8 independent reviews for Namibia small group holiday, sand dunes & safari

Reviews for Namibia small group holiday, sand dunes & safari

SHOW
5
3
0
0
0

review 13 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many to mention, but the wildlife encounters and interactions in Etosha National Park was my overall favorite part. The white roads and salt pans against the endless blue sky was dramatic enough- combine that with epic wildlife such as elephants, lions, herbivores in layers at waterholes... it felt otherworldly! I'm also a huge fan now of the gorgeous Orxy, Namibia's national animal. So regal! And I also really loved being able to hike on the dunes!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would definitely tell guests to make sure they stay at the Halali Camp waterhole in the evening! I just chanced it, being very tired and wanting to retire to bed. But luckily we said, "Let's just go for a half hour" and we saw 30+ elephants and 4 Black rhinos. Not only that, but the interactions between elephants and rhinos themselves was thrilling! And hyenas as well... and then a leopard came out of the dark and drank from the waterhole before getting chased off by a young ele! Granted we live in the best wildlife area in Zambia, so this was still phenomenal and something we don't get to see in our national park of South Luangwa!!! Also seeing a cheetah in the wild vs. in a sanctuary- just makes it extra special knowing how unique these animals are (and we don't have back home in Zambia where we live). I would also recommend the flamingos of Walvis Bay if people don't want to do an adrenaline activity in the dunes. Personally, I also recommend that visitors spend another day or two in the Windhoek. I didn't realise how many other parks were available! We also hiked in Daan Viljoen Game Reserved (organised by our hotel) and went horseback riding at a German-family-owned farm with wildlife around us!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I feel like any nature-based tourism supporting lodges, stores, businesses around wildlife areas creates and overall incentive to protect and conserve for the long-term interest of income-generation through tourism. I liked going with a smaller group and having local guides with the intimate knowledge of history, culture and wildlife of course, plus I believe it can prevent damaging behaviours that some tourists do when travelling on their own (extracting natural resources, climbing the Deadvlei trees, etc.). We also stopped at a few places where local tribes were selling their goods, which gave an opportunity of purchasing directly from communities that tourists go through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I LOVED Namibia and the itinerary- absolutely fabulous "highlights" tour and great combination of wildlife and scenery. Would absolutely recommend this trip and Namibia to any friends and family. Amazing choice of lodging in beautiful locations, each with its own character and friendly staff.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks Karlyn and Camiel. So happy you had a great trip to Namibia :)

review 3 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Landscapes and local cultures. The desert during dawn, dusk and at night. Driving through the Namib desert. Himba and Herero tribes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Visit the Township and Enduka Namibia if interested in modern life and women empowerment. Run down the Big Daddy sand dune barefoot (if there early morning). Get an introduction to night sky and star photography before visiting.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes although the destination itself seems to induce sustainable travel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Itinerary was well thought and operated on time, both guides were professional and knowledgeable, the local operator was very supportive every time needed and the extra tour very interesting. Accommodation was generally above average (for European standards) and as presented in the sales material, while dinners were great. Food for thought/ main areas for improvement that mainly refer to how the tour is already planned and operated by the local operator; (a) Lunches especially lunchboxes - need to be greatly improved especially if the booking has come through a boutique channel like in my case and not a budget/ backpackers one, i.e. during the first one wondered if it was the correct booking - 3 out of 6 people did not eat it, (b) again, washing dishes after dinners - although i understand that for a backpacker's view it makes perfect sense, it unfortunately does not when booked from a boutique channel, (c) vehicle; overall experience was average, the lack of AC sometimes made travel not pleasant and also the vehicle it was poorly maintained (understandably very hard task though due to road conditions). (d) would integrate an additional day to the product in order to visit local cultures and villages.

review 23 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were several: many lions in Etosha (including lion eating zebra just killed (didn't see kill), also black rhino mating, many giraffes, zebras, a honey badger, elephants barging into the water hole to drink and "shower". The dunes in Sossousvlei were spectacular, but very high winds. And it started to rain, completely out of season. It was wonderful for me because the whole region has been experiencing a severe draught over the last 3 years.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just the thing for people who are not "happy campers". It mixed luxury accommodation with "picnic" by the road and other typical southern african cooking like a "braai" (BBQ), etc. If you are a stuch up snob, this is not for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I do. This is a country where water is scarce. The tour operator explained about having water to drink; while reducing plastic waste for example.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Will recommend it to anyone who isn't stuck up. It is a combination of luxury and also getting close to nature.

review 1 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildlife at Etosha, especially seeing rhinos around the watering hole in the Halali camp after dark. Second to that would be seeing the sunset in the Namib desert.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I think that when you are with a small group it's good to make an effort to get to know each other.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I'm sure it must have contributed to the local economy. Tourism is important to Namibia.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent: I saw a great deal in the space of eight days. I was amazed at the high quality of the accommodation and the holiday was very good value for money.

review 21 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Viewing animals in the wild and the dunes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take changes of clothes- water shortage and single overnight stays make washing impractical.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so- more than other types of holiday anyway.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your time in Namibia.

review 8 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Sossusvlei sand dunes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you travel during the dry season, be aware of how dry and dusty the air is, i.e. take nasal cream and handcream with you. Wear solid shoes and always carry enough water. Always have small change ready, e.g. to pay for the toilet (ladies). If you are a bit spoiled like me then I recommend the price uplift for the first and last day (pre/post round trip) nights in Windhoek.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

benefited local people, local drivers, locally managed accomocations, purchased locally made souvenirs, e.g. Penduka reduced environmental impacts, not sure, but tried to save on water consumption supported conservation. I guess the carnivour feeding fits this buzzword, but I was not so excited about this extra excursion

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

great

review 26 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing the dunes at sussusvlei with our fantastic guide Gabriel. Just driving through such a diverse landscape.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy!!!!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. A real adventure and brilliantly organised and guided by Gabriel from the local agent.

review 12 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting new friends and enjoying the beautiful landscapes of Namibia.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Itís a busy trip with a fair amount of driving and not a lot of time at each site. Good if you want a jam-packed trip where you can see the highlights.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stopped at local craft vendors to shop. Reminder to always purchase a large bottle of water and refill your smaller bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a good trip. Enjoyable. Accommodations were above expectation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies