10 independent reviews for Highlights of Iceland self drive holiday

Reviews for Highlights of Iceland self drive holiday

SHOW
5
5
0
0
0

review 7 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching a Volcano Live. This was not in the scheduled by the operator, I had the idea and implementation by myself.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not rent a car with Nordic Car Rental. The experience was nightmare, their shuttle never show up to pick us at the airport to their office, we had to pay a Taxi to do this and waste our time. Then they were clearly understaff, and it took more than 4 hours to get our car. The car we rented was very old, with more than 370,000 Kms, the trunk and horn did not work, and the car has mechanical problems. They never answer their phone for assitantance and I had to solve the problem by myself with also little assistance from the operator

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The trip was awesome. The best from the operator were the hotels and bed and breakfast places selection. They were very charming places. However, I think that the agency did not care much about a personalized service, like the day we arrived, would be nice to hear from them and do follow ups on how we were doing and dealing better with the issues I confronted during the trip. There is no love for detail. I would not recommend it using them. I felt like they have a format and just replicate it for all their customers with very little customization and warmth.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Nelson, Thank you about your testimony. I'm very sad to read you because we have worked a lot on your trip for one year with all the modifications during this special period. About the volcano, we added it in the road book, it was in the plan. Of course we have adapted your journey because you have bought this trip before the beginning of the eruption.... About the car, we have had many calls with you, and we tried to do the best. It was a shame to give you this car and the car rental is on black list now. It's also a consequence with the covid, we have no cars available in Iceland this summer. I think it's very important to consider this period as special, many providers in Iceland have no enough staff and some are still closed. But Iceland is open and it's possible to travel in safe conditions. I'm happy also you have enjoyed your holidays and our country. Best regards JM

review 2 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A whale-watching boat trip and the absolutely spectacular scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take it only if you feel comfortable driving narrow sometimes winding roads with some areas that are gravel rather than paved. The operator also has a small- group tour.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hard to tell.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great. We saw places we never would have thought of on our own and everywhere we stayed was either a great hotel or in a beautiful setting or, most often, both. And if we had questions, we could always get responses from the operator.

review 12 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Snorkeling in Silfra and exploring Reynisfjara Beach

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dress appropriately for the cold and book plans through one of your companies

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly contributed to the tourist economy and did our best to minimize our environmental impact while there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We got really lucky and had 100% sunshine and 0 precipitation the entire 45 days we were there.

review 16 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just seeing the spectacular natural wonders of Iceland from the waterfalls to the glaciers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for extremes of weather but especially days of strong winds and rain that actually falls horizontally!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, because we ate in as many restaurants as possible and purchased many local products, which benefitted the economy in some small way. Plus, we noticed that in Iceland they are very concerned about recycling and so we did our part to do the same and never left rubbish anywhere but in bins.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It didn't get off to a great start but overall it would have to have been one of the best holidays my wife and I spent together. It was a trip of a lifetime and we will cherish the memories forever.

review 5 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was great. I can't isolate one part.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book earlier than two months ahead. Also, review all bookings

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 27 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The glacier explorer walk on Vatnajökull with Glacier Guides was a wonderful experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Follow the itinerary proposed by our tour operator and also savour delicious local food at some of their restaurant recommendations.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we considered our accommodation in Iceland and the sights and museums we visited were very respectful of the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent 10 day tour of Iceland's spectacular sights at a comfortable pace offering opportunities to explore local delights.

review 5 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We absolutely loved Iceland! Every day was different to the previous one - the scenery changed but it was all amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed driving on the roads - we went in September and it was so quiet we could stop at the side of the road, get out and take photos, and get back in the car without seeing another car; a really nice change from what we're used to!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy every minute! It's an amazing place! One small word of advice - just be aware that the geothermal nature of the country means that in one or two places the hot water smells a bit sulphurous, and it can tarnish silver jewellery (though not irreparably).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in local independent accommodation that was environmentally friendly, and the guide we received highlighted the importance of respecting the countryside.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant! Jean-Marc was very helpful both before and during the trip (we met him when we stayed in Myvatn), and everything worked smoothly - the car pick up, the accommodation, the excursions - it was a great way to get a taster of Iceland. We'll definitely be coming back!

review 3 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We did a lot of things, and enjoyed it all. We did many trekkings that were very beautiful, and since it is such a peacefull land you find yourself very often alone with and immense and breathtaking beauty. Watching the glaciers tongues soo close was incredible. And going to see the puffins nesting colony to the islet of Hafnarhólmi was absolutely great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready for very different weather conditions. And keep eyes open cause there is beauty everywhere. Always respect the road and path signals.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did feel it benefit the local people for sure. Respecting the trekking paths and signs helps towards conservation. But this the travellers responsibility. The places we stayed in, did feel like they were respectfull with the enviroment and promote local business, food, etc. Which made us very happy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful trip, a great opportunity to contact with nature. I very different and breathtaking kind of nature. You feel that the earth is alive, with all that water, lava, and steam coming out of it. The people in Iceland are very friendly and helpfull. Going during the midnight sun days, gave us extra daytime for excursions :) (though since it was the beginning of June, it was still quite cold)

review 9 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The boat trip amongst the icebergs in Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon. The Super Jeep ride we took from Hella. The Rift between tectonic plates in the Golden Circle at Thingvellir National Park

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Although our car was quite adequate and we managed well I would advise others to request a slightly larger car than we had as we were quite buffetted by the wind on a couple of days. We would strongly advise others to consider paying extra for the boat trip on the lagoon and also to make sure they experienced actually standing or walking on a glacier at some point.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

WE contributed to the local economy via the purchase of food, tours and other amenities. We feel that we improved our understanding of the Icelandic environment and the numerous challenges it presents to local communities who live permanently in this pristine part of the world.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, terrific experience which was enhanced by wonderful co-ordination and planning by the tour company ......Accommodation, road book and suggested itinerary were all spot on for the first time visitor to Iceland.

review 6 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Geothermal areas, bubbling pools and glaciers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go early to see the puffins, before they go out to feed. Check if an evening meal is provided and take provisions if staying in an isolated arear.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maybe benefited local people but didn't benefit environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall very enjoyable, I would however change the last nights accomodation to somewhere other than a noisy city centre hostel.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy