41 independent reviews for Beach holiday in Cirali, Turkey

Reviews for Beach holiday in Cirali, Turkey

SHOW
12
27
2
0
0

review 8 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Snorkelling in the sea...amazing array of fish

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light...very laid back & informal. Do pack some good walking shoes & something more sturdy than flip flops to get you over the pebble beach & hot sand.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great....only wish I'd had more time

review 10 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just generally beautiful scenery, friendly people and good food. Enjoyed visiting the Yanartas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited local people and I felt that all interactions with the local community were positive. Supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Ten out of ten! We love Cirali beach and Hotel Bellerofon!

review 1 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing turtles out at sea in the bay, whilst walking the Lycian Way footpath.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Its a lovely base for walking, but you need to be fairly fit as the path is steep and rocky.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel was small and used all locally sourced fruit and vegetables, all the hot water was produced by solar power.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good.

review 22 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Breakfast on the beach watching the sun rise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy it for what it is. No luxuries just an amazing place, fantastic fresh local food, superb hospitality with amazing scenery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Partially.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous, relaxing and comfortable.

review 2 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You dont need beech towels as hotel Beleeofon supply them

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

****

review 23 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Bellerophon is a little piece of heaven. It is incredibly calm and tranquil, the hospitality and food is divine and it is an idyllic place to just switch off. With two teenage sons, we normally go for very active holidays so this was a complete change for us ...and it worked. There is enough to see and do locally to keep everyone happy. The Patisserie on the way into the village is well worth a visit!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to completely relax! It's been said in other reviews but you really need to take very little. The hotel provides beach towels, we didn't need any mosquito repellent (such a bonus!) and beach shoes are very handy as the sand is too hot to walk on and the last stretch into the sea is quite stoney. Having climbed the Chimaera in flip flops and trainers, it was much easier in trainers. Get up and watch the sun rise, it's truly beautiful (around 5.50-6am at the end of July).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It's a very special place and we had a fabulous holiday - it will be hard to beat.

review 14 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The people at the hotel, the peace and solitude of the place, nature

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To go on the boat trips around the area, the places like Myra were amazing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, just the fact that we moved around on bikes made us feel good about the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceptional, unforgettable.

review 13 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Impossible to choose one, the whole holiday was certainly memorable, relaxing and interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you're looking for somewhere to relax, good food, wonderful people, as little or as much to do and see as you like then book now!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The hotel is a family run, local hotel. They employ local people and source their produce locally also. They specifically ask their guests to respect the local area, minimise waste and consider the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Probably one of the best holidays we have ever had. 10 out of 10. I would go back a thousand times and highly recommend. We felt it was huge value for money, an entirely pleasant experience. We felt so welcome and well looked after but at the same time were given the space to enjoy some much needed rest time together and explore the culture and local areas. The holiday really was everything we dreamed of.

review 2 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many: taking boat trips around the coast. Snorkelling in the sea. Visiting the Chimaera, an area of mountainside nearby where natural gas creates flames that shoot out of the rock. Just lounging around on the beach reading was hugely enjoyable! And the food at the Bellepheron Hotel (we had breakfast and dinner there every day) was great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't have a car booked, make sure you take out Turkish lira before you travel. Cirali is a small village and has no cashpoint (or post box, or public phones), and you'll have a long walk to get to the next town with one.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Areas where turtles have laid their eggs have been cordoned off. Plus, there are limits on building in the area, so looking back from the sea you would have no idea that there is are shops and hotels on the other side of the beach. My one grip is that there was occasional pollution on the beach. My wife and I spent a while picking plastic bags, cups, water bottles and general rubbish from the sea before we swam. Other people were doing the same too. A pity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good for food and weather. Hotel had very friendly staff but was a bit overpriced for what we had – accommodation was OK but nothing special. And it was a shame about the bits of rubbish that washed up on the beach.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for the feedback. It is always appreciated. Some notes; It is a pity about the rubbish you experienced on the beach, and it is not characteristic of Cirali where for much of the year the beach is spotless, totally clean of rubbish and pretty well maintained. At some times of the year rubbish is brought in by sea currents, I have personally seen foreign labelled packaging washing in from as far as North Africa, Cyprus and other parts of the country. Sometimes rubbish falls into the sea from pleasure boats passing from larger resorts such as Antalya or Kemer, plastic bags and cups fall into the sea, blown off the boats by wind. It is a real pity, especially the plastic bags which turtles could mistake to be jellyfish, a source of food for them, and try to eat. Cirali locals do not throw rubbish into the sea, and many of the hotels in Cirali do actually attempt to keep the beach clean, as I say, for most of the year it is spotless! Then there are local tourists who are not as careful perhaps about their rubbish being blown into the sea despite the signs at the far end of the beach to keep the beach tidy. Bins on the beach have been tried in the past, however in the hight of summer, and due to the local authorities not collecting refuse regularly enough, these attract insects, cause smells and are generally unattractive. So guests who collect rubbish from the beach do indeed need to use hotel bins.

review 24 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just the rest and relaxation was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get your money at the atm airport. The food is amazing at the Bellefron hotel. No need to go elsewhere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 28 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many memorable things to type into one box! Cirali is a beautiful area - breathtaking mountains surrounding the crystal clear water and pebble beach. I highly recommend rising one morning at dawn and heading to the beach to watch the loggerhead turtles hatching - an unforgettable experience and definitely worth an early start. The ruins of Olympos at the end of the the beach are also worth exploring - crumbling but beautiful. One of our favourite activities though, was climbing up to see the Chimaera (Yanartas) - an amazing natural phenomenon of fire seeping out of the mountain side. Quite magical! The food was amazing too - varied and you certainly don't go hungry. You can eat whenever you want, and try out some of the local delicacies. I simply cannot pick 'one memorable part'!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take with you comfortable shoes suitable for walking (trainers or similar) as much of the area is quite rough and rocky - especially the Chimaera. A torch is a necessity also! The beach is also pebbled and gets very hot on the sand, so is hard on the soles; some decent beach shoes are recommended.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Everything at the hotel was locally sourced and the staff were very attentive to the environment and the areas surrounding the hotel. Their knowledge of the local areas and conservation was extensive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant. A perfect blend of rustic and luxury in a beautiful part of the world. Perfect for escaping everyday life, while offering plenty to do and explore at the same time.

review 2 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic welcome and marvellous service in magical surroundings. Food absolutely excellent, and lots of it. Chimera is fascinating; visited twice in spite of the incredibly hot walk up the hill. Not to be missed. Alper is a delightful host - nothing too much trouble and always a good source of information as well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Diet for a month in advance. Don't bring any formal clothes.. Bring decent walking shoes and a head torch for Chimera. Beach shoes essential to cross the pebbles, but sea delicious once in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The whole set up is fairly low impact, with low visitor density. Undoubtedly helps the local economy with local produce on the table.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent; best holiday in years.

review 24 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We hired a car and took it to Phesalis where we wandered around the ruins and went snorkelling (not much to see but beautiful clear, calm and warm water), we then drove up to the cable car base camp to go up mount Olympos- stunning views and a spectacular ride. Really though, the over all memorable moment was lots of moments just chilling out at the Turkish style cushioned area under the trees, smelling the heavenly scents that the garden gave off (not to mention the food) and going for a swims in the crystal clear water.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it. If you want to relax this is the place to do it. If you need help ask the staff- the waiter Alper who was there had good English and was happy to help with anything. If you want your room cleaned ask-otherwise they will do it every other day. For anything, just ask! You might want to bring a sheet (we removed the duvet and just used the cover). Bring a decent torch so you can visit the chimera at night (the road there is lit, but sparsely, the path up is not lit at all), (if you forget most of the local shops sell them). Wear flipflops or similar down to the water as the stones are uncomfortable and hot. Bring lots of reading material (or borrow from the library in reception) Whilst there is not a real mosquito problem (the whole area has something that flies over and zaps them), there are a few so wear sleeves at night and if you are particularly tasty to them use a deterrent (they sell various in the local shops). Take Valium for your journey home, Antalya airport is a massive invasion of the senses after a fortnight in çirali-and not a good one!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, definitely. Local produce was used at all times, all the staff were local(ish), the lighting was dim and did not light up the beach to interfere with the turtles. It was extremely quiet.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Five stars brilliant.

review 23 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the Chimera, ascending the headland and exploring Olympos at sunrise. This was to avoid the heat of the day. But then relaxing on the beach for the rest of the day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There is a small shop / cafe across the road behind the property that does good simple lunches, the homemade guzleme (pancake) are great. All whilst sat under the shade of the trees an a raised divan.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The people were all local and most of the produce was sourced locally. The beach being a nesting site for turtles ensures there is not too much development.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Completely relaxing from start to finish.

review 5 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being without any luggage for 4 days as Easyjet lost it! Staff really helpful in contacting the airport lost luggage department and picked up for me when they were collecting other guests.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t arrive too late as there is no reception.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not aware of it except on your website.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Delightful, tho at the time the chef had left but all the staff helped out.The owner took a fairly low key approach and did not apologies as such to guests. By the end of the week there was a new chef and food improved.

Read the operator's response here:

3. This accommodation is at the forefront of the struggle to protect Cirali from over development, playing an active roll in local community meetings where it pushes to keep the area clean, free of noise and light pollution. The reviewer may have noticed that the accommodation consists of single storey, wooden chalets, often made of recycled wood. There is a minimal use of concrete and the entire resort is hidden amidst lush gardens to reduce to a minimum any visual impact on the environment. 4. This was an unfortunate episode. For personal reasons, the chef had to leave the resort at short notice. We apologise for this but it was beyond our control. As the reviewer states, the staff did help out and within a couple of day a new chef had been appointed.

review 23 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildlife - seeing baby turtles hatching as the sun was coming up - our resident octopus in its hole just near the beach, tortoises mating and my children loving the cats and playing with them.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a relaxing spot but probably worth hiring a car so that you can be flexible with what you do rather than doing organized trips.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did feel it was beneficial to the Turkish team at Cirali and pretty low impact on the environment. Very little waste and built around nature. Although there were lots of other resorts there were not to eco - just up the road.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing, fun and enjoyable. Lovely staff at Cirali and some wonderful memories.

review 21 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the young turtles make their way to the sea

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The area is more developed for tourism than the website indicates. Still peaceful and uncrowded, but definitely busy in August. Some noise from beat boxes in cars and on passing ships - short lived, but intense! It was VERY hot. Hiring a car would be a good idea if staying for two weeks, just to explore the local area - cycling not really an option in the heat with the steep hills!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly benefited locals in terms of employment. The hotel supported the turtle conservation on the beach, so yes, some positive impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. The Bellarfron Hotel is very good, with excellent food and delightful people. The accommodation was first rate.

review 23 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The glorious breakfasts and animals

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a sink plug

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes indeed, shopping in the local shops etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, really enjoyed it and would certainly return and recommend

review 20 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We were met at Antalya airport by a charming driver, who had about as much English as we had Turkish...not a lot! But this didn't matter as we were whisked through the night to our destination of Cirili. On arrival he insisted on taking all our luggage to the the Chalet, a short walk through exotic smelling shrubs with gentle path lighting. Awaiting us in the mini bar were some icy cold beers which we fell on with glee & drank on the verandah. Hot & sticky from the journey? Not any more! We were in heaven & looked forward to what the morning light would reveal in this oasis of calm.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take far fewer clothes than you'd think you may need...even footwear is optional! If morning tea is your thing take some tea bags with you, unless you like the ubiquitous Liptons ! We soon abandoned our supply in favour of the delicious Turkish apple tea Pebbles on beach are smooth but if running with abandon into the sea is a must take some jelly shoes or similar.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people most definitely benefited as so much of the scrumptious food is produced locally. Cirili beach is home to the egg laying turtles each year who use moonlight to guide them to this beach. Therefore, no high-rise buildings, street lights, loud PA systems & (big plus from us) no vendors hassling to sell their trinkets etc. Knowing that some of the cost of our holiday goes to support conservation officers is great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Without doubt the best holiday for years...food, people, accommodation, cleanliness, clear blue sea, atmosphere & calm.

review 10 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Evening meals in the restaurant in total silence apart from the sound of the sea gently lapping against the beach. Wandering through the ruins of Olympus.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a lot of heat. Make sure you do all the recommended visits and excursions. Go to lots of different bars and restaurants. There are many good ones as well as the Bellerofon which is excellent. It is worth having Euros with you as some things (eg Excursions) are cheaper. You don't need a huge amount of money as most meals were between 55tl and 70tl for two people. We read that sterling was accepted but we found nowhere that accepted it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

By spending money including buying gifts we supported the local economy. I am not sure how environmental impact was reduced as we did have to use taxis' a couple of times. Certainly the style of hotel had a low environmental impact, but the area is very developed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was exactly what we wanted. It was completely relaxing. Everyone we met from the area in bars and restaurants was friendly and welcoming. All the staff at Bellerofon were brilliant and knew exactly how to ensure you stayed relaxed. The food there was excellent. Many of the restaurants we went to (all of which were really good value) served wonderful food. We would most definitely like to come back.

review 30 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting under the stars (fabulous Milky Way) eating our evening meal on the beach with the tables placed round a bonfire. Good food, good company, a bottle of wine, bliss!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read the description of the holiday accommodation - it is what it says, very relaxing, cats, chickens, chicks and tortoises wandering around the grounds. Take a plug for the wash basin and don't expect hot water in the morning and just chill.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped locally, the vegetables and fruit seemed to be locally produced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was lovely, if we returned it would be a month earlier (September) as in October the weather can be changeable. The first 9 days were hot and sunny and then we had 2 days of rain, thunder and lightning, which was exciting at times and then we just got wet. Luckily we took our walking boots and jackets so that we could still get out and take advantage of the walks in the area.

review 27 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic location and views and wonderful hospitality from local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring flip flops as the shingle at the shore is a bit hard on the feet. Bring a torch for dark walks back from town. Check out the Kaptans cafe and bar. A huge welcome and friendly hosts made it a home from home for us.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Truly memorable. The stress just fell off. Well organised with minimal problems getting there and back.

review 31 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely villa set in fabulous gardens with views out over the sparkling sea to the islands and to Kas. The friendly people and the great food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure that you have a car to get about the place as the setting for the villa is wonderful, but it's a bit of a hike without transport. It was a good idea to be driven to and from the airport, which takes the stress out of finding one's way in the dark on tricky roads.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Kas is very much a holiday destination so the number of tourists must bring financial benefits. The town, the pebble beaches and the sea were all very clean and rubbish free.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Everything was very well organised for us before and during the holiday.

review 2 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire holiday was memorable - the most exciting part was seeing the Chimaera, we cycled there from the hotel one evening to see the 'burning rocks' - quite a climb to get there in the heat but well worth it. In the UK there would be so much attention to health and safety that it would detract from the experience but it was possible to wander up the rocks and see the flames emerging from crevices, it is quite a spectacle. Seeing a turtle on the beach on our last morning was also exciting and rather unusual. They do lay their eggs on the beach at this time of the year but usually at night but this one tried to do it early one morning - she failed. I think it was just too hot to struggle up the beach, after a 20minute effort she returned to the water and disappeared.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come prepared for a very relaxing and chilled experience. We did very little and had a lovely time enjoying the wonderful food prepared for us, relaxing on the beach and swimming - what more could you want? I took quite a few books and read them all.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I could not comment really except to say that all the staff at the Bellerofon were local except one man who was from Kazakhstan visiting over the summer. We hired the car from a local company so I suppose the answer is 'yes' to the first part of the question. The area seems very aware of its impact on the environment and appears to work hard to support the turtles that return to the beach each year to lay their eggs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We would rate it very highly - the staff worked very hard to make our holiday special. The breakfasts were amazing and we ate plenty of lovely fresh fish which was available every day. The proximity of the beach made it so easy and relaxing that we rarely felt the need to go anywhere else. One day we hired a car through the hotel and visited Phaselis which was well worth it if you are interested in the history of the region.

review 14 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all fantastic: completely relaxing and just what we needed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring mosquito coils etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I hope it benefitted local people. It did not feel like it had a high environmental impact, but the amount of plastic bottled water we drank did make me think.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This really was a fantastic break for us.

Read the operator's response here:

Indeed plastic bottle use in Turkey is an issue. The problem is that tap water in Turkey is not really good for drinking. However, in Cirali, the tap water can be drunk, but as it is not tested to European standards, we do not advise our European clients to drink it.

review 23 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in a beautiful place and being looked after so well. Local sites of interest were great

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car from airport for week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding - would like to take the whole family next time.

review 12 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We thought the service was excellent. We loved the laid back attitude, breakfast whenever and wherever we wanted (on porch, in the restaurant, in the garden or the beach). On a few evenings we had dinner on the beach with a fire underneath the beautiful starry sky which we thought was quite special (esp since we were the only people around). Enjoyed walking to Olympus and day trip to Myra and sailing. The Chimera was good to see too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As mentioned, it's a very laid back place...come here if you want to relax and take things slowly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we went on tours ran by locals and to my knowledge most establishment are privately owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We (mid thirties married couple with 5 yr old) had an excellent holiday. We loved the beach with its clear and clean waters, the fruit trees growing throughout the village, the mountain back drop, and the ducks and chickens charging around. We didn't...but saw lots of rambling groups and yoga groups.

review 31 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting up to see the sunrise and finding new hatched Loggerhead turtle making its way to the sea. Cirali is a great place to stay and the Hotel Bellerophon was relaxed and just what we needed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't take too much stuff. You won't need half of it. Get out and explore the area. There is so much to see within a few miles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I do not know clearly how it helped local people. However the produce was always fresh and is thought to come from the vicinity. The area not having big hotels minimizes the impact. Having been in SW Turkey about 20 years ago it was interesting to see the amount of development from Antalya along the road towards Cirali.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great break. A good combination of relaxation and filling my need to go and explore.

review 26 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Relaxing by the beach and the beautiful clean sea on the Turquoise Coast. Eating at the tables overlooking the beach for breakfast and dinner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check whether the turtles are laying their eggs (June) or hatching. We went in August and saw the baby turtles hatching and making their way to the sea at 6am in the morning as the sun rose. Looked on and protected by the by WWF wardens.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent our time - 11 days - in the area of Cirali Beach and everything was focused on the benefit of the local people and environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing, very enjoyable. Lovely people.

review 25 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The boat trip down the coast, as recommended by the resort owner. Being picked up from the beach adjacent to the resort was a bonus.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a quiet place! Don't expect activities for kids other than the beach. We hired a car for a couple of days to get out and explore the local area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The resort was locally owned and run, and the potential impact on nesting turtles on the beach was recognised.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

For a relaxing week in a beautiful location it was wonderful.

review 2 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching turtle hatchlings make their way to the sea from their nests at dawn. Also walking up to the flaming Chimaera at night. Eating under the fig trees and vines looking out to sea and enjoying the breeze.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No need to take books - good choice available there. Food excellent in the hotel itself - no need to go elsewhere. Learn a few words/phrases in Turkish - much appreciated by staff. Take torch for walk up to Chimaera at night. Get up at dawn one day to see the turtle hatchlings make way to sea. (July/August) If planning to walk, take strong footwear and go when less hot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local people employed at the hotel. Local produce used. Local taxi services. No wastage of energy. Company contributes to turtle conservation and protection.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent for total relaxation, peace and swimming. Cicadas were the loudest noise all week.

review 25 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We arrived in the middle of the night after a long day of travelling, and were greeted with a wonderful 3 course meal. We could just about make out our surroundings by candlelight, and the moonlight over the ocean, but it wasn't until morning that we realised how stunning the location was - cute little huts set in a garden of pomegranate and olive trees, ducks, chickens (with their day old chicks!) and a short walk along the path to a beach that felt like it was our own. Amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take an evening out to climb Mt. Olympos (wear trainers!) to Chimaera - known as the burning stone. Natural gas comes out of the earth and combusts into flames for a truly amazing spectacle. Go at dusk and take a bottle of wine! Also no need to pack books as there is a little library.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - all of the produce was locally sourced, and the endangered turtles who laid their eggs on the beach were well protected.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. From the food to the location to the way we were looked after, everything was exactly what we wished for.

review 18 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I would say the most memorable was waking up the next morning (we arrived at the hotel at 2 am and where very tired) and seeing the location and breakfast area just next to the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Considering that I went in July walking around under the sun not a nice prospect. The surrounding and nearby visit options are not very varied or spectacular (lycian ruins) so be prepared for very restful holiday. Most of our visits where made at the end of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The type of holiday benefits the local people since there are no international chains. Everything is local. Regarding the impacts on the environment, I notice the water heating system is solar but anything else I cannot judge. The cabins we where in are not prepared with isolation so it was necessary to use the air conditioning quite a bit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The location of the hotel and the environment was nice and children friendly. Food was good and staff very friendly. And I would recommend the place to anybody wanting to recharge their batteries.

review 1 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meals on the patio right next to the beach, or else actually on the beach itself; the mountain backdrop also came as a beautiful surprise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go ahead! Do bring warm clothes for October though, as although the sun is strong the air can be cool and the evenings could be quite cold.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. This holiday was very comfortable and felt somewhat luxurious whilst still being simple and not involving excessive consumption.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very pleasant, simple and enjoyable holiday. Low-key, gentle and undemanding. We unwound and came back home feeling relaxed and refreshed.

review 26 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The food was excellent, especially when served on the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There's a lot written about the noise of the cockerels and the wasps etc. If you are a light sleeper, it can be annoying, but just bring some earplugs and you'll be fine (I was). And as for the wasps, just cover up the food with the napkins on the table, job done! Don't worry about bringing too many books, there's a very good selection there. Definitely go to Olympos ruins and take the bikes out for a pedal, just give them a good check over first..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

review 11 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beach location and peace and quiet were just what we needed. No crowds, no fighting for sunbeds, just calm and lovely food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do take time to wander down the beach to the Olympos ruins - well worth a visit. And do go on a boat trip - we saw turtles swimming around our boat which was fantastic. Don't come here if you are looking for lively nightlife, but it is perfect for relaxing. Don't eat too much during the day! The evening meals are lovely and enormous! There is a little shop just opposite the hotel which sells every thing you need - including nice ice creams!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Staff were all local - when we went on our boat trip, we were te only non-Turkish people there as it's not really attracting that many 'outsiders'. Impact was minimised due to the low key approach. Many people were camping there, and the hotels are all very small.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic.

review 6 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Relaxing in the peaceful surroundings and watching the turtles hatching and making their way to the sea on our last day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just to use your website - which I already have!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful and very relaxing - we will definitely go back.

review 22 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The general ambiance of the accommodation, a grown up backpackers retreat, with great food and genuine hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Explore the area, there is a lot more than there initially seems.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It was clearly a locally run and operated family concern.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very relaxing, definitely somewhere to return.

review 16 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and tranquility. The calm and efficient staff who served us with delicious food, as soon as you sat down at a table the waiter came and either presented us with iced orange juice at breakfast, or iced water at dinner, followed by a vast array of breakfast or a 5 course dinner.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect peace and relaxation not luxury. Accommodation has everything you need but is not luxurious. No choice in dinner menu, a relief for me not to have to choose, but others may not feel the same if they have serious likes and dislikes - vegetarians however were catered for with no problem.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we ate local food and wine. Tipped local people. Donation from holiday cost went to helping to preserve the turtles which laid eggs on the beach. No music, TV, watersports or bright lighting to disturb wildlife.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. A complete change from our normal life, no TV, telephone, music, traffic noise. Hot weather, glorious beach with fabulous Roman ruins, lovely food and charming, polite, low key people.

review 21 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of my holiday was sitting under the beach gazebo at the edge of the property, just after breakfast one day - just soaking up the tranquillity with a very cute little kitten fast asleep on my lap. It was all extremely beautiful and just the relaxation I needed. The most exciting part was discovering one morning that a turtle had laid its eggs overnight - we got to the beach early enough to see its tracks in the sand...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you explore Olympus - it is over a large area so you could spend a day there easily and also a must-see is the Chimera. We cycled along there at 11 at night which I was worried about at first as I wasn't sure what to expect - but I felt very safe and there were hardly any cars on the road either. One thing NOT to do - don't do the locally booked tours without checking exactly what you're letting yourself in for. We had a hideous experience with a coach load of Russian tourists who broke out in fights on the coach. You could either hire a car and do it yourself, or ensure you know the EXACT itinerary before you go - avoid the mass-market tours - they interfere with the tranquillity of your stay in this beautiful place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, our part of the beach was kept very nicely and everyone was very respectful of the turtle cages.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a lovely restful time. The only downside for me is that I suffer from some food allergies and intolerances and the staff had not been as thorough as I'd have liked with checking what was in the food they were serving me. This was mainly to do with the fact I didn't speak Turkish and most of them had limited English. On the last day they realised that one of the foods I couldn't eat was present in the rice they'd been serving during the week. As luck would have it, it was only a trace amount and it didn't do any lasting damage (but did explain some odd symptoms I'd experienced) It wouldn't stop me returning though, I would just ensure that I had my requirements pre-translated for me next time, and I'd probably learn some more Turkish too. (I would definitely advise for a pre-translation fact sheet this for anyone suffering from critical allergies, giving as much detail as possible as to which foods could contain the allergen)

review 31 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a giant tutle on the beach and being so close to nature.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light, little is more.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I felt a good balance was maintained.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Nine out of ten.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies