12 independent reviews for Husky safari in Finland

Reviews for Husky safari in Finland

SHOW
2
10
0
0
0

review 23 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Husky sledding

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go on a longer husky sled ride

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we bought all our souvenirs in the husky sledding venue which is owned by a local man

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The excursions are very short giving lots of time which is broken up so there is not much opportunity to do other things.

review 27 Dec 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The dogs, it'll always be those amazing dogs. And also our guide. She was just incredible. We also saw the northern lights, and cuddled baby huskies, while it was snowing on Christmas Day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take just two changes of clothes, two for the day and two for evenings. Layer up your clothes. You will eat like a king, so dont worry about the food or lack of it. You can wash your hair and shower perfectly well, as a girl this was nice. Take a hip flask. Lots of batteries and camera memory.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I do, though tourism is vital, but it was done with the environment in mind, all very ethical and clean, I feel that we left no foot prints at all, just pristine wilderness.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10. Especially as a vegan traveller, I felt that my food ethics were understood and respected.

review 1 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hard working huskies

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Organize arrival at Harriniva at least 24 hours before the planned start of the safari. The cold weather gear provided is excellent and there is no need to take your own. Also pack a rucksack with light gear for the evenings in the wilderness huts

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The income provided to the local economy is the main income for the year. The footprint on the environment is minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If you love dogs and don't mind roughing it then this is the holiday for you.Try to go when the skies are clear and the aurora is visible. We missed out but no problem.

review 24 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Not just one thing, but many memories of which - flying down hill trying to control my sledge and not fall off, making snow angels before going back into the sauna, lunch on an open fire on a frozen lake, the views, the noise of the dogs as we got ready in the morning to leave.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a pair of flip flops for use at the sauna so you can use the ice holes, take wool not cotton, good balance helps as you stand on 3cm wide runners for up to 6hrs a day. If you really enjoy a drink then take your own as it is very very expensive out there. Take extra batteries as the cold really does affect them even if you try and keep them close to you and warm. A pair of thin woolen glove liners are good for under the mitten liners which are still quite big. Listen carefully to the instructions at the begining about sledge handling as you are suddenly off and need to quickly remember how to stop or turn. Take a small compact camera which is easy to use while on the sledge - a bigger camera (SLR etc) is great for when off the sledge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes environmental impacts were key and we were guided to be as green as possible. Without tourism up there the locals would have no one to buy their goods or eat their reindeers or need feeding and sleeping just to go see the Polar lights.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great time even if I was the only English person in the group. The brochure was a bit misleading in saying that we would do 25-45km each day as we never did less than 37km and our longest day was 70km with another at 54km. The hill back into the Galdotieva Fell Centre needs changing as it is too steep with a sharp right turn and many accidents have happend there.

review 11 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Riding on husky driven sledges through a winter wonderland.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't let go off the sledges & lose your dogs for two hours like we did. Buy ice breaker thermals as you only need that one set.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It must benefit local people as a team service the huts & look for dogs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An unforgettable experience.

review 23 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going through the woods with the sled

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it alone

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great

review 20 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was brilliant from start to finish. The outstanding scenery, travelling through woodlands and over frozen lakes with your sledge and team of huskies was something I will never forget. Living in isolated log cabins, the open log fires and wonderful meals cooked by our guide Hanski after a long day in the cold was tremendous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of layers, it was -38 on our second day out. Most of the time it was between -25 to - 29, so extremely cold. You can purchase hand and feet warmers at the reception, and they do help keep you warm. They are not expensive. When not using your camera take the battery out and keep it somewhere warm, I kept mine in the top pocket of my woolen shirt and it lasted nearly the whole week, but do take a spare in case.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes without a doubt. The local people are very proud of their country and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best, but don't expect five star treatment. You have to muck in and help when out in the wilderness camps, so just go and enjoy it, you will not be disappointed.

review 7 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was ALL memorable, a wonderful experience, and very professionally organised. The dogs obviously love their work, the barking whilst being harnessed to the sleds each morning was almost deafening, and it was sheer joy to be pulled behind them through such beautiful scenery. Hanski and Biida worked miracles with some logs and a huge old black frying pan, and we had delicious lunches sat in the snow and sunshine out on the trail, followed by equally good candlelit suppers in the warmth of the cabins each evening. Salmon, Arctic char, and reindeer were on the menu, with lots of vegetables, local berries made into puddings to follow and eggs and bacon for breakfast each morning. You won't go hungry!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trousers, anoraks, hats, gloves, balaclavas and boots supplied are superb quality, and designed for the temperatures, don't bother to bring your own. We went for a short walk before the bus came to collect us on our last morning, but otherwise you're only going from the hotel to bus to airport so normal hat, scarf and gloves are fine. I wore goggles as have contact lenses, my eyes streamed in sunglasses, it was -15c in the mornings. The sleeping bags are likewise really warm, and Harriniva provide a cotton liner. We took travel towels for the sauna each evening, but some people brought them from the hotel. You'll have access to a large bowl of hot water, so easy to wash at the end of a doggie day!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only in that tourism provides 60% of local employment in Lapland. We were one of 5 groups out on a 5 day husky safari but 4 snowmobile groups were out at the same time!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really wonderful experience

review 3 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Setting off from the dog compound on the first morning not knowing what to expect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light with layerable clothing, bring a small tripod for the camera. Be prepared for anything to happen.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The whole set up provides many different types of work in the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Something really different, a really refreshing break and way to get out in to the back country and experience how things are done in this environment. A fantastic experience.

review 16 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sound of only the dogs feet mushing through the thick snow with the sleigh. Absolutely mind blowing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take hand warmers with you, lots of warm, thick socks and 2 camera batteries.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10! I would do this all over again, at the drop of a hat!

review 7 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole thing! Leaving the husky kennels was terrifying & exhilarating at the same time as we truly had no idea what we were doing - but it was a massive highlight. Traversing the beautiful countryside, both inside the forests and across the lakes with the only noise being the panting of the dogs, was truly awe inspiring. Helping to feed and settle the dogs each night, and then retiring for a sauna and dinner by candlelight was truly sublime. In fact, not having electricity was indeed one of the highlights! Petrie's ability to feed us all brilliantly three times a day - and light a fire in -20deg conditions was also a highlight!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take good thermal underwear and if you wear glasses or contacts, make sure you have contacts and good goggles - you'll need them. Make sure you have spare batteries for your camera - you won't be able to charge anything and they don't last long in the cold! Be prepared for a bit of chaos when you first arrive and are getting kitted out, but relax - it's only temporary!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not to any great extent. I can imagine that there was a small benefit to local people in that some of the cabins were (I believe) rented from locals - but there wasn't a lot of interaction. With regards environmental impact and conservation - the cabins were very self sufficient, and of course we were dog sledding so not burning fossil fuels!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Truly amazing and we'd love to do it again. Really can't get a better endorsement than that!!

review 5 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Pretty much all of it! Husky sledging was fantastic fun on its own and seeing the northern lights was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It actually was not as cold as I was expecting so have a look at the weather forecast before you go. With the gear from the base I hardly needed anything else apart from on the last day when we had to give it back quite early.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is a big thing for the economy in Lapland so I guess it helped it that way. I would also say it is an environmentally friendly trip. I do not think we really created much waste and of course dogs do not have emissions!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. I loved it and would happily go again.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies