11 independent reviews for Kilimanjaro climb, Rongai route

Reviews for Kilimanjaro climb, Rongai route

SHOW
4
5
1
1
0

review 31 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to choose. Reaching the top? Even the tipping ceremony was wonderful, but the last day of the trek was probably the best. Beautiful surroundings and walking easily down hill with new friends knowing that Kilimanjaro had been achieved.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go slowly (pole pole) right from day 1. This helps your body to get ready for the hard summit day... and really believe that you can reach the top.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

40 local people were employed in getting us to the top providing income for skilled and non skilled people. After every camp all litter was picked up and carried with us and by staying on the trail the impact on the mountain was kept to a minimum

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4 stars. It has been an amazing adventure, but it has also been the hardest thing I have ever done. Our group had marathon runners and 'iron man' people in it and we all agreed on that. Having said that, I could not have asked for better guides/cook/porters/weather and the hotel we stayed in before and after the trek was wonderful.

review 22 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire trip was truly a once in a lifetime adventure - every day was exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn some Swahili. Be prepared with extra toilet paper and underwear/socks. Try to keep in mind leaving behind things you don't need (i.e., your hiking boots, extra clothing).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Unfortunately, Kilimanjaro isn't terribly strict w/ a pack it in, pack it out regulation. That being said, I think we did a good job re: a low environmental impact. And we did use a group that is part of the KPAP.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic!

review 12 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Reaching the summit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

NB:- Make sure you read all the small print, such as you are not covered for falling ill (Operator never mention this) You do not need a yellow fever jab which cost 45.00 Take plenty of toilet roll Do not be pressurised to provide tips (you are under immense pressure to provide) Do not book with this operator (they let me down on a number of issues including contacting me back when I needed support and advice. Refused to ring me back despite spending nearly £2,000 on this adventure.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes my adventure benefited local people. However the environment was not protected as everywhere you went there were bits of litter, toilet roll everywhere.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

7/10

review 31 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable will be reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro, not without the expert help from the guides, especially Dae. The team were fantastic, helpful, professional, considerate, and made everything as comfortable as possible, they were brilliant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do exactly what it says on the can .....follow all instructions and you'll be fine. Practice putting your equipment and clothing for Kilimanjaro climb in and out of your bag, Make sure you know where everything is when you might need it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local people were employed to take gear up the mountain, so they had employment. Disappointed that the amount of money going into the country for this purpose does not seem to be used to improve the 'drop toilets' and better equip some of the porters.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, no faults, everything went as expected, if not more.

review 2 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The staff and guides which made getting to the top of Kili possible. They were fantastic. Very well organised, happy, knowledgeable and we became great friends.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To do what the guides recommend, get to know them, and enjoy whatís to come because the guides and staff and the personality of the mountain. Donít go over board with the gear that you bring, a lot of people take too much with them.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I feel it benefited local people as we stayed in the hotel (a local business) and spent a lot of money. I would like to thing that the environment was taking care of and well respected.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 star trip... loved every second of it.

review 5 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable was meeting and making friends with our fellow trekkers, and sharing their highs and lows during the trip. The most exciting part was reaching Uhuru Peak with my wife . I cried like a baby as I approached the sign. There were tears from everyone. Brilliant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare yourself properly. Physically and mentally. Summit night you will battle with both of these. The toilets are a bit grim so you have to be prepared to put up with the sights and smells of the toilet tent. Listen to your guides as they are very experienced. We all got sunburned on the backs of our hands during the trip very badly . This was due to holding walking poles. Try to protect your hands either with total sun block or a pair of thin silk gloves. Get sun block on at midnight on summit night. It sounds stupid but the glaciers and surface snow will burn you badly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I suppose it did as the hotel used local produce to feed it's guests. Also guests buy lots of souveniers from local people and visited the local village attractions such as the waterfall and the museum. It was sad to see how the everyday person on the street has to live. Between the airport and the hotel you can really see how hard it is for the Tanzanian people to scrape together a living.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was the hardest thing we have ever done, much mentally tougher than we thought. But reaching the summit was worth all the struggle. A true adventure and a great life experience.

review 26 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro! The guides were just fantastic and there is no way that we could have done it without them. From singing to wiping my mouth when I puked up everywhere!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not many - I guess read up on it if you can. Research the altitude sickness just so you know what might be coming.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. Even though their pay is minimal we provided 40 porters with work. It must be one of the better paid jobs in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

11 out of 10. Fantastic. Couldn't have enjoyed it more!

review 8 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Actually reaching the very top, Uhuru Peak, of Kilimanjaro.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For the Kili trek, I would recommend taking a nail brush (you won't believe how filthy your hands and nails get), aluminium drinking bottles as they can be used as hot water bottles at night and hiring a down jacket, sleeping mat and sleeping bag from the company as they are all good quality stuff and saves having to pack them.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the porters are paid a fair wage and what gets carried up gets carried down too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!!

review 7 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sense of achievement and team unity when reaching the summit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a very dusty environment and to ensure you listen to the advice from the guides.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Well organised with great interaction from all involved designed to give you the best experience.

review 22 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The guides, porters and fellow travellers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Speak to someone who has participated.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 24 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Reaching Gillman's point, seeing the sunrise and the rays bounce off the clouds below.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring waterproof clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We provided employment and also supplemented this by good tips. We were also careful not to leave any litter, although an earlier group left a trail of sweet papers behind them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was everything I expected of it. Rental of plastic waterproof trousers for 25 dollars) was very expensive; one could have bought a pair cheaper. Also the 1/2 Safari to Arusha was a rip off at $110, with no lunch and only approx 30 mins drive from the airport.

Read the operator's response here:

We welcome feedback from our travellers and are glad to hear this passenger enjoyed this trip. Unfortunately this passengerís luggage did not turn up and they had to rent clothing from a shop for their climb. $25 for waterproof trousers is a standard price for hiring such equipment locally. They were helped to rent the clothing they needed but had to pay the going price from the shop which was not affiliated with our services and so outside our control. The costs for the half day Arusha safari are primarily made up of park fees and vehicle hire. Although elephants are uncommon in Arusha National Park, and lions absent altogether, leopards and spotted hyenas may be seen slinking around in the late afternoon, where there is the largest concentration of giraffe of any other park in East Africa. As it is an easy 60 kms from Kilimanjaro International Airport it can easily be visited in the course of a half-day outing.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies