17 independent reviews for Watersports activity holiday in Croatia

Reviews for Watersports activity holiday in Croatia

SHOW
12
4
0
1
0

review 8 Oct 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Riding the Electric Bikes and being on the Catamaran watching the sunset and spotting a dolphin.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To embrace the scenery and new experiences and to treat other people in the group as equals and friends.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Eating in local restarurants and getting to meet the local communtiy who were very welcoming and kind and trvaelling on local transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10. Very great experience I would go to Croatia again.

review 6 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking down warm waterfalls in stunning countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Early and late in the season will give you more space as it can get busy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Family run hotel with local employees.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A brilliant way to bring family together with wide age range of children. Something for everyone, wholesome and fascinating.

review 3 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visit to an olive grove in the hills run by a 70 year old couple. Lovely vine-covered veranda, superb views, no road, great olive oil. Magic place

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring insect repellent, though they only come out towards dusk

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we were staying in the community, not in all-in hotels. Not so much on environment and conservation, though we did travel to other islands by kayak

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very good trip for independent-minded travellers

review 4 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I can't pick one Individual part of the holiday. All the activitys were different and memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 10 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Rafting on the Zyrmana river

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Itís colder than expected. Bring lots of sunblock. Be flexible

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes benefited local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

7/10 Could be more active. The kayaking and other activities could have lasted a bit longer.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting part of the holiday was white water rafting in Bosnia and Herzegovina, which was my children's first experience of rapids. It was very interesting to cross over the boarders and experience Bosnia and Herzegovina. The most memorable moment of the trip was the 35km mountain bike ride, which I thought I would never complete, my children were impressed with my abilities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have a good level of fitness because there is an activity every day which I hadn't factor in to my current fitness level.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think tourism to this area benefited the local economy, everyone on our group were very respectful of the surrounding environment and the activities were did were very environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had the most amazing time with my two boys, the activities I did push my boundaries and I felt like I was in my 20s again.

review 26 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayaking on the Mreznica River was amazing - really beautiful scenery and adrenaline going down the waterfalls. The guides also deserve a mention as they were excellent and really made the trip!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not a lot to recommend - everything is so well organised that pretty much everything is already covered.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Some of the activities were done through local companies which helps support the local economy. There was nothing especially notable about the environmental/ conservation side of things - just what you'd expect from this type of holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - we're already thinking about the same again (or another trip with this operator) for next year.

review 25 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the activities, especially water sports. The rafting down the Una river was particularly great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get water shoes! We had them and were very glad that we did.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the two guides we had were lovely. Both Croatian and very friendly and knowledgable. The hotel was a small family run one that learly worked well with the operator. The activities were designed to have a low impact on the environment - arm and leg power only.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant. We thoroughly recommend this operator. The guides were friendly but professional. The company has many workers who have been with them for many years. Inland Croatia is beautiful

review 6 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved the last day with the kayaking on the Mreznica River - great fun, beautiful location, great experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you read the whole information package before you go ahead as it contains all the info you need to pack (especially clothes-wise). I was lucky considering I hadn't read everything - don't do the same I did :-)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing experience

review 29 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everyday was a wonderful adventure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

They should make sure that they are fit enough.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, definitely the holiday benefited local people. Not sure about reducing environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 9 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was memorable and exciting. It is refreshing to find such lovely unspoilt countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go out and enjoy everyday,

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel we stayed in was a small family hotel and certainly it was a benefit to the community. All excursions were run by locals and our guide was very good at raising the environmental impact as I saw him on number of occasions clearing rubbish left by others.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, very refreshing to see so much unspoilt countryside and be able to enjoy it. The guide was excellent in organising and looking after all the holiday makers considering how mixed ability the group was.

review 8 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved doing different activities each day and each family member enjoyed being challenged. Each day had a highlight really, the whole week was brilliant. Great memories made.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a travel kettle to make tea! The rooms did not have kettles/tea of coffee. Us English expect this really. Everything else was clear in the information sent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We felt that the local tourism trade benefited from us! The hotel was family-run and asked us to reuse towels - perfectly happy to do that!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic ways to discover the beauty of Croatia, whilst appealing to our teenage boys with fun, new, exhilarating and exciting activities.

review 2 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing parts of Croatia that are not on the normal tourist itinerary

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Very detailed package sent out outlining what we would need and be doing -Read it! Fantastic guides that were very helpful and knowledgeable - Dino and Matko.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Fairly neutral. Benefited locals with employment and trade that the area might not normally get.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had a fantastic week and would thoroughly recommend to others.

review 13 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Memorable, the beautiful accessible river and cascades viewed from the Hotel veranda. Exciting the rafting and jumping.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You don't need much local currency. You need to be moderately fit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel was family run and employed local people. Apart from the travelling in the mini bus all the activities were self propelled so environmentally friendly. However we did fly there!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Met and exceeded expectations

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Biking day

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect too much of the accommodation and food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hiking in National Park Plitvice Lakes was not benefitting local people at all; the very opposite was the case; we ended up in an overflow of people who were shifting themselves along the paths and even though the surrounding is beautiful we felt bad being one of these travellers that basically contribute to this mainstream commercial way travelling and immense environmental impact. Through booking we had hoped to spot places that are undiscovered and uneasy to find for a regular tourist and really support local people. As far as the hotel goes, it is family run therefore we were happy to contribute to their business; yet we didn't find it cosy or nice to hang out at during our free time; during weekends it is very crowded since it is also a restaurant and the beaches near the river are open to public.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were travelling as a couple and paid 1240Ä for a 5 day trip; this includes 2,5 activity days since day 1 and day 5 are reserved for arrival and departure; the kayaking day was half day activity; since we were not satisfied with the food and hotel we consider the value you get for this amount of money way too low.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback. Plitvice Lakes are one of the highlights of this trip that many tourists wish to visit. We do agree this park is very crowded and there is an initiative to limit the number of daily visitors, which we fully support. Our guides know and take our guests along the routes where there is less people, but it is not possible to avoid crowds if the guests wish to see the most attractive part of the park. In Croatia most beaches are luckily still public land. We make sure to operate in a way that local communities benefit from our business. We do not believe it would be right to close off beaches or river banks for exclusive use of paying guests, denying access to locals. Weekends tend to be busy, Weekdays are less crowded. The hotel is a 3*** star family run hotel with local and fresh food within the standard of a three star hotel. We always appreciate when out guests share their dissatisfaction with any aspect of their trip and if it is something we can change for better during the trip we are always happy to do so. The itinerary provided prior to booking describes days 1 and 5 in the case of a 5-day trip as arrival and departure days with no additional activities. As our guests arrive from different airports and at different times it would not be possible for everyone to take part in the activities on first or last days. The half day kayaking you refer to is the activity done from the hotel, so there is no additional driving as it is for most of other activities. That way you have an easier first day of the trip with an activity that is done without any driving time that would prolong the activity to a full day activity but would not add to the overall experience. This way you get both kayaking activity and free time to relax, sunbathe or explore the surrounding area. The price of the trip reflects all inclusions for a 5-day trip and we believe it is a reasonable price for the peak of the season in Croatia.

review 27 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having a different activity planned each day was a luxury for us, especially with the knowledgeable guides who took care of all the equipment & logistics as well. The rivers were really beautiful and all the activities were a pleasure to do. The hotel was better than we expected, with a generous sized room and lovely food. The guides were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, everything was well planned they worked really hard to give guests the best experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Highly recommended! The hotel is in a rural location so don't expect shopping or nightlife. If you like to be in a beautiful location by the river, with a variety of activities planned for you, then it's a great holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed at a locally owned hotel & used local shops. Some of the activities were low impact, such as walking, kayaking & cycling. We did do quite a lot of driving as well, but overall it probably had a lower environmental impact than a regular 'package' holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Having read previous reviews for this trip I had quite high expectations! Happy to say the trip was still even better than I had hoped.

review 17 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Croatian country side is unspoilt and stunningly beautiful. The Mreznica River was lovely and clean. We kayaked and swam in the River which was brilliant fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you enjoy being outdoors and in water then this is the holiday for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the local people were responsible about their impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. A great travel company and I would highly recommend them.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy