12 independent reviews for Husky safari in Finland

Reviews for Husky safari in Finland

SHOW
5
7
0
0
0

review 31 Mar 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Partaking in the husky sledding over 4 days

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read the notes about what to bring along and how to dress, otherwise you may be cold or uncomfortable. Try to pre-arrange other activities (snow shoeing, cross country skiing, snow mobiles) at time of booking otherwise you will have 2 days of hanging around doing very little.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As we had booked the activities of husky sledding and snow shoeing we provided work for the local employees & guides. Otherwise I don't think we reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation directly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lovely and unusual experience; better than I expected.

review 19 Feb 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all wonderful - our great guide, Meku, splendid dogs, lots of exercise, a perfect mix of weather

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you have wrist or shoulder problems it might not be for you. Take a portable charger, if not 2, if you use a mobile to photograph.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous, utterly wonderful

review 29 Jan 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely the husky safari

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You donít need to bring much .. the hotel supplies most everything you need

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes .. I thought our Guide was very resourceful and mindful of the environment and not to be wasteful

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best .. I want to come back with my daughters

review 23 Jan 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky safari was INCREDIBLE.everything was memorable, from the silence of the wilderness, the high quality guide, the unique experience of being able to do such a safari, the fact that it was an active holiday, that there was no internet nor electricity.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1. Improve the travel packing list. We had to double check between the one provided by the travel agency and the one provided by Harriniva directly as there were things missing between one and the other. 2. Bring soap as you will be able to shower in the sauna. 3. Bring a water bottle to have some water during the day, as the guide only provides some warm tea in the lunch break. I was thirsty most of the days. 4. This is an active holiday so donít book it if you donít like to cut wood and prepare the things when arriving in the huts. 5. Donít bother on bringing ski gloves, ski clothes, ski boots etc as you have to use the equipment provided. 6. Bring a tripod for the northern light and a neck pouch for the phone as you wonít be able to carry the phone during the trip without it. Bring also a. Phone holder or a go pro if you want to film yourself while driving as your hands wonít be free while travelling. 7. Donít leave to the last minute the booking of activities in the 2 days after the safari as there is little availability and activities available during the weekend. I would have even loved for the agency to offer perhaps another accommodation or location for us to be in the last two days as the food isnmt great in the hotel. 8. If you have back problems, strongly not recommend this trip as most of the activity is very back intensive. Definitively one of the best experiences you could have if you live dogs and nature. 9. Highly recommend a night at the Firefox lodge. Best room ever.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I did feel it impact led local people, but not necessarily reduced any environmental impact. I would say petty neutral on the front.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10. Great organisation (we had no blips or mishaps at any moment in terms of logistics). Food was amazing during the camping, the accommodations during the safari are insane. Dogs are super friendly. It was a very active holiday (which we loved). The connection to Nature is incredible and will be forever remembered. Only thing I would have done differently is the travel list (which was missing a couple of items) and been a bit more predictive in a couple of questions, like having a travel insurance (the tour operator should recommend one) or the type of bag we should bring (this should be more explicit)

review 27 Feb 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery and views

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When they say "basic" they are not kidding. You may think Pontins Camber Sands is basic but this is a different level. You will be in log cabins with no running water and sharing bunk beds sometimes 3 in a bunk with strangers. They won't be strangers for long. Especially when you are hacking through metre thick ice to fill the buckets for cooking and the sauna. Heads up...the sauna is the washing bathroom. Take soap and shampoo. Food is great. Guides are fantastic if a little scary, in an impressive way. Great to work with the dogs and learn to love your team. Surprisingly we made friends with people of several nationalities. You bond!!! You must pitch in, pull your weight and you will have one hell of an experience. But 5 star accommodation it isn't, sense of achievement it is!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it does benefit the local economy and people and we hope we had little impact as we were taking everything with us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Read the check list. Harriniva is a lovely hotel if you get a renovated room. Food great. Staff are lovely.

review 23 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Husky sledding

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go on a longer husky sled ride

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we bought all our souvenirs in the husky sledding venue which is owned by a local man

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The excursions are very short giving lots of time which is broken up so there is not much opportunity to do other things.

review 27 Dec 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The dogs, it'll always be those amazing dogs. And also our guide. She was just incredible. We also saw the northern lights, and cuddled baby huskies, while it was snowing on Christmas Day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take just two changes of clothes, two for the day and two for evenings. Layer up your clothes. You will eat like a king, so dont worry about the food or lack of it. You can wash your hair and shower perfectly well, as a girl this was nice. Take a hip flask. Lots of batteries and camera memory.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I do, though tourism is vital, but it was done with the environment in mind, all very ethical and clean, I feel that we left no foot prints at all, just pristine wilderness.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10. Especially as a vegan traveller, I felt that my food ethics were understood and respected.

review 1 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hard working huskies

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Organize arrival at Harriniva at least 24 hours before the planned start of the safari. The cold weather gear provided is excellent and there is no need to take your own. Also pack a rucksack with light gear for the evenings in the wilderness huts

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The income provided to the local economy is the main income for the year. The footprint on the environment is minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If you love dogs and don't mind roughing it then this is the holiday for you.Try to go when the skies are clear and the aurora is visible. We missed out but no problem.

review 24 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Not just one thing, but many memories of which - flying down hill trying to control my sledge and not fall off, making snow angels before going back into the sauna, lunch on an open fire on a frozen lake, the views, the noise of the dogs as we got ready in the morning to leave.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a pair of flip flops for use at the sauna so you can use the ice holes, take wool not cotton, good balance helps as you stand on 3cm wide runners for up to 6hrs a day. If you really enjoy a drink then take your own as it is very very expensive out there. Take extra batteries as the cold really does affect them even if you try and keep them close to you and warm. A pair of thin woolen glove liners are good for under the mitten liners which are still quite big. Listen carefully to the instructions at the begining about sledge handling as you are suddenly off and need to quickly remember how to stop or turn. Take a small compact camera which is easy to use while on the sledge - a bigger camera (SLR etc) is great for when off the sledge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes environmental impacts were key and we were guided to be as green as possible. Without tourism up there the locals would have no one to buy their goods or eat their reindeers or need feeding and sleeping just to go see the Polar lights.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great time even if I was the only English person in the group. The brochure was a bit misleading in saying that we would do 25-45km each day as we never did less than 37km and our longest day was 70km with another at 54km. The hill back into the Galdotieva Fell Centre needs changing as it is too steep with a sharp right turn and many accidents have happend there.

review 11 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Riding on husky driven sledges through a winter wonderland.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't let go off the sledges & lose your dogs for two hours like we did. Buy ice breaker thermals as you only need that one set.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It must benefit local people as a team service the huts & look for dogs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An unforgettable experience.

review 23 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going through the woods with the sled

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it alone

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great

review 20 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was brilliant from start to finish. The outstanding scenery, travelling through woodlands and over frozen lakes with your sledge and team of huskies was something I will never forget. Living in isolated log cabins, the open log fires and wonderful meals cooked by our guide Hanski after a long day in the cold was tremendous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of layers, it was -38 on our second day out. Most of the time it was between -25 to - 29, so extremely cold. You can purchase hand and feet warmers at the reception, and they do help keep you warm. They are not expensive. When not using your camera take the battery out and keep it somewhere warm, I kept mine in the top pocket of my woolen shirt and it lasted nearly the whole week, but do take a spare in case.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes without a doubt. The local people are very proud of their country and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best, but don't expect five star treatment. You have to muck in and help when out in the wilderness camps, so just go and enjoy it, you will not be disappointed.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy