25 independent reviews for Watersports activity holiday in Croatia

Reviews for Watersports activity holiday in Croatia

SHOW
13
11
0
1
0

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting part of the holiday was white water rafting in Bosnia and Herzegovina, which was my children's first experience of rapids. It was very interesting to cross over the boarders and experience Bosnia and Herzegovina. The most memorable moment of the trip was the 35km mountain bike ride, which I thought I would never complete, my children were impressed with my abilities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have a good level of fitness because there is an activity every day which I hadn't factor in to my current fitness level.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think tourism to this area benefited the local economy, everyone on our group were very respectful of the surrounding environment and the activities were did were very environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had the most amazing time with my two boys, the activities I did push my boundaries and I felt like I was in my 20s again.

review 26 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayaking on the Mreznica River was amazing - really beautiful scenery and adrenaline going down the waterfalls. The guides also deserve a mention as they were excellent and really made the trip!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not a lot to recommend - everything is so well organised that pretty much everything is already covered.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Some of the activities were done through local companies which helps support the local economy. There was nothing especially notable about the environmental/ conservation side of things - just what you'd expect from this type of holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - we're already thinking about the same again (or another trip with this operator) for next year.

review 25 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the activities, especially water sports. The rafting down the Una river was particularly great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get water shoes! We had them and were very glad that we did.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the two guides we had were lovely. Both Croatian and very friendly and knowledgable. The hotel was a small family run one that learly worked well with the operator. The activities were designed to have a low impact on the environment - arm and leg power only.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant. We thoroughly recommend this operator. The guides were friendly but professional. The company has many workers who have been with them for many years. Inland Croatia is beautiful

review 6 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved the last day with the kayaking on the Mreznica River - great fun, beautiful location, great experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you read the whole information package before you go ahead as it contains all the info you need to pack (especially clothes-wise). I was lucky considering I hadn't read everything - don't do the same I did :-)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing experience

review 29 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everyday was a wonderful adventure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

They should make sure that they are fit enough.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, definitely the holiday benefited local people. Not sure about reducing environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 9 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was memorable and exciting. It is refreshing to find such lovely unspoilt countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go out and enjoy everyday,

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel we stayed in was a small family hotel and certainly it was a benefit to the community. All excursions were run by locals and our guide was very good at raising the environmental impact as I saw him on number of occasions clearing rubbish left by others.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, very refreshing to see so much unspoilt countryside and be able to enjoy it. The guide was excellent in organising and looking after all the holiday makers considering how mixed ability the group was.

review 8 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved doing different activities each day and each family member enjoyed being challenged. Each day had a highlight really, the whole week was brilliant. Great memories made.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a travel kettle to make tea! The rooms did not have kettles/tea of coffee. Us English expect this really. Everything else was clear in the information sent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We felt that the local tourism trade benefited from us! The hotel was family-run and asked us to reuse towels - perfectly happy to do that!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic ways to discover the beauty of Croatia, whilst appealing to our teenage boys with fun, new, exhilarating and exciting activities.

review 2 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing parts of Croatia that are not on the normal tourist itinerary

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Very detailed package sent out outlining what we would need and be doing -Read it! Fantastic guides that were very helpful and knowledgeable - Dino and Matko.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Fairly neutral. Benefited locals with employment and trade that the area might not normally get.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had a fantastic week and would thoroughly recommend to others.

review 13 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Memorable, the beautiful accessible river and cascades viewed from the Hotel veranda. Exciting the rafting and jumping.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You don't need much local currency. You need to be moderately fit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel was family run and employed local people. Apart from the travelling in the mini bus all the activities were self propelled so environmentally friendly. However we did fly there!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Met and exceeded expectations

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Biking day

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect too much of the accommodation and food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hiking in National Park Plitvice Lakes was not benefitting local people at all; the very opposite was the case; we ended up in an overflow of people who were shifting themselves along the paths and even though the surrounding is beautiful we felt bad being one of these travellers that basically contribute to this mainstream commercial way travelling and immense environmental impact. Through booking we had hoped to spot places that are undiscovered and uneasy to find for a regular tourist and really support local people. As far as the hotel goes, it is family run therefore we were happy to contribute to their business; yet we didn't find it cosy or nice to hang out at during our free time; during weekends it is very crowded since it is also a restaurant and the beaches near the river are open to public.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were travelling as a couple and paid 1240 for a 5 day trip; this includes 2,5 activity days since day 1 and day 5 are reserved for arrival and departure; the kayaking day was half day activity; since we were not satisfied with the food and hotel we consider the value you get for this amount of money way too low.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback. Plitvice Lakes are one of the highlights of this trip that many tourists wish to visit. We do agree this park is very crowded and there is an initiative to limit the number of daily visitors, which we fully support. Our guides know and take our guests along the routes where there is less people, but it is not possible to avoid crowds if the guests wish to see the most attractive part of the park. In Croatia most beaches are luckily still public land. We make sure to operate in a way that local communities benefit from our business. We do not believe it would be right to close off beaches or river banks for exclusive use of paying guests, denying access to locals. Weekends tend to be busy, Weekdays are less crowded. The hotel is a 3*** star family run hotel with local and fresh food within the standard of a three star hotel. We always appreciate when out guests share their dissatisfaction with any aspect of their trip and if it is something we can change for better during the trip we are always happy to do so. The itinerary provided prior to booking describes days 1 and 5 in the case of a 5-day trip as arrival and departure days with no additional activities. As our guests arrive from different airports and at different times it would not be possible for everyone to take part in the activities on first or last days. The half day kayaking you refer to is the activity done from the hotel, so there is no additional driving as it is for most of other activities. That way you have an easier first day of the trip with an activity that is done without any driving time that would prolong the activity to a full day activity but would not add to the overall experience. This way you get both kayaking activity and free time to relax, sunbathe or explore the surrounding area. The price of the trip reflects all inclusions for a 5-day trip and we believe it is a reasonable price for the peak of the season in Croatia.

review 27 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having a different activity planned each day was a luxury for us, especially with the knowledgeable guides who took care of all the equipment & logistics as well. The rivers were really beautiful and all the activities were a pleasure to do. The hotel was better than we expected, with a generous sized room and lovely food. The guides were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, everything was well planned they worked really hard to give guests the best experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Highly recommended! The hotel is in a rural location so don't expect shopping or nightlife. If you like to be in a beautiful location by the river, with a variety of activities planned for you, then it's a great holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed at a locally owned hotel & used local shops. Some of the activities were low impact, such as walking, kayaking & cycling. We did do quite a lot of driving as well, but overall it probably had a lower environmental impact than a regular 'package' holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Having read previous reviews for this trip I had quite high expectations! Happy to say the trip was still even better than I had hoped.

review 17 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Croatian country side is unspoilt and stunningly beautiful. The Mreznica River was lovely and clean. We kayaked and swam in the River which was brilliant fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you enjoy being outdoors and in water then this is the holiday for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the local people were responsible about their impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. A great travel company and I would highly recommend them.

review 21 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything about the holiday was mesmerising. The location is perfect, the view impeccable: an azure, crystal-clear river with hidden alcoves and a waterfall, rolling hills, fantastically huge stars against an ink-black sky... It's absolutely off the beaten track and the sports activities immerse you in the essense of the nature of mainland Croatia.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring clothes for different kinds of weather. It can get unexpectedly chilly or rainy on occasion. And water shoes. Otherwise an innocent dip in the sea will turn into torture.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Sure. The operator takes good care of their clients and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was simply the best holiday I have ever been on. I used to think the city was the best place in the world. My world was turned upside down.

review 15 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking down waterfalls! Seeing a snake eating a snake.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trust the guides - they know what they are doing and enjoy the ride.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! Everyone stays in local homes which benefits the families and all of our meals are cooked by a local woman. Although we saw very little litter, when we did see it, the guides made every effort to reach it and bring it back home to dispose of it properly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing! The perfect combination of activities and challenges in pristine settings. Our guides, Nikola and Mario are passionate, knowledgeable guys who spoke openly and honestly. I not only enjoyed the activities, but loved learning more about Croatia.

review 25 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the activities were excellent but we really enjoyed the river rafting through clouds of blue dragon flies and our lunch stop at a beautiful pool with a waterfall. And we also enjoyed the hike at the Paklenica National Park with a traditional lunch cooked "under the bell"

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The companies involved in running the activities were all local - not obvious how we reduced environmental impact or supported conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent. Croatia is beautiful

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Caroline, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your trip with us. When it comes to reducing environmental impact, please let me explain. Our company chose our activities with environment preservation in mind - the core of our business are activities such as river and sea kayaking, cycling, rafting, walking, stand up paddling and sailing. These activities do not require motor engines, and in that way cause minimal pollution and impact to the environment. I hope this helps! We look forward to seeing you again on one of our trips.

review 14 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of memorable experiences: canoeing down waterfalls, rafting down a 2m high waterfall, taking our bikes on a hand-pulled ferry across the river, sea kayaking in spectacular coastal scenery including canoeing over a sunken ship wreck. We had a great hotel room with balcony overlooking a beautiful waterfall.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trust your guide - our one really knew what he was doing. Some of the waterfalls looked quite hairy! The weather was unusually cool when we went (end of May). We regretted not taking synthetic tops to provide extra warmth over our wet suits (the briefing sheet we were sent in advance did advise this, so it was our own fault).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The operator is a Croatian company employing Croatian guides. Our guide was exceptional - not only expert at canoeing and planning activities around weather, he was great with our 10 year son. They put a lot of emphasis on providing good quality training to their staff. We met a few other guides and they all were very enthusiastic about the company. They also used an independent Croatian family-run hotel for a base and encouraged us to buy our lunches from local shops or cafes. The guide was meticulous in picking up any litter left in countryside.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed it. We loved the activities, Croatian countryside and scenery and people we met. We were at first disappointed that there were not any other families because we had hoped there would be company for our son. However, our young guide entertained him so expertly it did not matter. The weather was unusually cold and wet for the time of year (late May). However, this didn't matter much for the water based activities. It also allowed us to do the longest cycle tour (45k) - usually it is too hot to do a ride of this length with children. So we saw some great scenery as a result.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear William, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and have already passed on your comments to the guide. We hope to see you again on one of our trips.

review 17 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going down waterfalls in the upper part of the Mreznica and jumping off high rocks into deep pools below.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to eat with the rest of the group each evening. Note the small print about the programme being subject to change as we couldn't go white water rafting due to low water levels.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a local hotel, bought lunch at local shops and cleared up litter we found on the river (there wasn't much of it). We also climbed one day so supporting a fledgling outdoor pursuits business set up by local people. We set off from hotel by bike/canoe/kayak on three days thus reducing our carbon footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a brilliant holiday. Our group was mixed with familes with teenagers and singles. The programme was very well thought out and activities were a good length each day giving us time to relax at the hotel. The guides, Davor and Zeljka, were excellent; knowledgable, easy-going and careful on the roads and the river. The hotel was comfortable and the food was good.

review 15 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was a great holiday - fabulously clear rivers with swimming places and warm enough to swim for ages! Lots of sun, which was what I needed. Fresh fruit and veggies. Plenty of laughs as we did the activities... Our guides were great fun. I used a bicycle to go for a ride before breakfast several times.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The river level is getting low at this time of year (August) - would be more fun / challenging to do the canoeing and kayaking in May / June or later in the autumn. The activities are moderately challenging, but I am pretty fit and could have done more. To get to some of the activities took up to 2 hours one way, so actual activities don't get started till the heat of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. We stayed in homes in the Korana village, an important supplementary income to these families, ate locally, bought stuff form the local places, low impact on environment, all was kept clean and tidy. The only thing is the transiting between venues.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10 for me! As a solo traveller it ticked the boxes well.

review 8 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming into sea caves with sea lit up a brilliant blue when inside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some of the trips are quite long - much more than 3 hours - and could prove quite arduous even if you're fit. Suggest you do some extra fitness training before the trip. Also if you're an office worker like me gloves are a good idea for the first couple of days to prevent blisters. Finally, bring a water proof cover for your camera so you don't miss all the best shots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ended up staying in a large 4* hotel, but lunched out in local family run restaurants - so locals didn't benefit hugely from our stay.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - best holiday I've had for years. The location was excellent, the guide, Robbie, brilliant. Really enjoyed the kayaking and the holiday was over too quickly.

review 29 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the Mreznice River.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a waterproof camera!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. This is a rural area with few visitors. It was a family run hotel. The whole trip felt very 'sustainability focused'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the very best adventure holidays we have done, and we have done quite a few in Europe.

review 23 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The crystal clear waters of the national park that we visited and then, a few days later, jumping from a cliff into the cools waters of the Mreznica River!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to sign-up for this adventure; it is a worthwhile experience with lots of fun! My twelve year old daughter enjoyed having people of her own age on the adventure too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent!! Our tour guides went beyond the call of duty to ensure, not only our comfort, but our safety too. I certainly would recommend this holiday to my friends.

review 9 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I enjoyed the hiking trip to the Plitvicka National Park, we went mid week so it wasn't so crowded. Beautiful lakes and well looked after. I also enjoyed the canyoning in the local river, climbing up waterfalls jumping into deep pools with the river nearly to ourselves. We also had a good guide that ensured that everybody joined in and enjoyed themselves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a good holiday for travellers of all ages. The activities are not strenuous. The guide adjusted the activities to suit everyone. The hotel is situated on a beautiful clean river it is locally run and by the end of the week you feel like part of the family. You also get a bit of free time to enjoy the sun go swimming or even explore the local surroundings on bike.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The company hires local guides and supports local business. The guides will go out of their way to accommodate any requests, it was a hot day when we went hiking in the national park so we went swimming afterwards in a local spot off the beaten path. The rivers are beautiful and clean and keep that way by the locals that use them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday if you want to get away of the crowded cities and enjoy a slice of local Croatia. Relaxing with a bit of adventure.

review 11 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All aspects of the trip were excellent and all the activities came together to form a wonderful experience. The friendliness of the captain and all the people we met made the holiday an unforgettable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lightly as there isn't much room on the boat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt that it benefited the local families that provided wonderful meals and hospitality in their homes and establishments.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. A wonderfully relaxing yet fun filled few days.

review 10 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Practically all of it however the most exciting part was when we went kayaking on higher waterfalls.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

An ideal holiday for those who wish a different holiday, full of activities and adventure, the hotel is very close to the river thus very relaxing, no long distances to travel in coach, good holiday also for grown up kids as they have something exciting to do most of the time, the whole package is great (accommodation, food and activities planned).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I think it benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We give it a high rate since this was the best holiday we have had, kids loved it as well and we consider re doing it, maybe in a different season.

review 5 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canoeing through a gorge which involved paddling the canoes over a 4 metre high waterfall.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you're going on the Clear Rivers holiday, take a frisbee or badminton rackets. There's lots of space for some informal activities if you aren't worn out by the canoeing and cycling. On your free day, plan your own cycle ride or canoeing rather than bothering to go to Zagreb which is ok but not the most fascinating city in Europe.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant except for the rather unmotivated attitude of our guide.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies