23 independent reviews for Walking holiday in Alicante

Reviews for Walking holiday in Alicante

SHOW
9
8
0
0
0

review 2 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Thoroughly enjoyed our week's walking holiday in Tárbena, Spain. We stayed in Eric's self-catering cottage in the heart of the village and were made very welcome by him and the friendly locals. Eric had generously filled the fridge and we wanted for nothing in his well equipped house with a terrace that opened on to a stunning gorge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walks are all in beautiful locations but are challenging in the main, do learn how to use Eric's GPS system! The local council have created new routes and signposted them, it would make walks a little easier if Eric's routemaps were updated to match the new signposted walkways. We were amazed to find two world class restaurants in Tárbena. Honestly, we had two of the best meals of our lives there and can't recommend both highly enough. My tip would be not to miss out on either!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped locally and supported the local economy, but that was easy to do as once in Tárbena walking is the only mode of transport! We had a very small carbon footprint and walking on the trails and routeways supported the work of the local council in its eco-tourism efforts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really enjoyed the holiday, the area is stunningly beautiful. Both Eric and Responsible Travel made our holiday so easy and relaxing.

review 11 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the walking in Tarbena area - fabulous mountain views, lots of birds and amazing wild flowers. Erik provides very clear walking instructions. He and his wife were very helpful in driving us to start of walks and collecting at the end. Lovely little house to stay in with amazing view. House is well equipped. Erik, who organises the walks, and provides the transport is very flexible. He also found me a very good Spanish teacher called Brenda. Erik told us loads about the area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Worth adding a couple of nights in Alicante if you have time. We had a very interesting 2 days in Alicante before our walking week. We were lucky to be there for May Day and Santa Faz festival. We were able to watch the May Day trade union march, and at the cathedral saw a huge gathering of local young women in beautiful traditional costumes. We took part in the pilgrimage walk to Santa Faz setting off at 8am. Eating out was very reasonable and excellent quality. We really enjoyed the MACA museum of modern art and even swam in the sea (big waves!). Got to Alicante old town easily from Airport by local bus. The walking is quite steep in places so take walking poles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we were self catering and bought our food at the local shops in Tarbena. Erik and his wife, Esperanza are running a local business which brings people into the village who will spend money locally. Esperanza's family have lived in the area for many generations. A lot of young people have to move away to look for work so Erik and Esperanza are finding a way to bring employment to this very rural area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of our best ever and very good value!

review 28 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking along the terraced hillside that was terraced by the Moors!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the first day to figure out how the GPS works and how the maps, field notes and GPS work together.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

benefited local people by shopping for food locally and eating in locally owned restaurants/bars. Reduced environmental impact because all walking was on well established trails.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10! Erik is great. Very personable, attentive to your needs, quick in responding when you have a question. Very knowledgeable about the area.

review 20 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walk 9, Col de Rates, spectacular!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember the restaurants close about 5pm, be prepared to self cater. Walk 5, bar in main square at end of walk serves good food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, used local shops and bars.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 25 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking up in hills with fantastic views and no one else about.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

just plan day by day. Enjoy village life in the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Contributed to local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Easily accessible by me a moderately fit sixtyish person. Walks from 5 miles to 15.

review 20 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the walks were amazing. The almond blossom was gorgeous. Erik went the extra mile to ensure we had a fantastic time plus he was very knowledgeable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring warm layers of clothing as although we were often walking in T shirts it could be cold as Tarbena is at 2,000ft.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we used local shops and restaurants, we had no need of a hire car and we recycled as much as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding.

review 21 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The incredible views, flora and fauna seen on our walks

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You really benifit from walking poles. Recently the restaurant in the town has closed and the bar food wasn't great so be prepare for self catering at the house.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our walking holiday had a very low carbon footprint and we followed the country code, respecting the environment., All money spent was in local shops, bars or on local produce. We left all packaging etc to be recyled.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Erik was very accomodating and did all he could to make our holiday comfortable and enjoyable. We really felt we got a personalised treatment. The accomadation was lovely and we came back extremly relaxed and feeling we had had a very special time.

review 27 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Instantly relaxing as Erik met us and all organisation was taken care off. He is so friendly, relaxed and reliable that you immediately relax and enjoy the holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try out the GPS on a short walk first, it is excellent but best to feel confident with it first.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we ate out every night, except Monday when the bars were shut!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb!

review 18 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience of being in such a wonderful place to walk, with varying and spectacular views daily.Very peaceful

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Obviously need to be fit as there are many strenuous climbs, don't forget your camera, remember a packed lunch as no where on walks to obtain any drinks or food until the end of the walk.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited the local bar as we had an evening meal there every night. Local shop and bakers for your lunch. Did not need to hire a car. Support the work by local people who are preserving the footpaths for walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant holiday and would definitely return to complete the rest of the walks. Erik is a friendly, knowledgeable, helpful host. Nothing was too much trouble, picking us up from and to the airport (which is a 90 minute drive) taking us to starting points on walks and picking us up when finished. Accommodation was good,fully equipped kitchen and hot water and heating.

review 3 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely walks and the lovely weather. We enjoyed the house where we lived - As Tunel - spacious for 2 people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Tarbena is a charming place but the restaurants tend not to open in the evenings. One does on a Friday for the Brits at 8pm. The alternative is to go to a bar but our Spanish is not good enough for that. The village supermarket was very adequate for self catering. Twice we had 'menu del dia' in the afternoon which was wonderful and we did not need to eat for the rest of the day - and not expensive. We chose not to hire a car, but we were then very restricted - there is nothing to do apart from going on the walks (and relaxing). We went in the last 2 weeks of October and it got chilly by 5pm. Erik is very helpful, giving advice about the area; his walks were good and the directions, map and GPS all helped to make the walking possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people benefitted from our custom in the shops and the restaurants. the countryside is lovely with impressive gorges - quite fantastic!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good thank you.

review 31 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk we did on the final day - a breathtaking, off-the-beaten-track gorge landscape descending towards the pleasant little village of Bolulla where a homely restaurant served us a classic Spanish rural Menu del Dia.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. Learn how to use the GPS device before you start your first walk. We thought we would pick it up along the way and ended up taking some wrong turns. Once we finally mastered it (especially the zoom facility) it was a great boon. We should have got to grips with it at the start. 2. Be prepared for some tough gradients and rough underfoot conditions. Spanish mountain walking is not like a stroll in the English countryside! Having said which, the views are ample reward for all the effort.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - emphatically so. It was great to stay in a mountain village for 4 nights, sampling the village bars and restaurants and shopping locally. The holiday format meant that we settled down in Tarbena where otherwise most visitors probably pass by in a moment. Waking up to the views from the apartment patio then going out walking made us feel immersed in the environment rather than passing by.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely first class. Amazing walks, charming village to stay in (Tarbena), very comfortable and well equipped apartment in an old part of the centre, good village facilities. Erik was a very helpful, friendly, flexible host. The ideal break if you want to walk in spectacular mountain scenery whilst someone else looks after your transport needs (including arrival and departure by train from / to Valencia for us). If you are a keen walker you simply could not fail to feel exhilarated and delighted by the combination of scenery, village, transport and accommodation.

review 21 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Really being able to immerse ourselves in what felt like real Spain amongst the most charming of people who spoke no English but understood the meaning of hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it . It's a wonderful tour, great hiking, beautiful scenery and all made very easy by Erik.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Our visit definitely benefitted local people and we walked on from place to place leaving only our foot prints!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, Erik sorted out our kind of holiday which we couldn't have sorted out on our own. We stayed at some fabulous places, usually on our own and met some wonderful local people. I would recommend this trip and others Erik organises without hesitation.

review 22 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Some of the gorgeous picnic spots we rested at during our walks, admiring the spectacular views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walks are delightful, just enjoy them! February, when the almonds are in bloom, is a great time of year to go!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, these small mountain villages need people to leave the coast and visit them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lovely week, the walking was great, the views fantastic and it was very relaxing.

review 20 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoying a well deserved glass of wine after a lovely days walk in the sunshine, whilst admiring an unspoilt view of the mountains around Confrides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Despite the price being quoted in £ you’ll be charged the price in euros so will be at the mercy of the exchange rate at time of payment ( i.e. 1 month before you go). Also, the holiday info we were given quoted it as full board (including packed lunch) but we had to pay extra for these at each hotel (between €5 - €7). I note that the holiday details have since been updated on the website to half board though. About half of the walking is on concrete/tarmac lanes, so you could probably manage the week with good trainers/walking shoes rather than boots. If you are a light sleeper be sure to pack some ear plugs, the villages you stay in all have a hourly bell and some of them ring throughout the night, (no noisy traffic or sirens though!) Try to learn a few phrases in Spanish before you go, not all of the hosts speak good English and they will appreciate you trying to communicate in the local language.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in small villages that most likely don’t see huge amounts of tourists, drank in local bars and shopped in small village stores.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lovely get-a-way, the people are very friendly, scenery is unspoilt and there are plenty of options to either shorten or lengthen your walk depending on how energetic you are feeling.

review 13 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The winding trail to El Castellet and the views from it, the wildflowers and the local hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make time to take in the daily excursions as they're well worth effort.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - the operator is based in the region, accommodation is provided in small guesthouses along the route and food is sourced locally. The route is on robust trails and roads, reducing the impact of hiking on the land.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most enjoyable.

review 8 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Achieving the climbs to the Castell de Serrella and also the Castell at Benifato. The friendliness of the people who ran the various places where we stayed each night was without fault.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You seriously have to love your walking and be ready to do so in all weathers. The surrounding hills and mountains are beautiful and when you are up there without another person in view it is gorgeous. You need lots of sun protection and water and a big hat. We tried to pace ourselves but places to rest in the shade were few and far between.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Like most small places in the World today, they are very much affected by the economic global downturn. There is no doubt that our custom helped. As holidays go - it involved flying etc but what we did whilst there had little impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I wanted this holiday in order to getaway from things for a while and get some peace and quiet - I certainly got this. We have had a nice time and my walking muscles are very toned. Good holiday.

review 6 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walks in stunning countryside bathed in bright sunshine with fantastic views of steeply terraced mountains to the blue sea, almond trees with their pink blossom, olive groves and orange trees heavy with fruit. We rarely met others and often the only sound was birdsong. It was hard to believe that we were so close to the busy coast! Erik was full of local knowledge and was extremely welcoming and helpful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want a huge, locally sourced, Spanish meal at the end of a hard days walk eat your evening meals at the Piscine Bar, Esperanta was a very generous and talented cook! The accommodation is very comfortable and has everything you need so there is no need to bring lots with you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we only left our footprints and ate local food. In this worked environment with carefully tended terraces we stuck to paths that needed to be walked or they will disappear.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, such a friendly welcome to this part of Spain.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies