19 independent reviews for Self guided walking holiday in France

Reviews for Self guided walking holiday in France

SHOW
10
8
1
0
0

review 5 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The warm welcome, good food, beautiful place

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come for rest and relaxation. The countryside is pleasant rather than spectacular

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just what I needed. Restful, easy, a real holiday

review 1 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wonderful hosts and food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Recommend GPS or similar app to help with navigating roads (if driving or biking) and trails (if hiking). Maps and directions are provided, but it is still quite easy to get lost.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Almost everything used at the accommodation is produced locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5/5

review 30 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hosts

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dont go in June it was very hot

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Peter and Carolynn source as much as they could locally, especially the wine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The heat caused me grief, without that it was wonderful.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your kind comments Dorothy. The temperatures at the end of last week are the hottest we remember in twenty five years. Thankfully for us the temperatures returned to normal this week. We much enjoyed yours and David's company. Kind regards, Carolynn and Peter.

review 11 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great cycling in ideal countryside for quiet slightly challenging daily rides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy the daily rides (or walks) and then spend time relaxing back at the accommodation prior to the wonderful evening drinks and meal.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hosts do what they can to reduce their impact on the environment and the food supplied was obtained locally. As a form of holiday cycling and walking has minimal environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Friendly welcoming hosts, good accommodation and great food and drink. The holiday had all the best elements of a home stay with friends.

review 5 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The camaraderie with the owners, Peter and Carolynn, and the other guests at dinner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go, if you are a walker. The holiday is everything the web site says it is.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it certainly benefits the local economy. Local wines and food. They employ people who live near by.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, we had a great time!

review 6 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was a perfect holiday and it is hard to pinpoint which is the most memorable. The lodging was excellent nestled in greens with lots of hiking and biking trails to choose from, all meticulously planned out by the owner Peter. Food was superb, prepared by Carolyn, Peter’s wife who ran the place immaculately. This place is actually perfect for simply lazing around for a few days, sipping on limitless wine and taking a dip in the pool.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sign up, go for it and you won’t regret it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe so as they employ part time help from the neighborhood, use plenty of local produce and very conservation conscious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

Read the operator's response here:

Bonjour Ricky, We are delighted that you so well enjoyed your stay with us - and thanks to you for keeping the evening conversations so lively. Our very best wishes to you Ricky, Peter and Carolynn

review 22 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to list.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you ride a bike with upright handlebars, you’ll have to make a special request; the ones provided have flatbar handlebars.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, most definitely! Local meat, dairy, veggies and fruits

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Top drawer!

review 15 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was memorable. Great hosts, great accommodation and great food and wine. My two weeks here were the highlight of my three months in Europe

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get some walking in before you go so you can relax and enjoy the scenery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, local people were employed and food and drink was sourced locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best breaks I have ever had. Carolyn and Peter look after you so well. I am a solo traveller and sometimes you can feel isolated but not this time!!!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your generous comments Margaret. Delighted that you you enjoyed yourself so much and felt included. On our part we very much appreciated your company and the interaction with the other guests. Warm regards, Carolynn and Peter

review 5 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The meals and the walk at Mervent

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Having a car to access different walks is a good idea.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our food was locally sourced. We didn't need to use the car every day. The owners of the accommodation are trying to reduce the use of plastic bottles for drinking water by providing flasks.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable - our hosts were very helpful and hospitable. There are some good walks in this area and the accommodation provides detailed guides. Only one walk in the Marais was disappointing. The swimming pool was very welcome as we experienced some hot weather. We would have appreciated a bigger, less dark room but it was clean and comfortable.

Read the operator's response here:

Merci beaucoup Linda for your kind comments and informative review. Our best wishes to you both. Carolynn and Peter

review 22 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The total immersion at the accommodation in a well-organised retreat from normal life! Excellent accommodation, wonderful ambience, fine food and superb wines, hosted with charm and wit by Carolynn and Peter. This is perfect for walking and cycling in idyllic countryside. Perhaps the most exciting part was being surrouned by butterflies while walking the paths.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You can drive there is six hours from Calais on excellent motorways. Otherwise, get there and relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Truly great value and the fact that most of the guests had been before and one set I think 12 times makes its own point.

review 11 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful countryside, great food, wine and company. Our hosts Carolyn and Peter were great fun, interesting conversationalists and they run a lovely home. I walked my legs off and swam in the pool every day. If you want to get away from it all and have the best food of French food and wine you can't go wrong at Moulin de Chemin.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

leave your laptop at home and just enjoy the experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A most enjoyable, satisfying holiday in a beautiful part of the French countryside, teeming with wildlife.

Read the operator's response here:

We are delighted and gratified that you enjoyed your holiday so well – and thank you Mairead for the excellent review.

review 1 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hospitality of the hosts

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walks are pretty with a mix of wooded valleys and higher arable fields. Don't expect to meet any locals even in the few villages, (at least in late April)!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not a lot

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just as it looks on the website.

Read the operator's response here:

“Bonjour Elaine, We appreciate your feedback – it is important for us to receive such comments. The towels bother us (well Carolynn actually) and hopefully she will eventually be able to solve it. In regards to the little packages we have to adhere to the hygiene standards and serve (milk, sugar, biscuits etc..) as individual packages in the bedrooms. Kind Regards, Carolynn and Peter Note: The commitment of Carolynn and Peter (the proprietors' and hosts’ of this holiday) with respect to benefitting local people, reducing environmental impacts and supporting conversation are detailed and the foot of this webpage.

review 10 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet plus all the birds and different types of cattle

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ideal if you want walks where you see more animals than people

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because food is sourced locally as much as possible and also because there is lots to see and do you dont need to keep getting in a car we were encouraged to recycle as much as possible

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent,really good food,drink and company brilliant location, great outdoor space, really appreciated the swimming pool

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Anthony, for your very nice review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. With kind regards, Carolynn and Peter.

review 6 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely walks the evening dinners

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walking is easy 14 to 20km if it's treking you are after this is not for you

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Although the staff were all UK or Irish

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your review Bernard, and we hope that your holidays memories last a long time.

review 26 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My wife and I enjoyed an extremely relaxing but at the same time adventurous holiday at le moulin. Everything, including our hosts Peter and Carolyn, the deliciously prepared meals, the tranquility of the rural countryside met all expectations. Although the weather did not always cooperate, our hikes on farm trails and small hamlets were met by friendly farmers, and the sounds of amazing birds. Like nothing I have ever experienced. We had a friendly group of eight people we met for the first time and enjoyed many memorable dinners sharing stories about the days journeys and our life stories. Oh yes, a few politics also. What really stood out was the hospitality of the proprietors, Peter and Carolyn. Carolyn's great food preparation and Peter's engaging conversation made us feel welcome and relaxed. I would highly recommend this holiday for bikers or walkers like my wife and I.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Jerry, for your good words and for taking the time to comment – greatly appreciated. For us it was a first-class week – nice interaction at our table with an interesting group of guests and we very much enjoyed yours and Laurie’s company

review 14 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Relaxing in the evenings around the dining table with excellent food and memorable conversation. Wonderful to have everything provided and glasses topped up without having to ask!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A perfect rural retreat, with no urban distractions, apart from free WiFi for the addicted. Plenty of choice of walks to stretch the muscles, outside space to relax in around the pool, time for reading as well as social interaction in the evenings. Self contained which was a plus as there are very few local restaurants or hostelleries. We didn't need them as we were very well looked after.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Emphasis on locally produced food and drink, delicious home cooking, and no real need to use the car as there was always a walk option starting and finishing at the Moulin.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Can't say I feel reborn as the muscles still ache a bit - but certainly refreshed with a smile on our faces.

review 1 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful countryside waiting to be explore everyday, and returning back to an amazing 4 course meal every evening. A lovely combination. All enjoyed at my own pace.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring sun screen if travelling in the summer, ensure you have trousers as some of the walking routes are a little overgrown. If cycling be warned there are lots of hills. Good exercise but if you are not used to it a bit of a challenge!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, as food and wine was purchased locally, I felt I had a minimal impact as I was cycling or walking to see the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a really relaxing break and the couple who run this trip are there for your every need. Having said that, the days are there to be enjoyed as you wish and they are very flexible.

review 22 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving at such a beautiful spot. It felt like heaven!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Maybe try to mix walking with cycling if it is possible. The walks are really nice and picturesque but very similar.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The food was fantastic. The veg were from locals and were so fresh. There were recycling facilities and nothing seemed to be wasted.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really ,really good, relaxing and refreshing. You will be very well looked after and feel genuinely welcome.

review 24 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our hosts--Carolynn Grimaldi and Peter Roche--were truly memorable. The hiking also was exceptional.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you plan only to hike and do not have a car, you should be able to work with the provided maps to work out possible alternative hikes. Your host, Peter Roche can also help with alternative hikes and local detail. If you bike--the Moulin has bikes--there are even more possibilities. Finally, if you have car, there are many other options in the area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We infused money into the local economy--somewhat depressed--with what we ate etc.. With no doubt we certainly aided the local wine providers. Since we were only hiking and without a car, we reduced our environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was an excellent holiday. Our hosts were wonderful, the other guests (all British) were delightful, and the hikes, food, and wine were exceptional.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies