8 independent reviews for Peloponnese highlights tour, 8 days

Reviews for Peloponnese highlights tour, 8 days

SHOW
8
0
0
0
0

review 29 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was memorable

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, to the extent that tourism is economically beneficial.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful experience - great hosts in Angela and Nikos and the many amazing attractions of the Pelopponese - we knew that it would be good but it surpassed all expectations

review 8 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The quality and variety of experiences that were included in the trip. We particularly enjoyed the hike through the river gorge to the monastery. The historic ruins were wonderful. The caves trip with itsí boat ride was special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to walk to take advantage of what is on offer. We enjoyed the format of structured visits early in the day and then relaxing and setting our own agenda late afternoon and evening.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We enjoyed the company of our hosts for the trip. It was good to gain insights into contemporary Greek life and have their assistance in understanding what we were experiencing.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were very happy with the hotel choices made for us. We came away knowing the basics of Peloponnese history, we enjoyed the antiquities, the food, and a pleasant holiday experience as a bonus.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Barry and Sheryn thank you for your nice things you said about us and our tour!!! We enjoyed the tour with you too!!! Hope to see you again sometime!! With regards Angela & Nikos

review 20 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was fantastic. This was mainly due to the brilliant organisation and flexibility of Angela and Nikos. The ancient archaeological sites we visited, were the most important and renowned in the Peloponnese and did not disappoint, but of course even the best things can become too much without time to relax and do other things. Angela and Nikos, in their organising, had thought of this and included free time, wine tasting, and swimming. Angela and Nikos are a lovely couple who are sensitive to the individual needs of their group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be confident that the trip will be everything that it is described to be. Also there are no hidden extras, no delays, good hotels etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Angela and Nikos live in the Peloponnese and it was evident that both have great respect for their history, culture and environment. By choosing this holiday we were helping them as local people, who in turn help other local people. Small vehicles and groups reduce environmental impact and we were aware that through being guided by Angela and Nikos we were supporting conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 25 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We donít drive away from our own country, Bermuda, so it was wonderful to be driven to all the ancient sites in Greece and be given plenty of time to absorb everything without being part of a large group or being forced into touristy activities. It was a very rewarding experience and also relaxing, thanks to Angelaís arrangements and Nikosís safe driving.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

At the request of our fellow traveller on the tour, we spent two nights in Nafplio instead of three in Tripoli. We recommend keeping the two nights as Nafplio was charming and full of atmosphere. If you want extensive information about the sites, it would be best to research in advance though there is some given in museums.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Angela made recommendations for local restaurants, which we enjoyed for Greek salads and fresh fish. The hotels were also run by locals and not part of a large chain.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was unforgettable. We appreciate Angelaís advice on when to visit Greece. Thanks to her opinion we should come mid April, we saw an amazing spread of wild flowers and peach blossom throughout the mountains and sites.

review 11 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved everything! Ancient sites, hiking, coffee with monks in a monastery up a sheer cliff, swimming, driving through the country. A memorable day was when we followed the mobile chicken man who had a truck with an open back door, so that you could see the chickens eating, looking about and enjoying the fresh air from their cages. He also played them loud music as he drove! We were also surprised to find such great food and wine. We have passed on our eating recommendations and any wine from Nemea or Naoussa is worth a try especially with the local St George or Agiorgitiko and the Moschofilero grape varieties.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! It was reasonably priced, the hotels were good, the guide was helpful and flexible. If you want a guided tour of any of the archaeological sites, do this before you leave. We were happy to look around ourselves, but sometimes a guide helps.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the people running our tour lived and worked in the area and knew it well. This meant they were able to take us on the best routes and point out the local colour and highlights.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic! Nikos our driver was intelligent, informative and passionate about Greece in general and the Peloponnes in particular. He was also an extremely good driver and genuinely nice guy - essential as nearly each day's trip involved driving over mountains! Angela from the operator was also great - she responded helpfully and professionally to any requests and took us on the hike in the mountains (and made a local cheese savoury picnic lunch) which was a memorable highlight.

Read the operator's response here:

Keryn and Rob thank you for your comment and for your nice words. We had a great time with you and we are really happy you enjoyed our tour too. With regards.

review 11 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The highlights were too numerous to mention. In all, the most valuable experience was the diversity of exploration from ancient archealogical sites to beautiful walks in wondrous gorges to visits at the most stunning beaches to some brilliant food and wine experiences. The tour gave the opportunity to experience the Peloponnese in all its rich and diverse offerings. Among the highlights:-Olympia, The caves, the gorge walk, Mycenae.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be open to exploring the two towns we spent the night in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It supported local tourist enterprises and employment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Harry for your comments. It was a pleasure for us to have you on the tour. With regards.

review 9 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best feature of this holiday was that each days' activity was different and revealed another aspect of this beautiful region of Greece. From mountain villages in Arcadia to archaeological sites (both the well known and the the less well known) and beautiful beaches, each day was a unique experience. If you wanted to spend an hour under the trees in a village square relaxing in conversation over a beer or a coffee, there was no pressure to move on a keep to a schedule. In the evenings you were free to explore the towns (Tripoli, Monemvasia and Kalamata) you stayed in and eat in local restaurants and talk to the people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! This is a wonderful way to see Greece. Everyone has their own horror experience of large group tours in Greece or elsewhere, but with Hellasdays you have a company focused on bringing you the best in small group travel. The company is the 'Smart Car' of local tourism ( I realise that for Greeks, being compared to a German company may not seem like the compliment that is intended), but Hellasdays is small and agile and thus able to customize the experiences it offers to travelers. There are so many small, personal touches from the Welcome and Farewell Gifts to the homemade picnic lunch on the Lucius river gorge walk. Nikos and Angela are enthusiastic about their region of Greece and want people to have the best experience possible. The Greek word for doing things wholeheartedly, with soul is 'meraki' and that's exactly the type of experience you get on this trip!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Along with the concern for you to have a great holiday, Hellasdays is all about being local. The hotels are local, not members of a large chain and selected so that you have good access to the town you are staying in. All of the hotels were very comfortable and the breakfasts, varied and ample. The visit to the Palivou Estate winery on day one was a great example of introducing people to the local product and providing the visitor with an understanding of the terroir and climate and how these influence the characteristics of these beautiful wines. The fact that the tour groups are small also ensures that the environmental impacts of your holiday are minimal. Nikos, a trained agronomist, is keen to pass on his insights on the local areas you pass through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a five star experience for me. I don't often take group tours, even with small groups, but from day one I had no regrets and everyday just kept getting better. While the trip had everything that I wanted from a holiday in Greece - history, archaeology, great food and wine, mountains and beautiful beaches - the care and flexibility with which it was executed made it the perfect holiday.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Russell for your comment and for all the nice things you said about our tour and about us. We had a really nice time with you and we really hope to see you again soon. With regards

review 3 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was great! There was lots of variety. We really enjoyed hiking in Arcadia on our 2nd day, and visiting the monasteries and small mountain villages.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Because you visit a lot of ruins, you are doing a lot of walking. Take that into consideration if you are not in very good shape. Nicholas is very flexible, so you will always be able to enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I'd say yes. We stopped at local places for coffee and lunches in small villages. Our hotel stays were not in the big touristy cities, but were very nice and relaxing..

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an amazing trip. The only way to see the Peloponnese. Let someone else do the driving and just set back, relax and enjoy.

Read the operator's response here:

Marlys & Ron thank you very much for your nice comments! It was a lovely tour for us too. Hope to see you againa sometime!! Take care. Efcharisto!!!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies