8 independent reviews for Peru tailormade holiday

Reviews for Peru tailormade holiday

SHOW
6
2
0
0
0

review 8 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting local people

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not bother visiting Lima

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great

review 7 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Machu Picchu and the climb to the top of Wayna Picchu which overlooks the magical Inca site was our final day of the three week trip and an unbelievable day. All three areas we visited, the Galapagos Islands, the Peruvian jungle and the Inca sites of Cusco and Machu Picchu were so different it is difficult to say which was the most memorable. Snorkeling with green marine turtles and Galapagos sea loins and sharks was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do your planning and research ahead and have an idea of your itinerary before having discussions with travel agents. Responsible Travel were excellent in understanding our brief and made very useful suggestions and alternatives. The agents you put us in contact were the best we spoke with.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes indeed. All the accommodation, whether in hotels or lodges, staying in the Pervian jungle or our time in Cusco and Machu Picchu, or on the boat travelling around the Galapagos, the environment and sustainability were always at the forefront. Our guides and the locals we met were always helpful, smiling and polite. Lovely people. The manner in which the Galapagos is being managed is a world' flagship' to how to conserve and sustain the wildlife and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful! A holiday of a lifetime. The memories will stay with us forever.

review 5 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many! - but if I have to choose it would be the Inca Trail; the camaraderie built up in our small group, the incredible meals, looking up at the stars so bright you could touch them, and the sense of achievement on the 4th day looking down on the incredible ruin that is historic Machu Picchu; and then, totally different, the 2 days spent on Lake Titicaca - the relaxation travelling in a boat, but so interesting with the insights into Peruvian island communities, craft and culture, including the overnight host family stay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I decided to do the Inca Trail rather than the alternatives e.g. the Salkantay Trail as I wanted my first sighting of Machu Picchu (1) to be from above (2) having been isolated from civilization for several days (3) one day shorter. The Inca Trail is physically demanding and if you are 50+ (I am nearly 70) some good training in preparation is essential to enjoy the trek. There are literally many hundreds of roughly constructed rock steps up and down, many equivalent to 2 normal house steps on a set of internal stairs. Aching muscles uphill and jarring knees downhill. Trekking poles a big help. If you go to one museum before or after Machu Picchu make it the Casa Concha Museum in Cusco which features all the artefacts found by Hiram Bingham during his excavations and returned a century later by Yale University. It is an excellent multi-media presentation and much better than the Inca Museum which I found boring. Cusco streets noisy from 4.00am so try to stay in a room towards the back of a hostel or in a quiet part of the city to avoid being woken up early! In the Rain Forest wrap all your clothes in plastic bags otherwise they will all get very damp by the time you leave! Take refillable water bottles and buy your water in 2 litre bottles from a local shop rather than the small bottles from the many stalls - much cheaper. Always ask for the special midday menu at restaurants at lunch times - very inexpensive and good value. Take a power pack to charge your mobile phone

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly my holiday seemed to benefit local people providing employment which may not otherwise have been there and giving them a reasonable wage. Llama Path seem to provide many benefits to their employees over and above that of a wage. Certainly, all of the people that supported me were very helpful and seemed happy with their work. In many ways tourism has brought much needed income to improve their standard of living as well as enable the local communities to continue to live in traditional patterns. However, the improvements brought through the tourism also can also bring conflict at times with their culture as many people coming in from outside impacts on their space and lifestyle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday fulfilled all that I had hoped for and more. As I anticipated it was more of an experience that a "holiday" which was what I wanted - to start to understand the Inca civilisation and how, together with the colonial rule of Spain, the many Peruvian communities, craft and culture has developed to what it is today. The hostels and other accommodation were excellent (except the Hostel Apu Huascaran in Cusco which was very noisy from 4.00am in the morning in the bedrooms overlooking the one-way street outside as taxis, vans, etc., would stop to pick people up from the hostel, sounding their horns and leaving their engines running and blocking other passing vehicles which would also sound their horns if they were being delayed!) I asked to be moved to a room not overlooking the road which was much quieter.

review 9 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved Machu Picchu. It totally lived up to my expectations - and was pleased that we did a 'two day trek' to get there as it added to the experience (actually only one day of trekking and one day of being there. Tina loved the rain forest most - it came a very close second for me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have time in Cusco or Ollantaytambo to acclimatize to the altitude before doing any trekking. I wish we had had time to stay on one of the islands on Lake Titicaca but we only had 2 weeks so had to prioritize. In hindsight I would have liked a canopy walk in the rain forest but did not think of this beforehand.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All our guides were local people and all seemed to have an interest in and active involvement in local environmental work or animal welfare.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was amazing!

review 11 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all a wonderful experience but the definite high spot was the Machu Picchu visit and the 2 day Inca Trail

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Research your holiday well in advance and tailor your trip to meet individual needs. Allow time to acclimatise before moving on to high altitude. Ensure you build in time to rest and do your own thing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Local people are very tuned in to environmentally friendly behaviour and encourage visitors to do likewise. We were able to support local industries through local visits and purchases.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent value for money. First class accommodation and guiding service. All local agents (guides/transport) engaged by DSA were highly organised and well informed.

review 25 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our group of 8 visited an elementary school in the Sacred Valley (near Chinceros). We gave each child a goodie" bags filled with small toys and school supplies (we brought from the U.S.) We enjoyed interacting with the children and seeing their smiles! Enjoyed the Vistadome train from Ollantaytambo to Aquas Calientes. The views around Machu Picchu were amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Important to know the new rules and guidelines for traveling/hiking Machu Picchu.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our 10-day trip in Peru was fantastic from beginning to end! From the moment our group (4 couples) started planning our trip to Peru with our tour operator. Her suggestions and recommendations couldn't have been more perfect for us and our interests. Heather is an extremely competent travel consultant; great communicator and very knowledgeable about the areas we were visiting. While we were planning, she always got back to us promptly to answer our questions. The properties were perfect. All our guides and drivers were warm, friendly and loved teaching us about their country. A few times we spontaneously wanted to visit something not on our itinerary and our guides were flexible with these new additions. Our trip was flawless! You can totally put your trust in this company to organize a fantastic trip for you, whatever your budget. I can highly recommend this company.

review 5 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hospitality of the hotel staff and guides. The Amazon jungle trips. And Heather's constant monitoring even over the Christmas week endů.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

On arrival at Lima, take an immediate connection to Cusco, rather than spend half a night in Lima. Do Pisac on the way back from Ollantaytambo to Cusco, rather than as part of the Sacred valley tour. There is no baggage restriction on luggage on the boat from PEM to the Inketarra Resort. Ensure the guides speak good English. Remember that even water is charged for in "all inclusive AP rates". Very European, un American practice.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, nice to meet NO EXPATS, meaning every service was provided by locals. The bus from Aguas Caliente to Machu Pichu reduced the number of vehicles that would otherwise make that round trip. The few resorts approved in the Amazon forest results in higher rates, but must be good for the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very Good - a "4" on a scale of 1 to 5..

review 1 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Peru is a wonderful destination with so much more to offer than just the iconic Machu Picchu - all thoroughly recommended.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As we did, do the circuit in an anti-clockwise direction, so that you finish up with Macchu Pichu as the jewel in the crown, but don't miss out Arequipa and Colca Canyon.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In a relatively poor country where tourism is so important to the economy, every aspect of such a trip benefits the people somehow - even paying a child to take their photograph is a valuable contribution. Likewise, tourism as a source of income, by its very need, supports conservation of the tourist sights. Balancing this need with the reduction in environmental impact is a conundrum that Peru seems more aware of than a number of other countries we have visited. We wish them well in their efforts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A first rate and memorable experience made to run like clockwork by the efforts of the team at the Holiday providers.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies