainly consider returning to this little spot of paradise on earth! Thank you.

Sarah Gardner review 13 Oct 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Just relaxing and chilling out in a very uncommercialised environment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Book it now! But be prepared for a very quiet and peaceful holiday - just what we wanted and we will definitely go back!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Superb.

Elizabeth Jackson review 8 Oct 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The tranquil and laid back nature of the hotel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Don't go unless you really want to do very little! Also, don't expect the hotel to be smart; it has a certain hippy-like ambiance.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The hotel provided some local employment and purchased all locally grown fruit and vegetables. Not sure about the environmental impact; there was bottled water, but equally very low lighting to avoid disturbing the turtle nesting areas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent chill out break.

Clare Davis review 8 Oct 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The whole week was so relaxing. It is the most idyllic place I have ever visited.
Beautiful scenery, wild tortoises (!), roaming chickens, amazing beach, warm sea, delicious food and one cheeky black kitten.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Be prepared to do nothing and enjoy every minute! Take lots of books. You must visit Chimaera - the most extraordinary thing I ever seen!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The whole area is not at all developed so there is very little impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We had a brilliant time. It was exactly what we needed! It couldn't have been more perfect.

Virginia Miles review 4 Sep 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


This holiday was total relaxation and switch off time. I most definitely recommend it and want to go back NOW! The setting was stunning, food wonderful, though more time between courses would have been good. We had the beach pretty much to ourselves, the bikes were always available and we used them often to go into the village for lunch. I loved that many of the tourists were 'locals' and there was not a coach to be seen. The owner, Akif, who I noticed had been mentioned positively on many reviews, we found very elusive and not particularly helpful. However, thankfully the waiter ĎUmití deserves much praise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Hire a car - Olympus car hire in the village (who you use to organise transfers) were amazing and we often went to them for advice generally. The car hire was a steal and they delivered and picked up. Take the car to Phaeselis (and swim stuff) - stunning beaches and coves, historic ruins. You must do the cable car on the way there or back. (Telefonik) about 20 mins drive - 2nd longest cable car in the world, recently opened I believe, terrifying but awesome. Restaurant/cafe/loungers at the top were you can spend as much time as you like (and they don't rip you off either) Moonscape scenery. Do not bother with Kemur, unless you like the club Med / coach type holidays for battery tourists. Itís a long car drive (one & half hours each way) before you come to much if you head in the other direction towards Kas (though beautiful coast road) that takes up a lot of your day. Though the ruins at Myra are significant. Walk along the beach to the Olympus ruins - I was surprised at the size of the city. Walk (one & half hours) or take the bikes to the Chimera (20 mins) You can leave the bikes at the bottom and then there is quite a steep climb for 10 -15 mins to the top were you can see the ruins and the amazing fires coming out of the earth. Many people advise going at dusk for more effect. I'm sure thatís true, but quite honestly there pretty amazing in the daytime! Do not bother packing too much - no need to dress for dinner. Light walking shoes, torch.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, I think so, the staff were mainly local and the 'hotel' became part of its surroundings and did not dominate.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Ten out of ten!

Emma John review 28 Jul 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Seeing the baby turtles struggling down from their nests to the sea at dawn - absolutely amazing! The beautiful setting and superb food, too!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


If taking children, although it's a wonderful place to enjoy swimming and sand play there is not a lot else to occupy little ones. We really enjoyed spending time amusing our son ourselves but if there are no siblings to play with and parents are looking for a break from being Mum and Dad then it may not be such a good choice. Would recommend to honeymoon couples - absolute bliss!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, 100% - everything we ate was so fresh and obviously locally sourced and there was clear evidence of the conservation going on in the area. The whole place had a really authentic feel and we felt as if we had experienced the true "Turkey".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We had such a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed every minute relaxing together in such a magnificent setting!

Jane Smith review 29 Jun 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Eating outside and looking at the fabulous views. Swimming in the clear warm water. Food wonderful, staff friendly. Lovely setting. Relaxing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Need beach shoes for water because of pebbles. Make sure you take ear plugs otherwise you won't sleep because of the cockerels who start making a noise at 1am and keep going all night. Taking plenty of high protection suncream & sunhats. Take a travel kettle. Need pounds sterling or euros at the airport in Turkey for your visa, they don't take Turkish Lire.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent except for the cockerels!

Philip Hurst review 26 May 20084 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The setting of the hotel and the friendliness of the people there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Plan to relax!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


In some ways - although the people who work in Cirali are not necessarily 'local'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent.

Samantha Craig review 3 Oct 20075 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


We're easily pleased kind of people but quite simply - as soon as we landed and made our way down towards Cirali in our pick up car, we just knew we were going to have a wonderful week. One particularly memorable experience would be getting up at the crack of dawn, taking pictures of the sun as it rose and being privileged to witness 4 baby turtles being helped out of their nest (as it was late season) and making a bid for freedom into the morning sea - amazing. We still wonder about how they got on. Also - the hospitality and food! We could go on...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Book early! We already have done so again for next year. It was a simple process and Serkan was very helpful. Then go with the flow and relax...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Absolutely fantastic.

Adam May review 28 Aug 20075 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


This holiday was booked because we all needed to relax and enjoy some sun. This holiday really delivered. The people were great, the location fantastic and my kids were really impressed that the sea was warm!

The beach was just like you see on holiday programmes on TV, and think to yourself - that place doesn't really exist - it really does!!! Although not a private beach as such, it felt like it. The hotel is in the middle of a small bay and most of the other visitors to the beach stay at one end or the other, so near the hotel it is pretty quiet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


If you are looking not to do too much other than relax, read, sun bathe and swim this is ideal for you. There is not a lot "urban" to do unless you have your own transport or hire a car. No buzzing night-life (although you could brave a pitch dark walk along the beach into Olympos itself), no shopping distractions, just peaceful bliss.

Our hotel arranged for a boat to take us out for a day trip along the coast which was wonderful - snorkelling in numerous secluded bays, in beautiful clear water with plenty of fish to see. Also a trip to natural gas flames above Cirali (take a torch). Then there is the ruins of an ancient pirate city to explore at the South end of the beach.

We went in early August and it was pretty hot. If you don't like too much heat, don't go during the height of summer - but go anyway, just when it is a little cooler. I reckon the immediate locale has enough to keep you interested for a week, but beyond that you would probably want to venture further abroad. Special mention to all the staff at Bellerofon - you were great!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The beach is all set up for the turtles, with the nests protected and signs warning you of conduct on the beach (no bright lights at night etc). Not built up (like places closer to the Airport) you do get the feeling that the environment is being protected for the habitat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


I wanted to relax, read and bask in the sun. 10 out of 10. I would highly recommend, and may well be going back when I need my batteries recharged.

Thomas Baker review 17 Nov 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Arriving at 5am. The only person awake was Eddie the mad cockerel, we dragged all the staff out of bed and yet were still greeted with a smile and the offer of breakfast. Eating that breakfast on the koļk (cushion seating area) overlooking the deserted beach with the sun rising over the mountains was as idyllic as it sounds! The breakfasts and dinners everyday were just as exciting!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take US Dollars or Euros as well as Turkish Lira if possible. Everything seems to be much cheaper in dollars/euros!? The pre arranged transfers were really worth it. Most of the flights to Antalya arrive and depart at some ridiculous hour in the morning and being picked up and dropped off by friendly, careful drivers was great. Yes most of the drivers in Turkey are a little mad but we'd recommend hiring a car. Just watch out for the goats!

The sunken city at Kekova isn't as amazing as the guide books say but we managed to get our own boat and combined with a trip to Simena it's a great day out. The ruins at Olympos are worth the 30 minute walk along the beach but Phaselis is better if you have a car. Go to the Chimera flames at dusk for the best effect. They are about an hour walk away but they will lend you bikes at the hotel. Don't go to Kemer unless you love looking at Russian tourists in speedos!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Cirali is a small village with few shops, no big industry or high rise hotels which is good for local traders and environment. It has a relaxed backpacker feel about it without having too many actual backpackers!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


The setting is beautiful and peaceful, the huts are comfortable and the food was lovely but it was the amazing staff that made the holiday so special.

David Pettitt review 1 Oct 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Lunch at a trout farm in the mountains with its stunning views or maybe walking up to the Chimera in the darkness.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


This is an excellent introduction to an unspoiled Turkey. We only really came across Turkish tourists apart from in Olympos which is clearly on the backpackers' route. It is 100% worthwhile going with this tour operator since they are dedicated to showing you the beauty and magic of the country - not just a place to sit in the sun. Learn a few Turkish words and phrases - it is worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, all staff were local and it was clear the operator has a very good working relationship with them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very relaxing, two different locations was a good idea and a good taster for Turkey - we would be interested in doing one of Serkan's Turkish tours next time.

Gwyneth Scheybeler review 30 Sep 20074 star rating

Despite the 2 hours delay on the outbound flight and the hellish turmoil at Gatwick queuing for passport control on our return, our holiday was such a success.

The welcoming, relaxed atmosphere never waned during our stay - nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was served at midnight because of our late arrival! The setting of our lodge, the ambience and delicious breakfasts and dinners and the tranquillity of the area was just what we wanted from this holiday. It was so peaceful and beautiful. I shall never forget the dawn swims to the rising sun in the warmest sea imaginable and the full-moonlight dinners to only natural bird or insect sounds. The wonderful aromas of jasmine at night and the array of orange, lime, avocado, olive and pomegranate trees all around plus all the exotic flowers, some even growing on the beach!

It is so laid back I will only need half the suitcase I took next time. There will be a next time as there is so much more to do and this is the perfect place to recharge and de-stress. I loved it so much I do not want to tell anyone else but keep it to myself - a really special place!

Monika Neall review 18 Sep 20074 star rating

We arrived at 2am, completely in the dark. When we woke up the next morning we couldn't believe where we were. Right by the beach, gorgeous sunshine, and lots of trees and flowers amongst which we enjoyed the most incredible breakfast spread. What a start to the holiday.

The holiday was wonderful. The location was incredible, and we spent several days not moving from the spot. When we did there were brilliant day trips out relatively nearby. We felt refreshed and energised by being in such a lovely place for 2 weeks.

Akif, his chef and waiter were all three super friendly and did everything they could to make us feel welcome and relaxed, it was a joy to spend 2 weeks in their company.

Thank you very much for making our honeymoon such an incredible and memorable time.

Kevin Storey review 6 Aug 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


This hotel in Cirali is so peaceful it is unbelievable. We visited during the last week in July after a few days in Istanbul, I had read on other reviews that it was peaceful but I did not expect this in July at the start of the school summer holidays. Olympus beach is quite large and gets busy with locals & tourists at each end but in the middle where the hotel is you can feel all alone even in the middle of the day, absolute tranquillity.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


An ideal place to visit if you wish to just relax all week, the location is gorgeous as is the food at the hotel. The staff are all very friendly but will leave you alone unless you require any assistance. Do not visit this location if you like a lot of excursions, you can go on boat trips from nearby but quite a few boats visit this beach at the Olympus end, why leave the beach it does not get better than this! Regarding flights we flew from UK to Istanbul fairly cheaply with Easy Jet and then got internal flights down to Antalya after a few days in Istanbul, this worked out no more expensive that flying direct with other airlines.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, as we were there during the egg laying season for the turtles you were not aloud to walk on the beach at night. The beach is patrolled by WWF staff who ask that you keep to the top of the beach and no lights are aloud. I would have liked to see the turtles but it is understandable that this is restricted as the turtles are a protected species. The local people benefit from the money you spend at local restaurants for lunch etc also the hotel staff are local, I would also say they benefit from the restrictions to further development of the area as big chain hotels cannot be built and ruin the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


This hotel is like a hidden garden of Eden with the added advantage of the beach on your doorstep. I would recommend this holiday for anyone wanting to unwind and revitalise. Our party of 4 ranged in ages from 15 to 40 and we all enjoyed the holiday, I cannot think of and certainly have never visited a more perfect location for a beach holiday.

James Naylor review 23 Jul 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The hotel was as advertised. Very relaxing and in a very unspoilt part of Turkey. The beach and water were very clean and our part of the beach was never crowded. It was just what we asked for.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Get collected from the airport. If you just want a beach holiday don't hire a car. Bring a phrase book as English is limited. This is particularly true in smaller restaurants which may not have printed menus. I would also suggest that visitors ask the price of extras such as wine with a meal. We were unpleasantly surprised to be paying YTL 45 for a bottle of wine which would cost YTL 15-18 in a local shop. The hotel next store (Arcadia) sold the same bottle for YTL 40. If you are tall check the seat pitch of the airline you are travelling with. I am only 6' 1" but my knees dug into the seat in front on our My Travel flight which over 4 hours was quite uncomfortable. My Travel would have 'sold' me an emergency exit seat for an extra £20. Itís not for children nor anyone looking for added value activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


The area obviously relies on tourism as a key source of income so we felt that we made a positive contribution. Our main environmental concerns were the large amount of rubbish we generated particularly empty water bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


It was very good and just what we were looking for, 'a road less travelledí. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing beach based holiday with consistently good weather.

Read the operator's response here:

Please note that the travel arrangements are nothing to do with us as an operator as the flights were arranged by the clients themselves. The negative comments on the airline should be reserved for Mytravel.

Heidi Seagle review 4 Jul 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


No stress, no worries, lovely food, lovely quiet and peace, lovely people, lovely weather, lovely everything.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Enjoy

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Unsure - but certainly all staff Turkish and used all Turkish services i.e. taxis etc. Environmental? My biggest worry was the plastic water bottles - I'm not sure Turkey recycles them - and as not drinking tap water this makes it just loads of bottles!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Wonderful, my lodger said I look like a plant that was withered before and has now been watered!

Neil Turton review 11 Jun 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


A wonderful, relaxing holiday. The best thing about it was that the hotel and place (Olympos Beach and Cirali) were so unspoiled and relaxing. I did not think it was possible to find places so unspoiled in the mediterranean now. The food and accomodation was great and there was lots to do in Cirali and the local area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Just to relax and enjoy it; try to learn a few words of Turkish before travelling as not much English is spoken. Hiring a car (can be done cheaply locally) enables trips to some wonderful places within 30 minutes or so, as it can get too hot to walk. We travelled with children of 9 and 7 and don't worry about taking children to Olympos - they loved it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, as the local economy benefits from the spend and everything seems to be home produced and all the business are local family ones (no large corporations).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Wonderful, very relaxing and enjoyable, The children were asking when they could go again, which is always a good sign.

Sophie Simonelli review 6 Jun 20074 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Certainly dining alfresco with a view of the sea in the evening and amazing breakfasts. Totally laid back atmosphere with no time restrictions to get up for breakfast. Great accomodation, cleaned daily by a smiling and helpful staff. The boat trip with stops en route to local gems.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Be prepared to try different things, the menu for dinner changes everday but there is no evening dinner menu as such although I'm sure Akif would be accomodating if there were certain things you do not eat. The food is very good though so this should not put you off. Showers weren't super hot but the wethaer was so great this hardly mattered.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Absolutely, all food was definitely locally sourced, fresh and tasty. The local bike and scooter hire company turned out to be the same people that picked us up from the airport and took us out on our boat trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


8/10

Tamar Feldberg review 24 Sep 20065 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


1. Istanbul - a great, fascinating, layered city. The buildings, the markets, the smells and sounds, all enchanting.
2. Cirali Beach - Unspoilt beautiful peaceful beach, the clear warm water and beautiful pebbles.
3. Turkish people - Friendly, warm and welcoming.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


1.The location of the hotel in Istanbul could get noisy (late night music).
2. Enjoy the Turkish food - an absolute delight!!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes. Our hotels were locally owned and the Chirali one contributes to a local turtle conservation project. The whole area is in a nature reserve, which limits the effect hotels can have on the environment. The food is sourced locally and we bought our food in small family owned shops as well.

4. Any other comments?


Our holiday to Turkey was definitely five stars, we had a superb time both in Istanbul and Cirali Beach. Lots of Thanks... We would like to thank Serkan the tour operator who we truly recommend, he was accessible via e-mails and phone and organized everything for us. Also we would like to thank our Istanbul guide Gul, she is a knowledgeable, accommodating (we were travelling with our 16 months old) and a wonderful person, Gul made our Istanbul tour a one to remember. Many thanks as well to Akif and Nuri from Cirali Beach who made our stay welcoming, comfortable and relaxed - We will be back!!!


Jayne Childs review 23 Jul 20065 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Arriving at the hotel to a deserted beach, quiet location and a cold beer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Simply enjoy it, we had no complaints whatsoever.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Our hotel was locally owned, low impact and contributes to a local turtle conservation project. The whole area is in a nature reserve, which limits the effect hotels can have on the environment. Making it a perfect spot for holidays and turtles!

4. Any other comments?


I can also recommend Serkan at this operator for any trip to Turkey. Nothing was too much trouble and he answered our emails and queries so promptly. Five stars! We will definitely return.

Mike Watson review 23 Jul 20065 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


For us this was the opportunity to see the burning rocks at Yanartas - very easy to reach. And of course the local antiquities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Do bring and use a Turkish phrasebook.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - it's a simple hotel (and very welcoming and comfortable) with excellent food sourced locally.

4. Any other comments?


We really did appreciate the magnificent surroundings, the unhurried atmosphere, and above all the very friendly attention by Akif and Nuri at the hotel. It has to be said that the dinners and breakfasts were two high points of each day - quite incomparable !

There was so much to do in the area - strolling to Olympos one way and Yanartas the other - plus outings to Phaselis, Kemer, by boat to Kekova and by jeep into the mountains. This holiday provided just the right mix of restful inactivity with sightseeing opportunities.

Helen Price review 4 Jun 20065 star rating

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


2 things -

1. Turning up in the middle of the night, getting out of the taxi - the smell of pine and oranges was astounding. Walking into the beach hut which had rose petals all over the bed, champagne and a simple spread of fruit, cheeses and salad.

2. Visiting an historical site called Arykanda - we had a bit of a road trip trying to find it, when we did it was up a little dirt track which lead us to the most fantastic ruins and views we have ever seen. It was like something out of clash of the titans. The weather was gorgeous and the surrounding scenery of mountains and fields was just awe inspiring. The Hellonistic Temple was beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


The hotel is next to 2 historic sites - the Chimera and Olympos - make sure you visit them both. Also make sure you take your snorkelling gear... hire a car and visit the local attractions, such as Phaselis, go on the Kekova boat tour and visit Demre (Myra and the church of St Nicolas).

Don't expect a TV or internet connection in your room, expect peace and tranquillity - but definitely no boredom - there is so much to do.

Make use of the local village amenities, you don't need to go to the big corporate sites - it's more fun that way and the local people are great to talk to.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes - we tended not to buy from the major commercial areas, we only drove when we needed to - you can do loads on foot and bicycle.

Martyn Lewis review 22 Jul 20064 star rating

Just a quick note to let you know what a fab time we all had at this hotel in Cirali, Turkey. Serkan who runs this operator was there to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction, organised and took our family and the other new arrivals on a day trip during the week.

The hotel was great, a small but beautifully kept oasis in the heat! The owner was friendly and very eager to please. The food was very good too. All in all a very successful, relaxing holiday which we hope to repeat in future. Many thanks for the recommendation.

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The Chimera, a tough walk in the evening heat but well worth the effort.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Take plenty to read!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?


Yes, we bought local food from local shops and restaurants and locally made Kilims.

Marijn de Wit review 6 Jul 20064 star rating

Many thanks for the great arrangements you made. We hade a wonderful stay at this hotel in Cirali. It offered a unique combination of nature (deserted turtle beach and mountain hiking trails directly at the doorstep), great food, friendly staff and romantic scenery. We will definitely book again via responsible travel and/or this operator.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust responsibletravel.com reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travellers

5 stars
I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on
4 stars
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
3 stars
Very enjoyable
2 stars
It was OK
1 star
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies