13 independent reviews for Northern Lights, glaciers & ice photography holiday Iceland

Reviews for Northern Lights, glaciers & ice photography holiday Iceland

SHOW
4
8
1
0
0

review 23 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Clearly, the time spent around the glacier. Particularly the ice cave and the ice beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not miss the ice cave - and do it justice spending time inside...hours, not minutes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Surely it benefited local hotels and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great experience.

review 29 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern Lights and the amazing landscapes

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have an extra day before and at the end of trip especially if they would like to do some shopping

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our guide was very particular about us being aware of the environment we were entering and to look after it

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 stars out of 5

review 28 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There is too much to choose from, but probably the two nights of incredible aurora activity! Overall, the tour guides were very responsive to local conditions and flexible to the interests of the group. They were very well organized and knew which sites would be good at different times of day for photography.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for all types of weather - both in clothing and expectations. Follow the suggestions of the tour operator when it comes to clothing and equipment recommendations.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed at small local accommodation which supported the small but growing local tourism industry.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. Not only did the guides do a great job, the group of travelers was wonderful and supportive of each other. The group had people at different levels of photography experience, but the common interest brought people together.

review 24 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was the weather extremes! It could switch several times a day and varied from freezing blizzards to glorious blue skies and sunshine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be mislead by the apparently 'mild' temperatures reported on weather sites. Buy decent snow boots and ski-wear. Weatherproof cameras are advisable and photographer's gloves are useful. Your hands will definitely get cold. Do not underestimate the wind chill factor! Silica gel can be handy as an additional method of protecting equipment from moisture after use.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it benefitted Icelanders. I'm not sure it reduced impacts or supported conservation exactly, but it did no harm.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Inspiring. Exhausting. I would do it all again tomorrow.

review 25 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Finally having the opportunity to see the northern Lights! We were so fortunate to have excellent viewing one night for a couple of hours in the beautiful setting of Jokulsarlon lagoon. Our wonderful WPH Photographer Jose gave us invaluable advice for obtaining the perfect photographic mementoes. The camaraderie of our Group was a heart-warming bonus, everyone helping each other, and lots of laughter.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for long days! Up at 4 am for Sunrise shoots on the beach in freezing katabatic winds, through an action-packed day shooting glaciers, to night quests for the Northern Lights, in bed around 2 am. Bring at LEAST 6 layers of thermal clothing, and the chemical hand-warmers were a salvation when standing around at night, just waiting for the Lights to appear. Wind/waterproof jackets and over pants are essential, thermal fingerless gloves with 'hinged' end covers absolutely imperative for comfort, pay the money! Neck warmers and windproof close-fitting warm head covers/balaclavas all help to make this a warm and comfortable experience in the worst conditions Iceland can produce.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is a very significant employer of the local Icelanders.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Totally memorable, for all the best reasons! Wonderful Tour Leader, Jose, a great mentor and friend to all. The ice and snow scenery is stunning, bird life prolific, waterfalls breath-catching: a true Photographer's paradise. Locals all friendly and helpful, and accommodation more than equalled its rating.We would unhesitatingly recommend this Holiday to any keen photographer with an adventurous and inquiring disposition, and a reasonable level of fitness.

review 8 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole thing, spectacular locations, great accommodation and food and good company. The organisers, Geraldine, Martin and Paul went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good experience, nothing was too much trouble. There was help with photography if required, and on wet days we had some tuition on Lightroom which was invaluable. We met some lovely people who made the trip extra special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

They recommend you take wellingtons, try and fit the them into your case if you can. I used mine on several occasions on the beaches. You need the warm kit they recommend. Specific camera insurance might be a good idea. Stand by your equipment, one of the group lost his camera when his unattended tripod fell over into the water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well, we stayed in local accommodation, ate in local restaurants as far as I can tell we made no negative impact on the environment. There was one location where we were asked not to walk on moss covered rocks so as not to damage them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great trip, well organised and run. Iceland is wonderful. Highly recommend it and the operator.

review 11 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being with an interesting group of great photographers. Martin and Geraldine, the leaders, were excellent, but so were all the other workshop participants.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pick another time of the year to visit Iceland for photography, earlier or later, but not mid-April. Stay longer if you want to see more of Iceland than the SE corner.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we stayed at a farm and ate local produce

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good, but not for all the reasons I had expected when booking. We never saw the Northern Lights (too cloudy with some rain every day), and the ice was melting too quickly to visit ice caves. The sea and ice/glacier photo opportunities were excellent.

review 2 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many good moments. The highlight was the night we managed to see and photograph the northern lights.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring warm clothes (lots of layers), wind protection and the photo equipment of your choice. A wide angle comes in very handy to capture the Northern lights.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitively benefits the local people through staying mostly in local hotels and accommodation and eating in local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 17 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to pick one moment; there were so many. Seeing the Aurora was obviously a high point but the Ice was wonderful, the landscape ever-changing, it made an excellent subject for photography. The landscape is incredible, from ice lagoons & black beaches to glaciers and lava fields. A gift for photographers and artists.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take your thermals and good footwear! Remember, you're at the mercy of Mother Nature and Lady Luck.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed at Icelandic owned guest houses and hotels, ate at local cafes and restaurants and used an Icelandic guide for the Ice Caves. The sensitivity of the local environment and our treatment of it was always a consideration We left nothing but footprints and took nothing but photographs . . . :0)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really Excellent, Geraldine & Martin's local knowledge and goodwill with local people were invaluable. They knew the best places to go and generally avoided the tour busses. They were always willing to go the extra mile and worked really hard to make sure we all got as much out of the holiday as possible, willing to be out photographing the Northern Lights at 2am and still up for a pre-dawn shoot on the beach. The 1:1 photographic tuition from Geraldine, Martin and guest tutor Jan was freely given and matched to the individual skill and knowledge of everyone. They were always ready to give advice and support in whatever form needed and they did it so effortlessly that it would be easy not to notice. A big thanks to you all. When I booked the holiday I hoped to improve my camera skills, see new and interesting landscapes, meet some good people, have a great time and get some good shots, I'm pleased to say I achieved it all.

review 7 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many highlights but probably early morning photography at Lake Ercina.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it if you are a photographer!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I don't think it was that sort of trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent.

review 18 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beach and glacier with the huge ice cubes on it and the first glacier we visited

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure the camera you is adequate for all different types of lighting

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very well organized the leaders worked very hard to ensure we all had a good time and were very patient with all weird and wonderful queries that were asked

review 15 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Jökulsárlón glacial lagoon at sunset was breath taking. Northern Lights, particularly the night it was stronger, more active and vibrant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just simple things you've already heard. Remember replacement camera batteries, thermal gear, torch for nights looking at the Northern Lights. Wellies could be useful for taking photos on the beach. Be sure insurance covers camera and lenses in case of accidents on ice. Didn't happen to us, but worth thinking of.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Stayed at family run guest houses, with meals prepared from the farm.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, well looked after. Unique and fascinating activities. Good conversation.

review 29 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Taking photos of ice on the black sand beach at Jokulsarlon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Even if you are a photography beginner, go for it, Martin and Jose were great teachers and you'll learn very fast.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The main place where we stayed was a charming development on a farm and run by a lovely lady (an excellent cook) and her family.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyed it - one of the best I've had in years. Very satisfying combination of time outdoors, fun company, comfortable accommodation and learning a new skill.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies