8 independent reviews for Portugal yoga holiday, Iyengar retreat

Reviews for Portugal yoga holiday, Iyengar retreat

SHOW
0
6
2
0
0

review 31 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The comradeship

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take something warm if holiday in winter months

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Magnificent

review 30 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Undertaking fantastic yoga from a wonderfully warm and sunny room which looked over the surrounding countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check the weather forecast as we were unfortunate with the weather and needed more warm clothes than I'd bought. If the weather stays warm and fine you can relax by the pool otherwise you really need a car to explore the countryside.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people employed as cooks with local taxi service etc. and Rachel is based in the Algarve so I guess that also counts as supporting the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great and would recommend.

review 6 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Rachel is an outstanding yoga teacher who is able to differentiate her classes so that the most inexperienced are able to enjoy and improve whilst the most experience are stretched and challenged. The environment is conducive to rest and relaxation and the food is exquisite - prepared with care and love.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for seriously good vegetarian food. No real need to hire a car as transfers are well organised and taxi drivers knowledgeable and helpful. In fact, travel light as there are washing machines on site as well as books, magazines etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so. There was a real sense that local people were involved and benefitting from Orange Tree Yoga. The environment is well served by recycling facilities and although food is plentiful, it certainly wasn't wasted.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding. This is a seriously good holiday.

review 30 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wonderful group of fellow yogis, amazing yoga classes! Our teacher, Rachel was excellent one of the best yoga teachers I have encountered ever!, in addition the food was incredible prepared with love and zest by Wendy! I have stayed at 5 star hotels where the food was not as great as this! All vegetarian but creative and we even converted a meat eater!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Rustic accommodation, bring a flashlight, mosquito spray, Don't overpack be prepared to be completely relaxed and feel amazing! Yoga was suitable for beginners and bring enough cash for a massage which was also fantastic!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely far from the crowd, a lovely local town, Loule, to walk into, about 25 minutes, very natural setting, very eco conscious and not wasteful of resources.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars excellent

review 4 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The yoga classes, the extraordinary vegetarian food and the peaceful location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are looking to a relaxing holiday with great food and most of all to practice your yoga, this is the place. Rachel is very nice and most of all professional. The location is also great with plenty fresh fruits from the trees, a swimming pool and the town of Loule 'is just about 1 hour walking away if you fancy a day out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, especially the food grocery stores in the village nearby and also the professional massage therapists available on site.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9 out of 10!

review 15 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The combination of the very warm welcome, excellent teaching and the wonderful food. All the elements were carefully put together with experience and a real commitment to the well being of the quests. The location was beautiful too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it- if you enjoy yoga and good company , you will get a lot out of this holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes- every opportunity was taken to recycle and to use local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It exceeded my expectations- it was my first time and I did not know quite what to expect. Rachel is a very good and dedicated teacher- able to respond to all levels of ability and I think everyone experienced the benefits during the week. The walks, the treatments and the food were all a bonus and altogether I had a wonderful week. I will certainly return and have already recommended it to friends.

review 24 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Undertaking a new experience (YOGA). Great food. A relaxing holiday in good company

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 29 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Quinta and surrounding land was like paradise in August; flowers and fruit in abundance, and one got a sense of it being a special,loved place. This feeling was echoed in the food that was carefully and imaginatively prepared using fresh local ingredients.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The weather in August is VERY hot and whilst this is fine if you wish to relax by the pool, exploring in the middle of the day is not really feasible. The Quinta is fairly remote from public transport, so this really is a retreat location.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I did feel this, the Quinta had a history and integrity that was evident. There was a family feel amongst the staff.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful enriching experience.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies