8 independent reviews for Brown bear tracking in Northern Greece

Reviews for Brown bear tracking in Northern Greece

SHOW
6
2
0
0
0

review 10 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exploring this little known (to us) part of Greece, meeting the friendly locals, and eating the fantastic food. The scenery is truly stunning and unspoilt, and the autumn colours were just superb. The commitment and enthusiasm of Yannis, our guide, was infectious and he was a wonderful ambassador for the work of CALLISTO (charity) and for North West Greece, in general.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do a little bit of research into the area before you travel, as the guides will be happy to seek out any specific experiences who want to try (for us, it was mushroom foraging and then tasting the results at an excellent restaurant that specialises in wild mushroom dishes).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most definitely. We purposely ate at local low-key cafes, shared vehicles and enjoyed learning about the commendable work of CALLISTO and the complicated challenges they face.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - highly recommended!

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks so much for your 5-star rating and sparkling review! The team here in Greece is delighted to read this! Also thanks again for the donation to bear conservation, as this was part of this holiday as well. Hope to see you again in the wilderness of the Pindus.

review 29 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The autumn colours and atmosphere of mountains and lakes and the great time with our group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy whatever comes and whatever you see.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to support of local conservation, and I hope eating out in local villages instead of town supported the village economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks so much for your review and for supporting bear conservation efforts and local communities!

review 27 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The knowledge and professionalism of the local guide

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for lots of walking

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 21 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful mountain scenery, enthusiastic guides, delicious Greek food and good mood and lot of fun during the whole trip. A real highlight was to learn about camera traps, to get insight into bear research, radio tracking etc.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring with you a spare of gentle walking shoes in case of heavy rain. To be ready for changeable weather in the mountains. Enjoy the adventure!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! There was a significant donation from the cost of the trip, given to bear conservation to Callisto – enviromental organisation for wildlife and nature. We had the pleasure of visiting some of the local villages and comunicate with local people as well.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All was perfect, we really had a great time. The guides did a great job. A very educational trip, easy and enjoyable way how to learn more about wildlife and environment.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks a tons for this fabulous review! It was great to have you here, showing you the real Greece in a less well-known, pristine corner of the country. Thanks once more for your donation to brown bear conservation! You made tourism a tool for nature conservation. All the very best.

review 19 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trekking in the mountains with amazing view, excitement of being near the wildlife and the guide who did everything that we had a great time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't focus on the bears only, just enjoy the nature.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All was perfect, I really had a great time. The guide did a great job.

review 29 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in the mountains, and seeing tracks of bears and other animals. Also, staying in the interesting locations of Kastoria and Nestorio.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't forget to look at the stars when you're staying in the mountains. The dark skies and thin, dry air provide a spectacular view.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in locally owned accommodation and the holiday included a donation to the Callisto bear charity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful time walking in the mountains, even though we didn't see a bear. Our guide gave us a good understanding of the environment. We got on well with the other members of the group.

Read the operator's response here:

We thank you very much for your sparkling review, for supporting local communities and for your donation to nature conservation! We hope to see you again in Greece. Warm greetings!

review 26 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It did not have one single highlight -the entire trip was enjoyable. Low-key, NOT exciting which is exactly what we wanted. We learned so much about the gorgeous mountains of NW Macedonia -- saw NO wildlife to speak of but learned about the flora and fauna in general. The guides were very well informed and brought an appreciation of the outdoors and nature to us that was contagious.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect a low-key guided walk/hike, don't 'expect' bears! A walking stick is helpful, as are binoculars.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in that we ate and slept locally -- and it gave us new insights into human/wildlife interactions (for better or worse). More time with locals -- perhaps a meal in a home (although Gramos Lodge was almost like eating in someone's home!) -- would be a nice opportunity. The presentation and demonstration were interesting and very informative.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it -- it was just relaxed enough, not commercial -- yet still thoughtfully and professionally planned and executed. The landscape and life of northern Greece were so beautiful and interesting to learn about -- so happy we extended our trip to include Naousa and Vergina and days in Thessaloniki, also.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks very much for the review! We have further improved this tour: we place infra-red camera’s to catch wildlife on camera, we may do “howling sessions” with wolves and telemetry tracking of bears. Nevertheless chances to see bears fluctuate (depending on seasons and local conditions) while we refuse to use bait as this is not very responsible behavior.

review 17 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a brown bear was the highlight of the holiday but this was definitely the icing on the cake. The friendly people, wonderful mountain scenery, incredible views, amazing walks, butterflies, orchids and peace and quiet made the holiday memorable at all times.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to do plenty of walking over rough and rocky ground, possibly in high temperatures. Enjoy the local people, food, culture and scenery as much as possible. Don't expect to find bears, just treat it as highlight if you do.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we supported conservation by making a donation to the Callisto charity and by raising their profile. In the mountains we benefited local people by staying in their hotels and using their restaurants and guiding services.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful experience being able to enjoy the natural wonders of northern Greece and the hospitality of the Greek people. Understanding the interaction between bears & humans and the work being done by Callisto to improve relations was fascinating and heartwarming.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. You were indeed lucky to have seen bears on 2 days! The walks during this trips are as long as the travelers want. We are flexible and adapt the program as to make sure everyone is happy!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies