24 independent reviews for Husky safari in Finland

Reviews for Husky safari in Finland

SHOW
5
16
3
0
0

review 27 Dec 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The dogs, it'll always be those amazing dogs. And also our guide. She was just incredible. We also saw the northern lights, and cuddled baby huskies, while it was snowing on Christmas Day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take just two changes of clothes, two for the day and two for evenings. Layer up your clothes. You will eat like a king, so dont worry about the food or lack of it. You can wash your hair and shower perfectly well, as a girl this was nice. Take a hip flask. Lots of batteries and camera memory.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I do, though tourism is vital, but it was done with the environment in mind, all very ethical and clean, I feel that we left no foot prints at all, just pristine wilderness.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10. Especially as a vegan traveller, I felt that my food ethics were understood and respected.

review 1 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hard working huskies

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Organize arrival at Harriniva at least 24 hours before the planned start of the safari. The cold weather gear provided is excellent and there is no need to take your own. Also pack a rucksack with light gear for the evenings in the wilderness huts

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The income provided to the local economy is the main income for the year. The footprint on the environment is minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If you love dogs and don't mind roughing it then this is the holiday for you.Try to go when the skies are clear and the aurora is visible. We missed out but no problem.

review 24 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Not just one thing, but many memories of which - flying down hill trying to control my sledge and not fall off, making snow angels before going back into the sauna, lunch on an open fire on a frozen lake, the views, the noise of the dogs as we got ready in the morning to leave.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a pair of flip flops for use at the sauna so you can use the ice holes, take wool not cotton, good balance helps as you stand on 3cm wide runners for up to 6hrs a day. If you really enjoy a drink then take your own as it is very very expensive out there. Take extra batteries as the cold really does affect them even if you try and keep them close to you and warm. A pair of thin woolen glove liners are good for under the mitten liners which are still quite big. Listen carefully to the instructions at the begining about sledge handling as you are suddenly off and need to quickly remember how to stop or turn. Take a small compact camera which is easy to use while on the sledge - a bigger camera (SLR etc) is great for when off the sledge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes environmental impacts were key and we were guided to be as green as possible. Without tourism up there the locals would have no one to buy their goods or eat their reindeers or need feeding and sleeping just to go see the Polar lights.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great time even if I was the only English person in the group. The brochure was a bit misleading in saying that we would do 25-45km each day as we never did less than 37km and our longest day was 70km with another at 54km. The hill back into the Galdotieva Fell Centre needs changing as it is too steep with a sharp right turn and many accidents have happend there.

review 11 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Riding on husky driven sledges through a winter wonderland.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't let go off the sledges & lose your dogs for two hours like we did. Buy ice breaker thermals as you only need that one set.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It must benefit local people as a team service the huts & look for dogs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An unforgettable experience.

review 23 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going through the woods with the sled

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it alone

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great

review 20 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was brilliant from start to finish. The outstanding scenery, travelling through woodlands and over frozen lakes with your sledge and team of huskies was something I will never forget. Living in isolated log cabins, the open log fires and wonderful meals cooked by our guide Hanski after a long day in the cold was tremendous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of layers, it was -38 on our second day out. Most of the time it was between -25 to - 29, so extremely cold. You can purchase hand and feet warmers at the reception, and they do help keep you warm. They are not expensive. When not using your camera take the battery out and keep it somewhere warm, I kept mine in the top pocket of my woolen shirt and it lasted nearly the whole week, but do take a spare in case.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes without a doubt. The local people are very proud of their country and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best, but don't expect five star treatment. You have to muck in and help when out in the wilderness camps, so just go and enjoy it, you will not be disappointed.

review 7 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was ALL memorable, a wonderful experience, and very professionally organised. The dogs obviously love their work, the barking whilst being harnessed to the sleds each morning was almost deafening, and it was sheer joy to be pulled behind them through such beautiful scenery. Hanski and Biida worked miracles with some logs and a huge old black frying pan, and we had delicious lunches sat in the snow and sunshine out on the trail, followed by equally good candlelit suppers in the warmth of the cabins each evening. Salmon, Arctic char, and reindeer were on the menu, with lots of vegetables, local berries made into puddings to follow and eggs and bacon for breakfast each morning. You won't go hungry!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trousers, anoraks, hats, gloves, balaclavas and boots supplied are superb quality, and designed for the temperatures, don't bother to bring your own. We went for a short walk before the bus came to collect us on our last morning, but otherwise you're only going from the hotel to bus to airport so normal hat, scarf and gloves are fine. I wore goggles as have contact lenses, my eyes streamed in sunglasses, it was -15c in the mornings. The sleeping bags are likewise really warm, and Harriniva provide a cotton liner. We took travel towels for the sauna each evening, but some people brought them from the hotel. You'll have access to a large bowl of hot water, so easy to wash at the end of a doggie day!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only in that tourism provides 60% of local employment in Lapland. We were one of 5 groups out on a 5 day husky safari but 4 snowmobile groups were out at the same time!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really wonderful experience

review 3 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Setting off from the dog compound on the first morning not knowing what to expect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light with layerable clothing, bring a small tripod for the camera. Be prepared for anything to happen.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The whole set up provides many different types of work in the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Something really different, a really refreshing break and way to get out in to the back country and experience how things are done in this environment. A fantastic experience.

review 16 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sound of only the dogs feet mushing through the thick snow with the sleigh. Absolutely mind blowing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take hand warmers with you, lots of warm, thick socks and 2 camera batteries.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10! I would do this all over again, at the drop of a hat!

review 7 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole thing! Leaving the husky kennels was terrifying & exhilarating at the same time as we truly had no idea what we were doing - but it was a massive highlight. Traversing the beautiful countryside, both inside the forests and across the lakes with the only noise being the panting of the dogs, was truly awe inspiring. Helping to feed and settle the dogs each night, and then retiring for a sauna and dinner by candlelight was truly sublime. In fact, not having electricity was indeed one of the highlights! Petrie's ability to feed us all brilliantly three times a day - and light a fire in -20deg conditions was also a highlight!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take good thermal underwear and if you wear glasses or contacts, make sure you have contacts and good goggles - you'll need them. Make sure you have spare batteries for your camera - you won't be able to charge anything and they don't last long in the cold! Be prepared for a bit of chaos when you first arrive and are getting kitted out, but relax - it's only temporary!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not to any great extent. I can imagine that there was a small benefit to local people in that some of the cabins were (I believe) rented from locals - but there wasn't a lot of interaction. With regards environmental impact and conservation - the cabins were very self sufficient, and of course we were dog sledding so not burning fossil fuels!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Truly amazing and we'd love to do it again. Really can't get a better endorsement than that!!

review 5 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Pretty much all of it! Husky sledging was fantastic fun on its own and seeing the northern lights was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It actually was not as cold as I was expecting so have a look at the weather forecast before you go. With the gear from the base I hardly needed anything else apart from on the last day when we had to give it back quite early.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is a big thing for the economy in Lapland so I guess it helped it that way. I would also say it is an environmentally friendly trip. I do not think we really created much waste and of course dogs do not have emissions!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. I loved it and would happily go again.

review 15 Feb 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We have just returned from Finland on a five day Husky Safari. I cannot find the right words to describe what a wonderful experience it was. We took video footage and over 200 photos but that will no way convey the emotions of this trek. Every time I thought that the scenery could get no more beautiful we turned another corner and it did. I stood on the rear of my sled going through the letters of the alphabet trying to find the right word but got to Z without finding even one that could describe the experience and the scenery. From the minute we met the dogs on the Monday to the very sad time that we left them back at the kennels on the Friday was just awe inspiring. Loved the hands on approach. Raikka our guide was amazing his cooking was top class and his love and care for both us as clients and his dog team was second to none. You have to experience this trip first hand as I think its impossible to convey the emotion. Sometimes during the day I cried and my tears froze. The temperatures on our trip were between minus 24 and mins 34 but the clothing provided kept us warm. I could go on and on but my advice is JUST DO IT. Sadly at the end of a great week we had book a stay at the ICE HOTEL this was to be the highlight. Unfortunately this was not the case. When we arrived the staff we nonplussed and we were not felt welcomed. We were not offered the warm clothing that was hanging by the door and were cold throughout the stay. To make things worse there was a film crew in filming a pilot for a show and the place was swarming with people, cables trailed throughout the village and equipment. The extra people there made the floors slippery and I fell 3 times hurting my leg. The meal in the Ice Bar was lovely but I was so cold I had to get up and dance between courses. We couldn't get into the Chapple as they were filming there and the young guide that took us round was not to enthusiastic. We were cold and tired and sat in the warm room till we could go to our ice bed at 10pm you cannot go before then as the rooms are all open for viewing. This experience cost us £450 we were expecting a little more care and attention.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To go on the Husky Safari Pack plenty of batteries for your camera. Take lots of layers of clothing and invest in a good pair of warm gloves to go under the mittens supplied as your hands do get cold otherwise.A set of thermal underwear essential. Donít take wet wipes as they freeze solid.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The Husky Safari was out of this world a million words would not describe it adequately. If only you could bring home the emotions felt.

review 30 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to choose the most memorable part as there were so many. If I had to choose one it would be speeding across a frozen lake at night on a snow mobile.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I'd recommend staying a couple of extra days at the hotel after the husky trip as some of the other activities are worth doing while you're there. Most notably are the snow mobiles and taking a sled of firewood to build a fire and cook sausages on it of an evening.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, there was very little impact on the environment and the local population really were purely involved in tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday overall. The only disappointment was that we didn't see the northern lights. I guess that's a good excuse to go back again though.

review 20 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Steep down hills

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dress warm

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10

review 25 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sledding through snowy Lapland with my team of dogs!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's very hard work, make sure you're fit and healthy and wear lots of layers!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely minimised impact on the environment, we left no litter and left all the wilderness cabins clean. None of the cabins had electricity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, loved it, met some lovely dogs and fun people, can't wait to do it again!

review 6 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going across frozen lakes, howling huskies at night. Living in log heated huts, no water except from ice hole in lake, deciding whether one rally needed to "pee" or could wait longer. Spectacular scenery, peace and quiet. Knowledge that doing something most people considered mad.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Need to adopt kit list to inc. inner gloves with fingers--two pairs thinner ones as apposed to bulky. Hand/foot warmers if suffer from cold feet. Contact lenses as glasses steam up and freeze. Thermals and base layers--take spare as -30 very cold. Take insulated drinking container as not enough drink en route - wary of metal as burns when freezing. Body warmer with pockets to store batteries, good head torch/neck warmer. Choc/booze/pain relief/cold remedies. Hot Choc sachets/fluffy boots for cabins at night. Book return activities prior to leaving. Massages not very brilliant.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, cabins needed stocking up with logs and dog food = employment. Huskies need Care = employment, minimal impact on environment, all rubbish taken away. No damage done as far as I can tell, believe this type of holiday benefits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I went away to escape the anniversary of very unpleasant memories, I was so busy controlling huskies/ensuring hands warm/ falling off/ chopping frozen meat/ bedding down dogs etc that I had no chance to dwell. Would recommend it for anyone who needs to escape.

review 8 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The five day husky tour. Our guide, Hanski, was a love. We had an amazing group of people. The dogs were well cared for, the scenery amazing. Everything was worked out precisely. The wilderness cabins were cozy, clean and warm, the food amazing!!! Our guide worked very very hard and was extremely capable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come fit. Don't expect to be able to do much on the weekend at the Harriniva Centre, because most of the activities do not take place on the weekends. Come earlier in the winter, to see the Northern lights.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We left virtually no garbage, either composted the organic waste or burned the paper.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The five days with the huskies were great. The rest of our time was more or less wasted, since there was not much to do on the weekend. This very much lowers the rating I could give to the holiday. If I had been able to use those two days, I would have thoroughly enjoyed myself. I spent a lot of money and came a long way, and am quite upset about this. The brochure was misleading as far as being able to sign up for all kinds of activities.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for this review and it's great to know that the husky safari lived up to all expectations, it's a remarkable and unforgettable experience. Regarding the rest of the stay, the reason we extend the holiday by an extra day is to take advantage of the direct flights to Kittila. Those flights allow us to avoid scheduled services via Helsinki and keep the price the same for 7 nights as it would be for 6. Normally, there are activities available on Saturday and Sunday at Harriniva but it was extremely busy that weekend. I was actually there for about an hour on the Saturday night and was amazed at how lively it was. I asked the owners about it and apparently they had some large groups from Europe there. I believe that this put pressure on the number of activities and guides available. We've been offering this holiday for about 6 years now and have always added in the extra day. Thanks to the cheaper direct flights this means a longer stay at no additional cost. If we used the far more expensive scheduled flights then clients would have to fly home a day earlier and pay the same price. Reading through the reviews from previous clients here, I'm pleased that this appears to have been a one-off occurrence due to the numbers of people at Harriniva that weekend. I am sorry if this detracted from our clients' enjoyment at the end of the stay especially as the husky safari was such a success but unfortunately, we can't control the number of visitors to the accommodation.

review 4 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

By far the 5 day 4 night husky safari into the wilderness. Our guide Hansky was fantastic in every way, if i had to give our guide Hansky marks out of 10 I would give her 20. She was brilliant in every way. It was very much dorm accommodation ( no room for modesty) but that was part of the fun and all the equipment provided was perfect for the conditions. Everyone mucked in with the tasks and it was everything i imagined. The dogs were fantastic and I became very attached to my 4. All so well looked after. Most impressed

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You really don't need to take much at all, outside clothing is taken care of and you will probably be sleeping in your thermals anyway in the fantastically warm down sleeping bags provided. Head torches were most useful and not provided.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I do hope so. Though difficult to specify how. Compost loo's were used which were great. did,nt smell at all but made for a cold visitation at night.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The dog sledding 5 days (4 nights) were fantastic and I couldnít fault this part of the trip in any way. HOWEVER Back at Harriniva Hotel I was very disappointed. First night was great, private room with shower. Return on the Friday following was not so great. There were NO activities available over the weekend particularly on the Sunday for those departing at 6pm for the late Gatwick flight. No reindeer visits, no spa facilities, etc etc everything was closed. Mis-leading in your brochure. Maybe it was a one off but there was also an invasion of 70 French noisy men that totally spoilt the calm friendly atmosphere of the whole place. It was great fun sharing dormatory accommodation with everyone during the 5 day trip but some privacy (single room with private bathroom) for the last 2 nights would have been preferable on our return. I would love to do the husky wilderness trip again but have reservasions about the Harriniva hotel side of things.

review 8 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The husky sledding: exciting yet relaxing, peaceful and yet sometimes chaotic too! Staying in the wilderness cabins on the trail, taking everything you need with you and living simply but very comfortably. It makes you realise just how unnecessary so much of what we think we need to live well really is. Our guide (Raikka) was superb and the food he cooked us 3 times a day was outstanding. What that man can do with a frying pan and a camp fire I couldn't achieve in my smart London kitchen! He was an enthusiastic and generous cook and we were an appreciative audience, we never went hungry.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it!!! There's quite a bit of free time on the Saturday and Sunday and extra activities can be expensive, plus in theory you are supposed to hand back your snow gear. Don't, ask nicely to keep it and at least go for a long walk in the snow which costs nothing. Otherwise allow yourself some more money to add on another activity or two to make the most of the experience, we enjoyed the horse riding. The outdoor clothes & boots you are given are very good indeed, follow the advice in the briefing pack, take lots of good layers and you shouldn't ever be cold at all. And don't expect to see the Northern Lights, its really down to luck, we saw a little bit, but that's all, I think most groups are the same.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, but then we also saw the snowmobile safaris setting off from the same place, which had the opposite effect on the environment!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb. Wouldn't change anything at all (not even the outside loos in -25deg C, all part of the experience and gave us lots of laughs!).

review 16 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Out with the huskies for 5 days in wilderness cabins. Being so away from it all with only the sound of the dogs and the sledge over the snow.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Opt for the real tour of being out for 5 day and not the hotel. Take lots of base layers and some face cream for chapped skin. The tour operator provides really great outer wear and boots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Minimal impact on environment. All local food and staff.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing as long as you are up to the physical side of the tour. Will bore my friend rigid with my tales and pictures or then again maybe not!!!!

review 24 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being on the sled, particularly during the middle days of the safari when we were further away from other people, the quietness and the natural surroundings were wonderful. Standing out on the lake in complete darkness looking for the Northern Lights and marvelling at the bountiful stars. Cooking lunch over an open fire with not another soul passing by us. Warming up in the sauna at the end of a day out on the dog sleds. Meeting new people with a similar appetite for adventure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have an open mind and go with the flow! I abandoned my quasi vegetarian diet for the week and found reindeer to be much more delicious than I had imagined. Cold red wine (well it was being carted about in sub zero temperatures on the sled) and tea without milk were normal, but the food was plentiful and delicious even in the limited cooking conditions. Toilet paper was always available at the huts but not always during the day - keep tissues in your pocket (wipes will freeze) - but don't litter. Be prepared to pee in the wild during the day. It is cold, not much to do but be quick! Remember soap/shower gel/shampoo - it is possible to wash and pour water over your head in the sauna (every hut has a sauna). Take a pack of cards or small travel game for entertainment in the evenings. Sleeping is dormitory style in the huts - take some ear plugs in case your fellow travellers snore! Give some thought to what you would like to do on the last Sat/Sun as there is quite some time to fill. Downhill skiing in Olas was fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Almost all the people we saw, or heard of, working at the hotel were from Finland and mainly lived in the surrounding areas and villages. The food we ate seemed to be mainly from local sources. We took all rubbish with us, or it was collected later from the huts where there was easier access from the roads.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic! It was exactly the type of escape and adventure I wanted. It was great to be totally away experiencing something completely different, being active and busy and surrounded by nature.

review 16 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Travelling through the forested areas on the dog-sled, the snow weighing down the trees formed arches which we sometimes went under. The shapes formed by the snow gave a magical effect. The trail was like a bob-sleigh run and after 2 days I was more confident in handling the sled around corners and avoiding trees!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take alcohol with you on the safari if you want any. The wilderness cabins get very warm with the fires lit and the saunas allow you to wash in hot water each night. It is physically demanding, lot of work involved getting water, wood, feeding dogs etc on arrival at each cabin. March was ideal time as long days and relatively warm - we had few days about 0 to -5C though nights -20 to -30C! We had clear blue skies all week making scenery stunning. Donít try and take photos from the sled until confident - take a camera with a neck strap to make this easier! If YOU GET OFF THE BRAKE THE DOGS RUN!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Tourism and reindeer are only local industries so very important. Very little impact as dogs are environmentally friendly!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, definitely a once in a lifetime experience

review 3 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was such an amazing experience. The week is hard work with lots of chopping and fire making and water getting but if you immerse yourself in these tasks, the feeling of going back to basics completes the experience. The dogs are just incredible, they are all so friendly - my lead dog Pepsi would jump up at me every time I walked past for a hug, I got so attached to my dogs in just a few short days. The scenery is constantly breathtaking and the actual sledding is both relaxing yet exciting - speeding downhill going over bumps is so exciting! The food was brilliant throughout and our guide was very knowledgeable and was one of the best guides I have ever had. A truly memorable week.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to work hard. Chopping frozen dog meat, getting water and starting fires are all essential and are hardwork. Bring tons of socks, as on the cold days I wore up to 4 pairs of walking socks!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the local town worked closely with the Huskies from what I saw. Everyone who looked after the huskies really cared for the dogs, it was lovely to see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an amazing experience that I will never forget. You feel so detached from day to day life, it was all I could have asked for.

review 23 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The dogs and Petri our guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Break if you see a tree coming towards you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies