9 independent reviews for Luxury culture holiday in Sri Lanka

Reviews for Luxury culture holiday in Sri Lanka

SHOW
1
8
0
0
0

review 6 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting Anuradhapura with my excellent guide Kapil and the Buddhist Temples during Vesak Poya (one of the main Buddhist holidays celebrating the birth, enlightenment and death of the Buddha) with serene Sri Lankan pilgrims all dressed in white and poya lanterns lining the roads floating in the breeze - truly magical.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Simply tell Jith what you are looking to see and do and he will take care of the rest. Jith was very easy to communicate with, flexible (as I changed my plans) and I had total confidence of my trip being well organised by him. Go as early in the morning as you can manage, you will be required to take you shoes off at holy sites and by about 10am the stone/brick floor is hot enough to blister your feet. Wear loose woven linen or cotton clothing to deal with the heat, white if you can for visit to Buddhist Temples as this is what pilgrims wear.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it did, Jith booked locally owned hotels and my driver Saman, took me to eat at locally owned restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, I wanted to wonder around the ancient sites with knowledgeable guides and this is exactly what I experienced.

review 14 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most exciting probably the elephants at Udawalawe National Park, all ages and really close. Most memorable the welcoming nature of the Sri Lankan people

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sri Lanka is a great place to travel around but allow enough time to experience each place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate it very highly, great experiences, well organised, we felt very wwell looked after and entertained the whole time.

review 2 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sigiriya Rock. Sri Lankan food. Most Sri Lankans are very friendly and easy to talk with.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check out the prices of your sight seeing and entry fees in Sri Lanka. Most places totally overcharge you, if you are an foreigner. Discuss the itinerary with your driver / tour operator and be very specific in what you want to do. Do some research before you go. Jith was very flexible and it was always possible to change plans.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I stayed in small guest houses, one of them with solar panels and watertanks. Wages are generally very low in Sri Lanka, but I would think that local staff were paid well in the places Jith had booked for me.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I booked with Jith, who helped in every way he could, to make it a great trip, in particular when we had to change flights and plan. His driver, Upali, was wonderful and made sure that my time in Sri Lanka was as good as possible. He gave me lots of information about Sri Lanka, the people, history and country. It was a wonderful holiday with the right kind of sight seeing, accommodation and activities for me.

review 27 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hibiscus hotel a solitude of relaxation in the middle of a full and busy holiday

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure your guide is a good English speaker

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes supporting the local economy is important and the response and effort that the locals made in meeting our needs was a good sign that the balance between tourist and local business. Was a good one.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We'll worth doing

review 26 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Leopard first time in wild... it was very emotional and our guide(s) seemed like they shared and respected our emotions.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you explain what you want to see and what kind of accommodation do you prefer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I am not sure about the reducing environmental impact as we had a private transport all the time but I think beneficial for the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great experience and very satisfied what we learnt and saw in such a short period of time.

review 5 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sigirya was fantastic, Kandi was beautiful, seeing a leopard in Yala national park was great, but our favourite thing was stopping every lunch time to eat in a local restaurant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Look at what is on offer and tailor-make it to suit your tastes (wildlife/culture/temples/etc.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our guide was a knoweldgeable Sri Lankan who drove us from place to place and occasionally handed us over to a local guide. We stayed in eco-lodges where possible which were very comfortable but up-to-date with the latest eco-tourism angles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! We went with open minds and we learnt a lot and had a great time.

review 16 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many but I think the contact with the wildlife, in particular the leopard making a kill at Yala and the green turtle laying her eggs at Rewaka were particularly special. Making it up Sigiriya Rock was a personal achievement for a rather unfit late 40 something! Whilst we are rather amateur birders we still managed, with Nanda's help to sight well over 130 species (many of them the pretty ones!) and appreciate his patience with us in spotting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We did a mixed culture/wildlife/birding tour. The cultural circuit of the Golden Triangle is activity packed and I found it to be a little tiring with no R&R time between sites (this is common I believe to all tour operators). Personally I would take an extra day to cover the area. Had I known this in advance I would have opted for more budget accommodation as we had almost no opportunity to enjoy the facilities at the Hotel Kandelama. Also take thick socks for the Temple visits and don't leave them in the vehicle! Have plenty of small notes for tips etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Apart from using a personal vehicle and disposable water bottles then generally yes - we used local restaurants for lunch and used local operators for additional activities - whale watching, turtle conservation and the elephant safari/rides.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful tour and appreciate the extra touches Jith and Nanda (our guide) made for our wedding anniversary and my birthday whilst we were out there. We would not hesitate in coming back - there is still a lot of the country to the North and East we have not seen and another 100 birds to tick off our sighting lists! Many thanks again to you both.

review 7 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sri Lanka has a wide range of things to see and experience. We particularly enjoyed visiting the ancient cities and learning about the history of this fascinating country.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our driver was local and obviously tourism is an important part of the economy. Unfortunately our chosen method of transport - private car, wasn't that environmental.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed the holiday very much and will definitely plan a return trip in the future.

review 20 Apr 2010

I would like to recommend this tour operator, if you are thinking of holidaying in Sri Lanka. We went on holiday as a family with our 10 year old daughter at the start of April 2010 and were made really welcome from the very start of our holiday when Prasanjith met us at the airport with a big basket of flowers for our daughter. Although Prasanjith was unable to accompany us in person, as he was already accompanying a group of ‘Birders’, he arranged another driver, Allen, to look after us. Allen became ‘one of the family’ and fixer extraordinaire and was both a careful driver and considerate to our needs. Prasanjith made daily contact with us through Allen to ensure we were enjoying our holiday and were happy with the arrangements he had made for us and also met up with us several times on route so he could check that all was going well, (which it was!) The hotels carefully chosen for us by Prasanjith were of a very comfortable standard and a couple, The Sigiriya Village and Amaya Hills were really superb. We had opted for half board and the buffet food we experienced for breakfast and dinner was of a high standard. My daughter could eat non-spicy western style food and my wife and I got to eat the delicious Sri Lankan curries (even for breakfast) that were always available. Fruit will never taste the same after the amazing melon and pineapple we ate on holiday. The tour that was arranged for us was fantastic and met the specifications we had given to Prasanjith before our departure i.e. a mixture of culture, nature and R&R. Any changes we made to the itinerary during the course of the holiday were no problem and we had the freedom to decide for example what time to set off in the morning and when to stop for lunch, a freedom we had not experienced when travelling in a group. Having a child with us we really appreciated having this flexibility. We visited cultural sites including Sigiriya (it’s an amazing climb), Anuradhapura (enormous – Sri Lanka’s Pompeii) and Dambulla (beautiful and peaceful). We went to the Tea Plantations in the mountains, visited a botanical garden in Kandy where Prasanjith had arranged for a botanist to accompany us on a tour of the gardens (my personal passion being a gardener) and went on a safari in Udawalawa national park (the families highlight of the holiday) where we saw wild elephants, water buffalo, mongoose, crocodile, snakes, eagles, hornbills and a whole host of beasties . We finished the tour with a very lazy 3 days on the beach at Unawatuna catching some rays, drinking G & T with fresh lime and swimming in the sea. Sri Lanka was the best holiday I’ve been on, the people were great, the scenery was great, everything was great. I can’t wait to go back. When I do so, I will certainly ask this operator to make the arrangements for us.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies