8 independent reviews for India holidays to the Golden Triangle, tailormade

Reviews for India holidays to the Golden Triangle, tailormade

SHOW
2
5
1
0
0

review 3 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to say. Was exciting from beginning to end.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Keep an open mind, be prepared for long days and just enjoy it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism definitely benefits local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Would recommend this operator.

review 23 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gwalior Palace and Khajaraho Jain temples

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't travel to Central India between Dec 15 and Feb 7th it is Foggy and Cold Don't take early morning flights because they will be fog bound. Don' stay at the Amar Mahal Hotel in Orchha,it is dreadfully unfriendly,the staff don't know how to treat customers

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes it did as we took guides at each city.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Badly planned weather wise by the agent and some distances quoted by the agent as being 5 hours by car were in fact 8 hour drives, too long.

Read the operator's response here:

It’s a real shame that this trip was disrupted by bad weather which did indeed make a couple of already long drives very tedious, and we sympathise with our client. We do, however, have a vast knowledge of India and experience stretching over two decades. We do not consider central India to be a no-go area between Dec 15th and Feb 7th and whilst fog is a possibility around this time of year we disagree that the severity of the weather can be this accurately predicted.

review 20 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Indian train travel. Sumptuous hotels. Beautiful new Delhi

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

End of May in India is probably too hot

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly but we did pay for a lot of guides and visited local historical monuments

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Custom built - met all our requirements

review 25 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing tigers in the national park, visiting the Taj Mahal at sunrise, sunrise in Udaipur lake, seeing the life of the local, boat ride in Udaipur lake (not booked through agency), visit to local markets and possibility to have time to experience cities on our own

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good idea to have a mix of car and train.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, appreciated staying in smaller local hotels, but keeping quality standards.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was very good.

review 28 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a tigress walk right past our jeep in Ranthambore Park - awesome!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of mossie spray and if you get a dodgy tum don't take Immodium - seek medical advice immediately to get the appropriate antibiotics.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous - incredibly well organised and unforgettable.

review 3 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our stay at Bhainsrorgarh Fort, with its idyllic location, spectacular views and outstanding hospitality and cuisine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan your holiday to include several 2 or 3 day stops in a tranquil location to relax and absorb your impressions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Most of the hotels were Indian owned and not part of international chains. The lodges at the nature reserves we stayed in were eco-friendly and worked towards the preservation of nature and the good of local communities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very exciting and rewarding experience. We were impressed by the help we received from the operator when planning the holiday, and by the efficiency of the local travel company in India.

review 30 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing tigers in Ranthambore National Park. Watching the sunset on the Taj Mahal from the bar in the Oberoi Hotel in Agra. Going on a boat trip on the Ganges at Varanassi at sunrise… (the list is endless!)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use this operator to plan a very reasonably priced holiday to India - they were brilliant from start to finish.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It did benefit local people in that we stayed in small hotels guest houses. We did have local guides and drivers which was great. Two weeks of drinking bottled water, using AC and having a private car did not do the environment any favours but that was the holiday we booked. Some of the places we stayed did give us treated water rather than plastic bottle which was good. I think that shopping options could have been better chosen re social/environmental credentials.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant.

review 10 Feb 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Gosh tricky one, hard to pick. Delhi and Agra cities were noisy, chaotic and very colourful. But my favourite bits would be- Taj Mahal just stunning, mysterious and intoxicating. Kanha National Park incredible, getting to see Tigers in their natural environment just awesome! Staying at Marari Beach Kerela the perfect end to an action packed 10 days, a place as close to paradise as one could imagination.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan what areas you want to visit, discuss with your operator as to what you can see and do within the timeframe of your visit. They will have a better understanding of how feasible your plans are! Understand that India is a vast country be prepared for lots of travelling and living out of a suitcase. Take a good camera!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes felt that where possible staff were employed from the local area, discussions where possible were held with the local community to ensure areas disturbed as little as possible, and that where possible something giving back to the local community not just jobs. For example Marari Beach help fund local families with buying of school uniforms and books if they cannot afford to themselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Incredible, awesome. Quite simply the most fantastic holiday of our lives. It was everything and so much more than we had hoped. Yes it was hectic and tiring but so rewarding. Really hope we get to go back at some point. Finally a big thanks to the oganisers of our trip. Also to local staff in India whose staff met us on every leg of our trip and ensured that we got from a-b so smoothly.
Click to enlarge holiday photoClick to enlarge holiday photoClick to enlarge holiday photoClick to enlarge holiday photoClick to enlarge holiday photo(click photos to enlarge)

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies