17 independent reviews for Snowdonia self catering accommodation, Wales

Reviews for Snowdonia self catering accommodation, Wales

SHOW
3
12
2
0
0

review 28 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The amazing view from the picture window of this cottage - Mount Snowdon & Llyn Padarn and our very own "Autumnwatch" with birds feeding in the garden.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy the walks from the doorstep and take plenty of logs for the fire.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes environmental impact reduced as we were encouraged to recycle and to use non-bleach cleaning products.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an amazing week to recharge batteries and get lots of restful sleep. Would highly recommend this cottage if you want to get away from it all.

Read the operator's response here:

Glad you enjoyed it, Zena, and hope you will come again! Thanks for the review.

review 5 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The area itself was beautiful, the nearby lake was clean n beautiful with opportunities to partake in lots of activities and the beaches on Anglesey were lovely- Treaddur I think we went to, had a great cafe/restaurant nearby too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This part of Wales is really lovely, but unless the damp is sorted in this particular cottage, Iíd stay somewhere else. I have a house which is 250 yrs old and I know about damp. Itís expensive to sort out properly, but I donít expect to go on a holiday and ..pay to live with it. Iíd spend a bit more for something without damp and which had a much more pleasant liveable kitchen-despite the view. The DVD player didnít work. A call and text to the owner didnít prompt a response. When youíre in this area of Wales the chances are itíll be wet at some point. I anticipated that and wanted to catch up on some movies I hadnít seen in the late evenings of my hols so again, that was poor.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We probably put a fair bit of cash into the cafes/restaurants/attractions. Iím not sure about reducing environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I wouldnít stay in the cottage again unless I was paid, but Iíd recommend the area. We enjoyed Peteís Eats, our attempts at walking Snowden, the walk around the lake, the hydro-electric tour, Anglesey beaches. I love that The UK is beautiful. Iíd give the area and our experiences a 7/10 and the cottage a 2/10.

Read the operator's response here:

Sorry Kath that you didn't enjoy the cottage - you must have had a particularly wet week. I can only point to the other reviews of 4* and 5* that I've received - a 5* from someone visiting just two weeks after you, and a number of repeat customers. I was not aware that the DVD was not working - the TV/DVD is only about a year old. As I was abroad at the time I didn't receive your text.

review 7 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We arrived at the cottage in darkness but when we woke next morning the view of snowdon was amazing in beautiful sunshine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Look out for the 3 wheelie bins that are places on the cottages car park opposite the row of white terraced cottages at the top of the lane leading down to the cottage.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did buy a curry from the local Indian restaurant...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous and very memorable. It was our first time in snowdon and certainly won't be the last. The cottage was everything we could have hoped for and was very cosy with some of the best views of mount snowdon we could have imagined.

review 26 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location of the cottage and magnificent view.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As our travel advisor already mentioned, I would also highly recommend to hire a car when travelling to this destination and surroundings. The weather changes, I would say, every 10 minutes, so it is good to provide suitable clothes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It is difficult to say, but we definitely benefited from making friends with local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would recommend this type of holiday to all my friends. Holidays were great!

review 25 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stunning view from the cottage across to Snowdon which was free of cloud for 5 of the 7 holiday days (must be a record for April). Wonderful sunny weather with no rain allowed full use of the lovely garden (with bird feeders attracting woodpeckers, nuthatches and all the woodland tits) which our 3 year old twins really enjoyed. Perfect location for a family holiday with the Llanberis lake railway a walk away via the cafe and woodland walks of Menter Fachwen and the beautiful Llanwyddyn beach and dunes at Newborough Forest only 30 mins drive away. Castles and trains in abundance enthralled our twins and made for probably our best ever family holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lightly and don't be put off by the walk down to the cottage. It is steep but consider it part of the charm of staying in a cottage in such a beautiful location. Our 3 year-olds made it up and down under their own power every day. The mile long road up to Fachwen is narrow with passing places and could make those with new cars (like us) a bit nervous, but just drive carefully and you'll be fine. Mobile phone coverage was good with ee/orange but Vodafone is useless in Snowdonia. Buses are pretty good in this part of Wales and do go through Brynefail from Bangor and Llanberis which is just a mile down the hill, so this lovely cottage can be a base for people who have no need/desire to use a car on their holiday. Go to the beach on really sunny days - itís not far and Llanwyddyn must be one of the finest in the UK. Bring lots of pound coins for the meter and for entry to Newborough Forest and the beach. The Welsh Highland Railway is superb - go to Rhyd Dddu or Waunfawr (a short drive away) and catch the train to Portmadog. Stunning route through Beddgelert and the Aberglaslyn Pass. So much to see and do but do leave time for just enjoying the cottage and its lovely garden.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our use of the cottage probably not greatly (with driving, eating in etc.) but is certainly possible to have a low carbon holiday based here with a bit of walking and understanding the public transport options.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Probably our best ever family holiday which will linger long in the memory and had a truly transformational effect on our twin boys. A stunningly beautiful location and very comfortable cottage with a very long list of things to do and see.

review 31 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of the holiday was the absolutely stunning view from the cottage, watching the mountains changing as mist drifted over them and then the light and shadows constantly changed as the mountains were revealed and highlighted. The most exciting part of the holiday was a trip to Zip World, about 1/2 an hour from the cottage for the longest zipwire in Europe. We travelled at 90 miles an hour above Penryn Quarry, it was fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Itís a steep climb down to the cottage, and a hazardous path to drive down, so you need to be reasonably fit to carry your stuff there. But it was worth it. There are lots of things to do locally: climb Snowdon, swim or canoe in Llyn Padarn, enjoy the electric mountain trip, definitely do the Zip world, learn about the slate mining and enjoy the views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We visited many local attractions and supported local firms that way. Other than that, not really.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really relaxing and active break, we'd love to go back.

review 24 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Memorable: view from cottage. Exciting: Visit to Zipworld.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As an asthmatic I would worry about the damp, evidently present and somewhat characteristic of an old workers' cottage, in colder weather.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly. It could be clearer what is taken by the local recycling bin collection.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had very good weather and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday which included Zipworld, white water rafting, walking up Snowdon (including the extra from the cottage itself), other walks, castle visits and a beach stop.

review 2 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The view ! This is in such an idyllic spot , so peaceful and quiet. We loved watching snowdon come in and out of the weather. The terrace is a real suntrap when its sunny.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Best start the fire small and lay it at the very back until the chimney warms up other wise it tends to puff smoke out into the room a bit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We loved the cafe in the woods and the steam train at the bottom of the hill.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9 out of 10 . Very peaceful and private with fabulous views of the mountains.

review 29 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking the trails up to Snowdon. Sitting in the little cottage looking at the mountain as we ate our meals and knowing that we were up there!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go prepared for all weather possibilities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped locally and contributed to local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was wonderful and we would love to return.

review 25 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location of the cottage and the spectacular views. Easy access to Snowdon and excellent walking and mountain biking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The accommodation is very basic, but comfortable throughout and the wonderful setting more than makes up for this. The double room was tiny with a small and uncomfortable double bed and no wardrobe/hanging space. We think the size of the bed and the room (you could barely walk around the bed and there was no reading light on one side of the bed) should have been made clearer. Also, although the cottage sleeps 5, there were only 4 chairs at the table and room to sit four comfortably in the lounge. You need to take a supply of £1 coins for the electricity meter - we did not use much at all (around £10) but did not need to use the electric heaters. The visitors book mentioned lots of problems with damp - but this was not a problem for us, but we kept the windows open and the cottage well ventilated. The description of the cottage does mention the walk from the car parking area - this is very steep and unlit and you need to remember to take a torch if you go out in the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out locally most evenings in pubs and cafes that used local produce. The slot meter for the electricity also helped us to reflect on our use of electricity!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very basic cottage in a superb location - with stunning views of Snowdon and Lake Padarn and walks from the cottage. The owner was helpful and efficient in making the booking and the description of the cottage was good. I would have rated the holiday more highly if the double bed hadn't been so uncomfortable!

Read the operator's response here:

I am sorry these guests were not pleased with some aspects of the cottage. However I would contend the use of the word "basic". I try very hard to make the cottage comfortable, and this year there are new Laura Ashley curtains, new carpets, new bath, new shower, new microwave. Everywhere is freshly decorated. Previous reviewers have reported it being comfortable with everything they need. The cottage itself has a new roof and double glazing. The double bed is standard 4ft. 6ins size. Personally I find it perfectly comfortable. Although there is not a wardrobe in the room there is some hanging space. Although there are only four dining chairs normally at the table, there is an extra dining chair in the single bedroom for use when 5 people are staying, and the hand crafted yew table is quite big enough. Likewise there is an extra chair for seating in the evening.

review 22 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A peaceful place to be with fabulous views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the walk up and down the road to the cottage. It's perfectly do able though.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, if the holiday makers are prepared to use local facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good, well cared cottage which has a homely and comfortable feel. Our second visit so the proof is in the re booking. The owner takes care of the house and keeps it in good order.

review 15 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving and finding the cottage down the path, then going out onto the terrace and seeing the fantastic views, something you never get tired of looking at.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light! Make sure everyone is prepared and capable of walking to and from the cottage to the car it is well worth it for the fantastic views. We tended to just go out and back once a day and left things like walking boots in the car. We also found the walk to the car was a good warm up for the day's walking anyway! Take binoculars we spent hours watching the activity on Snowdon and the lake.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

With the cottage being in such a central location we didn't always need to use the car there are lots of walks and places to visit we went to the National Slate Museum twice its very interesting and well worth a visit. We used local shops cafes and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We have stayed in Snowdonia several times and think this is the best location we have stayed in. We found the cottage delightful and all you expect of a property of this age we enjoyed its quirkiness. We had one or two chilly evenings when we had a fire and also some very hot days sitting on the terrace. All in all one of the best holidays we have had.

review 25 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Snowdonia is a truly wonderful place and the cottage is in a totally idyllic location. We loved its stunning views, both tranquil and exhilarating and its remote feeling made it a pleasure both inside and out. The internal simplicity was refreshing and the garden and terrace joyous and relaxing. We had several long walks from this base covering allsorts of exciting terrain and the coal fire and stars made the nights equally blissful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for all weather eventualities and smile, and try the Celtic wine in the Honey Cafe but make sure you share your life story!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We endeavoured to spend our money in local businesses and found a really friendly man at a local garage selling coal firewood and local produce. We walked everywhere (which was quite strenuous but rewarding).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant - we had such a lovely time and would love to go again.

review 17 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving and seeing the stunning view over Lake Padarn from cottage/patio. Our 1 and 3 year olds running round cottage and garden really over excited. Surprise snow in April and a lovely neighbour bringing logs round! Watching steam train chugging up Snowdon in the distance.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The cottage... Website pics don't do the cottage justice; it's in a really amazing spot looking over the lake with mountain background. Everything we needed was in the cottage. Really thoughtful leaving some wood/coal (and £1 for meter) for use on arrival. Very clean. Lovely garden. Steep drive down to cottage but good exercise! In the area, with young kids, we enjoyed.... - lake side railway (lovely little steam train, short enough for younger kids) - slate museum (free, interesting and well laid out) - paint a pot studio in Llanberis (good for rainy day) - Pete's Eats cafe in Llanberis (great food, friendly, welcome kids too) - kidsí playground next to lake padarn - Llanberis pass (climbing) - Caenarfon castle - walking routes around Padarn Lake (lakeside walk was beautiful) - Menter Fachwen cafe (social enterprise cafe in padarn park area, tucked away, really warm welcome, stunning views)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tried to shop locally, but I'm not sure Spar counts! Using electricity on a '£1 coin in the meter system' was a good lesson in power consumption - it didn't use much more than at home but it's easier to keep track of.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. We hope to go back and next time we'll climb Snowdon... the kids were a bit young this time.

review 30 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing Tryfan Mountain in the Ogwen valley and finally visiting 'The Electric Mountain'.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wrap up warm and be prepared for the British weather. Don't go expecting mod cons but enjoy the relief of not being connected!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It definately benefited people working locally in the tourism economy. True stone cottage with minimal impact on its beautiful Snowdonian surroundings.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful especially for October in Wales, UK.

review 6 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of the holiday was turning up at the cottage on a Welsh hillside and taking in the breath taking views of Snowdon and the lake at Llanberis. It was really good to look out in the morning and chose the perfect day to climb Snowdon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A perfect holiday for exploring the Welsh mountains, lots of walking and rock climbing. The cottage is so homely and peaceful with a big window looking out on panoramic views it is also just so lovely to be there and relax too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we walked a lot cutting down on fuel and bought local products.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was brilliant for us, my two boys age 15 and 17 enjoyed the climbing and the outdoor activities and found the scenery nearly as breathtaking as they did on their recent trip with scouts to Switzerland. The cottage had loads of character and was a very special place to stay.

review 15 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The situation of the cottage itself. Wow! The marvelous views and the excitement of actually seeing Snowdon just before we left. The Slate Museum is well worth a visit and also the Hospital. Many lovely walks and well signed trails. The Electric Mountain is a great trip and can be done when the weather is bad. The Laburnum Arch at Bodnant. Conway Castle and Plas Mawr. To think that the castle was built in four years is quite something

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stout walking shoes. The weather is very changeable so don't be put off by low clouds. Save your appetite for Pete's Eats. The portions are huge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Tourism is vital to this beautiful corner of North Wales.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful week.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies