8 independent reviews for Finland hiking holiday

Reviews for Finland hiking holiday

SHOW
5
3
0
0
0

review 31 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great walking. Sauna and swim in lake after walk. Everything went well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There will be mosquitos, bring repellent. Bags are carried forward to each accommodation so pack for all weather.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in local accommodation along the way. Arola Farm very interesting. Also reindeer farm.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Everyone in our group enjoyed the holiday.

review 26 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything ! :) Especially saunas and last hiking day with so amazing landscapes !

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a resourceful trip, closed to Finnish culture and nature, in a so pleasant atmosphere ! :)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes !

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful trip ! Thanks :) I would recommend it to my friends :)

review 13 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful landscapes! Possibility to have a sauna after hiking and to jump in a lake. Wild nature. Possibility to have coffee and sausages at fire places.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wild and authentic nature. Beautiful landscapes , lakes, rivers, bogs... To enjoy this, better to go outside the period of mosquitos.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Kainuu region is very sparsely populated....the benefit for them is low....except for the food bought by the guide for the group. It is an opportunity to let others know this beautiful region.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It is a shame that this region is not better developed especially in the domains of folklore, music, fauna, flora, crafts and local products. E.g. quite impossible to see reindeers, bery liqueurs and other local specialities.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Alain, Thank you for your comments and it's nice to here you enjoyed the landscapes and nature here. I'd like to clarify a couple of things. Regards to question 3, it's not just buying food that benefits local people but you also stayed in private, locally owned accommodations throughout the tour. Also transfer companies were local. In this case the guide came from outside the area, but most of our guides are local. Each time that our group has a lunch break at a fire place we pay Metsähallitus ("Finnish Forests and Park Service") a fee, which helps them to maintain the infrastructure in national parks and other recreation areas. Regards to question - yes, the area is sparsely populated but also rich in culture, traditions and history. Area's touristic programs related to music, food, traditions and wildlife watching are highly appreciated both nationally and internationally and have been awarded several times during the past years. We have world famous music festivals - Kuhmo chamber music festival and Ethno music festival Sommelo, that are organized annually in July. The area is one of the best in Europe to spot brown bears, wolves and wolverines in their natural habitat. In museums you can learn about winter war history and along the border area you can visit authentic battle sites. This is also the area where the Finnish national epic Kalevala was born, still reflected in the architecture, events, museums and the food in the area. However, a hiking tour is not the best option the get most out of the culture as you mostly just walk from place to place in the forest. And yes, it's a pity that you couldn't see reindeer, usually that's not a problem and you can see them not just in the park, but also roaming freely on the road-sides and forests.

review 9 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The difference in the scenery and terrain

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good boots and try sock liners to avoid getting blisters

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, the whole group we were with hit it off from the start including our guide

review 30 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiding with the huskies and 'attempting' to sleep in an igloo!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

it's very active in the day...and very relaxing in the evening!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was very environmentally friendly. Guides were nature lovers, recycling was a big element and no impact was made to the detriment of the environment,

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect in every way - exactly what was advertised, and what I expected.

review 8 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in pristine forest and seeing reindeer. Peace and tranquillity. Feeling my every need was considered by the enthusiastic and friendly guide, Kimmo.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trip notes accurately reflect remoteness of trip so be prepared! Great if you want to escape the pressures of every day life.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. Stayed in local accommodation with locally produced food, luggage transported by road but walked with minimal vehicle transfers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceeded expectation. I have taken previous holidays with larger tour operators and have felt more of a number. On this trip I felt it was important to the company that I enjoyed my experience. All communications with company were professional and efficient and happy to provide support with finding additional accommodation etc.

review 24 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying a night in Kovavaara. There is no running water there so we had to wash ourselves in the sauna with the help of some buckets full of water. It was a great experience. Apart from this, the trip was brilliant. It exceeded our expectations and we can't recommend it enough!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are not into luxury and appreciate simple things, this is definitely the tour for you. However, bring 2 bottles of insect repellent, you will need them!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I am positive this trip benefited local people. There are few sources of income in this part of Finland. Tours like this one definitely help people in the area make a living.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect holiday. We could not have wished for more!

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for the nice comments!

review 17 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful landscapes. Really nice people and the guide was great. I love the Finnish Sauna too

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Mosquito repellent is a must

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The travel company is located in the area and work closely with people that have been living in the areas for several generations (Arola farm). Finnish people in general are very enviromentally aware and this travel was an example of that.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great experience! I loved the hiking ( a little bit demanding the first day but after that was more easy), the landscape, the people and our guide, Joose.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies