1 independent reviews for Belize and Guatemala holiday, tailor made

Reviews for Belize and Guatemala holiday, tailor made


review 10 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Guatemala felt more authentic and affordable. We enjoyed the balance between organized trips and our own free time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would seriously look at a couple of the hotels you put us in. There were two that really fell short. The first was in the lakes, the hotel itself was okay, but the rooms were really too hot, no air conditioning and felt quite musty - but the biggest annoyance was the continual music which you couldnt get away from. Its fine to have it by the pool or in reception, but it really drove us mad. The hotel we were not happy with was the first one in Belize in San Ignacio - in fact it really a back packers hotel and not suitable on several accounts - the pool was really designed for a backpackers party the music was off the scale loud, so it didnt really make for a relaxing time. Secondly, the bedroom - the bathrooms were not safe at all, the floors were so slippy when wet, my husband fell and broke his arm - this really destroyed the final part of our holiday - to matter worse the hotel called a Dr when I asked for help to get him to hospital - the Dr they called was useless and just wanted money from us for doing nothing, then accused us of not paying. Utterly disgraceful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had our phone stolen in Guatemela in the market - so yes they benefited from that. The guide would only report it as lost to the police for us.... That did not impress us at all.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Belize was expensive, and a real dampner that my husband couldnt do anything due to his broken arm.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for your feedback, though I was sorry to hear your husband had an accident in the shower at one of the properties and you were also were the victim of robbery in Guatemala. I can appreciate both must have had a very detrimental impact upon your holiday enjoyment and we are sorry you had such unfortunate experiences. In addition, we note your concerns regarding the music. Although we have previously found the simple cottages at the family run Midas Resort offer good value for money, as mentioned in our hotel description, the pool area is open to the public and as a result it can get lively. In any event, I regret this detracted from your stay and we shall review proposing this hotel in the future in light of your feedback. We will be following up the issues you have raised and be in touch with you directly very shortly. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy